This business is not BBB accredited.

J.D. Byrider Auto Sales

Phone: (706) 257-4101 Fax: (706) 257-4104 View Additional Phone Numbers 1426 Veterans Pkwy, Columbus, GA 31901 http://www.gojdb.com ! BBB Business Review on J.D. Byrider Auto Sales is being Updated by BBB !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.




Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1426 Veterans Pkwy

    Columbus, GA 31901 (706) 257-4101 (888) 685-2133

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/14/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
8/25/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My motor went out they say trimming belt but no it's was the motor so now they say that motor no good I pay my note never been late I'm afraid to get in that car but they saying 3 more week I need something to get around can u all give me another car this not right this not right paying car nor and insurance for 3 months and I don't have the car

Desired Settlement: I would love to change this car for something else I don't trust this car so I'm willing to take a mother car it's not my problem it's should not take 3 ,months to put a motor in and this the 2 motor u all need to do something ASAP

Business Response:

Ms. ***** is a valued customer here at JD Byrider. Her vehicle ran into some unfortunate events outside of JD Byrider's control. Below is a timeline of the events:
7/8/2015 - Vehicle was towed into the service department. The technicians looked at her car and quickly found out the timing belt snapped. The timing belt is covered under JD Byrider's 24 month/24,000 mile limited warranty. The technicians replaced the timing belt on 7/8/2015, and once installed, realized the valves were bent on the motor. The only way to know if the valves are bent is to put on a timing belt first. Unfortunately, belt valves means it's more cost effective (and quicker) to replace the entire motor than to send off the motor to get rebuilt. The engine is covered under the warranty and the only cost to the customer is $25.00.
7/9/2015 - The JD Byrider service department had to find an engine for a 2003 Hyundai Tiburon 2.7L with a manual transmission (not a common engine).
7/10/2015 - The engine was located and purchased.
7/16/2015-  The engine arrived. 
7/17/2015 - The service department started taking out the bad engine.
7/20/2015 - The bad engine was completely removed and the new engine is getting installed. The pressure plate was bad on the clutch system, so Ms. ***** was informed that is a non-warrantied part and would have to pay $225.00 for that part. Ms. ***** confirmed the work.
7/23/2015 - Engine complete. The exhaust system was bent and needed to get taken to an exhaust shop for repair. Ms. ***** was aware of the update.
7/24/2015 - Exhaust work complete. On the final test drive there was a knocking noise in bottom end of the engine. Service called Ms. ***** to let her know we might have a bad engine. Technicians did more diagnostic work and replacement engine was bad. Service called distributor about issue. Service did more diagnostic as recommended by distributor and still was a bad engine.
7/27/2015 - Second engine on the way. 
7/28/2015 - Shipping issue delayed second engine arrival date. 
8/7/2015 - Still issue with second engine arrival date. JD Byrider went against own policy and put Ms. ***** in a rental vehicle at no cost to customer. 
8/12/2015 - Expect to receive second engine on 8/14/2015. Ms. ***** will be in the rental car, at no cost to her, until the engine work is complete. Ms. ***** will have to pay out of pocket costs for the pressure plate and exhaust work on the vehicle. All other costs are under the vehicle's warranty. 

2/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2005 Ford Focus Automatic 4cyl. With o/d. The first night 12/08/14 the MIL (malfunction indicator light) turns on as well as o/d off flashes briefly. I contacted J.B. Byrider who scheduled an apt.for 12/23/14. At apt. I'm informed the transmission is going out but can not leave my vehicle at that time. I return vehicle on 12/29/14. Dealership informed me that my car would be repaired by 12/30/14- not repaired. 2nd date 01/02/15- no 3rd date 01/05/15- no 4th date 01/06/15- no 5th date 01/07/15 repaired after 10days when originally I was informed of 1day. Then the date continued to change and get pushed aside. Finally receiving vehicle back on 01/07/15 that night the MIL came back on. 01/09/15 my vehicle is again serviced. This time to have the thermostat replaced. I waited at the dealership and received my vehicle a few hours later. That night I notice a significant driving difference as well as a very low almost non existent idle at stop and a barking noise when transmission goes from 2nd to 3rd gear in my automatic transmission. I again on 01/14/15 and express my frustration, and concerns to the dealer. The head of service department rides with me in my car and expresses to me that these problems are normal. I requested a more detailed invoice to include my OBD codes and DTC codes for the previous issues as well as the steps taken to correct said issues. Which I was denied and asked to vacate the property immediately, being told they did not keep records of such things, but with my vehicle under warranty they are required to for the warranty and service records to be complete. The invoice in which they handed me is not only extremely vague but also false. The dates are false and the transmission was sublet out which to whom they will not disclose to me. Im purchasing this vehicle and have a right to information that is both detailed and accurate for my own records which they are not only denying me but claiming not to have.

