BBB Accredited Business since

Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting

Phone: (706) 571-9500 Fax: (706) 571-9504 1300 -5th Avenue, Columbus, GA 31901 http://www.maaco.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 02, 1998 Business started: 06/17/1999 in GA Business started locally: 05/01/1996 Business under new ownership as of: 07/23/2010 Business incorporated 06/17/1999 in GA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Hunter Bryan, Owner Mr. Scott Bryan, Co-Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Hunter Bryan, Owner
Customer Contact: Mr. Scott Bryan, Co-Owner
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting

Products & Services

Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting offers the following product(s): Auto Repair & Painting

Alternate Business Names
Huntford, LLC
BBB Program Participation

Military Marketplace
This company is a participant in the BBB's "Military Marketplace Code of Ethics" program.  The program is provided by the Bureau as a specific effort to ensure a "Fair and Honest" marketplace for members of the United States Military and their families. 

Industry Tips
Auto/Vehicle Repair & Services

Additional Locations

  • 1300 -5th Avenue

    Columbus, GA 31901 (706) 571-9500

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/15/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ON MAY 5 2014 I STOPPED IN AT MAACO PAINT AND BODY AND I WAS GREATED BY MR ****** ***** AND I ASKED IF THEY COULD STRAIGHTEN A FRAME ON A 3500 TRUCK AND HE SAID YES. I EXPLAINED WHAT I HAD AND HE SAID TAKE SOME PICTURES AND TEXT THEM TO HIS PHONE. HE PUT HIS NUMBER ON HIS CARD. I ASKED HIM HOW DOES HE DO TRADEBANK AND HE SAID HE COULD DO AT LEAST HALF ON TRADEBANK. SO ON MAY 6 2014 I SENT HIM 7 TEXT MESSAGE PICTURES.HE CALLED ME BACK AND SAID HE COULD DO IT FOR $250.00 AND HE WOULD NEED THE BUMPER SO HE COULD USE IT TO HELP ALINE AND HOLD THE FRAME IN PLACE WHEN STRAIGHT. ON AUGUST 11 2014 I DROVE MY 2006 GMC SAVANA 3500 SERVICE BODY TRUCK TO MAACO. I WENT INSIDE AND THEY ASKED WHAT THEY COULD DO FOR ME AND I TOLD THEM I WAS DROPPING OFF MY TRUCK FOR ****** TO STRAIGHTEN THE FRAME ON. ****** SAID HE WAS IN A HURRY TO LEAVE AND THAT MR ******** **** WOULD TAKE CARE OF ME. ******** WENT OUT AND LOOKED AT THE TRUCK AND I TOLD HIM I HAD ALL THE NEW PARTS IN THE BACK OF THE TRUCK TO PUT IT BACK TOGETHER WITH AND ASK HIM WHAT THEY WOULD CHARGE TO INSTALL ALL MY PARTS. HE SAID HE WOULD HAVE TO GET HIS BODY MAN TO LOOK AT IT. HE CAME BACY WITH A YOUNG MAN NAME ******AND THEY LOOKED AT MY PARTS IN THE TRUCK AND I SHOWED THEM A BROKEN PLACE ON ONE OF MY NEW PARTS AND ASKED IF THE BROKEN PLACE WAS IMPORTANT AND THEY SAID WE DONT THINK SO AND THEY ASKED ME WERE I GOT THE PARTS AND I SAID I ORDERED THEM ON LINE BUT WHEN THEY CAME IN THEY WERE FROM KEYSTONE. ******** SAID IF IT IS A PROBLEM WE WILL JUST SEND IT BACK TO KEYSTONE BECAUSE THEY GET PARTS FROM KEYSTONE ALL THE TIME. ****** WENT TO THE COMPUTER AND PUT IN WHAT IMFORMATION HE NEEDED AND ******** GAVE ME A ESTIMATE OF $679.50 TOTAL FOR COMPLEAT JOB. I TOLD ******** THAT ****** SAID HE WOULD DO SOME ON TRADEBANK SO HE SAID HE WOULD PUT $200.00 ON THERE AND LET ****** DEAL WITH IT. I SAID OK I WANT YOU TO DO IT ALL THEN. I GAVE HIM THE KEYS AND SAID WHEN DO YOU THINK IT WILL BE READY. HE SAID TOMORROW TUESDAY AUGUST 12 2014 BUT GIVE ME TO WEDNESDAY AUGUEST 13 2014 JUST IN CASE. ON THURSDAY AUGUEST 14 2014 I GOT A CALL FROM ****** SAYING THE FRAME WAS GOING TO BE HARDED TO STRAIGHTEN THAN HE THOUGHT AND HE NEEDED $400.00 MORE DOLLARS TO FIX IT AND HE WOULD DO IT ALL ON TRADEBANK SO I RETURNED HIS CALL AND GOT ******** BECAUSE ****** WAS GONE AND I TOLD HIM IF HE WAS DOING IT ON TRADEBANK GO AHEAD AND DO IT. ON AUGUEST 18 2014 I STOPPED IN TO CHECK ON THINGS AND ******** SAID THEY WERE PUTTING THE PARTS ON THEN AND HE WOULD LET ME KNOW IN A DAY OR SO.ON AUGUST 21 2014 I STOPPED IN AGAIN AND THE MAN IN THE OFFICE SAID ****** IS OVER THERE IN THE SHOP AND I COULD GO OVER THERE AND TALK TO HIM AS I DID. I FOUND MY TRUCK WAS STILL SITTING ON THE RACK WITH NO FRAME STRAIGHTING DONE AND MY NEW BROKEN PART THAT ******** SAID HE WOULD SEND BACK WAS INSTALLED ON THE BENT UP TRUCK AND I TOLD ****** THAT ******** WAS GOING TO EXCHANGE THAT PART AND HE SAID HE DID NOT KNOW ABOUT THAT AND HE WOULD GET WITH ******** ON IT.THEN HE BROUGHT OVER TWO OTHER GUYS TO TALK TO ME ADOUT THE FRAME WORK. ONE OF THE OTHER GUYS THAT HE BROUGHT OVER WAS SOMEWHAT RUDE AND ASK ME WHAT I WANTED TO KNOW ABOUT THE TRUCK. HE STATED TO ME THAT HE DOES NOT WORK FOR MAACO AND THEY BROUGHT HIM IN TO STRAIGHTEN THE FRAME THAT THEY COULD NOT DO AND I ASKED ABOUT THE RIGHT TIRE STILL CLOSE TO THE FENDER AND HE SAID IT WOULD STRAIGHT WHEN HE IS DONE.****** SAID HE WOULD STAY LATE THAT NIGHT TO MAKS SURE IT IS DONE SO THEY COULD PUT PARTS ON BY FRIDAY SO IT COULD BE DONE BY WEEKEND.I TOLD HIM I HAVE DONE WITHOUT IT THIS LONG NOT TO RUSH IT BECAUSE THE WEEKEND WOULD NOT DO ME ANY GOOD. ON AUGUST 26 2014 ****** CALLED ME TO TELL ME THAT ******** DID NOT KNOW THAT I DID NOT ORDER THE BROKEN PART FROM KEYSTONE AND NOW HE CANT EXCHANGE IT AND ALSO WE CAINT STRAIGHTEN THE FENDER AND I WILL HAVE A TO INCH GAP SOMEWERE AND IF I CAINT LIVE WITH A GAP HE WILL NEED ANOTHER $1,083.55. I TOLD HIM I WOULD NEED TO COME BY AND LOOK AT WERE THE GAP IS HE IS TALKING ADOUT. ON AUGUST 28 2014 I WENT BY AND MET WITH ****** AND ******** AND LOOKED AT WHAT HE IS TALKING ADOUT AND I TOLD HIM I DONT THINK I CAN LIVE WITH THE HOOD STICKING ABOVE THE FENDER LOOKING LIKE A UNPROFESSIONAL JOB. SO I ASKED HIM IF I HAVE TO GO THIS ROUTE HOW MUCH YOU GOING TO PUT ON TRADEBANK AND HE SAID HE WOULD HAVE TO ASKED HIS PARTNER *******. I MADE HIM AN OFFER OF $1,000.00 TRADEBANK AND $750.00 CASH. HE SAID HE WOULD ASK *******. I DID NOT HERE BACK FROM HIM TILL I SENT HIM A TEXT MESSAGE ON SEPTEMBER 4 2014 STATING THE IMPORTANCE OF MY TRUCK. ANY FORHER CONTACT HAS BEEN BY TEXT MESSAGE WITCH I WILL ATTACH. TEXT MESSAGE FROM ME ON SEPTEMBER 4 2014 ******. It appears that my truck is not as important to you as is to me. I have not heard back from you on the tradebank decision. Can you please update me.****** REPLY TO ME ON SEPTEMBER 4 2014I'm sorry I am out of town in Albany. I am in very bad cell phone reception. I will give you an update in the morning. My partner is in Amarillo Texas and has not been able to look up his trade bank account. I will make sure to stress to him that you need to know something ASAP. With us having so much trade Bank dollars it's just tough for us to do all this work for that. I will try to let you know something as soon as I hear from him. Either way I'll be happy to help you out with whatever decision we come up with. Thanks again I'll be in touch as soon as I hear something.*****R REPLY TO ME SEPTEMBER 9 2014.I spoke to my partner last evening and he says we I have too much trade Bank dollars. UnFortunately we will not be able to do anymore on trade bank. Be happy to help you out please let me know where we need to go from here so we can get your van back I'll be happy to look for used parts as well please let me know something ASAP. ******.MY REPLY TO ****** MESSAGE SEPTEMBER 9 2014You told me you would at least do half on tradebank when you took the truck in for repair and

