BBB Accredited Business since

Kia of LaGrange

Phone: (706) 298-5024 Fax: (706) 298-5036 1217 LaFayette Pkwy, LaGrange, GA 30241 http://kiaoflagrange.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Kia of LaGrange meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Kia of LaGrange include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Kia of LaGrange
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 29, 2011 Business started: 10/16/2008 in GA Business started locally: 10/16/2008 Business incorporated 10/16/2008 in GA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jimmy Yates, Comptroller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jesse Liechty, President
Customer Contact: Mr. Jimmy Yates, Comptroller
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

Kia of LaGrange offers the following product(s): Autos - new & used.

Alternate Business Names
Plant City Automotive, Inc.
Industry Tips
Lemon Law-Georgia New Motor Vehicle New Cars Service Contracts Used Cars-(Georgia) Buyer's Rights

Additional Locations

  • 1217 LaFayette Pkwy

    LaGrange, GA 30241 (706) 298-5024

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/7/2016 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a 2016 Kia Sorrento in late July 2015. At the time I purchased an extended warranty and GAP insurance. Regular service has been maintained on the vehicle at the dealership. On May 24, 2016, I had an accident on Milgen Road in Columbus, GA where I rear-ended a vehicle. Insurance deemed my vehicle a total loss and paid off my Sorrento to Capital One Auto Finance. I also received a refund from my insurance company of $1,455 because the equity on my account was more than the value owed. At that time the complaint agent with my insurance company reminded me to ask the dealership about getting a refund for the extended warranty and GAP insurance and to make sure the company refunded it because they had already received payment for that at the time of my car purchase. On June 3, I went to the Kia of LaGrange dealership to see about purchasing a new vehicle. They quoted me a price that I was not satisfied with and when I asked them about the refund, they offered to give me a credit of $700 and then the business manager added another $300.00 for a total of $1000 on a new car purchase to try to satisfy me on the prorated amount of my warranty and GAP. I don't know what the specific amount should be because they did not show me how the prorated refund should be calculated. However, I didn't think they were being fair in their quoted price so I told them I would leave and come back when I received all my money back from the insurance settlement. I then shopped at Kia AutoSport of Columbus and was able to make a deal and purchase a 2017 Kia Sorrento. I sent an initial email on June 9 to ******** *******, my previous salesperson, and provided him with the information he requested. I spoke with him on the phone before sending the email. He told me he would look at what I sent him and then process the prorated refund. After not hearing from ******** or receiving any correspondence with Kia of LaGrange, I called and talked with ******** again on the phone. He asked me to send a followup email showing the payoff letter I received from Capital One. I sent the followup email on June 20, 2016. Since that followup email, I have not been able to talk with ******** on his cell phone or through the dealership. I've called numerous times on numerous days to no avail. I left a voice mail on his cell phone on July 5, 2016, and he has not return my call as of July 8, 2016. I feel as though they are avoiding me. All I am seeking is the refund for my extended warranty and GAP insurance that was purchased with the 2016 KIA Sorrento. I did not use the extended warranty nor the GAP insurance so I am entitled to the refund however, I don't feel as though the dealership is making an attempt to actively process my refund. My loss date was May 24, 2016 and I contacted them as soon as my insurance company notified me of the total loss.

Desired Settlement: I think they should give me a 100% refund of the extended warranty and GAP insurance because it was not used. They stated that it is prorated but I never received a refund amount due to me. I want what is due to me since the dealership received money for that at the time the vehicle was purchased. I paid $1052.00 for the extended warranty and $499.00 for the GAP insurance. I would like a $1500 refund. I don't know how much it is prorated each day but I have only had the sorrento for 10 months.

Business Response: Warranty and Gap Cancellation was done and mailed to customer on July 7, 2016.  Ms. ******* received a prorated cancellation based on the days outstanding less cancellation fees.  Our check in the amount of $1,200.84 was mailed and cleared our bank on July 18, 2016.  Kia of Lagrange regrets the miscommunication with Ms. *******, but has fulfilled it's obligation related to the cancellation of both products.  We consider this issue closed.  


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Kia of LaGrange
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)