This business is not BBB accredited.

Carl Gregory Chrysler Jeep

Phone: (706) 568-4900 Fax: (706) 243-7410 View Additional Phone Numbers 3000 N Lake Pkwy Bldg 100, Columbus, GA 31909 http://www.cgcars.com ! There is an alert on Carl Gregory Chrysler Jeep !


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Based on BBB files, this business has a BBB Rating of No Rating. The reason is as follows:

  • This business has no rating because it is out of business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Carl Gregory Chrysler Jeep
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 24, 1989 Business started: 02/01/1989 in GA Business started locally: 02/01/1989 Business incorporated 02/01/1989 in GA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jason A Gregory, President Mr. Carl Gregory, Chairman/CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jason A Gregory, President
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

Carl Gregory Chrysler Jeep sells the following brand(s): Chrysler, Jeep

Carl Gregory Chrysler Jeep offers the following product(s): Automobiles

Alternate Business Names
Carl Gregory Northlake Holdings, Inc.
Out of Business

Per Carl Gregory, on November 10, 2015 Carl Gregory sold all dealerships to AutoNation. 

Industry Tips
Lemon Law-Georgia New Motor Vehicle New Cars Service Contracts Used Cars-(Georgia) Buyer's Rights

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3000 N Lake Pkwy Bldg 100

    Columbus, GA 31909

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/27/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I bought a **** *** **** *****l in Nov 2014. Not too long ago I notice that the passenger seat belt chime doesn’t work when the vehicle is moving and the seat belt is disengaged. I took the vehicle to the dealer and they tried to fix it without any luck. At that time they told me that they had order some parts. Once again I took the vehicle back to the dealer and once again the vehicle wasn’t fix and more parts were order. They told me that both time they had contacted the ***** to find out how to fix the truck. I had to take the truck back to the dealer for the third time and there were more parts replaced and still the problem was not fixed. After all the parts that were order and replace ***** is telling the dealer now that my truck doesn’t come with that safety future. I am sorry but I can’t believe that a 2014 vehicle is not equip with a passenger seat belt chime or warning safety device. If that is the case why they told the dealer how to repair the vehicle on multiple occasions. How can I tell while I am driving down the road if my son/daughter unbuckle their seat belt if I don’t have a warning device? My other concern is, if there is no sensor on the seat how can the airbags will deploy to prevent anybody from getting hurt or kill. If what they are saying is true then I consider this vehicle unsafe for my family and any family that owned it. I just want my vehicle to be safe for my family. I was under the impression that every vehicle build in the U.S. safe to be on the streets.

Desired Settlement: Fix the problem.

Business Response:

First let me apologize for not responding sooner.  Our Service Manager has been working with Chrysler to try and resolve the issue.  The passenger seatbelt does not chime when the seatbelt is not fastened.  The factory field technician is scheduled to be at our dealership tomorrow and have some answers.  We will certainly be in touch with the customer as soon as we know more to tell him.

Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[ They supposed to have a technician on site of 9 Jul 15 and as of today 13 Jul 15 (1205PM) they have not contacted me. ]

Regards,

***** **************

Business Response:

Our Service Manager has been advised by the Chrysler field technician that the customer's vehicle is operating properly and is in fact the way it was designed at the factory.  The customer is being notified of this current information at the time of this response.

Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

7/7/2015 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a vehicle less than 8 months ago from this dealership. The vehicle is a 2013 Jeep Wrangler. My thermostat housing is leaking as well as my radiator. I was told the housing was covered under the warranty, but not the radiator, even if the thermostat problem caused the radiator problem. My vehicle has 46,000 miles on it and the average lifespan of a radiator is 125,000 miles. Given this information, I was told that either the previous owner did not take care of the vehicle or it was just a faulty radiator. If the previous owner was negligent in the care of the vehicle, I feel that should have been addressed prior to my purchase of the vehicle from this dealership. If it is in fact a faulty radiator, I do not understand why I should be held liable for paying for a defaulted radiator. Furthermore, if it is faulty, why did the dealership not identify the problem before the purchase?

