This business is not BBB accredited.

Jay Automotive Group, Inc.

Phone: (706) 324-1234 Fax: (706) 571-2735 View Additional Phone Numbers 1661 Whittlesey Rd, Columbus, GA 31904 http://www.jayautomall.com ! BBB Business Review on Jay Automotive Group, Inc. is being Updated by BBB !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers retail autos, parts, service & repair.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating at this time because BBB file information is being reviewed and/or updated.




Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1661 Whittlesey Rd

    Columbus, GA 31904 (706) 324-5823 (800) 256-7078 (706) 322-0327 (706) 322-8570 (706) 322-8891 (706) 322-9927 (706) 320-3420 (706) 324-1234

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I purchased my new Subaru Forrester the sales manager told me that it came with a "all inclusive" extra warrantee that covered everything for 100,000mi.When I went to the dealer to get the documentation for that (after the sale) I was told that the sales manager had promised something they would not honor. They said it was only a limited power train warrantee since the other one was so expensive. They had fired the sales manager for various infringements, and I sympathized with them, but they should have honored their managers promise.

Desired Settlement: They should give the warrantee their representative promised.

Business Response:

*** Subaru of Columbus gave Mr. ***** a complimentary trailer hitch at no cost ( a $450 value) It was understood that this was acceptable to him. I have previously communicated that a former employees verbal statement is not sufficient for the company to honor an unreasonable request. While the former sales manager, ****** ****, may have said Mr. ***** is claiming, I have no way of verifying it, since I am no longer in contact with our former sales manager. I apologize that Mr. ***** is unhappy, but *** Subaru has done everything we can do for him.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

****** *****


 

I was told, before I bought the car, that the warrantee in question was ALREADY part of the sale since the car had "supposedly" 3000mi previously on it.  As you can see from the attached copy of a letter I sent to ***, that was supsequently found to be 5000mi.

Please see the following:

Mr. ****** *. *****, ***

*** ******** ***

********* ** *****

 

September 24, 2013

 

 

 

*** Auto Group, Inc

1661 Whittlesey Road

Columbus, GA 31904

Phone: ###-###-####

 

Attn: Mr. *** Stelzenmuller III, President

 

 

Dear Mr. Stelzenmuller,

 

I just recently bought a Subaru Forrester from your dealership and dealt with a very nice and competent salesperson, Mr. ****** ********. However, when I called Mr. ******** from my home in ******** to inquire about a Forrester (I had previously met with him two times to decide if I wanted on or another Honda) he told me he had one that the shop used and it had 3000 miles on it. That did not bother me and I subsequently met with him in Columbus and told him that I would take the car if he would deduct $1500.00 due to the fact it's the going rate for mileage the government gives people. He agreed after getting the OK and we made a deal.

On the way to my wife's condo in Columbus I was astonished to glance at the odometer and see 4900 miles!! Immediately I turned around and went back to your dealership and confronted Mr. ********, who was as astonished as I was. He had been told it was only 3000 miles since that is the normal usage before turning the "loaners" back to the sales team. Due to the fact that additional miles reduce the value of any automobile, I said I wasn't happy and wanted an additional discount. Mr. ******** got the sales manager to come in at that point and he became confrontational! He told me I was being unreasonable since that particular car had an additional warranty worth $2000.00 plus dollars and pointed to the description of all the additional coverage that was on Mr. ******** desk. I questioned him about this due to the fact that I am quite aware that additional warranties can be purchased from various sources for $400.00 plus dollars. He went into detail how this warranty differed from the ordinary power train warranty in that it covered everything. I told him that it couldn't have effected the additional miles though since we had consummated the purchase with that included and he asked what else would make me happy. I suggested a trailer hitch and he agreed.

When I went in to get the hitch installed and asked for documentation concerning the warranty so I could get it honored in case of a problem, I was told that the sales manager had lied to me and that I was out of luck!! What they said was that the warranty was just for the power train! They were very nice telling me that, but the result is the same. I questioned a nice young man named *** that had filled in for the sales manager you fired due to his apparently doing this type of thing often, and he said he "couldn't" honor that as it was too expensive. When I replied that "couldn't" wasn't the proper word, he admitted he "could" (and in fact said he "could" give me a car if he wanted to), but wouldn't.

At that time I quit discussing it since I was up against a brick wall. Now it's time to see what you say about this. Having owned a number of corporations I have had to honor promises my employees made that cost me money, but it was the right thing to do. They represented me when they made them and although it was not policy I had to eat it. Salespersons were the worst!

What do you think about this situation. You must be an honorable person since you have been in business a number of years and I see you have a fine reputation with the BBB.

I look forward to your answer.

 

Sincerely,

 

 

****** ** *****, ***

cc: Subaru of America

Business Response: To compensate Mr ***** for the additional miles on the vehicle, we offered him a Subaru trailer hitch installed at no charge to him, a $500 retail value. There is nothing further I can offer him, as we sold him a Certified Pre-Owned Subaru with a 7 year/ 100,000 mile powertrain warranty. I was not privy to any of the conversations Mr ***** had with ****** ****, so I am not able to upgrade his warranty.


Customer Review(s)