BBB Accredited Business since

Carl Gregory Volkswagen

Phone: (706) 243-3901 Fax: (706) 243-3905 3000 N Lake Pkwy Bldg 300, Columbus, GA 31909 http://www.carlgregoryvw.com/


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Carl Gregory Volkswagen meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Carl Gregory Volkswagen include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Carl Gregory Volkswagen
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: October 28, 1999 Business started: 09/01/1999 in GA Business started locally: 09/01/1999 Business incorporated: 12/12/2006 in GA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jason A. Gregory, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason A. Gregory, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

Carl Gregory Volkswagen sells the following brand(s): Used Vehicles, Volkswagen

Alternate Business Names
Gregory, Carl Volkswagen
Industry Tips
Lemon Law-Georgia New Motor Vehicle New Cars Service Contracts Used Cars-(Georgia) Buyer's Rights

Additional Locations

  • 3000 N Lake Pkwy Bldg 300

    Columbus, GA 31909 (706) 243-3901

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Being a military service member every dollar I earn needs to be spent wisely.So with this being said I had made a apt for my daughters 2005 vw beetle at the Carl Gregory VW dealership here in Columbus.I was charged a total fee of $107.67 to have it hooked up to a computer and I was given a printout of the recommendations to have made to the car.1. warning light on dash/replacement of catalytic convert -$1119. plus tax 2.horn not working/replacement of clock spring $660.53 plus tax.I declined both repairs.I personally purchased a clock spring from VW parts Center out of Olathe KS for $384.90 shipped to my door. Installed the clock spring and the horn still did not work. I talked with a friend and he suggested the horn relay may need to be replaced. I purchased one from autozone for $8.49 and NOW THE HORN WORKS.I also ordered a catalytic convertor for $142. shipped to my door.HERE IS MY COMPLAINT, HAD I WENT AHEAD AND AUTHORIZED Carl Gregory VW dealership to CONDUCT REPAIRS COULD HAVE POSSIBLE BEEN IN ACCESS OF OVER $2000 DOLLARS!!I BLEW $384.90 FOR A CLOCKSPRING THAT THEY SAID NEEDS REPLACED WHEN ALL I NEEDED WAS A $8 DOLLAR RELAY.I contacted the manager there a MR **** ********** on Thursday, and informed him that I replaced the clocks spring and cat convertor and that a 8doallr relay fixed the horn and also that there was still a warning light on the dash. he told me he was glad I informed him of this, that there was a incident where a lady was charged a large amount of money for a fuse to fix her ac. He told me he would contact me either Friday or Monday with a resolve. I ended up calling him, and he told me basically to just bite the cost of the repair they were not going to do anything about it, even if I bring the car in and have the light turned off I would be charged a fee. I fixed the safety of my daughters car with a $8 dollar relay and blew $384 on a piece that they said needed to be replaced. oh and the total cost out of my pocket was $535 instead of being charged well over $2000

Desired Settlement: Because I am a combat veteran and earned every dollar through blood sweat and tears I want them to acknowledge that its not ok to just look the other way when a recommendation is wrong and that a consumer would be out of a lot of money, so I am requesting that I be refunded the $384.90 for the clock spring and I request to be refunded the $107.67 for the invoice that had the recommendations of repair for a check in the total amount of $492.57 to be sent to me by mail.

Business Response:

Please be advised the customer came in with his check engine light being illuminated and the horn was inoperable.  We ran a diagnostic test on *** ************ vehicle and it revealed two codes.  The first code was with the catalyst system and the second code was a malfunction with the steering angle sensor.  As the customer stated in his complaint he declined our recommendations.  Our Service Manager advised the customer that the recommended clock spring could also cause the horn not to work. 

It is possible to purchase after market parts for a vehicle at a considerably lower price, however, our dealership only uses factory approved parts.  Our Service Manager contacted Mr. ********** and offered to refund him the diagnostic fee charged as a good will gesture.  Mr. ********** declined his offer and stated he just wanted the Better Business Bureau to handle the matter.

We recognize the fact Mr. ********** is a veteran and would like to thank him for his service to our country.  Our Service Manager advised the customer we would not have charged him if the clock spring had been installed and did not fix the problem.  We would have simply removed the new clock spring and put the original part back on the vehicle.  At this point we have no way of knowing if our recommendations were incorrect or not. 

We must respectfully decline the customer's demand for a refund.  We ask that you please close your file accordingly.

 

Business Response:

As requested we will mail a check to the customer today for the diagnostic fee.

Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and find that this resolution barely satisfactory to me.  I am including my mailing address for the business to perform this action and, once it does, will consider this complaint resolved, however I still have mixed feelings about this.

*** ****** **********

**** ******* *****

Midland GA 31820

Regards,

****** **********

6/13/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went to this Dealership approx.2 weeks ago with an appt. to look at a vehicle that was advertised on line for @ 13,990. It was advertised as an automatic but was a 5 speed.After the test drive I mentioned a few things that I had issues with; ie: tires were dry rotted, small hole in the windshield and the wiper blades were totally worn out. Apparently the car had never gone through the svc.dept.,so why even show or advertise it ? The appt. was made for several days.I explained to the salesperson that my credit was less that perfect. We go inside do a credit app.and she goes off to see her Fin.Mgr.. I had already explained to the sales person that I had been approved up to $19,999 with a 12.79% rate with another company.I was going to pay up to $1,500 down.She returns with a offer and the base price had been raised to $14,500 of 63 payments @ $347.00.When I ask her the fin.chg.rate she could not tell me.Immediately I knew that this had to be a very high rate and told her to give me a min.I went outside and talked to my Husband and used the calculator on his phone and figured right off that I would be paying @ &22,000 for what started off as a $13,990 car.I go back inside and she has the finance mgr. come over and he started telling me how bad my credit was. He made me feel so stupid and the salesperson was repeating everything that he was saying. She kept asking where did I want to be with the payment as if I was looking for a certain mo. pymt.amount.I felt so humiliated when he turned over his sheet of copy paper and had 16.44 finance chg. He said so many unkind things to me that I finally told him that he did not have to keep dogging my credit and I got up and left.Never to hear from them again.If that had to absolutely ruin someone's day, I am glad it was mine and not someone else.I would never recommend this Dealer to anyone. I truly believe that I was going to be taken advantage of because of my age and nothing to do with my credit.I am a Grandmother but not a dumb one.

Desired Settlement: I would like for the General Mgr. to be aware of the way I was treated and I have regretted not asking to speak with him that day but I felt so humiliated I just wanted to get home.

Business Response:

First of all we would like to thank the customer for allowing us the opportunity to serve her.  I understand Ms. ******'s disappointment with the financing terms extended to her by the lender.  Please be aware there are many factors a lender considers when extending credit to an individual.  A person's credit history is a large factor but the vehicle selection also plays a part.  The dealership has no control over a decision made by the lender.  Our Sales Associates are not allowed to discuss financing terms with a customer.  Discussing someone's credit history can be a very sensitive conversation and I apologize for the Finance Manager making the customer feel uncomfortable.  Let me assure you and the customer that we do not discriminate based on age, race, sex or any other protected category as our main objective is to sell cars.

We appreciate you bringing this matter to our attention and would like to ask the customer to please consider allowing us the opportunity to earn her business again.  We would be happy to work with her in selecting a vehicle that will suit her needs.

 

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

***** ******


 

 

Based on the response I can not accept what is being said. As I stated the Sales Associate knew all about my credit and kept repeating everything her Mgr.was talking about. He also addressed me as "YOUNG LADY" which I considered a very sarcastic remark. He stated that one of his Lenders flatly denied me.He referred to this Lender as his " Go To Man".He would not disclose the name of the Lender or even share the name of the Lender that he was currently working with. He futher stated that I have 29 credit cards with 26 of them open.Was this really any of his/her business ? Just for the record: I was told by a Dealership yesterday that my credit is not bad.I was offered a 7.07% interest rate. That is a far cry from 16.44%. I'm pretty sure that loosing one (1)sell doesn't mean anything to this dealership but my reccomending Friends & Family will never happen. And just one more thing...... Why would a Salesperson invite someone to test drive a car in such poor condition ? When my Husband looked under the hood,it was full of mud and red dirt.I had made the appt. days earlier. Sincerly, ***** ******

Business Response:

The feedback provided by the customer is invaluable and will be used to better serve our customers in the future.  We regret that Ms. ****** had this experience.  We do strive to make each customer's buying experience a pleasurable one.  Please rest assured this matter will be addressed with our Managers.

Thank you for your assistance in this matter as always.

