BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
East AL, West & Southwest GA

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Headquarter Nissan of Columbus meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Headquarter Nissan of Columbus include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 18 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

18 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 9
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 9
Total Closed Complaints 18

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: August 03, 2010 Business started: 11/25/2009 in GA Business started locally: 11/25/2009 Business incorporated: 11/25/2009 in GA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Georgia Secretary of State
2 Martin Luther King Jr. Dr.SE, Suite 802, West Tower, Atlanta GA 30334
http://www.sos.state.ga.us/default1024.asp
Fax Number: 404-651-8410

Georgia Secretary of State
2 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, SE, Suite 315, West Tower, Atlanta GA 30334
http://www.sos.state.ga.us/corporations/

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Terry Bell, Owner/Gen. Mgr. Mr. Shawn Esfahani, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Terry Bell, Owner/Gen. Mgr.
Principal: Mr. Shawn Esfahani, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

Headquarter Nissan of Columbus sells the following brand(s): Nissan

Headquarter Nissan of Columbus offers the following product(s): Auto Repair & Electrical Service, Auto's - New, Auto's - Used

Alternate Business Names
SE Columbus Automotive, LLC
Industry Tips
Lemon Law-Georgia New Motor Vehicle New Cars Service Contracts Used Cars-(Georgia) Buyer's Rights

Additional Locations

  • 1725 Whittlesey Rd

    Columbus, GA 31904 (706) 225-8100

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

5/5/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Complaint Details Unavailable
4/1/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I received advertisement in mail. This mail gave me a chance to win prizes. The leased valued prize was a $5 gift card at Wal-smart. When I entered Headerquarters Nissan a sales man approached to sale me a car. There was no purchase necessary to win. I told the salesman I could not afford a car that I wanted to see if won anything. He still tried to sale me a car and told me he would give me $6000 trade in for my car. How can they do this if my car is worth about $2,000 to $3000. The numbers do not add up. I once tried to work at Bill Heard. I was unemployed and desperate. I could not sale cars because of my social phobia and anxiety but i gave it a try. While there I was told how this could be done. Finally he said he will see what I had won. He left and returned telling me I had won the gift card and someone will get me the gift card. After 45 minutes to a hour another salesman asked me if anyone was waiting on me. I told him I had been waiting 45 to a hour for the other salesman to bring me what I had won. This salesman left and a few minute the salesman that had talked to me first, walked by. This salesman came back with a gift card. In my opinion he let me wait a long time for the gift card hoping I would leave. I tried to use the gift card at Wal-Mart and found that the card had no value on it. This was very embarrassing. No purchase was necessary to win. In my opinion this is false advertisement since I didn't purchase and receiving a card with no value on it.

Desired Settlement: I would like to receive the card I had won with value on it. Because of the embarrassment, I should get more but I know this would not happen.

Business Response: I called Mr. ******* ****** this morning to address his concerns.  His father answered the phone and advised that ******* was not at home but that he would take a message for him.  I let the elder Mr. ****** know that we had received his son's concern and that we apologize for his frustration and would like to swap out the card for him.  (His father was aware of his complaint.)  I left him with my cell number for ******* to call me when he returns home so I can ensure I am available when he arrives to swap the card out.  We have already checked the balance on the card we are swapping out and it is good to go.  (On a side note:  When ******* calls me back, I will apologize for his frustration and assure him this was not done on purpose and that we do not activate the Wal-Mart gift cards on our end.  We placed a bulk order for gift cards with a local Wal-Mart and, due to the large volume of activations completed at one time, the Wal-Mart cashier must have accidentally missed activating his card.) 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

******* ******


 

 

