BBB Accredited Business since

Georgia Power Company - West Region

Additional Locations

Phone: (888) 655-5888 1112 Veterans Pkwy, Columbus, GA 31901

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Georgia Power Company - West Region meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Georgia Power Company - West Region include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 13 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

13 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 8
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 13

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Georgia Power Company - West Region
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 04, 1980 Business started: 06/26/1930 in GA Business started locally: 06/26/1930
Type of Entity

Public Utilities

Business Management
Ms. Jacki Lowe, Regional VP Mr. Robert Watkins, Ass't to Regional VP
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jacki Lowe, Regional VP
Customer Contact: Mr. Robert Watkins, Ass't to Regional VP
Related Businesses
Georgia Power Company - West Region Georgia Power Company-Americus Georgia Power Company-Buena Vista Georgia Power Company-Butler Georgia Power Company-Manchester Georgia Power Company-Montezuma Georgia Power Company-Pine Mountain Georgia Power Company-Richland
Business Category

Electric Companies

Products & Services

Georgia Power Company - West Region offers the following product(s): Electricity

Alternate Business Names
GA Power Company - West Region

Additional Locations

  • 1112 Veterans Pkwy

    Columbus, GA 31901 (888) 655-5888

  • PO Box 1220

    Columbus, GA 31902


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/20/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made sure I sent in my information to receive the flat bill at the rate of $210. It was sent to me or advertised through the mail. It said if you submitted before July 7,2015 it would be changed over... No extra charge. We made sure we mailed it in. I called to check to see when in it would goes into effect...they say they haven't seen anything and I'm enrolled in budget billing. I know, I have budget billing, I've had it for about 10 years. They says now I can enroll and pay $200+ up front and then I can get flat rate billing for $211. I feel like they were scamming me. I didn't even know about this they sent it to me but now they can't honor what they advertised. My husband called a talked with someone, then I emailed them. This was our emails: I want to know when my flat rate of $210 will start? I sent in the paperwork in July. My budget billing is getting higher all the time Thank you for contacting Georgia Power. Your account is enrolled in Budget Billing not Flat Bill. If you would like to switch to Flat Bill, the Flat Rate offer is $211.87 plus sales tax. Also, please be aware that your Budget Billing deferred difference is currently $264.67 and would added to the next bill. If you would like to switch to Flat Bill, please let us know. Sincerely, Ms. ***** Online Customer Care I don't understand I sent the paper back the power company sent me because I had to return it before July 7,2015... Which we did. It said $210.. Now you are saying $211? It didn't says anything about money before we could get the rate. I know I'm with budget billing... I signed up with that almost 10 years ago. That's why I mailed it back the information for the flat rate I apologize for the inconvenience, Ms. ---- I am not showing that we received anything at this time. Please let us know if you would like to proceed in changing to Flatbill. Sincerely, Ms. ******** Georgia Pow

Desired Settlement: I want to get what I signed up for in July. $210 a month flat rate because I did it on time. And not pay this added money...

Business Response:

After researching Ms. ********* inquiry, I called and left several messages.  I did get in contact with her on Thursday, 10/8/15.  I explained that unfortunately we did not receive the request that she mailed in asking to change her rate to our Flat Bill rate per a letter she received from Georgia Power.  I explained what we could do for her at this point, but she wasn't satisfied with that offer.  She said she would just remain on the rate that she is currently on. Overall she was not happly with my response and wanted to end the conversation.  This morning, 10/9/15, I had a voice message from her once again stating overall that she wasn't happy with the outcome.  I called her back and received her voice mail.  I left her a message that we value her as a customer and I was sorry that we had not received her request.  I explained that I was going to give her a $50 credit on her bill and if she had any additional questions or concerns to please give me a call.



**** ******

Customer Service Supervisor

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]
I will accept the $50 credit but I will not accept the way I was talked too and treated.  I was basically told they didn't see my card response from July and that they didn't control the postal service.  Is that customer service?  And that we basically waited to ask about it in September because our bill increased.  But we waited because the card was due it was in July we knew it wouldn't be  that month.  And the august bill was due in September that's why we called then.  I didn't like the fact ...that it was like we were lying or trying to beat the system.  We are good customer that pay our bills on time.  I'm just the small man against a big company.  I understand that maybe they might have gotten my card.  But telling me you don't control the postal service is wrong!!!  I don't control it either but next time I will talk to someone or personally take anything important to them.  The phone call could be reviewed if it was taped.  She did call back and left a message after I left a message about how I felt.  She apologised and then the $50 credit was offered.  And the $50 has been applied.

I just feel it is a better way to speak to people.

