BBB Accredited Business since

Columbus Body Works

Additional Locations

Phone: (706) 322-0676 Fax: (706) 596-8857 View Additional Phone Numbers 1919 Veterans Pkwy, Columbus, GA 31904 http://www.columbusbodyworks.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Automobile repair & paint.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Columbus Body Works meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Columbus Body Works include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Columbus Body Works
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 1953 Business started: 09/21/1931 in GA Business started locally: 09/21/1931 Business incorporated 09/21/1931 in GA
Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Morris Wynn Jr., President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Morris Wynn Jr., President
Business Category

Auto Body Repair & Painting Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

Columbus Body Works offers the following product(s): Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Electrical Repair

Alternate Business Names
CBW Columbus Body Works Northlake Collision Columbus Body Works South
BBB Program Participation

Military Marketplace
This company is a participant in the BBB's "Military Marketplace Code of Ethics" program.  The program is provided by the Bureau as a specific effort to ensure a "Fair and Honest" marketplace for members of the United States Military and their families. 

Industry Tips
Auto/Vehicle Repair & Services

Additional Locations

  • 1919 Veterans Pkwy

    Columbus, GA 31904 (706) 322-0676

  • 7657 Veterans Parkway

    Columbus, GA 31909 (706) 321-1257

  • PO Box 80

    Columbus, GA 31902

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I brought my vehicle to CBW with recommendations from Mercedes Benz of Columbus, as they were their preferred body/repairer. I hit an object in the road which destroyed my front right fog light and other issues under the bumper. After the repair, I was notified that my car was ready. While picking up the car, I noticed scratches on my car door. The scratch had pink stuff on it, as it had been marked or filled. It also had hood paint chipping, residue resembling paint on hood, a yellow film that covered my right headlight, and mix match fog lights. When questioned about the head light and the mix match fog lights. The gentlemen stated that there was nothing wrong with the head light but aging. My passenger head light was clear and looked brand new. So I asked him, how can one light look brand new and the other look old when it was not brought to your shop this way. He stated that they would buff the light to make it look clearer.I was not satisfied with this, however I said ok. After buffing it, my light looked a little better, but I was still not completely satisfied, yet I accepted it. To address the mix match fog lights, the gentlemen told me that those are the lights for that model number. I told him those lights did not come on my car and I wanted them replaced because every part has a part number and could be matched identically to the any vehicle. He stated they would replace the light, just take the car home and bring it back. I stated not until it's repaired correctly.When I came back to pick up my car, the fog light had been changed, yet my other fog light was totally foggy. I looked at the bumper and found blotches in the "new" bumper. I questioned this, they gave me a hard time, but decided to repair it. Picked up my car again.Two days later, my put me down on the highway because bolts were left out of the repair area (undercarrier). Ins. co stated CBW should have it repaired/towed. They drove out in a pickup and tried to repair it on the hwy but couldn. CBW drove car back w/o tow.

Desired Settlement: I addressed this issue with 3 workers, we were given false names, and they stalled when we asked to speak to the manager. ********, **** and the other gentlemen were very rude to us. They did not repair my car properly initially. I had other issues after the "so called repair" and was left outside of the building on several occasions w/o assistance. Due to the "shabby" repair, we had add'l problems: paint chipping, scratches, yellow headlight. Therefore, I am asking for a return of my $500 ded.

Business Response:

It was not brought to our attention about a scratch on the car door.  I can not answer that complaint.  The car is 6 years old with over 100,000 miles on it and the hood has normal wear and tear on it due to excessive rock chips.  We did not do any touch up or paint work on hood due to the fact there were so many.  The hood had no damage to it from the accident and we were not to repair chips.  Ms. **** claims that the two headlamps are a different shade and they were not like that when she dropped the car off for repairs.  Progressive Insurance Company has photos of vehicle at time of the initial appraisal the headlamps were already like that and they showed Ms. **** the photos to prove the point.  We made an attempt to polish one of the headlamps to help the appearance, it helped some but still not as clear as the other light.  It looks as if the passenger side headlamp has been replaced before but I have no way of knowing that.  We polished the lamp as a company courtesy.The passenger side fog lamp was damaged in the accident and we replaced it.  We received the incorrect fog lamp from dealer, it had a lens with very faint lines in it and the one it called for was a smooth lens finish.  We missed the minor difference in the fog lamps due to the drivers side lamp had a lot of moisture in it and was very foggy.  The drivers side fog lamp was not accident related, the moisture was due to age and a broken seal.   As a courtesy to Ms. ****, Progressive Insurance Co. paid for a new one in the drivers side so they would match.  When we painted the new bumper it had a minor imperfection in the passanger side under the headlamp.  I apoligized about it and repainted that area again to remove the imperfection.  At the time of installing the drivers side fog lamp factory clips were removed from the fender liner to get to the installation point.  We put the clips back in the fender liner but i think due to highway speed, onve of the clips gave way and allowed the shield to get close to tire and rubbed a hole in the liner.  I replaced the liner at our expense and put all new clips in it so it would not happen again.  Ms. **** claims that we must have taken her headlamp out and put it on another car and put the faded one in her car.  She also claims that we were respnsible about all the prior damage rock chips in her hood.  Ms. **** also claims we were giving her false names of who we were. 

