BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
East AL, West & Southwest GA

BBB Accredited Business since

Carl Gregory Honda

Phone: (706) 563-3510 Fax: (706) 243-7410 3000 N Lake Pkwy Bldg 400, Columbus, GA 31909

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Carl Gregory Honda meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Carl Gregory Honda include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 10
Total Closed Complaints 14

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: December 10, 1976 Business started: 11/07/1994 in GA Business started locally: 11/07/1994 Business incorporated: 11/07/1994 in GA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Georgia Secretary of State
2 Martin Luther King Jr. Dr.SE, Suite 802, West Tower, Atlanta GA 30334
http://www.sos.state.ga.us/default1024.asp
Fax Number: 404-651-8410

Georgia Secretary of State
2 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, SE, Suite 315, West Tower, Atlanta GA 30334
http://www.sos.state.ga.us/corporations/

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jason Gregory, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason Gregory, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

Carl Gregory Honda sells the following brand(s): Honda

Carl Gregory Honda offers the following product(s): Automobiles

Alternate Business Names
Gregory, Carl Honda
BBB Program Participation

Military Marketplace
This company is a participant in the BBB's "Military Marketplace Code of Ethics" program.  The program is provided by the Bureau as a specific effort to ensure a "Fair and Honest" marketplace for members of the United States Military and their families. 

Industry Tips
Lemon Law-Georgia New Motor Vehicle New Cars Service Contracts Used Cars-(Georgia) Buyer's Rights

Additional Locations

  • 3000 N Lake Pkwy Bldg 400

    Columbus, GA 31909 (706) 563-3510

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

8/22/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To whom it may concern, August 1, 2014I am writing to let someone know about my experience with Carl Gregory Honda. I purchased a 2007 Honda Accord in Oct of 2007. Ive heard for years what great cars Hondas are and I have always wanted to own one. After my experience with the dealership, namely the service department this will more than likely be my last Honda. Honestly I cant encourage anyone else to purchase one either, ESPECIALLY from Carl Gregory Honda. When we first purchased the car my husband advised ***** **** that we would not pay more than 450.00 a month. Mr. **** insisted on getting the monthly payment higher but my husband would not budge. Seeing his dilemma Mr. **** agreed. He then asked me if I wanted an extended warranty. I said yes, he advised us that would make my monthly amount go from 450.00 to 481.36. We signed the extended warranty contract which I still have. Luckily in the beginning I did not have many problems with my Honda. As the years went on I have had some issues here and there. At one point my car was cutting off while driving!! I took it in to the service department and a part had to be ordered, luckily it was covered under the original warranty. The part had to be ordered so I was without a car. I was not offered a loaner car during this duration. When the part came in it was repaired and I got my car back. Eventually it started doing the same thing; I called the service department and spoke to a manager. I think her name was ***** or ****** maybe. She advised me to bring it in again. I did just that and I was told they couldnt find anything wrong with it other than a loose battery cable. They tightened it up that seemed to help the issue for a while, until it did it again. I called Honda again left several messages for the manager and no one ever called me back. Luckily it hasnt cut off driving in a while. I do apologize that I dont have dates but I didnt realize I would need to keep a diary of all my issues. Another issue I have yet to have resolved is my car has a shake at 40 miles per hour or lower. I took it in to Honda the first time I started having this issue. I left my car with them someone drove it/looked at it and I was told they didnt find anything wrong with my car. I have had this same issue for a few years now with no satisfaction from Honda. I took my car in last year for an issue and I was told to come and pick it up because they could not find anything wrong with it. I got someone from work to drive me to the Honda service center to get my car, when I got there my care was not on the premises! I asked where my car was and I was told that someone was out test driving it again. This made me very upset because I was told to come and get my car. I waited for almost 30 minutes for my car to be returned, when my car pulled up two of your service mechanics got out, walked in and gave my keys to RJ. They didnt say a word as to what took so long nor what they were doing in my car. When I got in my car it smelled like food. I took it that they used my car to go get lunch. UNACCEPTABLE!!!! I was not given and apology nor and explanation. I was sent on my waywith no resolution. I got new tires in Oct 2013; I also got my car put in line and guess what? I still had the shakeLately I have been taking my car to Midas for oil changes, tire rotations because I just dont want to deal with Hondas service department. I knew that if I needed any major work I still had my extended warranty I was nowhere near 100,000 miles, so that gave me piece of mind. Thats until I called the warranty company in 2013 to verify my coverage!!! I was told I didnt have an extended warranty and that it was cancelled! I never cancelled my coverage and I had a signed contract stating I had the coverage. Well, I called Carl Gregory Honda and spoke to several reps that looked up my information and told me I didnt have coverage as well. Well I brought my contract into work for a good friend of mine to look at it, who happened to have worked for Carl Gregory Honda in the past. That person pointed out to me that the finance person did not put it in the sales part of the contract as though I never paid for it!!! So the representatives knowingly did not put the warranty information in the final write up. They misled my husband and I to get the monthly payment where they wanted it. They deceived usthis is unethical at best!! My husband and I went in to speak to the financial manager ***** ****. ***** looked over the contract and he quickly pointed out that we actually didnt pay for it, and I showed him the contract that he and I signed saying I had it. My **** advised me he was going to have to call his boss to see how to handle the situation. I assured Mr. **** I was not going away and if I had to seek legal representation I was willing to do that. The very next day Mr. **** called and told me I did indeed have coverage but I had better hurry because my warranty was going to run out in oct 2013. I told him to look again, I didnt have 100,000 miles nor was my 7 years up and that I had until 10-14-14. He say the error and agreed.This whole ordeal with the warranty really stressed me out. I felt betrayed and misled. I REALLY didnt want to do business with you then. I asked Mr. **** if I could take my warranty to another place to be repaired and I was told it had to be the place where I bout the car from. Why was that I wondered, so I asked my friend that used to work for your company and I was told that Carl Gregory owned the warranty company. Big letdown because I knew I was not going to be taken care of. The last time I took my car to Midas they told me I needed a control arm and struts. I looked over the contract and saw that this was covered. Good thing, I thought because I will just have to pay the 50.00 deductible. Well, I took a day off work on 07/18/2014 and took my car t

