BBB Accredited Business since

Glynn Smith Chevrolet

Additional Locations

Phone: (334) 749-1454 Fax: (334) 749-5138 600 Columbus Pkwy, Opelika, AL 36801 http://www.glynnsmithchevy.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Glynn Smith Chevrolet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Glynn Smith Chevrolet include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Glynn Smith Chevrolet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 19, 1985 Business started: 09/01/1992 in GA Business started locally: 09/01/1992 Business incorporated 09/01/1992 in AL
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Roger McCreeless, President Mr. Johnny Jones, Exec. Mgr.
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Roger McCreeless, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Renting & Leasing

Products & Services

Glynn Smith Chevrolet offers the following product(s): Auto's New, Used, Renting, & Leasing

Alternate Business Names
Glynn Smith Chevrolet - Buick - GMC, Inc.
Industry Tips
Lemon Law-Georgia New Motor Vehicle New Cars Service Contracts Used Cars-(Georgia) Buyer's Rights

Additional Locations

  • 600 Columbus Pkwy

    Opelika, AL 36801 (334) 749-1454

  • PO Box 791

    Opelika, AL 36803

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/17/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My complaint is that I was sold a wrecked vehicle without my knowledge. I purchased the Dodge in November 2011. In between the time frame of 2012 and April 2014 I had little problems with the car. I took care of the car, I got the car tuned up within the first 6 months of purchasing I got my oil changes every three months along with tire rotate and balance and checking the air pressure. I saw little red flags such as the car would jerk while the car was stopped (such as at a red light) the gas needle was never accurate, I would fill it up and it would stay at the half way mark until i actually rode the gas down to the half way mark and the hod had a small lift, my mom noticed this. I traded the vehicle in May 2014 and this is where I found out that the car had been in a major accident that left the car disabled. I was not told about this at all, I looked over all my paperwork from the Dodge and I saw nothing about it. Because of this accident the value of the car decreased. My biggest problem with glynn smith is that when i went to them once (the day after i found out about the accident that I was not informed about) the man acted as if the car had not been in a wreck and when he actually looked in the computer he tried to down play it. The second time was over the phone i spoke with a manager who was pretty much nonchalant as well but that may have been phone misscommunication. I am very dissatified with the salesperson dishonesty, the product, and the customer service. Because of them my trade in value was decreased (which after talking to my dealership the value drops 20% after a single accident), and if i had known the car was in a accident as such I would not have purchased that Dodge, which was over priced, I owed more than the car was even worth.

Desired Settlement: the minimum 20% loss from the trade in value. According to KBB the 2009 Dodge Caliber in Good condition trade in value is 7,426, which is how I returned it (unknowingly of the accident) 20% of that would be $1,485.20.

Business Response:

First of all let me assure you that hiding the fact that a vehicle has been in an accident is not normal practice for this dealership.  We take great pride in being honest and upfront with our customers to the best of our ability.   Upon receiving this message from the BBB, I went and inspected your deal jacket that contains all the documents that pertained to this transaction.  Inside this deal jacket I found the “Acknowledgement of Disclosure by Dealer of Damage to Motor Vehicle” document that you signed and were provided a copy of.  The box that states “Dealer inspected, the amount of damage is unknown” was checked.   Let me say this as well, it is absolutely impossible for any car dealer to know the complete history of a pre-owned vehicle.  I will be more than happy to sit down with you and discuss this further.       

Sincerely

 

****** ***** - Executive Mgr

 

Consumer Response: I accept the business response to to sit down and talk to him however I do not believe this situation is resolved just yet. I have spoken with an attorney, which i informed to the dealership manager, along with a lot of other information, and he told me to let my my attorney handle it, which was in a very rude tone,my attorney looked over the car records as well as that jacket where you are correct about the damage unknown as well as you all not leaving any comments under it, it is completely blank. I have also spoken with other dealerships. I understand that this is can happen but let's say you all were not aware of the car records well then it is a service problem because signs of an accident was there (i.e; the hood had a small lift in, you can see it in pictures, and I do have a picture). I also understand this does not happen often as I regret that it has happened to me. I have also had another incident with you all concerning having to drive 30 minutes (from where I live) to pick up a check that was supposed to be mailed to me and had been sitting in you all's office for two weeks. I really just want this resolved and with fairness.

