BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In East AL, West & Southwest GA

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Growing Room meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Growing Room include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 11, 1989 Business started: 06/01/1988 in GA Business started locally: 06/01/1988 Business incorporated: 06/01/1988 in GA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Sheree Mitchell, C.E.O. Mr. Daniel J Adelstein, Senior Vice President blank Director, Growing Room Too blank Director Growing Room blank Director Growing Room Christian Academy Mr. William P. Mitchell, C.F.O.
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sheree Mitchell, C.E.O.
Related Businesses
The Growing Room
Business Category

Child Care Centers

Products & Services

The Growing Room offers the following product(s): Child Care

Alternate Business Names
Growing Room Child Development Centers Growing Room Christian Academy Growing Room, Too
Industry Tips
Child Care Services

Additional Locations

  • 1200 Manchester Expy

    Columbus, GA 31904 (706) 596-1234

  • 6110 Bradley Park Dr

    Columbus, GA 31904 (706) 653-0088

  • 7270 N Lake Dr

    Columbus, GA 31909 (706) 596-1510

  • 7572 Kayne Blvd

    Columbus, GA 31909 (706) 221-3248

  • PO Box 4216

    Columbus, GA 31914

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

Industry Tips

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/3/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In early 2012, my daughter stopped attending day care at the Growing Room at the Bradley Park Drive location. Several weeks after my daughters last day, a Growing Room employee, ******** ********, began leaving rude voicemails and emails concerning past due tuition from the last month my daughter attended. After repeatedly calling the Growing Room corporate office to resolve the tuition debt, we were assured through an email from ******** ******** that she received a payment of $82 and that we owed another $70. We disputed the $70 charge because it was comprised solely of late fees. In a telephone conversation with ******** ********, she assured us that the account was paid in full and the late fees were a misunderstanding as to when the payment had to be submitted by. We did not hear from the Growing Room again until yesterday, February 2014, over one year later, when we received a letter from a law firm representing the Growing Room and demanding a payment of $150 plus interest for unpaid tuition. The letter from the law firm was an obvious attempt to intimidate us into paying a "debt" with no supporting documentation or statements showing why we owed money. The Growing Room, and ******** ******** in particular, assured us our account was in good standing and did not contact us for over year before demanding another payment of $150. I have email correspondence and notes showing that we made several payments to Growing Room after my daughter stopped attending in order to close pay off and close the account. I would not have stopped pursuing the situation if I didn't receive a verbal assurance that the account was in good standing.

Desired Settlement: I would like Growing Room to contact me and resolve this matter immediately by clearing my account of any balance due. Growing Room should employ better employees in the future who aren't rude and actually follow through with assurances given to customers.

Business Response:

I was notified today of a complaint at the Better Business Bureau about an account that was recently sent to our collection attorney. This account was from 2012 and references a balance due.

 

There have been numerous emails and calls made regarding this account with the family. The details are listed in chronological order below.

 

On September 6, 2012 the account received a credit from NACCRRA. The final billing amount due was $152.57.

 

On September 13, 2012, an email was sent to both mom and dad giving them a final statement of the account.

 

On September 21, 2012, the dad advised our collection manager that he thought the grandfather had paid the balance due.

 

On September 26, 2012, the grandfather called and advised our collection manager he would be the one to settle the account. He was sent a statement, the late fee schedule and late payment policy. He asked for half of the late fees to be removed from the account, and he would pay the balance in full. Our office determined the late fees were due and payable.

 On October 19, 2012, the grandfather paid $82.57. The remaining balance was $70. 

 

On October 26, 2012 both parents and the grandfather were sent an email asking for the next payment date.

 

On November 7, 2012 the grandfather advised he had no electricity or internet due to Hurricane Sandy, and that he would pay the remaining balance as soon as this was restored. No additional communication was received from the grandfather.
 

In January 2013, a statement was sent to the parent advising him the balance wasn't paid. We received no additional communication.

In December 2013, the account was removed from our in-house collections and sent to our attorney for collections.

 

We realize it has been one year, however according to our records, this balance is due and payable.

 

Thank you

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

6/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1