BBB Accredited Business since

BMW of Columbus

Phone: (706) 596-2888 Fax: (706) 256-4751 6549 Whittlesey Blvd, Columbus, GA 31909

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers new BMW automobiles, used automobiles and automobile service work.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that BMW of Columbus meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on BMW of Columbus
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 15, 2004 Business started: 01/01/1987 in GA Business started locally: 01/01/1987 Business incorporated 01/01/1987 in GA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. G. Marshall Butler, President Mr. Paul Maza, GM Mr. Josh Dyal
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. G. Marshall Butler, President
Principal: Mr. Paul Maza, GM
Business Category

Auto Dealers - New Cars Auto Dealers - Used Cars

Products & Services

BMW of Columbus sells the following brand(s): BMW

BMW of Columbus offers the following product(s): BMW Autos

Alternate Business Names
Bag Columbus, LLC
Industry Tips
Lemon Law-Georgia New Motor Vehicle New Cars Service Contracts Used Cars-(Georgia) Buyer's Rights

Additional Locations

  • 6549 Whittlesey Blvd

    Columbus, GA 31909 (706) 596-2888


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had my 2001 BMW 325ci towed into dealership with the transmission stuck in limp mode after a day the service advisor called and said he car needed a transmission and he quoted me a used unit for just over 4k dollars. I advised him I would have to sleep on that and paid 120.00 I decided to get a second opinion and to my surprise all that was wrong with my car was it was 1 1/2 quarts low on fluid I did pay 280.00 and have been driving eve since

Desired Settlement: I would just like my 120.00 back and for them to not treat anyone else in a manner **** as this

Business Response:

To whom it may concern,

The diagnostics were performed on the vehicle as authorized by plaintiff, and according to the faults found we recommended to replace the transmission. No repairs were made at this time however the charges were for the technicians time. The recommendations were made as a result of factory test plans.

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]


***** *********



I do not accept the response made by the business to resolve this complaint. because if the technician did a full inspection of the transmission he would have known it was low on fluid.  Fluid does not repair transmissions the car has been working well since I got it home this dealer tried to charge me 4k dollars for a used unit and all that was wrong with mine was low fluid.  I also fill that the tech needs to be retrained.  



2/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: (Copied from BMW Corporate correspondence) I am writing in reference to my customer experience as I felt it needed to be taken into consideration and did not think it was taken seriously enough when I informed the dealership of the problem in person on 12/21/15. While I realize my complaint is not about an actual BMW vehicle, the problem occurred at an official dealership (the BMW name all over), therefore I believe it still applies in terms of reputation and customer experience. I purchased my 2014 Volvo XC60 in August of this past year (2015). My buying experience was an amazing one and upon leaving had told my husband that we would never buy from anyone else but BMW Columbus because of the treatment we deserved that day throughout the process. A month-and-a-half later (October 2015), I was driving my five-year-old to his class field trip when the car stopped operating. Upon having it towed and inspected, it was found that the axle had broken apart - an issue that was concerning for several reasons, mainly because had I not been able to get to the side of the road in the car when I did, my son and I could have been involved in an accident, not to mention the fact that the car was a 2014 model and still very young in vehicle age. The car was still under warranty and the problem was fixed at our local Volvo dealership. In December of 2015 while driving down the road with my husband, we noticed scrubbing and squealing when the car was in operation so I brought it again to the Volvo dealership to be assessed. Apparently there was a braking system issue involving the rotors, accompanying brackets, and bent parts surrounding the braking system that called for replacement which, thankfully, were under warranty still, but nevertheless concerning still. Fast forward to this past week (January 2016). After noticing Anti-Lock Brake/DSTC (traction system) failure messages on the dashboard, I have again taken the vehicle to the Volvo dealership to be assessed. There is a wheel speed sensor that is faulty. The thing about this repair is that according to diagnostics, the sensor went faulty in 2014. Since the system is showing that error as having existed since 2014, it is obvious is was an issue upon buying the car. Again, this was a little scary considering I have a five-year-old. If we had for some reason hydroplaned or run into ice/snow with the anti-lock brake system failing, we could have been involve in a serious accident. Having run into these THREE major issues within FIVE months of purchasing my vehicle from you all is not comforting given the touted inspection process the vehicle supposedly went through at the time of purchase. After the second major issue (braking system), I went to BMW of Columbus the morning of 12/21/15 request a copy of the inspection that was supposedly performed as well as to just notify the dealership that the service department had most likely missed something during the inspection. I was not angry; however, I value customer service in my profession and I'd want to know if a customer thought they'd gotten taken advantage of or had gotten a bad deal so that I could fix it and learn from it. My real concern that I am reiterating today lies in the fact that when explained everything to the Service Manager that I was referred to, I was informed that he "couldn't find the sheet" and that this particular inspection had been just visual. In my line of work, if there's no trace of a job being done, it most likely means the job wasn't done at all. There was no effort to try and persuade me that the dealership had done their job - not even an "I'm sorry this happened." I completely understand that owning a car comes with occasional costs, but I also want to be driving the car I purchased - not a rental for weeks at a time. I also want to be assured that I'm safe in the vehicle I'm driving. I do not feel safe anymore after these three things given their severity of issues they could have caused, including accident or injury. This dealership/service department needs to be checked for thoroughness. If they're going to do just visual inspections, let your sales associates know that to tell to their customers - don't tell me it's been through a so-many point inspection that it obviously couldn't have gotten through in the condition it's actually in when it hasn't. I left there the day I purchased my car knowing I'd come back one day - probably to purchase an actual BMW - and also knowing I'd recommend this group to anyone looking for a car, but they've lost what could have been a loyal, repeating customer as well as referrals coming from them. Finally, I want to point out that Volvo has taken up the lack of attention given by your dealership, and for that they need to be commended as they've gone out of their way each and every time I've been there (which has been several times, to the extent of providing loaner vehicles for the lengths of time the car has been in the shop) for a vehicle that they didn't even sell. To have another dealership in town continue to correct mistakes from an omission of attention just to make another dollar is not something I would be proud of as a manager, business owner, or even employee.

Desired Settlement: As stated above, the first thing I'd like to see is honesty from all employees to all customers going forward. Do not tell customers that a vehicle (new or used) has been through an inspection that involves hundreds of points if it did not go through that process. If the vehicle goes through just a visual inspection, say that. To tell customers like myself that you can ensure the safety of vehicle because you've done an extremely thorough inspection when you really haven't, is extremely misleading and, honestly, a lie. It's situations like this that causes the public to question the business's ethical standpoint and reputation. I do not want this nightmare of a situation to happen to anyone else. Also, I am asking that this vehicle be purchased back for what I owe as the purchase I made is obviously not what I was told I was purchasing. I absolutely love this vehicle and do not want to get rid of it, but I can't continue to drive my five-year-old around wondering if we'll make it to our next destination or if we'll be heading to the hospital by way of accident. It needs to be purchased back since the purchase was misleading and unsafe, especially all these things that keep occurring could have prevented by your dealership at the time of purchase, but weren't.

Business Response:

Mr. and Mrs. ********* were well aware that the car was in an accident. Mr and Mrs ********* even picked the  car up to have a their own, non biased  third party inspection done on the car before they purchased it, AND their personnel mechanic gave a clean bill of health . We had no way of knowing what was going to happen in the future mechanically, She has bashed us on social media, and now with the BBB.

However, she never explains that she had it inspected also by a third party!!!!!!

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

This is not a resolution and not even an apology. My response is below:

To Whom It May Concern:

In regards to your claim that I received a clean bill of health from a personal mechanic, I am very unsure as to how and why you think I ever had that. First, I have no “personal” mechanic. Every car I’ve ever driven has been taken to their designated dealerships to be serviced or to be repaired if needed. Second, we did not take the car to be inspected by anyone because we at the time felt comfortable with the steps BMW claimed it took in ensuring the vehicle was safe to drive. If I had gotten this additional inspection you’re claiming I did, I definitely would not be contacting you about this, nor would I have ever visited the dealership back in December to try and talk to someone about it because it would obviously be completely on my bill. 