Desired Settlement: I would like my 91.00 refunded, I want the repairs done on my car that my warranties covers. I don't want to be misled about what is really wrong with my car and I want them to just be HONEST!!! From the bginning to the end just unethical!

Business Response:

First of all I would like to apologize to Ms. ******** for the unpleasant car buying experience.  It is hard to tell exactly what happened with the service contract mix-up but I am glad to see that it was just that a "mix-up" and coverage does exist.  After speaking with the Service Manager it appears the service contract does cover the compliance bushing that was recommended.  The tires were badly cupped causing the vehicle's vibration and shaking.  We did recommend the customer get new tires, a wheel alignment and possibly consider struts for a better ride.  These items are not covered under her extended service agreement.

We will be happy to perform the repairs on Ms. ********'s vehicle and refund to her the difference of $29.95.  This amount resulting in a difference of her $50 deductible plus taxes and EPA fee versus the $91.00 actually paid.

Please have Ms. ******** contact our Service Manager, Janet Davis. should she wish to proceed with the repairs.

Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/18/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a used car (2007 Volvo s40) from Carl Gregory Honda in Columbus GA 2 weeks ago. I was assured that the car was inspected and everything was in good, safe working condition. They provided me with a report saying that the car was looked at, oil changed and fluids checked. After purchasing the car and having it looked at by a mechanic for a separate minor issue with the gear shifter, I was informed that the car had major mechanical issues that had been present for a minimum of months. The mechanic informed me that the two front axle cv joints are broken and leaking fluid, the two rear struts are cracked, the front shock is broken and leaking fluid, all of this in addition to the gear shifter blind being broken. I drove to Columbus from Albany to request that the dealership fix these major safety issues and was refused by both Sales Manager ***** ***** and the service department manager ****** (last name ?). When asked why these issues were not disclosed and why we were assured car was in good safe working condition, they dodged the question and tried to put the blame on me saying that that is the risk you take buying a used car. What makes this especially disappointing is that I am an active duty Marine and our salesman was retired Air Force and the person who did all our closing paperwork was a former Marine as well. In the military we always look our for our own and I have never seen veterans treat other veterans this way. This level of deceit should not be allowed, tolerated or legal. I will take this matter as far as need be to rectify this issue and assure that this does not happen to any other consumers.

Desired Settlement: I want all mechanical issues fixed on the vehicle and if this cannot be achieved then I request a full refund of my purchase price. I will be happy to return the car to Carl Gregory Honda for a full refund and take my business elsewhere.

Business Response:

The customer purchased a used vehicle with no warranty provided as shown by the buyer's guide he executed. 

We must respectfully decline the customer's request for a refund.

Thank you for your assistance in the matter.  Please close your file accordingly.

