BBB Accredited Business since

Fairbanks Motors Inc.

Phone: (706) 682-1346 Fax: (706) 682-1498 3072 Victory Dr, Columbus, GA 31903 http://www.fairbanksmotorsinc.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Fairbanks Motors Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Fairbanks Motors Inc. include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Fairbanks Motors Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 04, 1983 Business started: 11/14/1979 in GA Business started locally: 11/14/1979 Business incorporated 11/14/1979 in GA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Charles Fairbanks, President Mr. Trey Crawford, Sales Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Trey Crawford, Sales Manager
Principal: Mr. Charles Fairbanks, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

Fairbanks Motors Inc. offers the following product(s): Auto's Used

BBB Program Participation

Military Marketplace
This company is a participant in the BBB's "Military Marketplace Code of Ethics" program.  The program is provided by the Bureau as a specific effort to ensure a "Fair and Honest" marketplace for members of the United States Military and their families. 

Industry Tips
Service Contracts Used Cars-(Georgia) Buyer's Rights

Additional Locations

  • 3072 Victory Dr

    Columbus, GA 31903 (706) 682-1346

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/15/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2007 Chrysler 300 from **** ******** on 10/7/2015 for $5,000. I asked for a Carfax report and was shown a Carfax report that showed the vehicle had no accidents reported. I asked **** was there anything wrong with the car and he stated that just the cosmetic work was a problem. For example: the front driver seat was torn on the outside of the seat closest to the door, front the passenger seat also had some cosmetic damage to it as well but I was willing to over look that and the paint on the car was fading and the body had some scratches on it but again I was willing to over look that because I could get a paint job and paint it the color I wanted. Well within 30 days of purchasing the car the car broke down in my job parking lot. I had the car towed to Carl Gregory(now AutoNation) and was told that the repair cost was about $3700. I found out from Carl Gregory that the radiator was modified and it had burst which is why it broke down at my job. As soon as I got the information from Carl Gregory I immediately called **** at Fairbanks Motors and he said that he would have the car picked up from Carl Gregory and have "his" mechanic look at the car. Well a few days go by and final I hear from **** who tells me that "his" mechanic said he could fix the car for $600. I asked **** if they could give me a loaner car from Fairbanks since this was a issue that was not told to me nor caused by me. **** firmly stated "No we don't do that". I said ok and told him to tell the mechanic to fix the car as this was my only means of transportation to get me back and forth to work as well as getting my kids to school. the mechanic name ***** **** called me and told me that my car was ready. I gave *****(one of *****'s workers)a check made out to ***** **** with BP Automotive $593.06 for the repair. I thought then that my problems was over. Well I was wrong. I took my car back to Carl Gregory to see why my heat was not working. come to find out, there was a lot wrong with the car: the AC condenser was COMPLETELY missing from the car along with all of its hardware, there was lines that was not hook up and just hanging, there was lines that was modified, the front bumper was been held together by wood screws , just name a few issues that was found. I also found out the car was involved in 3 car accidents. Which means that the Carfax report I was shown at the time of purchase was a fake or not for that car. the repair cost this time was $3,700. I had the car repaired and paid $3,736.07 to Carl Gregory. I then took the car to Midas on Veterans Pkwy to get an alignment (as Carl Gregory machine was broken while the car was in the repair shop) and was told by the mechanic technician there that he could not do the alignment because the car had been in an car accident and as a result the frame of the car shifted in the front and that the only way to get the cat aligned would be to get the frame fixed. **** has shown no interest in trying to even reimbursement any of the money that I have had to put in the car and even when he did respond to me it took forever and never did he offer any kind of resolution that would satisfy my complaints. I have receipts for all repair work done and all the repair notes from Carl Gregory and Midas on the condition of the car as well as what was done to the car

Desired Settlement: I want Fairbanks to: 1. Apology to me for selling me a bad car and ignoring my concerns 2. Reimburse me for the repairs that I had to do to the car just to get it to a point where it was safe for me to drive. If not all the money at least some of it to show good faith that there was no intention on the behalf of Fairbanks to sell a bad car. the mechanic that worked on my car at Carl Gregory said that in his opinion that my car was not even safe to drive.

Business Response:

REF: BBB CASE # ********

********* * ******, HAS NEVER BEEN TO OR PURCHASED A VEHICLE FROM FAIRBANKS MOTORS, INC.  THEREFORE WE KNOW NOTHING ABOUT HER OR HER VEHICLE.  IF YOU HAVE ANYMORE QUESTIONS OR CONCERNS PLEASE CALL MR. **** ******** AT ***** *********

 

SINCERELY,

**** ********

SALES MANAGER

3/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The owner mr. ********* once to make good on selling me a car with a bad engine and transmission butts the manager who sold me the car **** ******** is hiding under the he sold me the car as is after 24-48 hours the engine and the transmission both went bad

Desired Settlement: I want them to pay for the transmission and repair also reimburse me for the rental

Business Response:

March 21, 2016

To Whom it may concern:

Thank you for contacting us regarding MS ***** ******** claim.  MS ******* purchased a 2008 Chevrolet Malibu                                 ID# *****************, from Fairbanks Motors, Inc. on February 26, 2016.  This vehicle was purchased As Is  with no warranty.  Since this was a CASH SALE, MS ******* took the vehicle to her mechanic to have it checked out.  When she came back and said that it was good she paid for it in full.  Her salesman was Mr. **** ****, I as the Sales Manager **** ******** okayed this sale.  A few days later MS ******* said she was having a few problems.  As a Goodwill Service, I **** ******** personally gave MS ******* $400.00 that she was happy to accept.

If you have any more questions please contact our office at (706) 682-1346

Sincerely, 

**** ********

Sales Manager  

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why y ou are not satisfied with this resolution.]
 Mr ******** is leaving out that he sent another salesmam out to question ****. That man went inside and spoke with **** and came back out eager to sale that car.  I didnt ask about that car.  Yes i test drove it. The mechanic  took it to was their mechanic . whom said ih you should jump on it., its a good buy.  After i purchased the car on Friday,  the engine light came on Saturday night.  Monday morning I informed **** and he didnt care.  Mr ********* had to get involve.  He advise he wanted to fix the car and **** kept. Saying no ! He actually sasaid i can borrow the money to get the engine and transmissionfixed. Hes not being honest.  I want **** to inform Mr ********* i want my money for the remainfer of the repairs. The Transmission. Cost and repairs and the rental car.  **** ********. New that car was bad and the fact that TV his was the only car they tried to push on me.  I did not buy the car knowing it had a bad engine and transmissions for 6790.50 i would like for Mr ********* to show up at the BBB to discuss. This matter
***** *******


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Fairbanks Motors Inc.
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)