BBB Accredited Business since

White's Automotive Center

Phone: (706) 323-1060 Fax: (706) 323-9371 1509 Wynnton Rd, Columbus, GA 31906 http://www.whitesautomotive.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that White's Automotive Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for White's Automotive Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on White's Automotive Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 10, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1970 in GA Business started locally: 01/01/1970 Business incorporated 01/01/1970 in GA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. James White, President Mr. Harold White, Mgr.
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Harold White, Mgr.
Principal: Mr. James White, President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Brake Service Engines - Rebuild & Exchange Lubricating Service - Automotive Transmissions - Automobile Wheel Alignment, Frame & Axle Service - Auto Auto Air Conditioning Equipment Tire Dealers Auto Electric Service Auto Renting & Leasing

Products & Services

White's Automotive Center offers the following product(s): Auto & truck repair, Auto Rental

Method(s) of Payment
VISA, MASTERCARD, DISCOVER
Alternate Business Names
50 Cent Rent a Car Fifty Cent Rent a Car White's Automotive Center, Inc.
Industry Tips
Auto/Vehicle Repair & Services Transmissions, Automatic

Additional Locations

  • 1509 Wynnton Rd

    Columbus, GA 31906 (706) 323-1060

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/15/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
11/26/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I paid a weekly rental fee so that I could have the police come to my house because I didn't bring the automobile in so that the miles and oil could be checked one week. The police were called to my house and the minivan was picked up, but before this was done the company made sure it debited my account for another weekly rental. I had no idea that I was renting from a company that operated under such practices. My continue paid service was reward with a police visit and a vehicle pick up.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund of my money and my deposit returned to me for the week that was cut short by five days.

Business Response:

 
 

BBB CASE# *******

**** ******

 

 

     The customer rented a van from us on 10/09/2013, on a weekly basis. Every week she would extend the rental by phone. She was told several times that we needed to see the vehicle to check mileage and oil. She refused to bring the vehicle in and after the third week there still was no response. She would ignore our phone calls and did not contact us. At this time we became alarmed and took measures locating vehicle. We located the vehicle at her house. I went to the door to ask her if she still wanted to rent the vehicle. I heard talking and movement in house, but no one came to door. The reason we called the police is that we thought that there was somebody by their self and didn’t want anything to happen to them. When the cops arrived they called us and asked if any one came to door and we said no, because no one will answer for them. I really don’t know what happen at that point.

     Since nobody came to the door I went to inspect the vehicle and found that the interior of the vehicle had been abused. Juice boxes thrown throughout the van. Spills of an unknown substance on seats and floor. At this point I had to repo the vehicle in order to stop the damages happening to the interior.

 

      We did not go to her house with the purpose of repo. Once I saw the condition of my vehicle and her not taking care of it properly I repo the vehicle. She has been refunded her deposit and the days she did not have the vehicle minus the repo, fuel, and clean up fees.

      All of this could have been avoided if she came in for us to check the vehicle, she would not.

   

 

                                                                                  Sincerely,

                                                                                                                  Harold White

11/26/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Never rent a car or get services at whites auto. The owner is rude they also over charged for charges that have never occured they rent out dirty cars then add those charges to your bill. They charged me $339.00 dollars for a car I rented for 3 days then turned around and charged me for another day and told me cause I turned the car in 5 mins late. They also charged me 200 foe smoking in a vehicle that I never smoked in clearly because I dont smoke. They also told me ashes where in the there vehicle when I renturned it but clearly they were left from previous renters because the car had not been cleaned before I rented it. They then have the nerve to tell me I owe them another 39 dollars I told them over mt dead body they have the worse rent a car swrvice I have ever seen. This Iis not my first time renting a car but it is the first time I rented through a mom and pops business and it will be the last. I've always rented cars because I am a traveling nurse but I have aways rented through more reliable companies such as enterprise, budget and avis and never not once have I ever had a problem with them. All I have to say is beware who u rent cars from if its not a reliable source.

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to refund me my 200.00 for there smoking fee im not interested in the money for rhe rentals cause the car ran fine. The service was just terrible

Business Response:

 
 

                                                       November 04, 2013

BBB CASE # *******

  

    The customer rented a car from us on Saturday October 26, 2013.She called ****** ***** Saturday afternoon complaining of brakes vibrating and making noise.  On 10-26-2013 at about 6:30 pm she met me at White’s Automotive to swap to another vehicle. At this time I realized she had left the emergency brake on which caused the brakes to vibrate and make noise.

     When I checked the vehicle over I removed her ashtray from the vehicles cup holder and returned it to her. At this time I reminded her that smoking was not allowed in our vehicle and that there was a $100.00 fine for smoking. She admitted that the ashtray was hers and put it back in her purse.

     When she returned car on Monday, there was evidence she smoked in the car that was swap out. Ashes were in the floorboard, on the window and window seal. Also my employee noticed the vehicle smelled of cigarette smoke.

      Customer signed and initialed the paperwork. It states clearly that there is a $100.00 fine for smoking in our vehicle. She stated that she doesn’t smoke but admitted to me that was her ashtray. Either way both vehicles in her possession were smoked in. The charges that were applied will stay and she does still owe $37.85 due to Credit Card declined.   

 

                                                        Sincerely,

                                                            Harold White

8/21/2013 Problems with Product/Service
1/22/2013 Problems with Product/Service
10/11/2012 Problems with Product/Service