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

3/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: carl gregory honda of columbus ga at first agreed upon certain price and then made us sign all documents and then next day they realized that that is not the price they want to sell it for. so they started playing games as the price was only if u get loan from us and no where else as we can make some money in financing which we can't as u got loan from somewhere else also the night before **** assured us that the price is not gonna change no matter what.next day when my loan was approved i went to them n **** the manager started yelling at me and my pregnant wife, eventually i have to run to see doctor. as i'm not a white american they started racial discrimination on me with my arrival in this country. this is pathetic that this land belongs to everybody and that white guy dont want other race to survive here. as he is the manager he don't want to resolve this issue is why we have to approach BBB.he said BBB CAN NEVER HARM ME, i'm the boss nobody is over me.

Desired Settlement: i rushed to see doctor as **** the manager yelled at me n my wife,where she is 7 month pregnant and asked us to leave the office.doctor charged me instant $700.00 which i want them to pay.

Business Response:

According to our Sales Manager an out the door price was agreed upon with the customer on the vehicle he selected, as long as we could secure financing through American Honda Finance.  When we submitted the loan documentation to American Honda they came back with stipulations on the loan that the customer could not meet.  American Honda Finance required a I-94 form showing proof of permanent residency.  The customer was offended by this request and said he did not have to prove this.  We tried to obtain financing for the customer with another lender but explained the price would have to be increased an additional $500 if any lender other than American Honda Finance financed the loan. American Honda was offering an additional $500 flex cash if they financed the vehicle.

The customers came to our dealership this morning out of control and raising their voices.  Our Sales Manager did ask them to leave the dealership.

We must decline their request of settlement.

Please close your file accordingly.

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

12/12/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Back in December 2012 I bought a 12 Civic SI. Everything with that sale went great. A few months later, around July, a different salesman called me and said that he could get me in a 2013 Civic SI for right around the same price because of Hondas new APR rates. I told him that I just bought a car in December and he said that he knew that, that's why he was calling because he could get me the newer car and pay off my old one. I agreed to meet with him and look at the new model. I came in one day look at it and decided I would go ahead with the deal since it would be about the same price and he was paying the other car off. (Why would any one want to trade in a brand new car for another brand new car unless it was for a good reason?). After looking at the car the salesman went in the back and spoke to someone and came back out an say good news, we can pay off your car and put you in the new one. At that point we started the paperwork on everything. He showed me the new payment and it was higher that I expected but I decided to do it anyway since they were buying my 2012 Civic back, so I thought. At that point we went through the rest of the process of buying the car and that was that. At no point did the salesman tell me that he was not paying off my car, or that I would be tacking on over 11,000.00 of equity onto the new loan to cover the car I traded in. Instead of paying my car off like he said was happening he gave my 16,000.00 for my car, which was a good bit under value to my understanding, and stuck me with the rest to be added onto my new loan. When I got to the finance office to sign all the final papers it was not mentioned one time that I was only getting 16,000 for my car and the rest was going on the loan. The paperwork made it look like the price I was looking at was so high because the total interest was already added in. It seems to me like the salesman pulled some pretty shady sales tricks.

Desired Settlement: I feel that the dealership should refund the amount of money that they didn't payoff on my trade in since thats what I was told was happening.

Business Response:

After reviewing the deals on both vehicles purchased by Mr. ********* it appears we did in fact payoff the trades on both transactions.  In December, 2012 the customer was carrying negative equity on the Nissan truck he traded in.  Some seven months later when he traded the 2012 Civic there was depreciation on the vehicle resulting in  negative equity on it as well. 

We have no control over the depreciation on vehicles.  According to our Finance Manager the documents clearly showed the amount being paid along with the monthly payments and the customer signed all the documents 

Respectfully, we must decline Mr. *********'s request to refund the negative equity.   

Please close your file accordingly.

Business Response:

Once again let me reiterate the loan on the trade in vehicle was paid off.  In order for us to receive a clear title on the vehicle we have to satisfy the loan with the bank.

Our position remains as stated.

Please close your file.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

******* *********


 

 I will restate. Yes the loan was paid off and the title was released. Honda paid the full amout to the old loan and when my new loan was made 11,000 dollars was added to my new loan to cover what honda paid on my old loan. That is not what your saleman said was going to happen. That is not honda paying my car off for me . That is honda paying the amount off and taking 11,000 of it back from me on the new loan. The salesman made it clear thst it was being paid off by honda not being paid off then deducted from my new loan. The saleman lied about what was going on.  