Desired Settlement: I am sending a registered letter through the mail on Monday 01/19/15 requesting the detailed information on what codes were active, what services where rendered and who serviced my vehicle. A new apt to have issues looked into further and fixed. I will be expecting to receive a registered letter in response to my own so that a burden of proof will be placed upon the dealership and they may not be able to misrepresent or falsify any other details of service or promises issued to me.

Business Response: JD Byrider and Car Now Acceptance Company (CNAC)  released ***** ******* from his contract. The signed contract from both parties is attached. 

9/2/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a car from jd byrider the first week of july on my way to work the day I drove off the lot with the vehicle it broke down on 85 when they towed it back to the dealer come to find out the engine had blown in the car so they did replace it with another vehicle so that issue was taken care of a couple weeks later my new car had been broken into twice at my apartment and my spare key was stolen when I took my police report down I was told they would not replace the locks so I let that issue go. I had a payment that was due on tge 4th of august well that day I had 300.00 stolen out of my wallet which was my car payment money I called them immediately and explained what happened they told me that I needed to borrow it to pay it they would not work with me at all so I received notice that they were planning and laughing about how they were going to repo the car from my job in auburn and leave me stranded well this past thursday they came and got my car from my new house and left me stranded with my disabled mother and my son for over 8 hours the repo guy confirmed what I was told about them plotting to leave me in auburn I was also informed of another customer they were calling a hood rat because of her situation I dont understand how a company who claims to be willing to help people can be so hateful as a result of this unfourtante event I have lost my car and over 1000.00 and my job because they couldn't work with me they should not be a running business when they do there customers like this who kept communication with them about a situation I was also told if I paid the 475.00 I could get my car back when I got the money I called the next day and was told I could not have my car back without paying the car off or part ways and it would not effect my credit which I know is a lie.

Desired Settlement: I would at least like my 400.00 down payment back for this whole mix up and being lied to.

Business Response: Please accept this response to  complaint #******** by Ms. ******* ***. Ms. *** entered into the attached Retail Installment Agreement on July 7th, 2014 for the purchase of a Chrysler Pacifica that states that that payments must be made on time and that there are no grace periods. Non Payment of the note was the reason for the repossession of the vehicle. In the short time she had possession of the car Ms. Six put nearly 3500 miles on the vehicle. It was only after we lost contact with her and the co-buyer after repeated attempts to try and make arrangements for payment that we felt insecure as to the safety of our collateral and the the decision was made to repossess the car.  Though her other accusations are irrelevant seeing that she was in breach of the Agreement,  to my knowledge this did not take place but I will investigate the second hand allegations as I would agree that that is not how I have  

done business in the past nor find it acceptable.  In good faith this repossession will not appear on the customers credit though considering the wear and tear on the vehicle we are unable to refund the money she is requesting.    

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

******* *** 

I am not satisfied with the response all I am wanting back is my 400 down payment so I can purchase another vehicle the fact that was stated about the wear and tear on the vehicle I find uncalled for because at the time if purchase they were aware of where I worked and the amount of mileage that was going to be put on the car at the time there seemed to be no problem with it do why now is it an issue and as far as the other complaints I have no problem contacting who I have heard this information from so I don't like being lied to when it is said that your business does not run like that obviously you do not know much about your employees and the trash they talk about the customers and to begin with the first vehicle I purchased the engine blew up and I had to walk down interstate 85 to get a ride to work so the cars they sell obviously are not well maintained I contacted the day my payment got stolen and if they would have listened to me and let me make payments until I got it caught up I could have borrowed the money but when I did the whole story changed if I find out that this is in my credit and this does not get resolved I will get a lawyer who will be contacting jd byrider and cnac finance. Because of all this I have lost my vehicle and my job.


Customer Review(s)