BBB Accredited Business since

BMW of Columbus

Phone: (706) 596-2888 Fax: (706) 256-4751 6549 Whittlesey Blvd, Columbus, GA 31909

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers new BMW automobiles, used automobiles and automobile service work.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that BMW of Columbus meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for BMW of Columbus include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on BMW of Columbus
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 15, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1987 in GA Business started locally: 01/01/1987 Business incorporated 01/01/1987 in GA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. G. Marshall Butler, President Mr. Paul Maza, GM Mr. Josh Dyal
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. G. Marshall Butler, President
Principal: Mr. Paul Maza, GM
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

BMW of Columbus offers the following product(s): BMW Autos

Alternate Business Names
Bag Columbus, LLC
Industry Tips
Lemon Law-Georgia New Motor Vehicle New Cars Service Contracts Used Cars-(Georgia) Buyer's Rights

Additional Locations

  • 6549 Whittlesey Blvd

    Columbus, GA 31909 (706) 596-2888


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/20/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In September 2014 my husband and I bought a BMW as a certified pre-owned vehicle from BMW of Columbus. Before we bought it I asked the salesman if it had a satellite radio. He gave me response that I didn't entirely under****d, but I thought he was probably telling me it did have satellite radio. To try to make things completely clear I then said "So all I'll have to do is get a Sirius subscription and I'll have satellite radio?" and he responded "yes". Once we got the car I paid for a Siriusxm subscription but the satellite radio wouldn't work. It turned out the vehicle didn't have the equipment needed for satellite radio. After talking to the salesman about this, when he refused to do anything about it, I talked to the sales manager, **** ****, about it a few times on the phone and by e-mail and I told him about the question I had asked the salesman about satellite radio before we bought the car and his only response was that our salesman, ****, is usually good at explaining things and since I was told it was "satellite prep" before I bought it and we signed off on that, they would only look at giving me a discount on the labor part of the installation of the satellite radio. At one point he even started angrily arguing with me on the phone. Since I was specifically told I would only need to get a subscription to have satellite radio, I feel I was deceived about what satellite prep meant. I suspect **** wouldn't admit or didn't remember that our conversation took place and the management took his word over mine. It was 2 days before the end of September when we were talking to **** about buying the car and he seemed very anxious to close the sale and get his commission, so I suspect he didn't want to say anything that would jeopardize that. I tried calling the General Manager, ****, and left 2 messages with the receptionist. I also asked the sales manager to have the general manager call me and he said he would. The general manager has never called. I then sent a similar message to the owner of the dealership, ****** ********** ****** via their website explaining what happened and never received a response from them either. I then contacted BMW of North America twice. Each time they said they would notify the dealer that we were dissatisfied with our experience regarding the satellite radio and because the general manger hadn't called me back. I've still never heard anything more from the dealership. It later cost us $819 to have satellite radio equipment installed by the BMW service department. I feel we shouldn’t have had to pay for this after what we were told during the sales process. I'm very disappointed that this dealership would be deceptive when trying to sell us a vehicle and am also disappointed with their lack of concern when I tried to discuss this issue. Unfortunately this dealership seems to provide poor customer service at all levels of management. I didn’t know reporting this to the Better Business Bureau was an option or I would have done this sooner.

Desired Settlement: Refund for the $819 we had to pay BMW service to have satellite radio equipment installed.

Business Response:

She saw a list of the options on the car before she purchased it, she was made fully aware that the satellite radio was not included. She even told BMW customer service on her first call she realized it wasn't included, but felt it should be since it was certified.

She has later changed her story to what it is now, however she was FULLY aware of the satellite radio prep, which she states in her complaint.


She knew prior to purchase that this car didn't have satellite radio, she keeps trying to slander us to get reimbursed for something she knew didn't come with the car

Consumer Response: That is all I have. They have mentioned that we signed something saying it was "satellite prep", but I couldn't find anything stating that when I pulled out the documents so I could send them to you. I do remember being shown a copy of the bill of materials by the salesman when we first came to the dealership to look at the car, and I believe that's what brought up the question of what "satellite prep" meant, because it was on the bill of materials. I kept all of the documents we were given from the purchase together, so apparently if we signed a copy of the bill of materials during the sales process, we were never given a copy. I think all along both they and we have agreed the car has "satellite prep" but when I clarified with them what that meant, I was told something different before the sale than I was told after. But unfortunately that part was verbal. Obviously I have regretted not making them put that explanation in writing, but I thought they were a reputable business who I could trust to make good on their word. If you have any more questions please let me know.

11/4/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues
2/28/2013 Problems with Product/Service