Desired Settlement: I WOULD LIKE FOR MY TRUCK TO BE REPAIRED CORRECTLY AS WE AGREED PER THEIR ESTIMATE.

Business Response:

   We are responding to ****** ****'s complaint against Maaco on 9/25/2014. In the begining ****** had emailed us pictures of his frame rails which we complied to do half the work with Trade Bank. We have honored our promise and have completed the straightening of his frame rails. Therefore his initial job has been completed.  When ****** dropped off his vehicle he proceeded to get other things done to his vehicle therefore his estimate went up on labor time. ****** has brought us parts that are inadequate to complete the job. The parts were damaged as well as told us that he wants it done to perfection. We have told him that we can do our best to make perfect with given adequate parts but he refuses to do so. ****** also want us to proceed with all this additional labor through Trade Bank a company that I told him that we would split the job on the initial first job but we have too much Trade Bank dollars right now and we cannot go beyond $ 600.00, on any additional work. This comes from our owner who has been gracious enough to proceed with more than we agreed to at 1st with our original agreement. Since, notifying ****** that we were not going to do all the amount on Trade Bank that he has requested we have had text messages or via email: of threats that he is going to "Call his lawyer" or he is going to "Report you guys to the BBB". We understand that ****** may not have the money to complete this job. He may also be upset that he has too much Trade Bank dollars and he is not able to spend them with us. I have offered and recommended that  we fix his vehicle best as possible with the inadequate parts that he has given us as well that we pull his front end as best as possible. This will make his van roadworthy and look presentable. ****** wants all new parts as well as it to look perfect and not to mention use more trade dollars. We have proceeded and told ****** that he should claim this accident on his insurance as an uninsured motorist claim. If not, let us go about fixing this as best as possible pulling the front end with the inadequate parts provided or he just needs to pick his vehicle up and take it else where or home until he can make up his mind or save up the money. I feel we cannot meet his expectations with the job he wants for the money that he wants to spend. We have stored his vehicle now for almost 90 days free of charge, taken threats and a BBB complaint all in trying to help ******. We really would like to have this resolved ASAP. We hope that ****** will receive this message and proceed with one of the options we provided for him. If he cannot we will have to start storage on his vehicle. We also recommend that he applies for a loan to help him financially if he does not agree with our terms. If no settlement is reached after 30 days from now we will start the abandonment process. We will try to work with ****** in every way possible from now going forth. We hope to hear a response at his earliest convenience. Thank you,  Maaco 

Consumer Response: MY REPLY TO MAACO'S RESPONCE LETTER. FRIST OF ALL THEY ARE SUPPOSED TO STRAIGHTEN FRAME(PULL FRAME ) NOT JUST BEND FRAME (RAILS) OR FRAME (HORNS)SO THEY CAN PUT THE BUMPER ON AND SAY ITS STRAIGHT.SO THE INITIAL JOB HAS NOT BEEN COMPLEATED ADEQUATELY. I DONT UNDERSTAND THE INADEQUATE PARTS THEY KEEP SAYING. ALL THE PARTS I SUPPLYED THEM WITH ARE NEW AND CORRECT PARTS WITH EXCEPTIONS TO THE DAMAGED PART THAT ******** SAID HE WOULD EXCHANGE FOR ME. I WILL ATTACH MY INVOICE FOR THE I SUPPLYED THEM. YES ON INITAL CONTACT ****** SAID HE WOULD DO AT LEAST HALF ON TRADEBANK THEN HE GOES UP $400.00 ON PRICE AND THEN HE SAID HE WOULD ALL THAT ON TRADEBANK THEN HE CALL'S AGAIN AND NEEDS A $1,083.55 MORE AND THAT'S WHEN I MADE HIM THE OFFER THAT HE DO THE $1,000.00 ON TRADEBANK AND THE $750.00 IN CASH. TRADEBANK MEMBERSHIP RULES STATE YOU MUST DO ONLY TRADE DOLLARS AND NO CASH UNLESS TOTAL IS OVER $10,000.00. I WAS TRYING TO HELP THEM OUT WITH DOING THE CASH / TRADE OFFER HE MADE ME EVEN KNOWING IT WAS NOT RIGHT. AS FAR AS THE (NOT HAVING ENOUGH MONEY )STATEMENT. THAT IS NOT THE PROBLEM. IF THEY WERE NOT A TRADEBANK MEMBER I WOULD HAVE EITHER PAID THEM OR PROBABLY CHOSEN SOMEWERE ELSE. AT THIS TIME MY TRUCK HAS BEEN AT MAACO FOR 51 DAY'S NOT ALMOST 90 AS THEY STATED SO I SHOULD BE THE ONE GETTING PAID FOR THE LOSE OF USE FOR THE 50 DAYS THEY HAVE BEEN LETING MY TRUCK SIT. MY RESOLUTION IS THAT THEY FIX MY TRUCK (CORRECTLY),IN A EXPEDITED TIMELY MANNER AND AT THE PRICE HE QUOTED.

Business Response: This is in response to ****** ****.  In photo marked **** 1 the bumper is attached to the 2 frame horns. The frame horns were pushed to the side and we pulled them back straight for the bumper to attach correctly. As you can see in the pictures the bumper is sitting level at a horizontal position. In the beginning a bumper could not be attached to the frame horns because they were twisted. In picture **** 2 with my hand in the shot shows the frame horns in their correct vertical position. this was our original agreement and the job has been completed to insurance standards. In photo ****2 you can see the inner structure that holds the fender was crumbled in the accident. We brought this additional damage to the attention of Mr. ****, he was advised his fender wouldn't bolt up to the fender reinforcement correctly. We pulled the fender reinforcement on the frame machine as best as possible as seen in the photo 1533. Afterwards we showed him that we could bolt a fender to the fender reinforcement but there would be a quarter inch gap because the reinforcement wouldn't pull 100%. We have advised Mr. ****** that he should go this route but he has refused because he isn't satisfied with the gap. To make the repair acceptable to Mr. ****** will require the fender reinforcement to be replaced and cut and welded onto the radiator support of his vehicle. With doing this addition it will increase the cost of parts as well as a significant  addition to the labor hours of which he did not want to spend. We have refused to take payment on trade. Refer back to picture 1 you will see a carbon header panel this was provided by Mr. **** this panel holds the grill as well as the headlights. as you can see in 1531 this panel is damaged and missing peg holes to where headlights will not align properly. Our employee ******** offered to return it for a new one and was unable to because of where it actually came from in addition to the fact  that Maaco didn't order or paid for the part. Picture 1532 you can see where we tried to repair his broken header panel at no charge to Mr. **** to try and help the situation. Mr. **** has not been receptive to ordering a new header panel he has used the excuse that ******** would swap out this part which he has not been able to do. Mr. **** has refused to pick up the part and return himself. As mentioned in our first response we recommend Mr. **** have his front end built back up as best as possible because we have already proceeded this far in the job and the only issue will be the slight gaps mentioned earlier in the front of the vehicle. This is not acceptable to Mr. ****, he would like the job to be perfect but isn't willing to pay the extra money to achieve this goal. The photos provided today show we have completed the original job and have come up with a fair alternative for having his van repaired to be roadworthy on his budget. If Mr. **** doesn't comply with the options we have given him in a timely fashion we will proceed with storage costs at $15 per day or he can pay for the work done on his vehicle so far or as we have recommended. If Mr. **** wants his vehicle done with no gaps he will have to pay the difference for the repair. All these options have been on the table since before the first report by Mr. **** to the BBB. We are ready to have this situation resolved and Maaco feels that we have been more than accommodating to Mr. ****. 