3/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went into Headquarter Nissan on sunday the 23rd of February 2014, I did not intend to buy a car at all and voiced my wishes in the begining. I test drove 2 Certified Preowned cars from the dealership. I liked both of them. I went to discuss price and immediately said I could not afford the price of the cars I had selected. Then ***** *******(His title escapes me) Came into the story. He begins by telling me that he is a former prior service captain and that he was going to "personally take care of me in this deal." He asked me what price range I was looking for payments. I told him and he immediately told me "well with your price and the cars youre looking at bottom line youre wrong." He then went on to say "But thats not your fault, thats my guys fault, I'm going to crawl into his *** and yell at him and tell him to find you a better car to leave with." So he then leads me outside and shows me 1 car and says do you like this one and I agreed. I test drove it and I liked it. We get back to the dealership and then talk pricing. Again I already stated I did not want to buy today. He shows me the price of the car and says "Dude I hooked you up big time, I got you a major deal, What do you think?" I didn't like the deal because it was still too high for my range and I didnt want to buy today. So he then goes on to tell me that the only way im leaving with this car today was to finance through him because he can "hook me up" and get me financed past the amount which I am allowed to be financed at. I immediately said the deal sounded "shady" And he turns into a violent person. He starts screaming at me in the show room, calling me by my rank instead of my first name. He then goes on to threaten my financial future and how I wont be able to get a car lone ever if he makes one phone call. He then goes on to tell me that he makes "over 200,000$ and he doesnt need to make this deal for me." I told him that the deal was off and I left. He then gets inches within my face and threatens to call the CG.

Desired Settlement: I would like the business to reprimand the individual. He does not need to work at this business if he is going to act like that when a deal is happening and it doesnt go his way. I felt physically threatened and scared that I would have to fight my way out of the dealership because of how hostile he was towards me. I feel as though the business clearly doesn't care for my opinion or my experience and is tossing me aside like im a piece of trash.

Business Response: The owner/General Manager (***** ****) has spoken with Mr. ******** this week and personally addressed the customer's concerns.  Further, the salesperson (***** *******) was counseled by Mr. **** and the General Sales Manager (***** ********) regarding his (Mr. *******) inappropriate conduct with a customer.  The meeting was satisfactorily conducted and documented according to the Employee Handbook policy regarding employee counseling/corrective actions. 

2/19/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We want a refund for an extended warranty for our car. The finance manager at the dealership has not returned my phone message or email. The general manager was also copied on the email. We purchased our 2013 Optima almost a year ago from ******* Kia in *******, Ga. We also purchased a $1,500 service contract. The dealership was sold and we have never received any documentation, handbooks, etc. for this coverage. The only thing we have is the charge on the invoice / bill which was financed. I call the Kia dealership and they said that the paperwork was with the parent corp., Headquarter Nissan in Columbus. I called them and they referred me to the warranty company. I called them and they said they just admin the warranties, repairs, etc., and that cancellations and refunds must come from the dealership. I called the dealership again, left a message for the head finance guy. The next day I emailed him and copied the general manager - no return calls or email.

Desired Settlement: We have not received anything for this $1500 and we would like the money back.

Business Response:

Our Controller contacted Mr. ******** today and is actively taking care of his concerns and is getting his warranty canceled for him. 

1/21/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was at headquarter nissan with a friend and motherlaw and my niece and I was told that if i co sign for someone i would get a thousand dollars and they told my motherlaw that she would just need a co signer and I did that and the guy told us that everything was approved that we would not need a down payment with a co signer and when we got everything together and we had sign some paper and then at the last moment he said we need a thousand dollars down with a vehicle and so we had been there all day and the ride we had was gone and we had to squeeze in a little saturn which was 5 of use and the guy said let me see what i can do to get yall home and he left and did not come back .The hold time we was there we was lied to and i would not like anyone else to go thru this because it's very stressful and it make you dont every want to apply for anything every again because you afraid that you will go thru the same situation again .

Desired Settlement: I would like for them to pay me the thousand dollars he promise me when i co sign

Business Response: We apologize for any confusion and are investigating the matter further; however, it is not our business practice to offer compensation to anyone who co-signs for a loan.  Further, the customer did not purchase, so there ended up being no need for a co-signer.

