BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
East AL, West & Southwest GA

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Georgia Power Company - West Region meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Georgia Power Company - West Region include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 9
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 6
Total Closed Complaints 16

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: November 04, 1980 Business started: 06/26/1930 in GA Business started locally: 06/26/1930
Type of Entity

Public Utilities

Business Management
Ms. Jacki Lowe, Regional VP Mr. Robert Watkins, Ass't to Regional VP
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Jacki Lowe, Regional VP
Related Businesses
Georgia Power Company - West Region Georgia Power Company-Americus Georgia Power Company-Buena Vista Georgia Power Company-Butler Georgia Power Company-Manchester Georgia Power Company-Montezuma Georgia Power Company-Pine Mountain Georgia Power Company-Richland
Business Category

Electric Companies

Products & Services

Georgia Power Company - West Region offers the following product(s): Electricity

Alternate Business Names
GA Power Company - West Region

Additional Locations

  • 1112 Veterans Pkwy

    Columbus, GA 31901 (888) 655-5888

  • PO Box 1220

    Columbus, GA 31902

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

10/27/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I moved into an apartment in Dec 2011. When our one year lease was up, we renewed and signed up for budget billing with Georgia Power. In July 2013 we moved to another apartment complex where we continued as a budget billing customer. Our bill increased from $79 to $106 in July. Upon receiving PCS orders, we vacated the apartment at the end of September. Our September bill was for $106 and it was noted on the bill that there was a deferred balance of $248 due to budget billing. Upon arrival to our new duty station, our final bill was mailed in the amount of $571, to include the $106 from September-which means that $465 was deferred. This deferred amount should be for the months of July, August, and September (which is a lot) because per customer service the "account is supposed to be zeroed out at the end of every 12 month period, but this did not happen with your account." I feel scammed by this company, a company that owns the electrical monopoly on Columbus residents, because there is no other electric provider. I feel that the Budget Billing was an ill planned service. How can a company defer balances for their customers, then surprise them and expect them to pay $571 along with moving expenses, new service turn on fees, and other fees associated with moving? I am also unemployed due to the move.I asked a customer service rep if there is any hardship waivers or bill deductions that I can receive-to which the answer was "No, but we are more than happy to work with you to get this paid in full."If my bill was supposed to be zeroed out in July (per customer service rep: it wasn't) and my billing amount was also increased, I don't see how my deferred balance could rack up to $465 over the course of 3 months! I understood that there may be a deferred balance on my account upon disconnect, never did I imagine it would be $465.

Desired Settlement: I would appreciate a hardship waiver for a portion of my deferred balance and will make monthly payments for the remaining balance.Also, this service should be scrutinized as I feel it has been poorly planned. I assume there are more people who end their service and are surprised by a large balance. The deferred balance should have a maximum cap, to prevent others from terminating their service and owing a large balance.

Business Response:

Thank you for making us aware of your concerns about our Budget Billing Program for account #***********. I appreciate the opportunity to respond. Budget Billing is based on the average of the last 12 monthly bills. The program is not a money saving program or a cheaper rate, but helps you to maintain. The object of the program is to even itself out over twelve months and the monthly bill can go up or down depending on your usage. The difference between the customer's actual usage and the budgeted amount goes into a pot called the deferred difference. A customer may cancel or transfer Budget Billing at any time by phone or online, however after discontinuing or transferring Budget Billing any balance due will be billed to the account or any credit will be applied to the account. The history on the account shows that in August the monthly amount increased from $79.00 to $106.00 due to a deferred difference of $268.31. On September 13, 2014 a disconnect was placed. As a result the $268.31 became due along with the actual usage for the month $194.97. Both added together equals the $463.28 along with the past due amount of $106.00 to total $571.28. Because this is electricity used and not paid for, we cannot waive the deferred difference amount, but will gladly work with the customer to get the balance paid.

 

10/14/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: see Attached document

Desired Settlement: see Attached document

Business Response:

 

I have attached a copy of the letter mailed today from our corporate office, Atlanta,  in response to the complaint.

 

Thank you,

***** ******

Customer Service Supervisor

 

 

6/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Account number *****xxxx is incorrect. I have never owed the gas company any money at all ever in my life. This account is reporting on my Equifax credit report for $61.00 a small balance never the least it is incorrect and should be removed asap. Equifax has disputed this account with a date of satatus of 1/1/0001 what is this? Not correct and not mine.

Desired Settlement: Deletion from equifax credit reportapologyInformation on this phantom account

Business Response: Please provide more detailed information - account number, address where debt occurred.  Is this a gas company account or Georgia Power Company?  I am unable to respond to the complaint without more information.

5/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I call the 1-800 number to Georgia Power to get New Service they told me to bring a lease and picture I.D to a local office. So that's what I did I went down there and told the lady may I get new service she said may she see my social security card,I.d, and my lease. She looked at it and told me she can not provide any service for me because they don't know who else stay in my house. My complaint is why are they concern who's living with me even though its just myself.

Desired Settlement: The landlord has the lights in his name, I would like Georgia Power to reburse me ******** ****** for the money that I had to pay my landlord to keep the lights in his name. Because the lease is in my name only, with the fact me going down there not once but twice trying to get new service.

Business Response: In response to #********, ******** ****** phoned and requested service at **** **** ******* ********, GA., on 4/11/14. She was informed to come into the office to show lease, picture ID, and social security card due to unauthorized use at the address. on 4/14/14 Ms. ****** presented a lease with no name as tenant and no effective lease date. Ms. ****** is welcomed to come in and apply for service at this address with a valid lease and effective date. However, currently the service is not active in anyone's name and could be disconnected at any time.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******** ******


 

 Yes I went down to Georgia Power today and showed all the items I needed for the service,everything went smoothly. I am happy everything has been resolved thanks Business Bureau for your help in the time if need. I appreciate it  

12/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I responded to an energy rebate ad that was posted on Ga Power web site by call their consultant and paying $500 to get my home evaluated. Now that all the work is done they are denying payment of the $2500 rebate. I spent over $50,000 remodeling my home and submitted pictures, before and after test results as well as receipts from the contractor but it's not enough. Their requirements were not made clear from the beginning to me or to their own contractor and I feel they are doing all they can not to pay me the rebate. The ad only informed me to call their authorize consultant to get started and that is what I did. I was never informed by them or their consultant about any additional paperwork.

Desired Settlement: I desire that they pay me the full rebate due for a full home renovation as posted on their website.

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

This is in response to your BBB Case # *******.   

Contacted at 3:45PM by phone on Tuesday, November 26, 2013.

Thank you for your recent inquiry regarding Georgia Power Company’s rebate process for the Home Energy Improvement Program.  I understand your concerns and apologize for the inconvenience this delay has caused you.  I have forwarded your information to our Energy Efficiency Program Manager and I will contact you again before Friday, December 5th, 2013 to verify that answers are being provided related to your invoices. 

If you have any further questions, feel free to contact me on ###-###-####

***** *******

Customer Service Manager

West Region

Georgia Power Company

Business # ###-###-####

10/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I reside in an apartment complex where each unit is billed separately by Georgia Power for electric consumption. I have lived in the same unit for over 3 and half years and have never been delinquent on my hydro bill. Recently 6/3/13 I received a call from Georgia Power that they had discovered an error in their billing due to a mixer up of meters that were installed 2 and half years ago and that I now owe $660.00 on my electric bill account. I am disputing this amount since I am not satisfied with their explanation of how such an error could have been made and how they came to determine the correct amount of energy I used (given that they had mixed up the meters). Are Georgia Power customers going to pay for mistakes made by the company? What part of this error does Georgia Power want to own and take a financial loss as a consequence? I cannot believe that with today's technology an electric meter being hooked up to one consumer subunit would be mixed with another and that it takes over 2 years to discover this error. I need help in understanding why I need to pay this amount and if so how much should I pay and how much should Georgia Power pay for their error. Thanks

Desired Settlement: Georgia Power should remove this amount from my account and eat it as their loss since it is their error. It is not fair that I should be inconvenienced for their error and they do not suffer any significant financial consequence as a result.

Business Response: rom: ******** ***** (CustSvc) <***********************>
Date: Fri, Sep 27, 2013 at 6:36 PM
Subject: Consumer Complaint # *******
To: "************************* *************************>


Better Business Bureau

RE: BBB Case # *******

To Whom It May Concern:

Thank you for the opportunity to investigate consumer complaint # ******* billing inquiry concerns. Prior to any billing adjustments a Region Energy Services (RES) representative contacted consumer complaint # ******* on June 3rd to provide a detailed explanation of the required billing adjustments based on the completed field investigation. The Region Energy Services (RES) representative also informed consumer complaint # ******* he was approved to make an extended payment arrangement for the amount his would be debited for the mixed meter situation.  A collection arrangement was made.

A Customer Service Manager (CSM) attempted to contact consumer complaint # ******* and apologize for the inconvenience the billing adjustments caused and to offer payment arrangements.  The Customer Service Manager (CSM) left three voice mail messages in June (11, 13 and 18) and a voice mail message was returned by consumer complaint # ******* on June 12th.

Today the CSM spoke with consumer complaint # ******* and discussed the billing adjustments that were made on his account after a field investigation confirmed crossed meters at the residence.  We also discussed the multiple voice mail messages that were left on his answering service. Consumer complaint # *******’s concern as outlined in his original complaint has been addressed. While consumer complaint # ******* was not satisfied with the corrected billing adjustment, consumer complaint # ******* is satisfied with the payment arrangements and the follow-up phone call from the CSM.

Please let me know if you have any additional questions.

Sincerely,

 

***** ******* 
Customer Service Manager 

8/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: GA Power company charged my bill 70.00 for a deposit, which I was unaware of until I called. I talked to several representatives with no resolution. I feel like people are being charged without consent and with no other electric company to go to you are trapped to pay whatever fee they set forth. I'm extremely frustrated at this point and I feel people should be aware of these bogus charges

Desired Settlement: I want them to correct the situation and make customers aware of charges to customers

Business Response:

Better Business Bureau in regards to consumer complaint # ******* - ******* ******

 ******* ******
**** ******* ****** **.
******** **** *****

To Whom It May Concern:

Thank you for the opportunity to investigate Mr. ****** inquiry.  Mr. ****** established electric service in September of 2009 at which time a security deposit amount of $150.00 was required and paid.  An additional deposit of $60.00 was billed in January 2010, due to the accounts payment record.  In February of 2010,  Mr. ****** contacted Georgia Power to discuss our latest deposit request and a copy of the Deposit Policy was mailed to him.  On April 2013, an additional deposit in the amount of $70.00 was billed due to payment record. 

Residential

An additional deposit may be required when the existing deposit on the account is less than two times the average monthly bill and the customer's payment history is unsatisfactory.  Additional deposits may be collected in an amount up to $150 per occurrence not to exceed two times the Average Monthly Bill (AMB). AMB x 2 - Amount on Hand = Additional Deposit (max $150 per occurrence)  Mr. ****** average monthly electric usage is 138.21 dollars.  138 x 2 = $276.00

 

The collection activity on the account for the past months:  On May 29th, 2013 a returned check item for the amount of $107.00 was processed on the account.

Pro active call results – message left on answering machine; February, March, and April

Total of 29 Disconnect Post Cards mailed to residences since account was established:

– January, February, March, April and May of 2013

Total of 33 Disconnect Notice messages on each bill –

If the past due amount is not paid by the due date, service is subject to disconnection.  You may also be required to pay a reconnect charge and deposit or additional deposit before service is restored.

If you fail to pay your electric service bill each month by the due date, you may be required to pay a deposit or additional deposit even though service is not disconnected.

 

Please let me know if you have any additional questions.

 

Sincerely,

 

***** *******
Customer Service Manager
West Region
Georgia Power Company
Office ###-###-####

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I have called several times to discuss this issue and it was not explained to my this way.  I even walked to the decatur office and talked to a representive there and this was not explained in detail.  Also, I was never mailed a copy of the deposit explaintion, so that is false.  Again, that does not make it acceptable for YOUR customer service reps to talk to a customer in the matter they did.  In reguards to a check overdraft, that is also untrue.  The account number was entered incorrectly, NO OVERDRAFT was EVER on my account.  Please check your records again. 

Regards,

******* ******


 

 

7/23/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: They turn power on a house I just moved into. I activate it on the same dayDay online. They tell me bring lease in or I have to pay for all the months its been empty.I only lived there for days.. I bring lease in EARLY Friday morning and they tell me There is a 24 hour notice. There off Saturday so power will be on Monday. I have a toddler with health problems and they said I'm sorrybut is there anything else I can do for you. Isn't it against the law for them to haveUs in a monopoly? My child has *** and ********. I'm supposed to use flashlights?

Desired Settlement: I will have to live in hotel until they decide I'm worth their time.

Business Response:

COMPLAINT INFORMATION:

BBB Case # ******* - Georgia Power Company - West Region

Customer Information:

***** ****
**** ******* ** ******** **** *****

Daytime Phone -     ###-###-####

Thanks for the opportunity to investigate Mr. ***** ****'s service order inquiry.  I left a voice mail message for Mr. ****'s to contact me and look forward to speaking with him next week.

Sincerely,

 

***** *******
Customer Service Manager
West Region
Georgia Power Company
Office ###-###-####

 

5/1/2013 Problems with Product/Service
11/14/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/10/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
8/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/23/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/26/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
3/22/2012 Billing/Collection Issues