 

3/18/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In April of 2013, I went to look at an SUV at Carl Gregory Volkswagen, in Columbus GA. As I walked around the SUV, I noticed a tiny bit of damage by the driver's front fender, so I asked the salesman about it. He replied that it was probably chips from rocks on the road. I asked about the history of the vehicle and he said it was great. Little did I know, he was avoiding the question, and because of my TBI, I too forgot about it. A couple of weeks after the purchase, a clicking sound became more noticeable when it went into second gear. Later, my stabilitrack and park brake lights came on. But when I took this vehicle to trade it in at another dealership, they asked me about any major repairs in the past. Ignorant to the situation, I told them it had never been in an accident. At that point they pulled out a carfax showing that the vehicle had a major insurance claim that I wasn't aware of. Because of that, the value of my SUV dropped from $16,000 to $10,000. When I got home, I started looking through the paperwork to see if they ever gave me a copy of the carfax. They didn't. But what I found was a document in which they forged my signature. Every document I took home on the date of the purchase, has my signature, but the one they mailed is forged and not even close.

Desired Settlement: Carl Gregory Volkswagen, should refund the value my vehicle took as a loss due to the insurance claim they failed to inform me of. As for forging my signature, I would like to see a lawyer or specialist in that field because I feel they took advantage in pursue of personal profit.

Business Response:

A carfax is provided to the customer upon request.  It is not something we include with every transaction.  The Buick Enclave was purchased "As Is - No Warranty" which was clearly shown on the

Buyers Guide executed  by the customer.

I have reviewed the document known as a "We Owe" presented by Mr. **** whereby he states it does not contain his signature.  After comparing the signature on this document with the other signatures

in the file, all signatures are so closely alike I would have a hard time determining the signature was a forgery, without a handwriting analysis done by an expert.  The document in question is an itemization of any items promised to the Buyer.  There were no items promised.

We respectfully decline Mr. ****'s request for a refund. 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

******* ****


 

 A carfax was never provided to us despite being told it would be. All dealerships keep copies of any and all signed documents, therefore, if I was provided a carfax, I request to see a signed document or carfax to prove that it was provided. 

My signature is consistant and difficult to forge. I can provide many documents to show the consistancy of my signature and will soon upload pictures of this contract to show how this signature is nothing like mine. 

I request to have someone else review these documents, would BBB, assist me with that or do i have to do that on my own?

Business Response:

We have a carfax we ran on 2-22-13 when we acquired the vehicle.  We ran the carfax to validate our valuation of the vehicle.  Carfax valued the vehicle $1470.00 above retail book value in spite of the minor accident reported.  We use the carfax as a management tool and as stated previously we do provide them to the customer if they request one.  Our sales associates do not review the carfaxes unless a customer requests to see one and at that time it is reviewed together.

I show Mr. ****'s address as **** ******* ****** **** ******** ** *****.  I will be happy to drop a copy of the carfax in the mail to him today.

As always thanks to the BBB for your assistance in this matter. 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the busproposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

******* ****


 

 Upon noticing minor damage on the vehicle, me and my wife requested a carfax from the sales person. He said he would provide it, but instead let us walk away without one. We gave them the benefit of the doubt because he said it had a clean history. Today I received a carfax from them for the first time and it showes that the vehicle was $1, 470 above retail. But unfortunately, that's only a suggestion. If we would of been informed of this I would understand, but we weren't and the dealership we dealt with saw the accident as a reason why not to pay good value. If i was notified, would not have an issue. But this information was kept from me and I took a loss without notice.

I contacted the legal office in Fort Benning for further assistance. I am scheduled to take the "We Owe" form In which my signature was forged. Like i said previously; it caused no financial harm, but no one has the right to forge a signature for any reason.

If there is any reason the dealership would like to contact me, I can be reached at ###-###-####.

 

BBB,

Thank you for providing a ground in which costumers and businesses can attempt to come to an agreement.

10/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took my car to Carl Gregory Volkswagen on June 06,2013 to get an estimate on a check engine light that had came on while driving. Then I took it back on June 10, 2013 and picked it up on June 12,2013, I returned to pick my car up to my surprise the total was $1860.55 which I paid. The check engine light continued to come back on and I returned the vehicle each date; June 13,17,19,21,24 2013. Then July 01,08,10,15, 2013. On July 29 I took the vehicle back to Carl Gregory Volkswagen and they kept it from July 29, 2013 until September 11, 2013. The only time I was given a receipt for the work done was June 10,2013, June12,2013, june18,2013, July15,2013,and September 11,2013. On september11,2013 the dealership informed me when I received the vehicle back that they had used $529.80 worth of parts to repair for which I was not charged. Then after parking my car at the Groome shuttle parking lot at the Columbus Airport from September 19,2013 until September 22,2013. I started the car and the check engine light came on again. I called the Carl Gregory Volkswagen Dealership on Monday September 23,2013 and left a message that the check engine light was back on again. I never received a call back from Carl Gregory Volkswagen Dealership. As of September 23,2013 my vehicle is still not fixed properly, so my son in law whose is handling this now would like to bring it to a Dealership in *******, Ga. to get it fixed once and for all.

Desired Settlement: Refund, do not send out until additional information is added.

Business Response:

Please be advised our service department has been in contact with the customer regarding her complaints.  We brought the vehicle back in for service and have corrected the issues of concern

The customer picked up her vehicle on October 10th.  I am told she was in the service department on yesterday and every thing was satisfactory.

Thank you for your assistance in bringing this matter to a satisfactory resolution.

7/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was very disappointed in the service that was done on my 2008 VW Jetta on 5/13/13. I brought my Jetta in to have a diagnostic test done, instead we was given a diagnoses. I call to set up an appointment to find out why I was having a problem with my Jetta starting up sometime, if the car sits for 4 to eight hour. I was told that I would need to leave it overnight, to see how the car starts and that I would need to have a diagnostic test done to find the problem. I was under the impression that a full diagnostic test was when a computerizes scanner is hook up to the car to test for all problem the car may have, but I was contact before the test was completed with what you believe may be causing the problem. I was told that the plugs were covered with fuel and they would need to be replaced before you could continue the diagnostic test. The reason I was given was they needed to see what was causing the fuel to link and I was also told that there was a part replace on the car. I advise the service advisor not to replace the plugs that I would need to talk to my husband and the only work that we had on the car was basic services, and I was not aware of any part being replace. I had my husband to call the advisor so that she would explain why they could not continue the diagnostic test. He also advises her not to replace the plugs that we will be picking up the car. When we arrive to pick up the car my husband asks the advisor what part was replaced? We were told no parts were replaced that all the original part was on the car. He also asks why we were being charge for a full diagnostic test, when they did not do a diagnostic test. The only thing that was check was the spark plugs. We were told that diagnostic test also consist of manual labor, the time that was spend to find the problem. It took over two hour looking for the problem. The invoice that we receive only states that they started with the spark plugs and do not states doing any other work. We do not believe it took over 2 hours just to look at the spark plugs.

Desired Settlement: We should be refund for the diagnostic test and only charge for the service that was done.

Business Response:

We could not duplicate the customer's concern so we put the vehicle on a diagnostic machine.  No codes revealed on the engine.  We then pulled the spark plugs to check them and noticed they were fouled

out and soaked with gas.  Our Service Advisor called the customer to let them know we would need to replace the spark plugs before going further.  The customer declined the service.

The customer sent an email to the dealership which was a duplicate of the information sent to you.  Our Service Manager, **** ******, contacted Mr. ******** and offered to sell him the spark plugs at

20% discount and he could install the spark plugs himself.  Mr. ******** said he would have to get with his wife.  We have not heard back from him.

We feel we have been fair and reasonable in this situation.  Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

***** ********


 

We feel the Carl Gregory VW has not been fair or reasonable with they respond on handling this complained.  My husband spoke to Mr. ***** and was told that the technician that he did the diagnostic test. My husband told him that the Service Advisor told his that the technician said that he did not do a diagnostic. Who do we believe? He asks Mr. ***** if a diagnostic was done why it was not on the invoice. Only thing was put on the invoice was that the spark plugs was checked. He also asks do they put all work done on a vehicle on the invoice. My husband was told yes by Mr. *****. If that the case shouldn’t we be refund for the diagnostic test? He offered my husband a 20% discount on the spark plugs. My husband told him that he had someone to doing the work.  I spoke with Mr. ***** and was told basic the same thing that my husband was told. He also stated that the Service Advisor said there was a misunderstanding between her and the technician.  If she ask the technician did he do the diagnostic, the reapply should have been a yes or no. How can that be a misunderstanding? We feel we are due a refund for the diagnostic test because we have no proof that it was done. The invoice is like a contract it states what work was done.

Thank,

The **********

Business Response:

I apologize for the delay of our response.  I thought I had already answered this complaint and I deleted it from my email.

Our position remains as stated in our previous response.

Thank you for your assistance.

8/2/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues