BBB Accredited Business since

Mercedes-Benz of Columbus

Phone: (706) 256-6100 Fax: (706) 256-6116 7470 Veterans Pkwy, Columbus, GA 31909 http://www.mercedesbenzofcolumbus.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mercedes-Benz of Columbus meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mercedes-Benz of Columbus include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mercedes-Benz of Columbus
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 17, 2008 Business started: 12/03/1990 in GA Business started locally: 03/30/2009 Business incorporated 03/30/2009 in GA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Mark Clayton, President/GM Ms. Nadie Martin, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Mark Clayton, President/GM
Customer Contact: Ms. Nadie Martin, Manager
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Industry Tips
Auto/Vehicle Repair & Services Lemon Law-Georgia New Motor Vehicle New Cars Service Contracts Used Cars-(Georgia) Buyer's Rights

Additional Locations

  • 7470 Veterans Pkwy

    Columbus, GA 31909 (706) 256-6100

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/9/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Complaint Details Unavailable
9/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Lie # 1: This dealership listed a Red 2006 MazdaSpeed 6 for sale on several car websites for $13,997 (tax not included), when I talked to them in person about it they said it is listed for $15,000 (tax not included) but they are giving a discount which was not mentioned on the website. This is a common smoke screen tactic that lots of auto dealers use but it is still lying and shady. Also the Kelly Blue Book values this car at $13,000, so they were $2000 overpriced.Lie # 2: They said that the vehicle was in flawless condition and passed their expert tech process. I took the vehicle down to the local Pep Boys and found out that the wipers were bad, the bottom of the car and frame had a good bit of rust on it, the front differential was leaking, the paint on most of the car was orange peeling, all four tires had lots of cupping, it was out of alignment, one of the wheels had curb rash, the front emblem was cracked, the rear emblem was not factory, all four wheels also had rust eating away at the paint, and the shift knob was very loose. When I got back to the dealership with the car and told them about the issues, I countered their high offer with a more reasonable one, $12,000 out the door (tax included) (Taxes were ~$1000). Here is my justification for the $12000 out the door price that I offered: $1000 for the tires and alignment, $500 for the leaking differential, and $1500 to live with the rust issues and fix the orange peeling, cracked and fake emblems, bad wipers, and the shift knob issue. The salesperson scoffed at my offer and then took it to his boss who then told him to tell me that since it is a sports sedan the cupping on the tires is normal which is complete stupidity by the way and that they would only come down $500 for the leaking differential issue. They did not address any of the other issues and that is when we realized that they are just very shady, lying, rude and unreasonable people; so we walked away from it.

Desired Settlement: A check made out to me in the amount of $200 for wasting my time and money and mailed to my address. I could ask for more but I am not a dishonest and unreasonable person.

Business Response:

Mr. ******,

 We appreciate your feedback and resserve the right to sell a vehicle for what we feel is fair.  We also have the right not to accept your offer.

The 2006 Mazda is a "As is, no warranty" vehicle.

 

***** ******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The reason for rejecting the response is because they did not even address the complaint.  Sure you have the right to list the vehicle for what you think is fair and also to reject my offer, but you do not have the right to lie about the condition of the car and what price you are selling it for on your website versus what you say in person.  You stated this car was in flawless condition and passed your tech process.  How could it possibly pass with all of the issues it had and it was no where near flawless condition.  

Regards,

***** ******


 

 

Business Response:

Mr. ******,

 

As per previous response.  There is nothing to address, we did not sell vehicle to you.

We have the right to advertise our vehicle at the price we deem appropriate.

  We stand behind our certified technician's assessment of vehicle.

 

Thank you,  ***** ******

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mercedes-Benz of Columbus
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)