 If you could let me know the date you would like to sit down that would be great.

Regards,

**** ******

3/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought an SUV and I paid to have leather put on the seats. I also wanted remote start put on the SUV and was told they would do it but the unit was on back order for a month. At the end of that month, I called and was told it was still on back order and that the salesman would call when it came in and set up a time to install it and to fix the brake issue and a leaking door seal. I waited a week and called and left a message for my salesman. Never returned my call. Then I called the parts dept and they told me they could have the remote start unit in 24-48 hours. When I knew the unit was at the dealer I called the sales manager and told him the problem I was having.he said he remembered the remote start be requested. He assured me he would check into it and call me back. Never returned my call. My partner called to speak to the general manager and told him the ordeal we are having. He told her he would talk to those involved and call her back the next day. Never returned the call. I have now sent the complaint to General Motors and will continue on with them. If they weren't going to do it like they said they were, they didn't have to compound one lie with another. You should be able to trust the salesperson since you are certainly putting a commission in his/her pocket. I feel as though we may have been discriminated against because of our lifestyle. They should just stay true to their word or don't say them at all.

Desired Settlement: Remote start put on and paid for by glynn smith Chevrolet and fix the brakes.

Business Response:

To whom it may concern

First of all let me say that I am certain that no one at this dealership would discriminated against the said customer.  We were happy to have her business.   I think there is some communication breakdown after reading what she has written.   This dealership strives on doing everything we promise, that is why we put things in writing.  We have a form called a “WE OWE” form.  This form is used for anything that is to be added to the vehicle.  It protects both the customer and the dealership.  On this form, the only thing to be added was leather.  It clearly states on the form “Adding Leather”!   The customer  signed and received a copy of this document.   If the customer states that we were to install remote start, why would she not have asked this to be put on the WE OWE form when she signed it.  That is exactly what this form is used for.   I am sorry for the confusion, but what I have in writing is all I have to go by. 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

***** **********


 

I was told the remote start was not available and would be at the dealership on January 21st, 2014 and would be installed then. I called on January 21st and was told again it was on back order. I called several times after waiting a week and left messages for my salesman to return my call. I got zero response. I finally called the parts department and asked the manager about the remote start and he said he could order it and have it in two days. Why was I told repeatedly that it was on back order and the minute I speak with the parts manager, the remote start magically is available. I also spoke to General Motors and they had a regional rep call me.  She said she would discuss it with the manager at glynn smith and that he would personally call me the following Monday. That call never happened. Then a woman from the dealership called and after I returned her call, she said that she would allow me to have a ten percent discount. That was not acceptable to me. I am now in contact with General Motors and they are trying to get the issue resolved. I don't want anything but what was promised to me. I was told there was a cd to activate the navigation on my car and that doesn't seem to exist either. My salesman was made aware of a problem with the front brakes, a leaking front door seal and a bad tire. He said we would take care of all of that when they put the remote start on.  Now I am afraid they will not honor any issues with my car and I will have to drive elsewhere to get it fixed. They didn't owe me leather heated seats, I financed that with the purchase of the car so they weren't really involved in that. I paid for that. I just want fair treatment for my car.

Business Response: Again all I can see proof of what was promised is what is on the "We Owe' form that both you (the customer) and the manager signed.   If you like, I will be more than happy to get my service department to take a look at your brakes, door seal, and tire.     When would you like to bring it over?  As for the remote start, that is a customer pay item.   


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Glynn Smith Chevrolet
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)