This business is not BBB accredited.

Ameris Bank

Additional Locations

Phone: (229) 888-5600 Fax: (229) 888-5588 2627 Dawson Rd, Albany, GA 31707 http://www.amerisbank.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ameris Bank include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Ameris Bank
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 26, 1991 Business started: 05/29/1991 in GA Business started locally: 05/29/1991 Business incorporated 05/29/1991 in GA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

BANKING COMMISSIONER-GEORGIA
2990 BRANDYWINE RD, SUITE 200, ATLANTA GA 30341
http://dbf.georgia.gov
Phone Number: 1-888-986-1633

Type of Entity

Corporation

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Cal McMillan, Alb Mkt Pres
Business Category

Banks

Alternate Business Names
ABC Bancorp
Additional Information

Main office: 2627 Dawson Rd., Albany
Branch office: 1607 U. S. Hwy 19S, Leesburg


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2627 Dawson Rd

    Albany, GA 31707 (229) 888-5600

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    P.O. Box 71748

    Albany, GA 31707

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service
12/2/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Most recently I have complained to management regarding the bank's policies on online banking security and debit card usage limits. In disagreeing with management and after receiving no satisfaction regarding my concerns, a manager has called me and threatened to close my account without my permission.First issue. Online Banking security: Their web site is antiquated with cumbersome with unnecessary requests to change one's password every 90 days. This is a huge inconvenience to every online banking customer. The technology to make this gyration unnecessary has been around for over a decade. I have been bringing this to the attention of management for 270 days with no obvious attention being paid to the issue.Second issue:I have requested on more than one occasion that the amount I be able debit from my checking account be raised to $2000. I have always had adequate funds and have never bounced a personal check. They have denied this request. In other words, they will not give me access to MY money via debit card.In summation, it appears the management is completely tone deaf to their customers. And completely unconcerned about their customers banking experience.Respectfully submitted,******* ** *****

Desired Settlement: I desire the bank to amend their policies to reflect my concerns. I desire them to upgrade their technology to eliminate this ridiculous password situation. I want my debit card limit raised to $2000.

Business Response:

November 1, 2013

Better Business Bureau

PO Box 2587 Columbus, GA 31902


RE: BBB Case ******* — ******* *****


Dear Ms. *********:

Ameris Bank has received the complaint that was filed with the Better Business Bureau on 10/23/2013 with regards to Mr. ******* *****. The accusations made were either untrue or go against stated bank policies that are in place to protect the consumer’s interest as well as the bank.

Ameris Bank vehemently denies the complaints which are subjective such as "huge inconvenience to every online banking customer", "management is completely tone deaf” and "compIeteIy unconcerned about their customers banking experience". These statements lack factual support and are the contrary to how Ameris Bank conducts business. They are the opinion of this particular customer and are based solely on his frustration of wanting us to change our bank policies for his own benefit with lack of concern, care or knowledge about the other customers of the bank.

The specific complaints of threatening to close his account Without his permission, changing the password every 90 days for on-line banking and requesting to raise his daily purchase limit on the debit card to $2000 are all true statements. The necessity to change passwords every 90 days and the daily purchase limit on debit cards are in place to protect the customer and the bank from theft and to prevent his account from being compromised. Regulations around debit card disputes could potentially put the bank at risk for amounts over $1000. Thus, the implementation of a daily purchase limit is a business decision with Ameris Bank to mitigate the risk associated with that. However, the customer is inaccurate in stating that the bank "will not give me access to MY money via debit card.” The following guidelines are in place for debit card usage and how all customers can access their money:

-$1000/ day purchase limit when using the PIN associated with that ca rd

- $500 / day limit for withdrawal of funds from an ATM

- $2,500 / day limit when using the debit card as "credit" when purchasing items

The bank has notified this customer that we will, in fact, close his account. The bank reserves the right to close an account for any reason. In this particular case, the customer has been belligerent in dealing with the local staff {October 21} over the above mentioned issues as well as sent emails containing profanity (April 23, July 22) and condescending language (April 23, April 25, May 2, October 21) to the Branch Manager, Market President and CEO (see attached). This level of disrespect towards bank employees will not be tolerated. Conversely, this customer also sent an email to the Branch Manager on June 13th stating "like to thank you and your staff for the wonderful customer service. I know I can be trying at times."

The customer states in his complaint that he is "disagreeing with management“. The bank respects customer's opinions and does not take offense to the fact that he disagrees with our policies. However, that is not a justification to treat our employees the way that he has nor does it convince us of the logic to change our policies that would subject our many other happy customers and the bank to additional risk that is not necessary. The bank firmly stands behind our policies and evaluates concerns such as these on a broader level to protect the entire customer base and company. However, the bank does take these comments seriously and seek ways to improve the overall customer experience.

 

Sincerely,


******* * *******

Market President - Charleston


Cc: ***** * ******** *** — President & CEO

******* ** ******, J.D. - EVP & Chief Risk Officer

******* ***** — President South Carolina


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Ameris Bank
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart