BBB Accredited Business since

Kinetic Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (706) 320-8500 Fax: (706) 320-8540 7300 Veterans Pkwy, Columbus, GA 31909 http://www.ticfcu.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kinetic Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kinetic Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kinetic Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 15, 1997 Business started: 03/15/1956 in GA Business started locally: 03/15/1956
Type of Entity

Financial Institutions

Business Management
Ms. Janet Davis, C.E.O. Mr. Doug Putnam, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Janet Davis, C.E.O.
Customer Contact: Mr. Doug Putnam, Vice President
Business Category

Credit Unions

Alternate Business Names
TIC Federal Credit Union
BBB Program Participation

Military Marketplace
This company is a participant in the BBB's "Military Marketplace Code of Ethics" program.  The program is provided by the Bureau as a specific effort to ensure a "Fair and Honest" marketplace for members of the United States Military and their families. 


Additional Locations

  • 7300 Veterans Pkwy

    Columbus, GA 31909

  • P.O. Box 9818

    Columbus, GA 31908

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

12/16/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kinetic Credit Union has started charging a $1.00 for using my Visa Check card when making a purchase under $50.00 at Walmart & Sams. Kinetic claims that this is caused by the merchant & their machines. As a 30+ year customer of Kinetic I know to use my Visa check card as a credit transaction not a debit transaction to avoid this $1.00 fee. However now I am being charged this $1.00 fee at these two locations for any purchase under $50.00. Kinetic has agreed each time to refund the fees, but I must call & hold to reach a person or go into a branch in order to get my credit back. I want to remain a customer of Kinetic but this unnecessary fee that they are putting the blame on the merchant for is causing me to want to look else where for my banking needs. I have contacted the Credit Union and voiced my concerns. However they are unwilling to stop this fee. Kinetic is blaming this fee on the merchants because they have upgraded their machines to chip readers. Kinetic needs to stop billing this fee if they can't figure out a way to allow customers to shop at ALL merchants no matter what type of card readers they use at their place of business. Today Kinetic suggested that perhaps I might want to use a paper check at these business that are billing this fee in order to avoid being billed this $1.00. Well I believe that if this can not be resolved where they stop billing this fee to their customers, they are going to lose alot more than just a 30 year customer like me. This started on October 1, 2015.

Desired Settlement: I want Kinetic to stop billing this $1.00 fee that has never been an issue in the past prior to merchants upgrading to current technology that reads credit cards with chips in them. Kinetic Customers know to use their Visa Check cards as Credit transactions to avoid being billed this $1.00 fee, but now Kinetic can't seem to figure out a way to help it's customers and stop this fee from billing when they spend less than $50.00 and making their customers have to call in to get the credit. If they can't stop the billing then they need a way to issue automatic credits for charges at these merchants that they are aware of having this issue with. And I am sure they have a list of the merchants causing this $1.00 fee. I am not the only customer affected by this.

Business Response:

Thank you for your membership at Kinetic. One of our employees has contacted you today and offered a temporary solution while we continue to work on this issue. You agreed that emailing us for the fee refunds was a good temporary solution until we can come up with a more permanent resolution for our members.


Thank you again for your understanding and patience and please let us know if you have any other questions.

Consumer Response: [A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

***** ****

5/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Monday, June 24, 2013, I purchased an automobile from Jay Auto Used Cars in Columbus, Georgia. The automobile was financed through TIC Federal Credit Union now known as Kinetic Federal Credit Union. Between the dates January 28-February 2, I had several conversations with employees of Kinetic regarding the disability insurance I elected taking over the automobile payments. On February 2, I was informed that I did not have disability insurance. I was perplexed, because I have two TIC Federal Credit Loanliner Subsequent Action forms dated June 24, 2013 (the day I purchased the car) and September 13, 2013 (see attachments) in which I selected Single Credit Life and Single Credit Disability insurance. I was told on February 2, that "these forms were not intended for you to select life or disability insurance." I replied "Then why are the options available on the forms?" The representative (a woman) could not give me an answer. She just kept repeating that my payments would have been more than what they are if the disability insurance had been included. She and I went back-and-forth and I explained to her that I felt it was the responsibility of the person reviewing/entering the form to follow-up with me regarding my selection. I was told that was not their process. I explained to her that as I saw it, Kinetic should be responsible for any back premiums owed since this was a blatant error on their part and that I should then be able to file for the disability insurance to start making the payments. I am sincerely hoping your office can assist me in this matter as I feel that TIC/Kinetic failed in their responsibility to follow-up with me regarding my selection of the life/disability protection on the forms.

Desired Settlement: Kinetic should be responsible for any back premiums owed since this was a blatant error on their part and I should then be able to file for the disability insurance to start making the automobile payments.

Consumer Response: To Whom It May Concern:

I did not check the box marked "Modification Agreement"  it was done by TICFCU - and they processed that part of the form.  Therefore, when I selected the life and disability insurance options, it was my understanding someone at TICFCU would check the box "Subsequent Election for Voluntary Payment Protection" when they saw I had made those selections. and get back to me regarding electing those extra protections.  I think it is an extremely poor business practice on the part of Kinetic Federal Credit Union fka TIC Federal Credit Union to:  1) not go over the forms with their customers upon completion (this would have obviously been too much work for the representative I turned the form into - who DID look at the form in my presence; 2) not follow-up with their customers when it is clear that the customer has made an ellection other than the original intention of the form (when not addressed by the person taking the form from the customer); and 3) to act as if they are devoid of any culpability simply because I did not check the box titled "Subsequent Election for Voluntary Payment Protection"  when it is beyond clear that my selecting the life and disability insurance options meant I wanted those extra protections.
I have reported Kinetics incompetence to State of Georgia agencies who are also looking into this matter as well as the Nation Credit Union Administration.

Business Response:

The loanliner “subsequent action” form is a multi-purpose form that is used by the credit union to communicate to members any changes that have been made to their loan accounts. The form is for credit union use only and not designed for members to use to communicate changes to the credit union loan. In this case one form was issued for a change in rate and another was issued when a due date change was made. The “subsequent action” form does have a section that allows us to indicate to members that their request to add credit life and/or credit disability insurance has been completed. This section of the “subsequent action” form was never intended to be completed by the member and used as a request for credit life and credit disability services. However after reviewing the forms we do believe it was Mrs. *******’s intention to add payment protection to her loan in 2013. Therefore we have reached out to the insurance company that provides this service and they have agreed to allow Mrs. ******* to file her claim. It will be up to the insurance carrier to approve the claim. Mrs. ******* needs to contact ** ***** at the credit union immediately to aid us in the filing of her disability claim.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Kinetic Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)