BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
East AL, West & Southwest GA

BBB Accredited Business since

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Flournoy Properties, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Flournoy Properties, LLC include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 9
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 16

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: May 01, 1983 Business started: 01/01/1967 in GA Business started locally: 01/01/1979 Business incorporated: 01/01/1979 in GA
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Paul Wieczorek, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Paul Wieczorek, President
Related Businesses
Flournoy Properties, LLC Flournoy Construction Company, LLC.
Business Category

Apartment Finding & Rental Service Apartments Property Management Real Estate Developers

Products & Services

Flournoy Properties, LLC offers the following product(s): Apartment - Rental, Real Estate Developers, Real Estate Management

Alternate Business Names
Flournoy Development Co.

Additional Locations

  • 8500 Franciscan Woods Drive

    Columbus , GA 31909

  • 900 Brookstone Centre Pkwy

    Columbus, GA 31904 (706) 324-4000

  • PO Box 6566

    Columbus, GA 31917

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

About BBB Business Review Content & Services:

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content & services in BBB Business Reviews.
The additional content & services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release.
Not all enhanced content & services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

Professional AffiliationsX
X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the business within two business days. The business will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the business's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

Thank you for your feedback!

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

Additional Email Addresses

  • - Communication/Mass Email
Find a LocationX

  Change Location
Show Only Accredited Locations


Complaint Detail(s)

6/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: To Whom It May Concern:I am filing a complaint with the BBB because I feel the charges and collections that were reported against my husband and I are erroneous. I can only explain everything from the beginning to the end. We moved into the ******** ***** Apartments and Flournoy Properties managed it at the time. Upon move in we were advised that our kids could be present in the lobby during business hours. After we moved in the manager there at the time ****** I think was her name said that you had to be 18 years or older to be in the lobby to shoot pool and hang out. My kids are African American and the kids in the lobby were all -Caucasian and were well under 18 and ****** never asked them to leave. I know this to be a fact because my son attended middle school with the Caucasian kids that were welcomed in the lobby during business hours. They had signs posted that anyone 14 yrs of age or older could be in the lobby but ****** still would harass my kids and tell them they had to have a parent present to be in the lobby.Also a Caucasian nurse lived below us and would call the police for noise on us and go to the office and complain about noise and ask us not to vacuum past 7pm because she is a nurse. We had numerous meetings with ****** about the noise and when the police were called the report was no noise found and the police didnt understand why the lady would call them. The lady was a friend of ****** and the office staff and I feel the office was being racist against my family and harassing us to try and get us to break our lease or move out.We met with ******** and ****** after we were approved to purchase a home. This was a very exciting time for my family. We followed the rules and made sure to put in our 60-day notice to break our lease agreement and paid the reletting fee. We had every intention on paying the last month amount prior to March 5th but this is what happened. The bank that we were using to purchase our home contacted ****** and asked her did we give notice and pay the reletting fee and she advised our bank that we didnt pay the reletting fee, which was untrue. We sent the documents to our bank showing we did pay the fee and this ordeal caused us to have a delay in closing on our home. We were required to pay off two additional credit cards because the bank had to budget us by including our current reletting fee as a part of our debt even though we had already paid it. ****** was only doing this I feel because we are African American family. I have never been done so wrong by an Apartment company in my entire life. I wanted to break down the walls of the Apartment but instead I politely moved our stuff out after our delay of closing and had the entire apartment professionally cleaned. We contacted the Apartments and even went by there after we moved to do the walk through but ****** always avoided our calls and when we went on property she always sent the assistant to take a message. Therefore we were never able to do the final walk through. I personally feel after all the stuff we went through and having to delay our closing when this should have been a happy time in our life instead it was a disaster. It caused severe stress on both my husband and I and our 3 children. We moved in around 6/1/11 and vacated the property 3/1/12. We never received any notices advising we owed anything. We thought the apartment was taken care off. My husband is in the process of going through a company to have his credit repaired and that is how we found out that Flourney Properties has a collection on our credit report and renters bureau for $3600. There is no way we should be charged this erroneous charge. I feel after everything I just explained and the way we were treated we shouldnt have to pay anything and they should remove this from all 3 credit bureaus and the renters bureau. We have also made several attempts to contact Flournoy Properties at 706-324-4000 and left over 5 or 6 messages within the last 2 days for ***** ******** and she hasnt returned any of our calls. We also filled out a request on the Flournoy website to have someone contact us and we havent heard back from anyone. We have spoke with NCC the property debt. Company and they are advising us to try to settle with Flournoy properties however nobody will respond to us. Also NCC has no official documentation except what was provided by Flournoy and assuming they only received this information from a current ******** ***** Apartments that was purchased by a different management company and is no longer a Flournoy Property. Please help us get past this erroneous charge against us.