After review, all items on Insurance repair order have been completed.  There were no charges for hood, headlamps, or other items listed in complaint. We do not feel Ms. **** is entitled to be reinbursed for non wrecked related items.  We will agee to  refund Mr. **** a one time 50.00 fee for having to bring vehicle back to shop.

**** ******

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

****** ****


 

I reject this response due to the following untrue statements: "It was not brought to our attention about a scratch on the car door." This was brought to the company's attention because they erased/washed the pink filler off the scratches after I informed them of the scratches.  Yes, my vehicle is over 6 years old and have slightly over 100,000 miles, yet It had an immaculate paint job and is in excellent condition. Year model and mileage has nothing to do with performance and appearance as long as a car has been well kept. My car has never missed servicing to date, and paint was excellent prior to CBW patch work ( I have pictures to prove it). Adjuster **** ****** looked at my car and showed me pictures prior to him bringing the vehicle, my lights were very clear and he verified it. **** took pictures after the yellowing was done. I also have pictures of my car prior to CBW's repair job and my head lights were very clear. They did not need a buff job or polishing prior to their service.

"We received the incorrect fog lamp from dealer, it had a lens with very faint lines in it and the one it called for was a smooth lens finish.  We missed the minor difference in the fog lamps due to the drivers side lamp had a lot of moisture in it and was very foggy.  The drivers side fog lamp was not accident related, the moisture was due to age and a broken seal." You "can not" do an appearance check when car replacing parts. You must solely rely on the VIN number/parts number of the vehicle." To the naked I, you could see the difference in the two lights. The new light had a rough finish, and the old light had a smooth finish.  Our naked eyes saw this unscrupulous overlook. I feel they thought that we wouldn't notice the mix match lights. So they tried to cut corners. Additionally, my other fog light was condensated after it was brought in, not before (pictures proves that as well). They insisted it might have came from the accident. If so, why was it not replace, due to the accident.


 "It looks as if the passenger side headlamp has been replaced before but I have no way of knowing that.  We polished the lamp as a company courtesy." This is my case and point. My lights were brand new before CBW's service. Why would I replace a light that is new? Mr. ****** admitted this in his own words that it looked as it had been replaced.

CBW tried to fix my car along side the highway (very unprofessional) and had no other recourse but to bring it back to their facility because it was poorly repaired again.  Because the liner came loose again, due to bolts not being put back into place, my car put me down on the highway. Progressive told them to tow the vehicle back to their shop, yet they came out in a green pick up. The repair person laid on the grown (in the highway) and tried to fix my car, but couldn't. They pulled debris from under the liner, so that it would not scrub the ground and drove it back to CBW. I asked them not to drive my car like that, yet they did. I told them that I would not drive it and if something happened, they would be responsible. (This was told to **** ******)

Throughout this ordeal (a 3 or 4 day fiasco) the manager (******** *********) never called to see or resolve any issues regarding our vehicle. Once the company saw that we were adamant about proper repair, ******** became involved.  After speaking to him, he was rude along with most of the other staff members.  He had no solution to any of our problems, because he never got involved until the last day.  I told him about the poor jobs that were done.  I asked for a refund b/c of me having to make extra trips for additional repair, being left along the highway, and additional damage to my car.  He stated "we don't give refunds on deductibles."  I told him how displeased I was regarding the entire situation, yet he had no suggestions or solutions to our problems. After he was unwilling to compromise, I told him that I would let the Better Business Bureau handle the situation.  I am asking for a full refund of $500. I had no problem paying them my money in advance. I paid them with no problems!!! They gave me all kinds of problems to fix their damages. This is unjust and no one should have been treated this way.

 

 

Business Response:

After a complete file audit of the vehicle in question, we have concluded that all repairs on insurance estimate have been completed. We understand the customers issues with time lapses. We will honor her request and refund her $500.00  We strive hard to satisfy all customers.

please provide a good mailing address and we will over night check to customer.

sincerly,

 

****** ****

 

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** ****


 

 

5/31/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife's vehicle was damaged during a hail storm in April. I was referred to Columbus Body Works by a friend. I went there and talked to **** and he told me how to start my claim with my insurance company. **** also told me that it was better to go to a shop that was local and not to render services from one of the storm chasing companies. I thought that everything was going to be good until my wife got her car back. Keep in mind that we bought this car maybe a month before the storm brand new. There are scratches all over the car that were not there before. The head liner on the car is loose across the front near the wind shield. The shop broke two taillights on the car and then we had to wait additional two weeks to get those fixed. Thank you for your time and attention for this matter.

Desired Settlement: I would like the Columbus Body Shop to fix what they messed up.

Business Response:

i will be glad to take care of any issues that have been listed in this complaint. i would like to ask mr. ****** to come by shop with the vehicle. he and i can inspect vehicle together, make a list of all items to be addressed. if parts need to be ordered we can do so at that time and set an appointment for repairs to be performed. i will be glad to pick up vehicle and deliver back to owner. if a vehcile is need during the repairs i will be glad to provide a loaner.

thank you

**** ******

columbus body works

###-###-#### office

###-###-####cell


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Columbus Body Works
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)