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** *****


 

 

1/9/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Monday, December 30th, 2013 I was in Headquarters Nissan of Columbus for an oil change only. While waiting in the lounge area of the Service Dept. I received a call from ****** ********, Salesperson at 9:18 AM. He went on to tell me that I have $2000 in rewards that could be used towards the purchase of a new vehicle. ****** introduced me to ***** *********, Sales Marketing Manager and I was told to tell my current Dealer to come pick up my vehicle because they Ripped me off and I did not want it. I was told that this was not a Repossession but I was Voluntarily Turning It Over. It would not negatively affect my credit. I thought this must be something new that I could do but I never heard of this before. I signed a contract but went home to get more information regarding this "Voluntarily Turning It Over" and that same day returned the vehicle back to Headquarter Nissan with the keys. ********* refused to take keys and he became very abrasive, threatening and hostile with me. The next day, I spoke with **** *****, Sales Manager to request to cancel the contract and he refused and refused to take the keys to the vehicle. He asked me to give his salespeople who helped me $100 each for their time and he would cancel the contract. I said "NO!" That is their job to sell vehicles but not to lie to their customers and swindle them. **** ***** became abrasive with me as well and told my brother and I to leave the building. He said thier office has video cameras and I told him to review them and he will know what the salesmen told me. Voluntary Turning It Over means REPOSSESION and you will have to pay the balance of your old car plus you will have defaulted on a loan and pay it back. Therefore you will have 2 Loans plus a Defaulted Loan. This is a RIPP OFF and a SCAM. Please see the additional detailed description.

Desired Settlement: An apology in writing or by phone from the General Manager, Mr. ***** **** regarding his employees sales development, presentation, practice and tactic. That this type of selling practice of deception, misleading, and swindling will not be tolerated.

Business Response: Per the customer's request, our General Manager (***** ****) attempted to contact ****** ***** today at her daytime number provided and left a voice message for a return call.  He is also currently looking further into her situation to identify potential missteps on our part.  He is awaiting a return call from the customer. 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** *****


 

 

12/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I wrote about 2 weeks ago about my disappointment with Headquarters Nissan. I also wrote Nissan Corp. I have been in correspondence with Nissan Corp and the Sales Person that handled my purchases. Now I wish to make a formal complaint. I am pretty sure that nothing will come of my complaint. Nothing has come of it yet. I was promised by the Sales Person that if I gave him all 10s and a survey he would have a trailer hitch installed on my Rogue and guarantee that I would have free tire rotation when I came in for oil changes. He called me this morning upset because I hadn't given the Dealer all 10s. I told him I gave him all 10s on the survey but I would not give the Dealer all 10s. I would not be disappointed if the dealer would have at least acted as if they cared. He hung up on me. The info I sent has not changed. Please let me know if I need to submit more info to have my complaint registered.

Desired Settlement: The Sales Person told me that if I gave him all 10s on a survey he would make sure that I would have free tire rotation when I came in for oil changes and he would have a trailer hitch put on the vehicle. He was supposed to try to find a vehicle that already had one installed. This will go a long way towards resolving some of the issues I have with this Dealer.

Business Response:

Management has met to openly discuss all communication between salesperson and customer and the conversations that were had.  The customer's concerns have been addressed fully by the dealership staff and at this time, we are not able to extend any further goodwill.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

***** *****


 

 I want this complaint logged permanently for this Dealership. 

12/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The service department left bolts out of my truck and caused fluid to leak out and could have damaged it.I had some trouble with the transfer case of the 4 wheel drive of my truck. I noticed it was leaking because some bolts were loose and it wasn't shifting properly. Headquarter Nissan told me I needed a new transfer case at the cost of $2500. I didn't think it was damaged to the point it needed to be replaced and I asked them to fix the leak by tightening the bolts and replace the fluid. I believed that this would fix the problem. $200 for this job. The technician insisted on replacing the entire transfer case. I told him to do the less expensive job first and I would bring it back at my extra expense if this didn't work. They told me they did what I asked... and it worked! The truck was now shifting properly. I thought the technician did as I asked but when I got home I saw that two bolts were missing out of the transfer case such that oil would squirt out slowly from the bolt holes when you drove. Oil had squirted all over the bottom of the truck. The next day I took my truck to my usual shop and they confirmed my suspicions that there were two bolts that were newly missing. They did not want to accuse anyone of such malicious behavior but they said it would be very unlikely that two bolts would just fall out that quickly. They replaced the missing bolts and refilled the oil and I have had no further trouble. So either Headquarter Nissan did not notice the missing bolts or they removed them with the ill intent of destroying my transfer case entirely. Either way they were neglectful.