Desired Settlement: Remove the erroneous charges of $3600.00 from both of our credit buearus and both renter's buearus

Business Response: I have pull the file for ***** and ****** ******* this morning to review and contact ***** *******. I did receive a voicemail from Mr. ******* on May 27, 2014. I needed to pull the file prior to returning his call. Once I pulled the file I called Mr. ******* back to discuss his balance. We are currently working on a resolutions to his dispute. 

 
***** ********
Flournoy Properties, LLC

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

***** *** ****** *******


 

 

In response to ***** ********'s response I attached bank account information that shows that we made 2 payments to the apartment complex ******** *****.  It has been so long that I really dont remember if we just owe the releting fee or one month of the rent minus the deposit we also paid.  The deposit we paid was well over $400.00 dollars and I know they kept the deposit.  It would be ideal if you guys could subtract the deposit from the releting fee or the final months rent whichever we owe.  We had the apartment professionally cleaned when we left.  We have never had any issues like this with any complex and typically get our deposits back.  I also included the letter we wrote to the BBB to give you any idea of what we dealt with from this complex.  We really want to resolve this matter and move forward.  We truly feel the charges were unfair.  I know that your company has responded to the BBB complaint I just wanted to make sure you were updated in the event you didn't have the complaint letter information.  Thank you for responding to us this morning and I look forward to coming to a fair closure and resolution to this matter.
 
Thank You,
 
***** * ****** *******

Business Response: We have reviewed the bank statements you  sent us. The dates on those statements were prior to you moving out on March 5, 2012 so they do not effect the balance of $3675.96 on the final account statement. I spoke with my boss and he said for you to contact NCC Business Solutions at 888-880-6020 and offer them a settlement amount. NCC will then contact us with that proposal. 

 
***** ********
Flournoy Properties, LLC

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

***** *** ****** *******


 

 

*****,
 
Per your request, we received your response to the bank statements and the dates were including Jan 2012 & Feb 2012.  We vacated the property 2/28/12 that was our period ending prior to the 60 day notice we gave ******** ***** Apts so the dates do apply to what was owed.  If we owe anything like I stated before it would be our releting fee or one final months rent.  Also that amount we owe should have a deposit subtracted from that amount since we paid a total of $700 dollars for a deposit.  Also reminding you the apartment was professionally cleaned.  We contacted NCC per your request to propose a settlement and we spoke with ******* and he said that is not how settlement options work with NCC he said that Flournoy Properties must contact NCC with any settlement options.  So with the information we received from you a NCC this morning we are offering $1000.00 and a request in writing stating when we pay the $1000.00 you will remove this debt from all 3 credit buearus and update the renters buearu to remove this from the renters buearu as well.  After the initial submission we sent stating the issues we had with this property we feel this is a more than fair settlement of this debt.  Truthfully we feel we shouldn't owe anything considering everything we went through with the now closed down apartment complex.  Please let us know if you accept this offer so we can get you in contact with our attorney to provide the proper documentation before we remit payment.
 
Thank you,

***** *  ******

Business Response: I have contacted NCC and given them a settlement offer. They should be contacting Mr. and Mrs. ******* with this information. 

