BBB Accredited Business since

Performance Auto Sales

Phone: (706) 571-9964 Fax: (706) 571-0282 4901 Hamilton Rd, Columbus, GA 31904


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Performance Auto Sales meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Performance Auto Sales include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Performance Auto Sales
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 08, 2010 Business started: 05/01/2005 in GA Business started locally: 05/01/2005 Business incorporated 05/01/2005 in GA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Seagle Sexton, President Ms. Sonia Winner, Off. Mgr.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Seagle Sexton, President
Customer Contact: Ms. Sonia Winner, Off. Mgr.
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

Performance Auto Sales offers the following product(s): Used automobiles

Alternate Business Names
Sexton's Auto Sales
BBB Program Participation

Military Marketplace
This company is a participant in the BBB's "Military Marketplace Code of Ethics" program.  The program is provided by the Bureau as a specific effort to ensure a "Fair and Honest" marketplace for members of the United States Military and their families. 

Industry Tips
Service Contracts Used Cars-(Georgia) Buyer's Rights

Additional Locations

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The ppl their are very rude I asked for my personal things out the car they wouldn't even give me my stuff out the car so now I going to take it up with the police don't buy a car from them they have no customer services skills

Desired Settlement: I wanna be contacted from the head people over performance thanks

Business Response:

Hello,

Ms.****** called the office today asking to retrieve some personal belongings. I informed Ms. ****** that she must have the owner of the car present with the key to the vehicle @ the time of getting the belongings. The Buyer of the vehicle is incarcerated @ this time .Ms. ****** took the vehicle to ***** Ga. after the Buyer of the account was incarcerated with out permission and reflected in the vehicle being impounded due to her not having a drivers license (Suspended) no Insurance and a tag that was registered to a different vehicle, The result of Ms. ****** taking the vehicle against the buyers will cost our company $600.00 to get the vehicle out of pound and brought back to Columbus Ga. Performance Auto was notified by the step father of the buyer that Ms. ****** was trying to obtain belongings of the buyer and to not allow her to  have access to account. I have informed Ms. ****** that she has a suspended license prior to this incident. The buyer and Ms. ****** has  Domestic issues at this time but regardless Ms. ****** has no rights to this account and had been advised that we will not allow her to retrieve anything VIA vehicle or belongings with out the buyer present and a key to the vehicle, that is the policy. Thank you if you have any questions please feel free to contact me.

6/17/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 02 Nissan Altima in November from day one the car has been giving me problems it broke down on me I called them an let them know their response was they don't have a tow truck so I had it towed at my cost they pretended to fix it I got it home it drove awhile then broke down again I have spent more money fixing it it has high miles on top of everything else not a reliable place at all cars aren't any good

Desired Settlement: Another reliable car at their expense

Business Response:

Hello,

Ms. ******* is aware that Performance Auto is a used car Dealership, she picked the vehicle out that fits her down payment/budget. The customer has the right to inspect the vehicle or take to get it inspected while test driving, we do a work order if the customer finds any problems and give 30 days to repair what's on the work order.   Performance Auto has an As Is Warranty that the customer signed. Performance Auto Finances several hundred customers that are very happy with their vehicles.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

********** ******** I disagree because for starters I pointed out before my warranty was up that the car wasnt riding like it should it has been in their shop several times an the problem isnt solved I dont have a problem with the warranty contract but I do have a problem with paying for a car that isnt performing as such and as a result of these problems I have lost my job because of not having reliable tranportation for which I pay for every month period point blank

12/12/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle from them on 11/07/14 and my vehicle was never serviced or cleaned out, I was told to bring the vehicle up there the following monday 11/10/14, they told me I couldn't come because no one was there to service my vehicle and now it has been 2 weeks I have had this vehicle without it ever being checked out. They came and repoed the vehicle today 11/26/14 because they would not allow me to make an arrangment for payment like they did everyone else. I would like my refund of $500.00 back and to get my stuff out of the vehicle.

Desired Settlement: $500.00 partial down payment

Business Response:

  THE REASON WE REPOED THE VEHICLE IS SHE STILL OWED 700.00 OF HER DOWN PAYMENT DUE ON THE 11/22/14 0F $600.00 AND ON 12/8/2014 OF $100.00 THAT WAS NEVER PAID.  WE WILL LET CUSTOMERS DO A PROMISE TO PAY AT A LATER DATE ON THE CAR PAYMENT ONLY, NEVER ON THE DOWN PAYMENT, THIS WAS HER DOWN PAYMENT.  ALL CARS ARE CLEANED AND SERVICED BEFORE PUT ON FRONT LINE FOR SALE.  MS. JOHNSON CALLED AT LEAST 5 TIMES WEDNESDAY MORNING AND SAID SHE WAS COMING TO GET HER STUFF OUT OF THE VEHICLE, AND USED FOUL LANGUAGE AND WE HUNG UP ON HER.  SHE SENT A FRIEND TO GET HER STUFF OUT, SO SHE DID GET IT ALL.  WE NEVER SAID WE WOULD NOT GIVE IT TO HER.  SHE PROMISED ON 11/25/2014 TO BRING THE VEHICLE TO THE OFFICE AND US HOLD IT UNTIL SHE COULD GET THE MONEY UP AND WE AGREEDED, BUT SHE NEVER BROUGHT THE VEHICLE TO US.  THE OWNER SAID SINCE SHE BROKE ALL HER PROMISES TO REPO THE VEHICLE.  HE HELPED HER TILL HE WAS BLUE IN THE FACE, THEN SHE TRIED TO HIDE THE VEHICLE.  WE FOUND IT AT TRAFFIC CIRCLE SHOP CENTER. 

IF YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS, PLEASE DONT HESITATE TO CALL.

 

THANK YOU,

***** ****** - OFFICE MANAGER

 

8/22/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Their bookkeeping not matching up with receipts payed on vehicle . They were telling me I was 3 months behind in payment and this was not true . My balance is different from the amount they told me and they do not want to help resolve the issue.

Desired Settlement: I would like to for them to get their facts straight in writing because they were wrong they probably have done this to others. If someone can go in an investigate this issue. I did try to call and make a payment but they would not take the payment.

Business Response:

 

The ********** were 4 payments of $240.00 behind for a total of $960.00, plus $95.00 owed for a partial payment, $109.74 owed for late fees, $575.00 owed for Repo fees for New York City and $50.00 in storage fees. That is a total of $1789.74 and they would need to pay that in full in order to get the vehicle back. They would also have to go to New York to pick the vehicle up.

I'm enclosing a copy of their payment history and as you can see it has receipt numbers for every payment. The last payment that was made in May still owed a balance of $95.00 owed for March. They were also due for April, May, June, and July when the vehicle was picked up and are now currently due for August as well. The total to get the vehicle now is $2029.74.

I asked, Ms. *********, several times to bring her receipts in to compare with ours to make sure there was no mistakes made and she has refused to do so. If she can show me proof that her vehicle was not behind, I would be more than happy to give her the vehicle back. I don't want the vehicle back; l just want her to pay us for it.

I think i may have figured out the confusion with her account, Ms. ******** is under the impression that she purchased this vehicle on 04-02-2014, which is not the case. She actually purchased this vehicle on 04-02-2013. Her husband may also be out of work, he has been in New York with this vehicle for some time now.

If you need anything else from me please feel free to contact me at 706-571-9964.

Thank You,

****** ******


Business Response:  I have 600 people financed in my company. Out of all of them Mrs. ******** has been one of the worst. She has told us one lie after another. If she had made her payments on her vehicle like she was supposed to, she would still have her vehicle. If all my customers were like her, I would have to close up my business and never go into the car business again. We tried to contact her several times, by phone and mail prior to the repossession of her vehicle,  in reference to her late payments to no avail. We extended every opportunity to her to make her payments and get her account back on track. I, myself, do not know why she thinks I should have to furnish her a vehicle to drive for free. The contract she signed, has a repossession agreement that she also signed willingly. She broke the contract not me. This will be the last time I will answer her complaint. If she wishes to pursue this matter further, then she will need to obtain a lawyer. Please do not bother me with this matter again.    

 Thank you,  

Seagle Sexton

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

******** ********                               I will not keep going back and forth with Mr. Segel, the bottom line is this is not about obtaining a lawyer it is about your business tactics it is not customer service oriented. You do not threaten customers to  do something, my records speak for itself I was not your worst customer, I was your best customers, the title from one of your junk cars proves it. You are selling lemons and that is the bottom line, and then you set the customers up so you can take the car back and resell it again.  And as for me being your worst customer the other customers were probably afraid to come forward and tell the truth. I hope this will help them do that.

 
 
 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Performance Auto Sales
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart