BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
East AL, West & Southwest GA

BBB Accredited Business since

Sherman's Automotive, Inc.

Phone: (706) 322-8431 Fax: (706) 324-1271 View Additional Phone Numbers 2205 2nd Ave, Columbus, GA 31901

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Sherman's Automotive, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Sherman's Automotive, Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: July 24, 1985 Business started: 01/01/1961 in GA Business started locally: 01/01/1961 Business incorporated: 01/01/1961 in GA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Sherman Adcock, Jr., President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Sherman Adcock, Jr., President
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

Sherman's Automotive, Inc. offers the following product(s): Auto Repair & Electrical Service

Industry Tips
Auto/Vehicle Repair & Services

Additional Locations

  • 2205 2nd Ave

    Columbus, GA 31901 (706) 322-9999

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (706) 322-9999(Phone)
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

2/25/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Wednesday, 12/04/2013: I found that our car was leaking. I saw a little flow of oil under the car on our driveway. I suspected transmission oil leakage. Therefore, I went to Shermans Automotive to find out its cause and to repair the car accordingly. ***** ****** told me that the wet speed sensor was the cause of the leakage, it should be replaced, and he had to order the part.Friday, 12/06/2013: I sent the car to Shermans Automotive for repair in the morning. In the afternoon, ******* ******, the owner, came driving our car to pick us (my wife and me) up at the YMCA. During the ride to his shop, she asked him, Is everything OK now? He answered: I do not know. Someone else worked on the car. I paid $378.26 for repair of the transmission leakage with my Chase card.Saturday, 12/7/13: I found that the car was still leaking the same as before. However, Shermans Automotive was closed over weekends.Sunday, 12/8/13: I do not mind paying higher end of market price for QUALITY work, but I wonder if I have been swindled for close to $400 for the useless diagnostic procedure, the labor, and the speed sensor. I called Chase card about the suspicious the business practice of the Shermans Automotive.Monday, 12/09/2013: I went to Shermans Automotive to tell them that the car was leaking as before and questioned them if they did what it should have been done to address the transmission leakage. They told me that the car had ANOTHER leakage and would be willing to repair the leakage for the cost of the part only ($60) plus free labor. I wondered to myself: Why such a good deal this time?Tuesday, 12/10/13: I went to Shermans Automotive. I reiterated to ******* ****** that Shermans did not do what should have been done to repair the transmission leakage and I wanted a full refund for the useless repair and proposed to pay a full market price to fix the leakage. ******* ****** laughed sarcastically. I immediately drove to Rivertown Toyota Scion in Columbus, GA for a full car checkup. The report says that the car needs valve cover gaskets among other things. I have both the report and Shermans invoice with me. Note: www.bbb.org only allows one file attached.

Desired Settlement: I want to have a full refund of what I had paid with my credit card for $378.26 that is on the receipt.

Business Response:

December 20. 2013

When Mr: ************* brought vehicle to the shop that morning and informed us that he had a transmission leak? The vehicle was pulled into the shop put on the lift and inspected and found that Speed Sensor was leaking, which the tech actually showed Mr. ************* what was leaking and he gave the air to have the repairs done he was also told the cost of the repair and then again he gave the go ahead for the repair. informed customer that part would have to he ordered and he said he would bring back when part came in. He brought vehicle hack on [2/6/2013 to have repairs done.

He came back Monday 2/8/2013 and said vehicle was still leaking, which i told him no problem will he glad to check. While on the lift the part that had been replaced (speed sensor) was not leaking. Mn ************* insisted that the prior repair was misdiagnosed and unnecessary and wanted a refund on that repair but wanted us to fix the valve covers. Tried to explain to him that speed sensor was leaking and needed to be replaced He requested to get the old part that was replaced ( which we gladly gave to him). I also have pictures of the part if requested.

While explaining to Mr. ************* that vehicles have many areas that can leak and mentioned just some of the areas - oil press, switch, oil pan, oil filter, transmission pan, rear main seat front timing cover, and that is just to name a few. He even mentioned that he had a 15 year old vehicle and may have other leaks and told him yes that is possible. But I can assure you there would be no reason for Sherman's Automotive to ‘SWINDLED” him or anyone else. We regret that Mr. ************* is unsatisfied and feels he has been treated unfairly He noted that when Sherman went to pick them up from the YMCA his wife wanted to know If everything was ok? After replacing the speed sensor it was test drove and brought back in and rechecked found no leaks.

I can assure that ******* ****** was not sarcastic in anyway, Mr. ************* may have taken it that way. while he wanted us to understand his point and we did. While Sherman told him he understood what was saying but Mr. ************* feels he was charged for something that was unnecessary. We have been in business since 1966, and we are sorry that he feels like he has been treated unfair. For offering to do the valve cover, if is not because we think the speed sensor repair was "misdiagnosed" or "unnecessary" we want to have a satisfied customer and don 't mind helping out in anyway we can.