 
***** ********
Flournoy Properties, LLC

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

4/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I lived at ******** ** *** ***** in **********, SC for a little over a year in 2012. These apartments were owned by Flournoy Properties at the time. Upon my lease ending I was told that I had a $0 balance. I had a maintenance person come into my apartment and told me that it looked brand new and passed his inspection. Once I moved out in May 2012, I never heard anything further from the ********. I never received any mail, any phone calls, nothing. Just recently, I pulled my credit report and noticed a debt collector has an account in my name for $200 for move out charges from Flournoy. The charged off debt is from 6/1/2012. I moved out of the apartments in 5/2012. My first question is how does a debt collector own debt a month after a bill is sent out? After contacting Flournoy this week, I was able to receive my bill of charges for my move out fees. The date on the bill is 6/9/2012 and did not even have my address on it. Nothing sounds right about how NCC received my account. I would have paid the small balance due on this account if I was made aware of it. Flournoy is deceiving its customers by selling debt to NCC without consumer knowledge. The bill I just received says they will sell debt to a debt collector 16 days after the bill is sent however this account went into collection with NCC prior to the bill date??

Desired Settlement: I am requesting that these charges are removed from my credit report as old charged off debt because I was never made aware of these charges. If Flournoy has documentation that shows I owe these charges they should send them to me and I will pay them but the original debt that is on my credit report should be removed. Also I am requesting further investigation into NCC and Flournoys business relationship. I feel they are in bed together and working to give business to each other. I know there are rules against this.

Business Response:

Ms ****** resided at ******** ** *** ***** from April 23, 2011 through May 16, 2012. Ms. ****** provided a proper 60 day notice to move as required by the lease agreement however she did not provide a written forwarding address on her notice. Therefore any correspondence in regards to her deposit or charges was sent to her last known address which was the address at the community. The mail was not returned as undeliverable therefore no further attempts to contact her were made by the apartment community. The policy common to most apartment communities as well as Flournoy Properties is that if a previous resident that still has an outstanding balance does not make payment arrangements within 15 days of the move-out date then the account is turned over to a professional collection agency. Since no arrangements were made by Ms. ****** the account was turned over to the NCC collection agency in late June. The reason the date indicates June 1st on the Credit Report is that is when the funds were due to ******** ** *** ****** According to NCC Collections they received the file on or about June 18, 2012. 

The resident is given the opportunity to have an employee from ******** ** *** ***** accompany them when the resident is ready to relinquish the keys to the apartment and vacate the apartment. When the keys to Ms ****** were turned in, the apartment was scheduled to be inspected for a final assessment as to damages and/or cleaning condition. The apartment was inspected as the items listed on the attached "Final Account Statement" were discovered. Based on the lease agreement each of these items is listed with an appropriate charge assessed if they are not found in "good and clean condition, minus any normal wear and tear". The fees were assessed in accordance with the lease agreement. The Final Account Statement indicates that the total amount of cleaning fees as well as removing trash left in the apartment equaled $380. Ms ******'s security deposit of $150 was subtracted from the balance leaving a balance of $230. Ms ****** paid rent through May 15, 2014 but the keys were not turned in until May 16, 2014 therefore she owed an additional $14 in rent. Adding the balance of $230 plus her rent balance of $14, Ms ****** has an outstanding balance of $244. 

Once Ms ****** pays the outstanding balance of $244 to NCC Collections her account will indicate a -0- balance. We believe the charges and the actions of the staff at ******** ** *** ***** to be legitimate and therefore believe Ms ****** should pay this amount to clear her account.  

Attached documents:  (1) Final Account Statement; (2) Cleaning/Damage Checklist - document is part of every lease agreement. 

If you have any questions please contact me. 


Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint.  For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

I am disputing how I made aware that I owed money if I owed anything at all. No one called me, emailed me, or sent me a regular piece of mail that I owed your company anything. It is obvious that you had my email address and phone number so if you did not have my new address why not use one of those methods to contact me? Is it Flournoy Properties standard practice that you do not contact someone that moved out to let them know they owe money? I lived at those apartments for 15 months and had a great relationship with the management and I am very shocked that your company treated me like this. Those apartments were some of the post expensive in the area, do you think I would not pay a $200 fee if I was made aware of it.