In regards to the accident, we were aware, yes, the vehicle had been in an accident; however, were continued to be reassured that the car met all safety standards the day of purchase. When I spoke to your Service Manager on December 21(the day I was told no paperwork could be found), he told me that even though just a general visual inspection occurred, that you don’t allow cars to leave the lot unless they are safe to do so. 

I have taken to the BBB and other outlets simply because no one will do anything about it, nor will they even admit fault, where there is obviously fault. I just do not want this to happen to anyone else and if BMW is willing to let this go without even an apology, there’s no telling what else they’re doing to other customers or what they will do.


***** *********

10/20/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In September 2014 my husband and I bought a BMW as a certified pre-owned vehicle from BMW of Columbus. Before we bought it I asked the salesman if it had a satellite radio. He gave me response that I didn't entirely under****d, but I thought he was probably telling me it did have satellite radio. To try to make things completely clear I then said "So all I'll have to do is get a Sirius subscription and I'll have satellite radio?" and he responded "yes". Once we got the car I paid for a Siriusxm subscription but the satellite radio wouldn't work. It turned out the vehicle didn't have the equipment needed for satellite radio. After talking to the salesman about this, when he refused to do anything about it, I talked to the sales manager, **** ****, about it a few times on the phone and by e-mail and I told him about the question I had asked the salesman about satellite radio before we bought the car and his only response was that our salesman, ****, is usually good at explaining things and since I was told it was "satellite prep" before I bought it and we signed off on that, they would only look at giving me a discount on the labor part of the installation of the satellite radio. At one point he even started angrily arguing with me on the phone. Since I was specifically told I would only need to get a subscription to have satellite radio, I feel I was deceived about what satellite prep meant. I suspect **** wouldn't admit or didn't remember that our conversation took place and the management took his word over mine. It was 2 days before the end of September when we were talking to **** about buying the car and he seemed very anxious to close the sale and get his commission, so I suspect he didn't want to say anything that would jeopardize that. I tried calling the General Manager, ****, and left 2 messages with the receptionist. I also asked the sales manager to have the general manager call me and he said he would. The general manager has never called. I then sent a similar message to the owner of the dealership, ****** ********** ****** via their website explaining what happened and never received a response from them either. I then contacted BMW of North America twice. Each time they said they would notify the dealer that we were dissatisfied with our experience regarding the satellite radio and because the general manger hadn't called me back. I've still never heard anything more from the dealership. It later cost us $819 to have satellite radio equipment installed by the BMW service department. I feel we shouldn’t have had to pay for this after what we were told during the sales process. I'm very disappointed that this dealership would be deceptive when trying to sell us a vehicle and am also disappointed with their lack of concern when I tried to discuss this issue. Unfortunately this dealership seems to provide poor customer service at all levels of management. I didn’t know reporting this to the Better Business Bureau was an option or I would have done this sooner.

Desired Settlement: Refund for the $819 we had to pay BMW service to have satellite radio equipment installed.

Business Response:

She saw a list of the options on the car before she purchased it, she was made fully aware that the satellite radio was not included. She even told BMW customer service on her first call she realized it wasn't included, but felt it should be since it was certified.

She has later changed her story to what it is now, however she was FULLY aware of the satellite radio prep, which she states in her complaint.


She knew prior to purchase that this car didn't have satellite radio, she keeps trying to slander us to get reimbursed for something she knew didn't come with the car

Consumer Response: That is all I have. They have mentioned that we signed something saying it was "satellite prep", but I couldn't find anything stating that when I pulled out the documents so I could send them to you. I do remember being shown a copy of the bill of materials by the salesman when we first came to the dealership to look at the car, and I believe that's what brought up the question of what "satellite prep" meant, because it was on the bill of materials. I kept all of the documents we were given from the purchase together, so apparently if we signed a copy of the bill of materials during the sales process, we were never given a copy. I think all along both they and we have agreed the car has "satellite prep" but when I clarified with them what that meant, I was told something different before the sale than I was told after. But unfortunately that part was verbal. Obviously I have regretted not making them put that explanation in writing, but I thought they were a reputable business who I could trust to make good on their word. If you have any more questions please let me know.

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on BMW of Columbus
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)