Sincerely,

Sherman's Automotive, Inc.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

*********** *************


 

 

Case number: ID *******                                                             1/30/2014

My experience demonstrates that Sherman’s Automotive is not a trust-worthy car repair business.  I have suffered financially, physical, and psychologically.  Since the dispute, I have done researches on car transmissions and speed sensors.  What was/were the root cause/causes to Sherman’s misdiagnose - incompetence, negligence, or downright cherry-picking?  Sherman’s has also overcharged the speed sensor itself at $278.91.  I got on line to Google and entered ‘1999 Toyota Camry 4 door sedan CE speed sensor price’.   Amazon popped up for a mere price at $14.99 to $15.99 compared to what I have paid $278.91 to Sherman, and that is a more than 18 times overcharge and it does not stop the leak at all!  I have spent nearly $500 in total to try to fix my car leakage and my car still had the same problem.  I paid $ $378 to Sherman and had to pay another $80 to Toyota for a full check-up to get the truth.  Looking back now, I could see all along the way the tell-tale flags in their dubious business dealing.

The following is my feedback to Sherman’s message:

 

When Mr: ************* brought vehicle to the shop that morning and informed us that he had a transmission leak? 

My car had been driving well, but I found my card was leaking.  So on 12/04/13 morning, I went to Sherman and told a mechanic that my car might have a transmission leakage and left it there.  About an hour later, I called the same mechanic who then said that the car had a leakage through the seal of the speed sensor, that the whole sensor needed to be replaced, and that he had to order a new one for a total cost of $378.

 

The vehicle was pulled into the shop put on the lift and inspected and found that Speed Sensor was leaking. 

The same date 12/4/13.  After leaving my car at Sherman’s, I left for work.  If Sherman’s had placed the car on the lift, they should have had a very good view and inspection of the car. My questions:

(1) Was the tiny speed sensor really leaking OR

(2) Other leaking parts that are much more visible were dripping fluid onto it OR

(3) If it had been leaking, could it have been the only part that was leaking?

 

Attached to one end of the transmission, the sensor is very tiny compared to other transmission parts that usually are the much more common causes of transmission leakage.  Please refer to the attached document for the picture of the transmission and its parts from Google:

 

 

<v:path o:connecttype="rect" gradientshapeok="t" o:extrusionok="f"> <v:imagedata o:title="side view of typical leak points on an automatic transmission" src="file:///C:\Users\June\AppData\Local\Temp\msohtmlclip1\01\clip_image001.jpg">

Speed Sensor was leaking which the tech actually showed Mr. ************* what was leaking.

 Same date 12/4/13 afternoon.  In the afternoon, I went back to Sherman to get my car back.  Opening the hood of the car in the parking lot and pointing to its sweaty speed sensor, the mechanic said that the car had a transmission leakage through the sensor’s seal without mentioning any other parts whatsoever at all.

 

 and he gave the air to have the repairs done he was also told the cost of the repair and then again he gave the go ahead for the repair. informed customer that part would have to he ordered and he said he would bring back when part came in.

Same date 12/4/13.  At around 5:00 pm, I called him from home to order the part.  He told me to take the car to him the very next day (12/5/13).   I wondered if the order would reach them that soon.  Was that a tell-tale sign I failed to think twice at that time? Did Sherman order the sensor?  Only the printout of that order if placed can tell!

 He brought vehicle hack on 2/6/2013 to have repairs done.

On Friday morning 12/06/2013, I sent the car to Sherman’s.  In the afternoon, Sherman’s owner came driving the ‘Repaired?’ car to pick us up.  During the ride to his shop, my wife asked him, ‘Is everything OK now?’  He replied: ‘I do not know.  Someone else worked on the car.’  Why so evasive and defensive?!  Again, what a thought-provoking tell-tale flag out of the blue!

 

He came back Monday 2/8/2013 and said vehicle was still leaking, which i told him no problem will he glad to check. Mn ************* insisted that the prior repair was misdiagnosed and unnecessary and wanted a refund on that repair but wanted us to fix the valve covers. Tried to explain to him that speed sensor was leaking and needed to be replaced He requested to get the old part that was replaced (which we gladly gave to him). I also have pictures of the part if requested. While on the lift the part that had been replaced (speed sensor) was not leaking.

 On Monday 12/09/2013, I went to Sherman’s to tell them that the car was leaking as before and questioned if they did what it should have been done to address the transmission leakage.  Sherman’s mounted my car on the lift.  Looking at the bottom of the car while it was on the lift high in the air, I had a shocking sight: the sensor was wet, the whole transmission unit was wet, and the entire bottom of the car was wet!  Evidently, transmission fluid had spilled out of the unit around everywhere. The sensor was at the bottom end of the unit.  Through gravitation Fluid leaking from other parts at the top of the transmission would have dripped down to the sensor.  At that very moment I knew I had been taken in.  Then Sherman said that the car had ANOTHER leakage, this time it was the valve cover gaskets, and would be willing to repair for the cost of the part ($60) plus free labor.  Why didn’t Sherman see valve cover gaskets leaking on 12/4/13 when they had placed the car high on the lift???

While explaining to Mr. ************* that vehicles have many areas that can leak and mentioned just some of the areas - oil press, switch, oil pan, oil filter, transmission pan, rear main seat front timing cover, and that is just to name a few. He even mentioned that he had a 15 year old vehicle and may have other leaks and told him yes that is possible.

