This Business is not BBB accredited

Archie's Service Company,Inc.

Additional Locations

Phone: (706) 989-1234 Fax: (706) 989-1010 View Additional Phone Numbers 402 Broad St, Cusseta, GA 31805

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Sales, Installation, and Service of all Brands - Heating, Cooling, and Commerical Refrigeration.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Archie's Service Company,Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: June 25, 2009 Business started: 05/15/2001 in GA Business started locally: 05/15/2001 Business incorporated: 05/15/2001 in GA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Georgia Secretary of State
2 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, SE, Suite 315, West Tower, Atlanta GA 30334
http://www.sos.state.ga.us/corporations/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. William Archie Worrell, Owner/President Ms. Jerrie Worrell, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Archie Worrell, Owner/President
Business Category

Heating & Air Conditioning Air Conditioning Repair Air Conditioning Systems - Cleaning Air conditioning & Heating Contractors - Residential Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems Heating Contractors

Products & Services

Archie's Service Company,Inc. sells the following brand(s): Carrier, & Rheem

Archie's Service Company,Inc. offers the following product(s): Heating & Air, and Commercial Refrigeration

Industry Tips
Heating & Air Conditioning Contractors

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    402 Broad St

    Cusseta, GA 31805 (706) 989-1234

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 179

    Cusseta, GA 31805

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 763-1234(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 21 April 2014, I called Archie's Service Company for a service call on my AC unit. I explained that the unit worked OK when it was on, but the compressor hesitated several times before it kicked in. I could hear the motor trying to start and the lights would flicker several times before it finally came on. The technician did come out promptly. He check the capacitor on the outside unit and commented that the fan should not even be running (even though it was) because the run/start capacitor was bad. He replaced the capacitor, charged me $107.00 and left. He never came into my home to check the inside part of the system or the thermostat, to insure they were working properly. The same problem persisted for several more days, so I called another AC technician to look at the unit. He thoroughly checked the AC system, inside and out. He determined that the compressor (6 years old) was showing age and installed a hard start capacitor in conjunction to the one already there. He also had to replace the in house fan motor capacitor, because it was going bad (low readings). The system runs perfectly now. Lastly, he checked the old capacitor that the tech from Archie's replaced and found it to be good. There was no reason to replace it. To sum it up, I paid Archie's service company $107.00 cash to replace a good capacitor that did not need to be replaced and did not fix the problem. When I called Archies service company and made my complaint, the agent said she would tell the technician about it. That's the last I've heard of it. An ethical company would have at least sent the tech back out to learn from his mistakes.

Desired Settlement: I should be refunded the $69.95 service charge. The capacitor, even though I didn't need it, is installed and paid for. I might as well just keep it.

Business Response: Responding to Mr. *** ***** ********s complaint

on Monday 5/20/14 I (******* ****** *******) Contacted Mr ******* and discussed his complaint with my company. On April 21 of 2014 we sent a technician to his residence where he said that when his A/C unit out sided would come on that the lights would go dim in is home. Our technician found that he had a faulty run capacitor and replaced it with a factory capacitor. The next phone call we had from him was several weeks later explaining that he had another company come out and they installed a non factory starting kit on his unit and he said that it fixed his problem. We found out that the so called company he was referring to was his son-in law that performs maintenance on the same type of equipment but is not in business for him self. At this time I explained to Mr. ******* that the part that was installed on his unit was not a factory part and it was only a temporary fix. I also explained to him that since he was dissatisfied with our service that we would return his money and the next time that he had a problem with his system to just call his son-in law to handle his problems. We have been in business for over 12 years and not once have we had a customer call the BBB and make one complaint. I feel that this customer was using his son-in laws testimony to his money returned ( which it worked ) !

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID 10031679, and while it is full of untruths, I accept the resolution of a refund of the service call only.    However, you should know that Mr ******* was very rude, aggressive, and unprofessional during his phone call.  His childish, inaccurate and snide responses only further demonstrate his unprofessionalism.  Mr ******* said he called me regarding the complaint on 20 May 2014.  That is untrue.  I can provide you with a copy of the refund check dated 16 May 14.  He called me on the 15th of May 14 and not the 20th.  My cell phone can verify that also. 

Mr ******* then states that the first call he received from me was "several weeks later".  Another untruth. He sent his tech out to my home on 21 April 14.  I called in my complaint on 24 April 14.  That is four days, not several weeks.  When I received no response to my complaint, I filed the BBB complaint on 30 April 14, as your records will show.  That is only 9 days later, again, not several weeks. 

Mr ******* said I told him that I had another "Company" look at the unit. Another untruth.  I did not say that.  I said I had another "technician" come out.  Read my original complaint. Yes, he is my son-in-law.  I did not call  him first because I don't like to rely on relatives to do work for me.  I would rather pay a "Professional" company to do it.  Having said that, my son-in-law is responsible for the HVAC maintenance for all of AAFES on Ft Benning, GA.  He is extremely qualified. 

Mr ******* said that the other tech installed a "non factory starting kit".  There is no such thing as a starting kit.  It was merely a booster capacitor, used to help old compressors start.  Yes, it is temporary, but it allowe time for me to order and receive a new unit, while still having A/C in the meantime.  He also stated his tech replaced a bad capacitor. It was not bad.  It was the compressor that was bad.  I have since replaced the entire outside unit, and no, it was not Archie's Service Co that did the work. 

Mr ******* did not tell me to call my son-in-law the next time I needed A/C work.  Another untruth, future work never came up during the phone call.  Mr *******  knows only too well that in a small rural community, word of mouth recommendations, good or bad, can make or break a local small business.   However, he can rest assured that I will never bother him again. Neither will anyone else I know in this area. 

Lastly, Mr ******* disparaged the fact I used my son-in-law to check his work.  He should look at his own business, as it includes him, his wife and his father-in-law.   Mr ******* needs to take a long, hard look inside himself, evaluate his lack of integrity and ethics, and don't take a complaint so personal.  No one is perfect.

I thank the BBB for helping resolve this issue.  I do not expect nor desire a response from Mr *******.  

 

 

Regards,

*** *******