**** *******

4/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: 2 months ago I pulled my credit and seen that I owed them money so I called them and paid 90% of what I owed them because I was only allowed to pay so much in one day. I called back the next day to pay the rest and was told through an automated system the payment was complete. On April 14th I called them back because it was still showing on my credit report as open and was told the payment never went through. I paid the remainder of what I owed on the 14th of April and asked for it to be taken off my credit report and was told they couldn't take it off they could only report it as paid in full.

Desired Settlement: I want the settlement to be that it gets taken off my credit report.

Business Response:

I spoke with the customer and he explained his situation of moving to another state with the military.  We have agreed to contact Equifax on the customer’s behalf since the balance has been paid in full.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.


**** *****

1/21/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I terminated my service with Georgia Power as I had orders to move from Columbus, Georgia to Fort Hood, Texas on the 13th of November 2014 and requested my service be terminated the 14th of November 2014. Georgia Power continued to bill me for the rest of the month. I called them on the 19th of December 2014 and told them of their error. The lady on the phone informed me that they had lost the records of my termination and that she would halt all future billing and would have a manager contact me. This never occurred. On the 5th of January 2015 I was then billed for December. I again contacted Georgia Power on the 8th of January 2015 and informed them that they were still in error. The gentleman on the phone then said they could do nothing to help me unless I recalled the exact time I had called them to first request the termination. I informed him that it was unreasonable to expect me to recall this from two months prior. I then asked him what he was doing this exact day two months ago and he was unable to recall. I then asked him how he expected me to know this information when he was unable to provide it himself for which he had no answer. Again, I reiterated that I had not lived there in two months and informed him I could furnish proof to allay his fears that I was attempting to deceive Georgia Power. He would not however provide any alternatives and demanded I provide him with the time of the initial request of the disconnect. Unable to furnish this information I have now resorted to contacting the BBB.

Desired Settlement: I would like Georgia Power to refund the $59.60 they have charged me for the month of December. I will even compromise and accept the charges for the entirety of November even though I had vacated the property on the 13th and can provide evidence thereof.I am in the military and it is VERY likely I will not be available during the hours of 0600-1600 on weekdays excluding Federal Holidays.

Business Response:

Agreed to cancel billing for $59.60 as per customer request.




****** ** ******

work # ###-###-####



10/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I moved into an apartment in Dec 2011. When our one year lease was up, we renewed and signed up for budget billing with Georgia Power. In July 2013 we moved to another apartment complex where we continued as a budget billing customer. Our bill increased from $79 to $106 in July. Upon receiving PCS orders, we vacated the apartment at the end of September. Our September bill was for $106 and it was noted on the bill that there was a deferred balance of $248 due to budget billing. Upon arrival to our new duty station, our final bill was mailed in the amount of $571, to include the $106 from September-which means that $465 was deferred. This deferred amount should be for the months of July, August, and September (which is a lot) because per customer service the "account is supposed to be zeroed out at the end of every 12 month period, but this did not happen with your account." I feel scammed by this company, a company that owns the electrical monopoly on Columbus residents, because there is no other electric provider. I feel that the Budget Billing was an ill planned service. How can a company defer balances for their customers, then surprise them and expect them to pay $571 along with moving expenses, new service turn on fees, and other fees associated with moving? I am also unemployed due to the move.I asked a customer service rep if there is any hardship waivers or bill deductions that I can receive-to which the answer was "No, but we are more than happy to work with you to get this paid in full."If my bill was supposed to be zeroed out in July (per customer service rep: it wasn't) and my billing amount was also increased, I don't see how my deferred balance could rack up to $465 over the course of 3 months! I understood that there may be a deferred balance on my account upon disconnect, never did I imagine it would be $465.

Desired Settlement: I would appreciate a hardship waiver for a portion of my deferred balance and will make monthly payments for the remaining balance.Also, this service should be scrutinized as I feel it has been poorly planned. I assume there are more people who end their service and are surprised by a large balance. The deferred balance should have a maximum cap, to prevent others from terminating their service and owing a large balance.

Business Response:

Thank you for making us aware of your concerns about our Budget Billing Program for account #***********. I appreciate the opportunity to respond. Budget Billing is based on the average of the last 12 monthly bills. The program is not a money saving program or a cheaper rate, but helps you to maintain. The object of the program is to even itself out over twelve months and the monthly bill can go up or down depending on your usage. The difference between the customer's actual usage and the budgeted amount goes into a pot called the deferred difference. A customer may cancel or transfer Budget Billing at any time by phone or online, however after discontinuing or transferring Budget Billing any balance due will be billed to the account or any credit will be applied to the account. The history on the account shows that in August the monthly amount increased from $79.00 to $106.00 due to a deferred difference of $268.31. On September 13, 2014 a disconnect was placed. As a result the $268.31 became due along with the actual usage for the month $194.97. Both added together equals the $463.28 along with the past due amount of $106.00 to total $571.28. Because this is electricity used and not paid for, we cannot waive the deferred difference amount, but will gladly work with the customer to get the balance paid.


10/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: see Attached document

Desired Settlement: see Attached document

Business Response:


I have attached a copy of the letter mailed today from our corporate office, Atlanta,  in response to the complaint.


Thank you,

***** ******

Customer Service Supervisor



6/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Account number *****xxxx is incorrect. I have never owed the gas company any money at all ever in my life. This account is reporting on my Equifax credit report for $61.00 a small balance never the least it is incorrect and should be removed asap. Equifax has disputed this account with a date of satatus of 1/1/0001 what is this? Not correct and not mine.

Desired Settlement: Deletion from equifax credit reportapologyInformation on this phantom account

Business Response: Please provide more detailed information - account number, address where debt occurred.  Is this a gas company account or Georgia Power Company?  I am unable to respond to the complaint without more information.

5/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I call the 1-800 number to Georgia Power to get New Service they told me to bring a lease and picture I.D to a local office. So that's what I did I went down there and told the lady may I get new service she said may she see my social security card,I.d, and my lease. She looked at it and told me she can not provide any service for me because they don't know who else stay in my house. My complaint is why are they concern who's living with me even though its just myself.

Desired Settlement: The landlord has the lights in his name, I would like Georgia Power to reburse me ******** ****** for the money that I had to pay my landlord to keep the lights in his name. Because the lease is in my name only, with the fact me going down there not once but twice trying to get new service.

Business Response: In response to #********, ******** ****** phoned and requested service at **** **** ******* ********, GA., on 4/11/14. She was informed to come into the office to show lease, picture ID, and social security card due to unauthorized use at the address. on 4/14/14 Ms. ****** presented a lease with no name as tenant and no effective lease date. Ms. ****** is welcomed to come in and apply for service at this address with a valid lease and effective date. However, currently the service is not active in anyone's name and could be disconnected at any time.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.


******** ******


 Yes I went down to Georgia Power today and showed all the items I needed for the service,everything went smoothly. I am happy everything has been resolved thanks Business Bureau for your help in the time if need. I appreciate it  

12/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I responded to an energy rebate ad that was posted on Ga Power web site by call their consultant and paying $500 to get my home evaluated. Now that all the work is done they are denying payment of the $2500 rebate. I spent over $50,000 remodeling my home and submitted pictures, before and after test results as well as receipts from the contractor but it's not enough. Their requirements were not made clear from the beginning to me or to their own contractor and I feel they are doing all they can not to pay me the rebate. The ad only informed me to call their authorize consultant to get started and that is what I did. I was never informed by them or their consultant about any additional paperwork.

Desired Settlement: I desire that they pay me the full rebate due for a full home renovation as posted on their website.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

This is in response to your BBB Case # *******.   

Contacted at 3:45PM by phone on Tuesday, November 26, 2013.

Thank you for your recent inquiry regarding Georgia Power Company’s rebate process for the Home Energy Improvement Program.  I understand your concerns and apologize for the inconvenience this delay has caused you.  I have forwarded your information to our Energy Efficiency Program Manager and I will contact you again before Friday, December 5th, 2013 to verify that answers are being provided related to your invoices. 

If you have any further questions, feel free to contact me on ###-###-####

***** *******

Customer Service Manager

West Region

Georgia Power Company

Business # ###-###-####

10/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I reside in an apartment complex where each unit is billed separately by Georgia Power for electric consumption. I have lived in the same unit for over 3 and half years and have never been delinquent on my hydro bill. Recently 6/3/13 I received a call from Georgia Power that they had discovered an error in their billing due to a mixer up of meters that were installed 2 and half years ago and that I now owe $660.00 on my electric bill account. I am disputing this amount since I am not satisfied with their explanation of how such an error could have been made and how they came to determine the correct amount of energy I used (given that they had mixed up the meters). Are Georgia Power customers going to pay for mistakes made by the company? What part of this error does Georgia Power want to own and take a financial loss as a consequence? I cannot believe that with today's technology an electric meter being hooked up to one consumer subunit would be mixed with another and that it takes over 2 years to discover this error. I need help in understanding why I need to pay this amount and if so how much should I pay and how much should Georgia Power pay for their error. Thanks

Desired Settlement: Georgia Power should remove this amount from my account and eat it as their loss since it is their error. It is not fair that I should be inconvenienced for their error and they do not suffer any significant financial consequence as a result.

Business Response: rom: ******** ***** (CustSvc) <***********************>
Date: Fri, Sep 27, 2013 at 6:36 PM
Subject: Consumer Complaint # *******
To: "************************* *************************>

Better Business Bureau

RE: BBB Case # *******

To Whom It May Concern:

Thank you for the opportunity to investigate consumer complaint # ******* billing inquiry concerns. Prior to any billing adjustments a Region Energy Services (RES) representative contacted consumer complaint # ******* on June 3rd to provide a detailed explanation of the required billing adjustments based on the completed field investigation. The Region Energy Services (RES) representative also informed consumer complaint # ******* he was approved to make an extended payment arrangement for the amount his would be debited for the mixed meter situation.  A collection arrangement was made.

A Customer Service Manager (CSM) attempted to contact consumer complaint # ******* and apologize for the inconvenience the billing adjustments caused and to offer payment arrangements.  The Customer Service Manager (CSM) left three voice mail messages in June (11, 13 and 18) and a voice mail message was returned by consumer complaint # ******* on June 12th.

Today the CSM spoke with consumer complaint # ******* and discussed the billing adjustments that were made on his account after a field investigation confirmed crossed meters at the residence.  We also discussed the multiple voice mail messages that were left on his answering service. Consumer complaint # *******’s concern as outlined in his original complaint has been addressed. While consumer complaint # ******* was not satisfied with the corrected billing adjustment, consumer complaint # ******* is satisfied with the payment arrangements and the follow-up phone call from the CSM.

Please let me know if you have any additional questions.



***** ******* 
Customer Service Manager 

8/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: GA Power company charged my bill 70.00 for a deposit, which I was unaware of until I called. I talked to several representatives with no resolution. I feel like people are being charged without consent and with no other electric company to go to you are trapped to pay whatever fee they set forth. I'm extremely frustrated at this point and I feel people should be aware of these bogus charges

Desired Settlement: I want them to correct the situation and make customers aware of charges to customers

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau in regards to consumer complaint # ******* - ******* ******

 ******* ******
**** ******* ****** **.
******** **** *****

To Whom It May Concern:

Thank you for the opportunity to investigate Mr. ****** inquiry.  Mr. ****** established electric service in September of 2009 at which time a security deposit amount of $150.00 was required and paid.  An additional deposit of $60.00 was billed in January 2010, due to the accounts payment record.  In February of 2010,  Mr. ****** contacted Georgia Power to discuss our latest deposit request and a copy of the Deposit Policy was mailed to him.  On April 2013, an additional deposit in the amount of $70.00 was billed due to payment record. 


An additional deposit may be required when the existing deposit on the account is less than two times the average monthly bill and the customer's payment history is unsatisfactory.  Additional deposits may be collected in an amount up to $150 per occurrence not to exceed two times the Average Monthly Bill (AMB). AMB x 2 - Amount on Hand = Additional Deposit (max $150 per occurrence)  Mr. ****** average monthly electric usage is 138.21 dollars.  138 x 2 = $276.00


The collection activity on the account for the past months:  On May 29th, 2013 a returned check item for the amount of $107.00 was processed on the account.

Pro active call results – message left on answering machine; February, March, and April

Total of 29 Disconnect Post Cards mailed to residences since account was established:

– January, February, March, April and May of 2013

Total of 33 Disconnect Notice messages on each bill –

If the past due amount is not paid by the due date, service is subject to disconnection.  You may also be required to pay a reconnect charge and deposit or additional deposit before service is restored.

If you fail to pay your electric service bill each month by the due date, you may be required to pay a deposit or additional deposit even though service is not disconnected.


Please let me know if you have any additional questions.




***** *******
Customer Service Manager
West Region
Georgia Power Company
Office ###-###-####



Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have called several times to discuss this issue and it was not explained to my this way.  I even walked to the decatur office and talked to a representive there and this was not explained in detail.  Also, I was never mailed a copy of the deposit explaintion, so that is false.  Again, that does not make it acceptable for YOUR customer service reps to talk to a customer in the matter they did.  In reguards to a check overdraft, that is also untrue.  The account number was entered incorrectly, NO OVERDRAFT was EVER on my account.  Please check your records again. 


******* ******



7/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: They turn power on a house I just moved into. I activate it on the same dayDay online. They tell me bring lease in or I have to pay for all the months its been empty.I only lived there for days.. I bring lease in EARLY Friday morning and they tell me There is a 24 hour notice. There off Saturday so power will be on Monday. I have a toddler with health problems and they said I'm sorrybut is there anything else I can do for you. Isn't it against the law for them to haveUs in a monopoly? My child has *** and ********. I'm supposed to use flashlights?

Desired Settlement: I will have to live in hotel until they decide I'm worth their time.

Business Response:


BBB Case # ******* - Georgia Power Company - West Region

Customer Information:

***** ****
**** ******* ** ******** **** *****

Daytime Phone -     ###-###-####

Thanks for the opportunity to investigate Mr. ***** ****'s service order inquiry.  I left a voice mail message for Mr. ****'s to contact me and look forward to speaking with him next week.



***** *******
Customer Service Manager
West Region
Georgia Power Company
Office ###-###-####


5/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service