 So Sherman’s knew all along after all!  Then why the hell does their diagnostic report exclude everything else except the sensor seal as the sole cause of transmission leakage? If they had repaired that ‘Another’ leak also, they might have had very well gotten away with the speed sensor!

 

 But I can assure you there would be no reason for Sherman's Automotive to ‘SWINDLED” him or anyone else. We regret that Mr. ************* is unsatisfied and feels he has been treated unfairly.  He noted that when Sherman went to pick them up from the YMCA his wife wanted to know If everything was ok? Sherman replied: ‘I do not know.  Someone else worked on the car.’   Sherman claimed that they had ‘tested drove’ the sensor and at that very moment they were only waiting for me to pay, and they still ‘I do not know’?  You ‘I do not know’ it OK, but you did know that it was not OK!

After replacing the speed sensor it was test drove and brought back in andrechecked found no leaks.

 No leaks??? On 12/9/13 after the ‘repair’, I saw the whole bottom of the car was flooded while it was on the lift!  I saw, and Toyota saw on 12/10/13, but did not Sherman’s see!!!  Sherman charged me another $99 for the so-called ‘test drove’!

 

But I can assure you there would be no reason for Sherman's Automotive to ‘SWINDLED” him or anyone else.

 I spent nearly $500 to try to fix transmission leak and the car still leaked.  Doesn’t that fact tell something?

 

I can assure that ******* ****** was not sarcastic in anyway, Mr. ************* may have taken it that way. while he wanted us to understand his point and we did. While Sherman told him he understood what was saying but Mr. ************* feels he was charged for something that was unnecessary. We have been in business since 1966, and we are sorry that he feels like he has been treated unfair. For offering to do the valve cover, if is not because we think the speed sensor repair was "misdiagnosed" or "unnecessary" we want to have a satisfied customer and don 't mind helping out in anyway we can.

On 12/10/13, I already knew that Sherman’s had taken me in.  Still, I went to Sherman’s to give them a last chance to get things right.  I reiterated that Sherman’s did not do what should have been done to repair the transmission leakage and I wanted a full refund for the useless ‘repair’ and proposed to pay a full market price to fix the leakage.  Sherman’s laughed sarcastically and questioned ‘How much you make? How much the mechanic make?  Do you want him to pay your repair?!’  At that very moment, I realized that it would be a waste of time to continue with Sherman’s.  Anxious to get to the bottom of the leakage, immediately I drove to Rivertown Toyota Scion in Columbus, GA for a full car checkup.  Their report confirms that the car needs valve cover gaskets among other things. Toyota’s expert report verifies what I had suspected. 

 

Business Response:

 
   I truly regret that Mr. *************  feels that our business is "Not Trust-Worthy and Incompetent", and also he has financially, physical, and psychologically suffered over this issue ?  (per his comments)
 
I understand that anything can be purchased from the Internet including car parts, but unfortunately that is not the way we choose to run over business.
We are a Napa Auto Care Center and have been for several years.  The part that was installed on the customers vehicle was purchased from Napa.
Also the reason it had to be ordered because it was not in stock in the Columbus or the Phenix City stores, so in a situation like this the part comes from Napa's DC (Distribution Center in Atlanta, GA)
it is put on a night truck delivered to Napa store and then the Columbus Store delivers to us.     Also being a Napa Auto Care Center he will have a 24 months 24,000 miles "Parts & Labor" warranty on this repair
and that will be at any Napa Auto Care Center which includes out of town Centers also.  He was not overcharged for the part and I can assure you that the part did not cost $15.00 ( feel free to call the Napa Store and price it out).   
 
I am sorry that he feels like has been treated unfairly, but I think if we would have fixed ANY leak and then he had another leak we would be in the same situation  that we are in right now. 
 
Sincerely
 
Sherman's Automotive, Inc.
 
 
 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

*********** *************


 


 

 

Complaint ID *******                                 2/21/2014


       Sherman has never fixed my transmission fluid leakage.  I have spent nearly $500 in total and my car still had the same problem.  I paid $378 to Sherman and had to pay another $80 to Toyota for a full check-up to get to the truth.


       Sherman itself knows and reveals that it has not fixed the leakage in its letter dated 1/21/2014:


 ‘For offering to do the valve cover, if is not because we think the speed sensor repair was "misdiagnosed" or "unnecessary" we want to have a satisfied customer and don 't mind helping out in anyway we can.’


        I have two reports from two local reputable car services in Columbus to prove that Sherman has not fixed the transmission leakage of my car.  One is the Rivertown Toyota Scion diagnostic report dated 12/13/2013 that says valve cover gaskets are needed.  And the other is Midas Auto Service Experts Invoice Report dated 1/13/2014 that says that a new valve cover gasket has been installed.   The valve cover gasket fixes the car transmission leakage.  I have sent the Toyota report in previous correspondence.  The invoice from Midas is attached together with the response.  If you need any more information or have questions, please let me know.


      


       In case Sherman wants to know my response to its explanation about the speed sensor price, why not just let the invoice for that part speak?


 

 

Thanks!

 

 


 


 


      


 


         


 


 

 

 

 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.