Your practices are misleading and you sold my debt to NCC without my knowledge and without proper contact to me in the first place. You said that you send them my debt on June 18th but that is clearly not true. The date on the credit report is from 6/1/2012 and the date on the bill is from 6/9/2012. You sent them the debt before the bill was even sent to me.

Flournoy Properties has deceptive practices and like I said before there are many BBB complaints about this exact topic. I doubt it is a coincidence and it is a shame that after making relationships with customers your company does this sneaky move at the end of their stay. No wonder ******** went out of business. I am happy your company is not located in ********** anymore. I would make sure everyone knew about how you operate.

Also you did not attach the documents you said you would attach for review.  

Regards,

****** ******


 

 

Business Response: Attached is a copy of the charges assessed to your account and the Cleaning Damage form that is part of your lease agreement. I am glad to see that you state that if you owed any money you would be glad to take care of the bill. That is all we are asking is that you pay for the cleaning charges and the one day of rent minus your security deposit which totals $244.00. The date that the collection agency received your file (according to their records) was July 18th which is 32 days after your stated move-out date of June 16th. We are sorry for whatever reason you did not get notification of this debt, we performed in accordance with the lease agreement of sending a written notification to the last known address. If you pay the balance due we will make sure your file is marked "satisfied" with a -0- balance. 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/27/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This is the third complaint I have filed on THE SAME issue. None of the outside lights on my building are working and have not been since I moved in May of last year. I have repeatedly pointed this out to the front office and manager, and they have repeatedly blown me off. I see this as a safety issue. It is extremely dark around our building and this is ridiculous. I do not feel safe at these apartments because of this light issue.

Desired Settlement: I just want the lights to work and to feel safe when i go outside at night.

Business Response: yes, I understand.  Maintenance is scheduled Friday to work on the lighting at bldg 14.  Due to the bad weather conditions, wind etc and that the grounds have been too wet to stablize the ladder, the repair was postponed until a good weather day.  Thank you, ***** *****, Community Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

2/6/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When I moved into this apartment complex none of the exterior lights were working, thus making it very dark outside of the building. I politely told the people in the front office and they assured me it would be fixed and taken care of. It is now almost nine months later and they are still not fixed. They have given me the run around and lied to me about it. I feel as if this is a safety issue and it makes me very uncomfortable.

Desired Settlement: The lights to be fixed.

Business Response: Yes, management is aware of the problem and have replaced the lighting and made many attempts to resolve the issue.  We have contracted an electricial to inspect and hopefully determine where the electrical wiring is broken.  The electrician will be here on friday, January 25th or Monday, January27th.  Thanks for being involved in our community.  ***** *****, Community Manager

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

1/24/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I resided at a Flournoy Property for 2 years and paid rent timely and without issue. Halfway through the lease, the property was purchased by a different management company. I ended my lease without issue through the new company upon move-out this past November.Today, I was notified by a new apartment complex to whom I had applied that the Flournoy Companies had placed an eviction notice on my previous apartment *while* I was living there (and, in fact, had continued to live for another 2 years) and paying rent (with paperwork and bank statements to prove).

Desired Settlement: Due to the apartment complex having been transferred to another management company, I have been unable to resolve the matter locally. Today, I was referred to an answering machine after calling a number on the main website.The eviction notice is erroneous, unacceptable and requires immediate attention and erasure from my credit and rental reports and histories.

Business Response: After much research, we show no documentation that we ever filed an eviction on ****** ********.  We have no records of ever turning her over to collections either. I even checked with the new owners of the community she previously resided and there are no records of a judgement ever being filed against her. If you could please tell us who it says is reporting her to the credit bureaus we will do what we can to assist with having it removed from the credit report. Also she can contact the credit bureau and dispute it. 