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

11/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Bought car in Jun 2013 with no manufacturer's warranty. Two days after buying the car it was already having problems (battery kept dying & power steering went out), but Carl Gregory finally towed it in and attempted to fix it, as the power steering went out again within the next month. I then took it in to Firestone on the military base and they fixed the power steering. Three other times I had to take it back to Firestone to fix the power steering, which they fixed for free. The air conditioning has never worked. I noticed the transmission started having issues about the 5th of September 2013. When I put the car into reverse, it would not go back into drive. A mechanic friend took a look and said it was the computing module in the car or the transmission. I parked the car for two days and then tried again and the car worked, but the engine kept catching. I drove the car to Transmission Experts and then it stopped working again. It will cost $500 for the estimate and $4500 for the transmission repair. I did not authorize the repair at this time because the KBB value is only $2276 and I still owe around $3500 on the loan. I didn't even have the car for 3 months before it starting having major issues and other issues since day 2. Carl Gregory tried to convince me to trade it in for another vehicle, but they want to tack on a negative equity from the current vehicle, which is not accepting any responsibility for selling me a bad vehicle. I feel they were deceptive in selling me this car. They offered to fix the car but wanted to charge me $4500 to do so. They also offered to purchase the car back from me, but only for $1000-1500 and leave me with the negative balance.

Desired Settlement: I feel I should receive the $1500 down payment, as well as all payments I've made on the vehicle back. I want them to take back the vehicle, but not as voluntary repossession, so as to not reflect negatively on my credit. I feel they sold me a car that they knew had issues and are not willing to accept any of the responsibility for it.

Business Response:

The customer bought a used vehicle without a warranty.  It was purchased "As Is".  We have made attempts to buy the vehicle back or even try to trade him out of the vehicle as he stated in his complaint. 

We must respectfully decline his request to refund his downpayment and all payments made. 

Thank you for your efforts to help resolve this matter. 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

10/10/2013 Problems with Product/Service
7/8/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In September 2012, I bought a 1999 Honda Accord 4-Cyl 4-door from the used car lot and Carl Gregory's used car dealership. I test drove the vehicle and the salesman guaranteed me the vehicle had a full inspection and that everything was in good condition. He produced some documentation to me shortly thereafter. Within one week of buying the vehicle, it had shut off while on and as I was driving down a road. I attempted to have them buy the car back and refund me my money for the full price, but the salesman would not. The best they offered me was to buy it back for about $3500, not the $5200 I had bought it for, with the condition that I would buy another used vehicle from their car lot. So I declined their offer and demanded that the vehicle be inspected right there at the Carl Gregory Honda. Upon inspection, they notified me that the transmission was split in half, it had not had transmission fluid in quite some time, and that the "electrical component in the ignition system" was damaged and would cost me between $200-300 in order to fix (which would then fix my problem of the vehicle turning off while on, or not starting at all). At the time, I was in the field doing training most the time and could not continue to drive to and from the dealer to argue the case, and soon after training was PCSed (moved) to ******* and then soon heading to ********** for my duty station. I never got a resolution from Carl Gregory and they just ignored my complaints by offering to amend the situation in a less than satisfactory manner. I've taken the vehicle to the Honda dealer in San Antonio, and two local shops, and not one of the 3 locations can pinpoint what exactly is wrong with the vehicle and causing it to exhibit the issues it has.

Desired Settlement: I would like Carl Gregory to do what is right and refund me my money or replace the vehicle with a similar vehicle that is actually functioning. I need a functioning vehicle to travel from *** ******* to ********** State July 11th as part of my PCS move. They sold a severely damaged vehicle to a customer under the premise that the vehicle had been inspected and was in good working condition. They are a dealership and should uphold a better quality standard.

Business Response:

The customer purchased the vehicle in August 2012.  The vehicle was sold "As Is" with no warranty.

Respectfully we must decline the customer's demand of a refund or replacement vehicle.

Please close your file accordingly.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

**** ********


 

As a car dealership, especially such a large and well known dealer, there should be a standard of quality and an expectation when buying new or used. The vehicle was damaged prior to me buying it. Yet I was assured that the vehicle had been examined completely and everything was in working order. A vehicle that shuts off within the first 3 days of owning is not in "good working order" and they knew this. I even explained to the car salesman, Mr. **** ******, that I was looking for an inexpensive vehicle due to the chance of my being medically discharged from the military but that the vehicle needed to be in sound condition and wouldn't give me problems. He assured me that this was not a "lemon". The vehicle was sold at 4500, a price much too high for a vehicle they knew was defective and that they knew needed substantial work. If the vehicle would've been sold at 1500, the sale would've been fair considering the work it needs. I reject this offer due to the paperwork that they force their customers to sign prior to buying their vehicles from this particular lot.

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

5/6/2013 Delivery Issues
2/27/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues
8/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
7/13/2012 Advertising/Sales Issues
7/12/2012 Problems with Product/Service
5/10/2012 Problems with Product/Service
1/24/2012 Problems with Product/Service