BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In East AL, West & Southwest GA

BBB Accredited Business since

Lynch Chevrolet - Cadillac of Auburn

Additional Locations

Phone: (334) 821-9001 Fax: (334) 821-3984 154 West Creek Parkway, Auburn, AL 36830 http://www.lynchchevroletcadillacofauburn.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Lynch Chevrolet - Cadillac of Auburn meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Lynch Chevrolet - Cadillac of Auburn include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 4

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 09, 1992 Business started: 10/09/1992 in AL Business started locally: 10/09/1992 Business incorporated: 12/01/2007 in AL
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alabama Secretary of State
11 South Union, Suite 207, Montgomery AL 36104
http://www.sos.state.al.us
Fax Number: 334-240-3138

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bill Lynch, President Mr. Mark Hall, Gen. Mgr.
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Mark Hall, Gen. Mgr.
Principal: Mr. Bill Lynch, President
Related Businesses
Lynch Nissan of Auburn, Inc. Lynch Toyota of Auburn
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

Lynch Chevrolet - Cadillac of Auburn offers the following product(s): Auto's - New, Auto's - Used

BBB Program Participation

Military Marketplace
This company is a participant in the BBB's "Military Marketplace Code of Ethics" program.  The program is provided by the Bureau as a specific effort to ensure a "Fair and Honest" marketplace for members of the United States Military and their families. 

Industry Tips
Lemon Law-Georgia New Motor Vehicle New Cars Service Contracts Used Cars-(Georgia) Buyer's Rights

Additional Locations

  • 154 West Creek Parkway

    Auburn, AL 36830 (334) 821-9001

  • PO Box 3308

    Auburn, AL 36831

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

12/3/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went in to purchase a vehicle from Lynch Chevrolet on October 11,2013 when I got there I already had financing in place but was told that they could get me a better rate at a financial institution they deal with. so I asked before hand before giving any information if it would affect my credit and was told no. I told them I called and could not get a better rate than I already had, but they insisted since they work with the company they could get a better rate by being a dealer. We mutually agreed for them to only try that one company.Once I was told that they could not get a better rate themselves we proceeded with the paper work with the financing that I had, not being told that they tried at least 7 other companies after only agreeing to try one. About a week later I began to receive letters in the mail form companies about the unauthorized inquiries to get me a better rate and each one showed my credit score and how much it was dropping with every hit. When I called Lynch to ask why they did not hold up there end of the agreement, they were blatant and unconcerned about my credit. I was told there is nothing that can be done about the situation and that it would fall off in a couple of months. This is unacceptable to me since building my credit was hard enough, to get it ran down due to their negligence was and is very hurtful.

Desired Settlement: I would like the removal of each company off of my credit because the agreement that was made was that they would only try one company.

Business Response: When Ms.***** came to our dealership (Lynch Chevrolet Cadillac) we accepted a signed credit application authorizing Lynch Chevrolet cadillac to summit to Max Credit Union hoping for a lower interest rate than what she was quoted by her bank. When Max Credit Union failed to approve her for a lower rate she express to her sales representive she would like for us to summit to other lenders. Ms. ***** decided to arrange her on financing of the automobile with a check from her bank. After the transaction Ms. ***** express the disatisfaction of having the inquries showing on her credit report. Ms. ***** requested that we draft a letter from Lynch Chevrolet Cadillac requesting the lenders to remove the inquries. **** *******(Finance Mgr.) did respond immediately with the letter she requested. The letter: To whom it may concern: This is a letter requesting your removal of credit inquiry on our behalf of ******* *****. The inquiry was requested from us on October 11, 2013. Feel free to contact Lynch Chevrolet Cadillac with any questions or concerns. Thank you in advance for your prompt attention in this matter. Sincerely, **** ******* Finance Manager

Business Response: Met with Ms ***** Friday 11/22/2013 @ 10:00 AM and provided copies to her of letter sent requesting the removal of the  inquiries in question.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

******* *****


 

 

My mom, dad, and grandfather all met with **** **** at our request to try come to a resolve in this matter. She expressed her concerns to Mark of he and **** ******* responding to the BBB when we never saw him during the transaction, and only saw **** to sign final paperwork, and to give him the check from **** ******* finalizing the purchase. She requested a copy of the letter during the meeting of which she never received while there. She was shown and asked if she had a copy of the first letter we received on their letter head. She responded and told him she has that letter, and informed him of the fact she wrote it to begin with and received an altered copy back from them on their letter head missing the pertinent information of the inquiries being unauthorized. She questioned **** as to why they changed the letter and was told they had to be written in a way that would protect them legally. She responded “In other words, you had to write the letter in that form to cover your *****”. **** replied by stating, as he has been that he has a signed credit application from me. My mom asked him was it not needed to complete the mutually agreed upon request of trying to get Max credit Union to get a lower rate than the 5.9% I already had with **** *******. She reminded him of the fact that was the only way they could try Max in the first place. She also asked him if it was right for them to use the application for the other unauthorized hits and I just have to suffer for what they chose to do with the application even though I did not request for them to. He had no real response. She was then given a copy of an email conversation between **** and **** ***** stating the inquiries had been masked and not removed. This copy was void of the initial letter request from Lynch. During the meeting no real solutions were given but only apologies for the misunderstanding of which only Lynch had. Neither I, at any time nor my mom who was with me throughout this entire process, misunderstood anything. Everything was communicated exactly on our behalf and misconstrued on the behalf of **** *******, and Mr.****. Our salesman did his job and left with the perfect understanding of our request. When the meeting was over and mom realized he still did not give her a copy of the letter, she called back to Lynch and requested it again. When I got off work I picked the letter, read it and was disgusted at the lies on the letter request. This letter was again an attempt to cover their wrong and say I requested the inquiries that I did not.  I called my mom and of course she realized then why they didn’t give her the letter during the meeting. She came back to the dealer ship requested to speak to the person who wrote the letter and we were directed to **** *******. We questioned him about the letter to no avail and then talked with **** again also to no avail. They don’t have any intentions to correct their wrong, but only to cover themselves with one lie after another. This issue has not been resolved to my satisfaction and I don’t foresee anything other than excuses from Lynch Chevrolet.  

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

10/18/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
6/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
10/3/2011 Problems with Product/Service
1