 
Sincerely, 
 
***** ********
Senior Administrative Assistant 
Flournoy Properties

Consumer Response:

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved. I request that the business verify that they checked for the appropriate last name - spelled "*******" rather than the misspelling "********" in their response. Also, notification was given to me from the apartment complex *** ***** located in *********, TX upon my application for an apartment here.

Regards,

****** *******


 

 

Business Response: We have researched Ms. *******'s records/file with our collection agencies and with two employees from ***** at ***** ****e. We did search using the correct spelling of her name. And according to all the records we searched there is no documentation that she was turned over to collection or an eviction was filed while Flournoy Properties owned and managed ***** at ***** ****e now ***** at ***** ****e. ******** and ******* from ***** at ***** ****e assured me that thoroughly examined her file from the time she moved in until she moved out. They stated she always paid her rent on time. Please verify what company is reporting the negative information to the credit bureau and let us know. If it is Flournoy Properties we will do what we can to have it removed but we need to know who exactly is reporting it since we show no records from us. 

 
Thanks, 
***** ********

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

Please contact:

*** *****

**** ******* *******
********** ** *****
Phone: ###-###-####

for this information.

Regards,

****** *******


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

1/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service
8/2/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After losing federal job in Montgomery, Mgr ***** ***** said she wouldn't penalize early term. of lease. She did, with no notice and collection.I am a service-connected disabled Veteran, who rented at the ********* ** ****** ****. I was brought into town for a federal job. About 8 months into that job, the position was taken away. I had to move, due to no income coming in. I went to the office and spoke with the girls there. They understood my dilemma and stated that because it was federal, and I was a disabled veteran, they were sure the manager, ***** *****, would waive the early termination fee. They told me that she had before for a similar circumstance. When I spoke with *****, I explained everything to her. She stated that if I thoroughly cleaned my apartment and it didn't need anything fixed, she could waive the early termination fee. She stated she didn't figure the parent company in Columbus, GA would say anything, as she has done it before. The apartment was turned over to them in pristine condition, as noted on my sheet. ***** said she had to fill the early termination paperwork out, as it was standard. She said if there was a problem, she would call me and send a letter. I never heard anything and moved to Europe for a year and a half. After being back in the US, I applied for a car loan and was told I had a collections notice from ********* ** ****** **** for $810. I emailed them and ***** sent me a copy of the termination form and said to get with the Collections company. She said she sent me two letters. I asked her for the copy of the certified letter, as I never got one. She ignored several emails and just didn't answer me. I emailed her boss at corporate, **** **** He wrote back that they "Assumed" I got the letters and under Alabama law, that was good enough. He did not care what this has done to my credit and my life. He would not listen to anything, just a corporate giant crushing the little man.JacK I don't have that kind of money and **** ****has ruined my credi

Desired Settlement: Clear collections notice with a note to credit bureau that they were wrong.

Business Response:

***** ******** and ******** ** ****** **** entered into a rental lease contract as follows:

 

1. Lease agreement signed on or before 8/10/2010.

2. Lease dates: Start date: 8/10/210. Lease Expires: 10/31/2011.  

3. Rental amount of $810 per month based on 14.5 month lease.

4. Notice to move (Vacate Notice) tendered to office on 4/15/2011. Notice states 5/15/2011 as move out date. 

5. Community Manager and Leasing agent explained to Mr. ******** the early termination clause and his obligations under the lease agreement. Mr. ******** signed Vacate Notice stating that the Vacate Notice was insufficient and that further funds would be necessary to fulfill the lease agreement. (see attached Vacate Notice).

6. Lease agreement requires 60 day notice to move and payment through the 60 day notice. Giving written notice to move on 4/15/2011, Mr. ******** was explained a 60 day notice would end on 6/15/2011.

7. Early lease termination clause in lease requires payment of termination fee of $810, plus a full 60 day notice and payment through the 60 day notice as stated in #5 & #6.

8. On 5/4/2013, Mr. ******** changed his move out date from 5/15/2013 to 5/31/2013. This left Mr. ******** 15 days short of a full 60 day written notice to vacate.

9. Upon move-out the total costs owing were:

         $810 --- early termination fees

         $405 --- 15 days rent to fulfill the written 60 day notice requirement.