Desired Settlement: I would like the dealership to cover the costs incurred for a vehicle they sold, that obviously had prior problems or a faulty component.

Business Response:

Mr. ***** states he was sold the vehicle with a faulty radiator however his Jeep Wrangler was in for an oil service on 04-06-15 at which time a visual inspection for leaks was performed and no leakage was found according to the inspection sheet.  Mr. ***** signed the inspection sheet and was given a copy at that time.  The manufacturer warranty expires at 36000 miles, therefor it would be the responsibility of Mr. ***** to pay for the needed repairs.

Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

We ask that you please close your file accordingly.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********* and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

The average lifespan for a radiator is 125,000 miles. My radiator had a leak at approximately 46,500 miles. The vehicle was purchased less than 8 months ago, and while I understand that my warranty has expired, I do not understand having to pay for a radiator that was obviously defective. I spoke with Chrysler, who also said I should not have had any problems with my radiator at this mileage, however they referred me back to Carl Gregory and said that this would be the dealership's responsibility. I also spoke with Carl Gregory's service representatives, who also stated that this is too early of a mileage to experience these problems with the vehicle and that sometimes "these things just happen." I understand that things happen, but why is it my responsibility to cover the cost of a defective part along with $440 of labor? I requested a courtesy car, because my vehicle was in their shop for 25 hours, and my son had a doctor's appointment. I was denied a courtesy vehicle, because the labor was under 4 hours, although I was charged for four hours. These are horrible business practices, and I have purchased two vehicles from this company in the three years that I have been stationed here. I was in the market for another vehicle, and if this is how they treat their loyal customers, I obviously need to find another dealership.

Regards,
****** *****

Business Response:

Mr. ***** purchased a used vehicle several months ago along with an extended service contract.  We certainly do understand his frustration and his point regarding the average lifespan for a radiator.  The dealership cannot speculate as to what caused the probelm with the radiator nor can we assume responsibility for this unfortunate problem.  Our dealership does not provide courtesy vehicles and Mr. ***** did not qualify for a rental vehicle under his extended service contract. 

We certainly regret Mr. ***** has experienced issues with his vehicle.  Our position remains as previously stated.

 

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This is ridiculous! The dealership as well as Chrysler both "understand my frustration" because the radiator SHOULD NOT have gone out at the mileage. Your service salesperson said that you do in fact have courtesy cars, but because the required work was under four hours, you could not loan a courtesy car even though you had my vehicle for 25 hours. When I purchased the vehicle from Carl Gregory, I purchased the extended warranty because the salesperson said that between the power train warranty and the extended warranty, I was pretty much covered bumper-to-bumper. FALSE ADVERTISING at its finest. I don't want everyone to "understand" my frustrations, I want the dealership to recognize that THEY sold me a vehicle with a subpar radiator in it, and correct the problem. I do not understand how a business can treat its loyal MILITARY customers in such a way. 


Regards,
****** *****

6/22/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On May 27,2015, I went into business to purchase a 2015 dodge Challenger. I traded my vehicle in and was told that Chrysler Capital was the Bank that financed my car. I signed all required contracts and took delivery of the car. On June 3, 2015 at 8:55am, I received a call from an employee stating that I needed to come in due to a paperwork issue. I asked the gentlemen on the phone what was going on and he said " I'm not sure, I'm new and I was told to call you". When I arrived at the dealership, no one knew what was goingon and why I was there. ****, apparently replaced an employee that did my car deal up and said that I did not have financing for my vehicle and that I needed to trade vehicles back. He stated that he was personally going to work on this. I called to speak with Mr. ***** ******* and himself or his assistant was to call me back and I never heard one single word from them. This was a complete embarrassment to me and they didn't have the decency to apologize to me. I also have a receipt where I paid to have the windows tinted and returned the vehicle with a full tank of gas.

Desired Settlement: They need to make good on their financing of the vehicle.

Business Response:

Please be advised we have re-delivered the Dodge Challenger to the customer with adequate financing. The financing terms are more favorable for the customer and she was satisfied with the delivery.

Thank you for your attention in this matter.

 

4/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Carl Gregory pulled a Spot Delivery on 2/26/2015 My cosigner and I were in the dealership and had obtain what we thought was approval on the 26 of February 2015, the vehicle I test drove was not the vehicle they sold me in fact, the vehicle provide odometer statement was incorrectly instead of 250 or 500 miles it actually had a few thousand, the vehicle was dirty and had to be bought back on the 27 of Feb for detailing, feeling uneasy about the deal on the 27th while waiting for my detail, I asked the Salesmen ****** if everything with my contract was good, he stated yes. On March 3,2015 I was contacted by ****** to inform me that the bank had re negotiated the terms of the contract and required just me cosigner, gap and an extended warranty totaling over $3308.00 additional on the loan up from the original $418.00 they were originally getting. ****** insisted that I sign the paperwork today and I informed him I was out of town and not in Columbus, the following day I received a ticket for not having a tag, so I contacted ****** to find out when I could get the temporary tag I had been asking about and he replied when you pay your down-payment you can get them, I stated didn't you get that on the 26th and he replied I am out of it talk to my manager. Another contracted was presented to the bank on February 28th,2015 with the correct numbers and also the additional charges,but wasn't signed by my co signer or I. The bank confirmed they never received a loan application on the 26,but did on the 28th and they confirmed they never required the additional insurances Carl Gregory staff told us. Had they not be drinking previously or during work and rushing off to drink they could have performed a better deal. Update: The Radio no longer works, when I go through the car wash or it rains it leaks through the car. I have read on Google reviews that this company does this a lot of military and seniors. Google them yourself.

Desired Settlement: Dealership has been notified and noted above.

Business Response:

Please be advised Mr. ******* is fully aware of Mr. ***** complaint.  Mr. ******* had a meeting with Ms. ******** *****, her son, and also her grandson, *****.  All documents and charges were reviewed completely with Ms. ***** and she fully understands her paperwork now and is completely satisfied with the transaction. Ms. ***** was given the opportunity to sleep and pray about the transaction over night. Mr. ******* told her if she was not satisfied to give him a call the next day and he would rescind the transaction.  We are not contractually bound to ***** ***** as Ms. ******** *****, the Grandmother, is our customer.

Thank you for your assistance in this matter.  We ask that you please close your file accordingly.

 

 

5/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I were sent to Carl Gregory Chrysler Dodge Jeep Ram, from the Carl Gregory Volkswagen dealership in Columbus, GA, since they weren't able to make a deal happen for us with the banks. We told the salesperson at CG C-D-J-Ram that our ABSOLUTE MAX price per month was $950/month for a new truck. "CG" said "Too easy, go and pick out which truck is 'the one', and we'll see what we can do". My wife and I found the perfect truck for us and showed the salesperson which one it was. They got the keys to it, brought it around to the front of the dealership (with my wife and daughters inside of it), we then proceeded inside the dealership to talk about numbers. We are upside down on our trades, so we knew it was going to be a little rough getting a deal that would work, but we were assured everything would work out. The General Manager of that dealership branch came over to talk to us about numbers, and told us there was "no way we could get that truck for our $950/month limit. After haggling, the GM told us it was "No problem what-so-ever to get that truck for $1050/month with $1,000/down payment. We left everything in their hands at that point to get us financed with the banks. We were told by the salesman to come back the next day at 0900am to work things out, we showed-up and he told us "nothing yet, come back tomorrow" and they would fill our gas tank if they couldn't make something work (for all the inconveniences) the next day he called and said they got us approved through Navy Federal and to bring our vehicles. I asked if it was for the same price we discussed, he said "YES", We showed-up, and they said we were approved through Ally instead, and the payments would be $25/month MORE than agreed upon. I signed the deal document and he pulled-up "our truck" WHICH WASNT OUR TRUCK AT ALL! The GM said he got us approved for the truck we wanted, BUT took it upon himself to substitute it for a BASE MODEL. Then basically threw our keys back at us when we said "no" to their downgrade.