9/8/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 21 July I've turned in my 1979 Dodge B100 to be painted. I've asked them to remove scratches and dents as well as rust that I've showed them. I was supposed to get my vehicle back after 1 week, but they never called to let me know about the status. After 2 weeks I went and checked on it, but the paint job was sloppy and scratches, dents and rust were still visible and the paint was running. Yesterday, on 07/25 my wife and I went back and it still doesn't look better. It is very inconvenient for us because of my wives business and my work. I will not pay $1140, or $1000 for a sloppy job. Customer service is very poor and the staff doesn't seem to care. If necessary I will contact and attorney for a unfulfilled contract. Out of 1 week became 6 weeks. They never even offered an apology.I want my vehicle back in satisfactory condition and a much lower payment than was offered.

Desired Settlement: I want the payment to be between $500 and $600 due to inconvenience and poor customer service as well as poor work ethics

Business Response:

8/27/14

 

            Mr. ***** brought in a 1979 Dodge van on July 21. The estimator walked around the van with the customer and marked all visible dents and creases. The color was decided on and the van  was painted. Upon completion the customer found imperfections and the van was repainted free of charge. After the van was repainted the customer noticed more dents that had not been previously visible because the old paint had oxidized and the new paint is shiny and shows dents much more clearly.

 

            Maaco management  met on 8/27 and called Mr. ***** at approximately 10:15  to get this problem resolved. Mr. ***** did not answer and was left a voice message. Maaco's plan of action is to move forward ASAP, as soon as Mr. ***** agrees on a total price for the additional work on his van.

Consumer Response: Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution. ]Maaco did not call on 08/27/2014 as they claimed. I am not willing to commit to any lies in reference to my 79 Dodge B100. A call was never placed and therefore I will not agree to any terms. When a business is taking in a client the business has to fulfill the contract accordingly. Maaco did a sloppy job and wants to hold me accountable? Really? My wife has a business, too and when customers complain about anything it will be done free of charge until the dispute is settled. Any business that claims to work satisfactory should do so and have a professional work ethic and not hold the customer accountable for their mistakes nor for any thing else that pertains to the business. They need to stop lying and fulfill their contract accordingly. As I stated it is an inconvenience for my wife and myself to have only one vehicle while the other one should have been finished in a professional way within 2 weeks max. In addition all dents and scratches have been pointed out as well as the rust and I did not use any sort of tape, yellow, green or purple or whatever color they claim.

Regards,

***** *****

Business Response:

Mr. ***** has agreed to come into the Maaco office for a meeting on 8/29 to go over the vehicle. The goal of this meeting will be to come to an agreement that is satisfactory to both Mr. ***** and Maaco management.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Maaco Collision Repair & Auto Painting
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)