BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
East AL, West & Southwest GA

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Carl Gregory Hyundai meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Carl Gregory Hyundai include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 2
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 6

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: October 28, 1999 Business started: 01/12/1988 in GA Business started locally: 01/12/1988 Business incorporated: 01/12/1998 in GA
Licensing

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Georgia Secretary of State
2 Martin Luther King Jr. Dr.SE, Suite 802, West Tower, Atlanta GA 30334
http://www.sos.state.ga.us/default1024.asp
Fax Number: 404-651-8410

Georgia Secretary of State
2 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, SE, Suite 315, West Tower, Atlanta GA 30334
http://www.sos.state.ga.us/corporations/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jason Gregory, President Mr. Carl L. Gregory, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Gregory, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

Carl Gregory Hyundai sells the following brand(s): Hyundai

Carl Gregory Hyundai offers the following product(s): Automobiles

Alternate Business Names
Gregory, Carl Hyundai
BBB Program Participation

Military Marketplace
This company is a participant in the BBB's "Military Marketplace Code of Ethics" program.  The program is provided by the Bureau as a specific effort to ensure a "Fair and Honest" marketplace for members of the United States Military and their families. 

Industry Tips
Lemon Law-Georgia New Motor Vehicle New Cars Service Contracts Used Cars-(Georgia) Buyer's Rights

Additional Locations

  • 3000 N Lake Pkwy Bldg 200

    Columbus, GA 31909 (706) 568-4900

  • 1
X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

3/18/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My MDX Acura 2012 was not returned to me in the same condition in which my vehicle was given to Carl Gregory Hyundai. When the vehicle was traded, it had all the manufactured parts on the vehicle. -Michelin tires were taken off and replaced with Bridgestone tires.-Silver valve stem were replaced with black stems.- The Acura leather binder which encase the consumer guides and manual.-It was driven 165 miles.- Since my contract was null and voided, I want my first month payment in the amount of $358.31 returned back to me.

Desired Settlement: I want the items that were taken off my vehicle replaced with the same manufactured parts.I want my first month payment in the amount of $358.31 returned back to me.

Business Response:

We have new management at our Hyundai dealership.  He has tried to reach Ms. ******* by phone to discuss her complaint but has been unsuccessful.

Please advise the customer we are sending her a check refunding the first month's payment as she requested.  We have no knowledge of any parts being removed from the customer's Acura that she traded in.  It is possible the vehicle was driven 165 miles since the vehicle was in our possession for nearly a month and was displayed for sale.

Thank you for your efforts in bringing a satisfactory resolve to this matter.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/13/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I'm a single mom driving a 2001 Chevy Malibu in need of a new car.After just forking out $1350.00 in repairs last week,I found myself at the shop again being told it would cost $1800 more dollars to rebuild my transmission.I decided to contact Carl Gregory Hyundai for a trade in/lease.I called the dealership Friday 1-31-14 & spoke with ***** *****,explaining my situation and circumstances.He also spoke with my stepfather by phone that day.Saturday morning @9:10 am, I received a text from ***** telling me"I need you up here at 10:00 am I got your payment down to $218"(a 2014 Hyundai Accent I was trying to get on a 4 year lease).I brought my trade@ 9:45 am and my friend *** ***** followed behind me. We sat in the dealership for almost an hour as we talked to ***** and I signed paperwork he was putting in front of me & having me fill out. He asked if I wanted to say bye to my car & I said no.He said I needed to bring the new car back Monday because they were unable to detail it that day,but he would give me a loaner.I agreed. At this point,I am under the impression all that is left is to go in the Sales manager's office to sign final papers &title.I am led to an office of a guy named *****,he looks at my file & says it is the 1st time he has seen it.He says the $218 lease deal I was told was all set to sign for could not possibly happen because Hyundai wouldn't finance my lease due to credit issue.. I because EXTREMELY upset because all information about my situation had been disclosed to ***** & he told me the credit report was pulled & and all was set. yet here was this guy telling me I could BUY it for $300 a month!I said forget it& went back to the show room to tell my friend.When she heard,she became EXTREMELY angry too because ***** said NOTHING about any of that!WHO approved the $218 that brought me down there that morning?!After we told them EXACTLY what we thought of their Bait & Switch ways,taking advantage of people,I went to Ford &bought a 2014 FOCUS SE &LOVE IT!GO TO RIVERSIDE FORD!!

Desired Settlement: I WANT THIS TO BE PUBLISHED FOR CONSUMERS SO NO ONE ELSE IS TREATED AS BADLY AS I WAS.

Business Response:

At the time the salesperson called the customer to come in,  her loan approval was in pending status.  It was not until later when the finance manager contacted the lender to re-hash the deal that the loan was denied.

We are in the business to sell cars and would have loved to sell one to Ms. ********.  Unfortunately we have no control over a lender's decision and because of her credit history we were unable to obtain financing under the terms she was in

agreement with. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  I was NEVER told it was pending until ***** looked at it. ***** said my credit was pulled the day before and we were good to go except for signing. THey had me thinking all was done except me signing the final documents. Very poor customer service. Classic bait and switch tactics. I have shared this experience with my coworkers at ***** as well. Rivertown Ford was up front with me  from the moment I walked through the door and that is why they got my business.  I left with a car with 40 miles on it and had twice the features .

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

***** ********


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

6/26/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/14/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
12/21/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
12/14/2011 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
1