Desired Settlement: At a MINIMUM we would like our promised Tank of gas for all the inconvenience. Additionally we would appreciate it if they didn't make you sign paperwork under the impression you are signing the deal for a Ram 2500 Big Horn with all the bells and whistles, and then pull-up in a Ram Tradesman BASE MODEL, and think that everything is ok with that. ADMIT when you can't make something happen for a price you said was "NO PROBLEM, AS LONG AS THE BANKS APPROVE YOU". I'm recommending blacklisting.

Business Response:

The overall credit profile would not allow the customer's choice vehicle.  The bank did condition the loan and the dealership offered an alternate vehicle which the customer declined.

We do not feel there was anything that transpired outside of the normal course of business.  The GM told the customer, as was admitted, there would be "no problem as long as the bank approved".

The bank would not approve a loan that met within the customer's desired financing terms.

We would be happy to assist the customer in selecting a vehicle more suitable to his desired payment.

Thank you for your assistance in this matter.  We ask that you close the file accordingly.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

******* *******


 

 To say my overall credit profile would not allow my choice vehicle is an absolute LIE!  I just spoke with the finance company and I was APPROVED for the truck that I wanted!  I also verified the VIN with them just to make sure.  The GM said if they could get approved by a bank for that truck, then it would be NO PROBLEM to get me the desired monthly payment that we discussed.  How do you get someone approved for a vehicle and then try to secretly sell them a different truck that the customer had never seen, and that the dealership hasn't even run a finance request for!?!?  There is NO record of the cheaper truck even being run through financing for me. This dealership destroyed my trust in them..  Additionally I was promised a full tank of gas for my current vehicle since I had to drive back and forth from the dealership so many times.  

Business Response:

The bank approval we did obtain was far outside of the customer's desired limits, therefore an alternate vehicle was offered.  We are in the business to sell vehicles and I am certain every effort possible was made to accomplish this.

I regret the customer has lost our trust and ask that he please allow us to earn his business.  We will be happy to work with him.  The customer mentioned he was promised a tank of gas for inconvenience.  We will certainly honor that promise because it is the right thing to do.  Mr. ******* should contact the Sales Manager to arrange for a fill up.

 

5/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When we made our agreement to purchase the vehicle we were told last minute we would get a spare key. I have been passed along from **** ******* up to ***** *****. I keep getting told that they will find out or they need to get a hold of someone else. I am told it wasnt written down and the excuse is that they had to fire Mr. ******* for promising false things. Mr ***** told a fellow coworker he was getting in contact with the vehicles previous owners for spare keys so I was called in a third time. Only to find that those key didnt belong to the car I purchased. All I was told was that "it sucks have a good day call Mr ***** tomorrow". That is no way to conduct business. To this day none of my calls have been returned.

Desired Settlement: I want a spare key provided to us as originally stated. If Mr. ******* has to be brought back in then so be it. We were promised a remote key and with everything that is the resolution we seek. We will certainly not be back to do business.

Business Response:

We have been unable to obtain the spare key to the Honda Pilot from the previous owner.  However, we will be happy to absorb the cost and cut them a key since it was promised.

I have spoken with Mr. ***** and made arrangements for him to bring in all keys to the vehicle currently in his possession so that we can properly code the new key.

Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

4/3/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Basically, while just bringing my car in for an oil change, falling asleep in the waiting area, a salesman asked me as to why I were there and wondered if I didnt mind taking a look at a vehicle on the showroom floor. Although I went on and on about how I was not in the market for a new vehicle and how happy I was in my 2009 Challenger R/T; to which I didnt want to waste the salesmans time, he persisted. Needless to say I was shown a 2013 RAM 1500 Crew Cab Sport, to which I test drove and let the salesman do his magic with the numbers. I was made to feel as though I was receiving a good deal with an honest company that would stand behind the sale at all cost. First mistake on behalf of the dealership was to not confirm the correct pay-off being that it was a Saturday and the lien holder did not have weekend hours. Before signing any paperwork in the finance managers office I was reassured that the payoff had been confirmed. I had my credit union (Challengers lien holder) calling to inform me that a payoff had been submitted but was $887.24 short. I immediately mentioned this to the dealership and now suddenly the receptionist was not able to reach my salesman, the sales manager or the finance manager. It took several more unsuccessful calls and finally for me to show up at the dealership in person to get a response. It was at this point, the sales manager stated I signed the paperwork, so technically it was my responsibility. Driving home to Columbus, GA, just as I made the connection from Interstate I-65S to Interstate I-85N (Montgomery, AL), with the truck being operated with the cruise set; I noticed the battery gauge began to flicker between the normal voltage and the high voltage area. After about three surges of the voltage needle as such, the 7-inch screen in the Electronic Vehicle Information Center (EVIC) began to flash and read: Rotary Shifter needs service! Then within seconds the display changed to: Service Transmission soon! I noticed the cruise control disengaged, ...

Desired Settlement: I would think that any ordinary person would feel like there is definitely something wrong here and how I was obviously treated unfairly by Northlake. It is my wish that this predatory practice from Northlake is exposed and discontinued at the rate of other poor citizens and customers. To right this wrong doing, I feel as though Northlake should return to me, the negative equity ($5, 628) they rolled into the 2014 RAM Blacktop.

Business Response:

After researching the customer's complaint, I found there were some issues with Mr. *****'s sales transaction.  It is my understanding these issues have been corrected.  Mr. ***** is in the correct vehicle now and all loan documentation has been perfected.  

Mr. ***** signed a payoff statement acknowledging responsibility for any amount due the lienholder in excess of the payoff amount received.  The dealership charged the salesperson for the shortage on the payoff.  Mr. ***** did not have to come out of pocket for this amount due.

Respectfully we must decline Mr. *****'s request for a refund of his negative equity.  The Retail Purchase Contract indicates the amount Mr. ***** was allowed for his trade which he agreed upon by execution of same.

Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I propose appear below.

Over all, as a dealer chain, I feel like they would take into special consideration the horrible ordeal and experience I endurred with that initial vehicle, this particular dealership location and the way with which these transactions were carried out unprofessionally.

Under duress, I felt inclined and somewhat forced to take whatever deal was handed my way at the time; especially since I was deterred away from the car I actually wanted. Since then, thinking with a clear mind, I later realized there were some figures that I believe to be incorrect and/or unjust.

Ultimately, I most definitely feel as though I was not treated fairly and should be compensated for this wrong doing. This is my earnest attempt to resolve this with the dealership before resorting to more letters to other media outlets and to Chrysler Corporation.

Kindest regards,

****** ** ***** ***


 

 

Business Response:

I am not sure I understand why Mr. ***** feels he was treated unfairly.  The clerical errors made were corrected and the payoff shortage was charged to the salesperson.  We will be happy to sit down and go over the figures with Mr. ***** to try and determine what he feels is unjust or incorrect.  We are willing to assist the customer in an effort to reach a resolution, however, we do not feel compensation is due.

As always, thank you for your assistance in this matter.  Please close your file accordingly.

 

 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

Northlake is only "happy to sit down and go over the figures with Mr. ***** to try and determine what he feels is unjust or incorrect." does not sound as if they will re-consider the lower than average trade-in allowance for the 2013 RAM for which I only had 3 weeks use.

Kindest Regards,

 

****** ** ***** ***

 

 


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Carl Gregory Chrysler Jeep
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)