Desired Settlement: I think it would be professional to get an apology from Headquarter Nissan and to be reimbursed for the extra shop charges I had to incur for fixing the neglect or ill intent caused by the technician at Headquarter Nissan.

Business Response:

Customer is doubting the reason we recommended a $2500 repair instead of simply adding additional transfer case fluid.  According to ***** ***** (our service manager), in this specific instance, the transfer case replacement was recommended because there were 2 ounces of contaminated fluid (contaminated with metal shavings) that was drained from transfer case upon initial inspection.  (A transfer case holds 3.50 quarts of fluid) Metal shavings in fluid work their way into bearings and any other moving parts causing irreversible damage.  That was the case with this customer's vehicle and why we could not just add more fluid.  At the customer's insistence, we did a "patch repair" that is non-warrantable by adding additional fluid.  There were not any loose or missing bolts found during our inspection of the vehicle.  Only the drain bolt and fill bolt were removed and reinstalled during this repair. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

***** *************


 

I understand the "patch" job. That is what I asked for. What is criminal, is that between the dealership and my house, which is 10 miles in distance, two bolts were missing from the transfer case.  I inspected the work once I got home and found the missing bolts and oil spray all over the bottom of my truck.  This is my complaint!

Business Response: ***** ***** (Service Manager) has tried calling customer on several occasions this week and has left multiple messages.  He is trying to make contact with the customer so that we may effectively discuss his concerns with him directly.  Please confirm with customer that the best contact number for him is: ###-###-####.  Thank you.

12/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I went to Headquarter Nissan of Columbus to see what we had won with an flyer we had received in the mail.We experienced high pressure selling and ended up buying two vehicles we didn't need. The salesmen that handled our business was not from Columbus but was visiting from another dealership. He practically had my husband turned against me if I didn't sign and get both vehicles. He wanted us to let the Toyota Camry go back to Wells Fargo,which he didn't like that finance company. my husband wanted a manual transmission truck that he would eventually not be able to drive with arthritis. He is disabled and some days he can hardly walk.I don't think he realizes yet that we have been forced to buy with the promise of $2000.00 rebate on both cars a thousand on each. I am not very business minded but I could see what they had done. So I took back the paperwork along with the keys and left the car after we had it for a week With 539 miles on the vehicle. It is a lease vehicle. I need to get it inspected and turned back in . They couldn't find the leasing agreement paperwork. But said they would send it to me if and when they find it. We signed the paperwork on 10/26/13 and 10/04/13 we returned it. The Altama 2014 I got was a 3 yr. lease and is covered for 12000 miles a year. I have a paper route(16000 miles) and work at Ft. Benning ,Ga(7000 miles). My route alone is 4000 miles over plus 7000 miles along with additional miles.You can see that is not for me and when I told them they said I could buy additional miles at 0.15 each. It still is not feasible for me. I don't make that kind of money. I want to return it . They simply don't care. I have not been able to reason with them. If I could I would like to return the lease back in and the truck if possible. My husband said he was sorry he had gotten it. We traded in the 2007 Toyota Corolla for the Frontier Pickup and got both cars in my son ***** *******'s name. I co-signed, ****** ****** his mother.

Desired Settlement: I would like to return the car for inspection and an early return and return the truck if possible.

Business Response: I called the customer to schedule a date/time for her to come in to discuss her concerns with our owner/GM directly.  She came in today (Nov 12th) at 530pm and met with ***** ****.  ***** discussed her concerns with her and presented her with options.  She was calm and seemed to understand the options available to her.  We will work to continue to address any concerns that may arise.

9/12/2013 Problems with Product/Service
5/16/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/5/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
11/5/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/4/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/1/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
6/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/18/2012 Problems with Product/Service
3/28/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues