BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In East AL, West & Southwest GA

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Carl Gregory of Auburn meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Carl Gregory of Auburn include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 04, 1997 Business started: 08/01/1997 in GA Business started locally: 08/01/1997 Business incorporated: 08/01/1997 in GA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Alabama Secretary of State
11 South Union, Suite 207, Montgomery AL 36104
http://www.sos.state.al.us
Fax Number: 334-240-3138

Georgia Secretary of State
2 Martin Luther King Jr. Dr.SE, Suite 802, West Tower, Atlanta GA 30334
http://www.sos.state.ga.us/default1024.asp
Fax Number: 404-651-8410

Georgia Secretary of State
2 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, SE, Suite 315, West Tower, Atlanta GA 30334
http://www.sos.state.ga.us/corporations/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jason Gregory, VP Mr. Carl Gregory, Chairman
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Gregory, VP
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars Auto Parts & Supplies - New Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

Carl Gregory of Auburn sells the following brand(s): Ford, Lincoln, Mercury

Carl Gregory of Auburn offers the following product(s): Automobiles

Alternate Business Names
Carl Gregory Ford-Lincoln-Mercury of Auburn Gregory, Carl Ford-Lincoln-Mercury of Auburn
BBB Program Participation

Military Marketplace
This company is a participant in the BBB's "Military Marketplace Code of Ethics" program.  The program is provided by the Bureau as a specific effort to ensure a "Fair and Honest" marketplace for members of the United States Military and their families. 

Industry Tips
Lemon Law-Georgia New Motor Vehicle New Cars Service Contracts Used Cars-(Georgia) Buyer's Rights

Additional Locations

  • 2305 S College St

    Auburn, AL 36832 (334) 887-8571 (888) 849-5458

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (888) 849-5458(Phone)
X

Additional Web Addresses

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/7/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 01/16/14 I entered into a contract for sale of a 2010 Ford F150 from Carl Gregory Ford of Auburn, AL. I used my 2011 Nissan Juke SV as a trade vehicle in addition to a $1,500 down payment to complete this sale. As part of the contract, Carl Gregory received a 20 day payoff quote from Wells Fargo Dealer Services on the Nissan, due to be paid by 02/06/14 to finalize our agreement. However, this payoff never occurred, and the quote has expired. This puts Carl Gregory in direct breach of the contract that we signed for this purchase. I contacted GM Financial AmeriCredit, the financier of the loan for the 2010 Ford F150, who stated I needed to return to the dealership to retrieve my Nissan Juke and deposit, and the dealership has refused to return my car or my money.

Desired Settlement: I would prefer the dealership returns my vehicle, 2011 Nissan Juke SV, as well as the $1,500 down payment I placed when the deal was initiated and the sale was finalized.

Business Response:

My apology for not responding to the first complaint.  It must have slipped by me in my emails. 

The customer bought a vehicle and after 7 or more days decided to bring it back.  Our Manager advised the customer we had already been funded on the transaction and she would now have to go through her lender.  The customer got upset and even called the police to file a report against the dealership.  The police looked over the paperwork and advised the customer it was a civil matter.  The customer left her vehicle at the dealership and also called Wells Fargo and told them she was involved in a legal matter with the dealership.  Wells Fargo had her payoff check but after receiving the call they held the check and did not process.

We later heard from Ms. *******'s friend advising they were picking up the vehicle and apologizing for Ms. *******'s actions.  The customer did pick up the vehicle and we have not heard anything further from them.

We assume the matter is closed.  Please mark your file accordingly.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/23/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the main Ford Website, there was a rebate for 70 dollars on tires. It said to print the rebate out and bring it in. I followed the directions on the rebate, came home and applied online for the rebate and was denied. After going back and forth with both the corporate office and dealership, they told me that I was basically out of luck and should deal with the tire manufacturer. Here is a copy of the email:*******, The dealership should have given you the proper information when you were at the dealership since we only process rebates for Ford, we do not handle manufacturer rebates therefore it wouldnt be our rebate. The coupon you see online states in the disclaimer to see dealerships for details and redemption forms, your dealership should have given you that information when you were there for service. The dealerships received information on this along with the manufacturer rebate forms which they do have access to. Again I apologize for the trouble but if its not a Ford rebate then there isnt anything we can do to process it for you. Thank You!******Redemption Headquarters From: ******* ***** Sent: Friday, June 14, 2013 6:06 PMTo: Ford RebateSubject: Your Rebates Stink After looking for tires I saw on the Carl Gregory Ford Auburn AL site that they had a Rebate on 4 Michelin tires and I wanted to keep the original tires on the car. I called the Ford Dealership and ordered the Michelin tires and he told me they had a rebate on the tires of $70. I took the car in the next day and got the 4 new tires installed and was happy until I tried to get the rebate. At the Dealer they told me to just fill the rebate out online and submit it. I came home and followed the directions she gave me but kept getting the message of No Qualifying Rebates. {There is more but character limit doesn't allow]

Desired Settlement: 70 dollars as promised on their website.

Business Response:

Our Service Manager, *** *****, has tried to reach the customer by phone with no success.  Mr. ***** has been in contact with Ford and also the tire manufacturer.  He has obtained the rebate form for Mr. ***** to complete.  Please

ask Mr. ***** to contact Mr. ***** at the dealership to make arrangements for completion of the rebate form.  We will be happy to assist him in getting the rebate form submitted.

Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

8/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/30/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
5/1/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1