BBB Accredited Business since

Georgia Power Company-Americus

Phone: (888) 660-5890 Fax: (229) 928-6177 1020 Southerfield Rd, Americus, GA 31719

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Georgia Power Company-Americus meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Georgia Power Company-Americus
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 30, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1930 in GA Business started locally: 01/01/1930
Type of Entity

Public Utilities

Business Management
Mr. Mike Donnelly, Area Manager Ms. Jacki Lowe, Reg. VP
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mike Donnelly, Area Manager
Principal: Ms. Jacki Lowe, Reg. VP
Business Category

Electric Companies

Additional Locations

  • 1020 Southerfield Rd

    Americus, GA 31719


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: Georgia PowerRecently a $150 deposit was added to my account for late payments(no disconnections at all). I spoke to a representative as to why and he explained that due to late payments the deposit was added. Okay...I get it, but am not happy about. **** (ext *****) goes on to explain that maybe my deposit could be waived, but only by a supervisor. Guess what, no supervisor was available! He went on to explain that I already had $150 deposit on my account, but those funds could not be applied towards this situation. He does explain that if I pay my account on time for 12 consecutive months that I could get my deposits back with interest. I asked if my due date could be changed to accommodate the dates I get paid and he stated it could not because those dates are set by when the power man reads the meter. I asked if the meter man could read my meter at a different time and again was told no. Since I only get paid on the 30th of the month and my due date fluctuates between the 27th and the 30th I'm at a huge disadvantage when it comes to paying my bill on time for 12 months. In summary, I'm charged late payments when I'm late, a $150 deposit, and can't get my due date changed because it would inconvenience Ga Power.

Desired Settlement: Georgia Powers policies need to be reconsidered. Extremely Unfair!!!Deposits added to your account for late paymentsLate charges are also addedThey refuse to change due dates or meter reading datesCustomers are promised refunds of deposits, but must meet the varying timelines (due dates) of Georgia Power

Business Response:

To Whom It May Concern:

This is in response to your BBB Case # ********   

Contacted at 4:15PM by phone on Tuesday, November 26, 2013.

Thank you for your recent inquiry regarding the additional security deposit billed to your account. The deposits for residential service are essential in providing partial security for a final bill, and are nontransferable and are only refunded to the party that placed it.  A credit assessment, done at the time of application through Equifax, determines if a customer will be charged a deposit or not.

The deposit is based off the average monthly bill for the address where the customer is applying for service.  The deposit is required upon application for residential service and will be refunded when the account is closed, or when 12 months of on time payments have been made. Georgia Power customers earn 3% simple interest while a deposit is retained as approved by the Public Service Commission.

An additional deposit may be required when the existing deposit on the account is less than two times the average monthly bill and the customer's payment history is unsatisfactory.  Additional deposits may be collected in an amount up to $150 per occurrence not to exceed two times the Average Monthly Bill (AMB).  Your current Average Monthly Bill is $222.00 dollars.

Once the requirements are met, the deposit and the interest will be credited to the current bill and any excess above the current bill will be credited to the following bill until the credit is depleted. If a credit remains after the account has been closed, we will mail a refund check to the final mailing address given.

Georgia Power strives to administer a fair and impartial billing to our customers.  Therefore; our policies are applied to all customers. We are not able to cancel the deposits.

If you have any further questions, feel free to contact me on ###-###-####

***** *******

Customer Service Manager

West Region

Georgia Power Company

Business # ###-###-####


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]


***** *****



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Georgia Power Company-Americus
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)