10. The staff only charged Mr. ******** the $810 termination fee.

11. The Community Manager and the Leasing Consultant that Mr. ******** dealt with in 2011 are still employed at the community. Both agents remember their discussions with Mr. ******** prior to his leaving the community. They stated that both of them explained the “early termination clause” and the amount that he would owe if he moved out before the end of the lease agreement.

12. Mr. ******** was given the opportunity to pay the balance on his account prior to his leaving the community. He chose not to pay. A Final Account Statement (FAS) was mailed to the forwarding address left by Mr. ******** (<st1:address w:st="on"><st1:street w:st="on">*** ********** ****, <st1:city w:st="on">********* *** ***** (as listed on the attached Vacate Notice). Mr. ******** did not respond to the staff informing he owed the termination fee prior to vacating the apartment nor in response to the letters sent to his forwarding address. The letter was not returned as undeliverable therefore when no contact was received from Mr. ******** after 15 days of move-out, his account was sent to a collection agency.

 

Mr. ******** refused to pay his final bill at ******** ** ****** **** before he left the community and after two years he now states that he was not informed of these charges and therefore he should not have to pay them. He states in the attached e-mail:

 

 

R. ********

Jul 20 (7 days ago)

 

to me

Sir;

 If you believe that after 3 years your staff remembers 1 client and the conversation that ensued, you are gullible (and I don't believe that due to your position). 

 

Summary:  

Mr. ******** was explained his responsibilities under the contract and was given the opportunity to fulfill the terms of the contract. Mr. ******** chose not to fulfill the lease agreement nor to exercise the Early Termination Clause at the time of his moving from the community in 2011. Unfortunately, now he finds this past due bill on his credit report and wants us to dismiss it. We are asking Mr. ******** to honor his contract and pay the amount listed under the Early Lease Termination ($810) for breaking his contract. 

Consumer Response:

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and have determined that this proposed action would not resolve my complaint. For your reference, details of the offer I reviewed appear below.

[Provide details of why you are not satisfied with this resolution.]

Regards,

***** ********


 

 The Company picked a piece of our communications back and forth.  They failed to post all of the communications, in an effort to make them look better.  Mr. ******** did not pay at the time he left the community because he was told he did not have to.  I was not given "the opportunity" to pay, as it was not charged to me, until later.  They are an unethical company.    They believe because they said it, it must be true.  This company disrespects veterans, disabled veterans and people in general.  I am disgusted.  See all emails below.

 

***** *****
*****, I received your email message.  Attached is a copy of the notice to vacate that was completed and signed by yourself acknowledging that you gave insufficient notice and rent will be paid to satisfy the lease agreement.  Yes, the apartment was left in very good condition and I thank you for that.  However, the lease was terminated early and the terms of the lease agreement require that a penalty of one month's rent for the early termination is paid.  That penalty is $810.   The first notice was mailed on June 3, 2011 and the second notice mailed on June 23, 2011. There was  no response from you as of July 9th,  therefore, your account was placed in collection.   
Your file was placed with *** ******** ********.  You can contact *** via email at***************************, or write to *** at 3733 ********** ****** ***** ***** **** ************* *** ***** or fax ###-###-####.
Once you contact ***, you will be provided with your options to pay the balance due.  
Thank you.  ***** *****, Community Manager

ME
Your managers word was not good....sad. I received no notice. Does my attorney contact you or someone else
I will also be filing a Better Business Bureau complaint. Thank you for your response.
Ma'am, could you please send me the proof of delivery and/or signature that I was notified prior to placing me in collection?

***** *****
the notification was mailed to the forwarding address that you gave to us. *****
If you want to talk, please call me at ###-###-####.  *****

ME
Yes Ma'am, I know what you are saying. I'm asking for confirmation. You have held me in financial hostage for two years, absent my knowledge. I want confirmation. You obviously wouldn't ruin my credit without confirming I had been advised.

I'm a disabled vet who lost my government job. To do this shows the company you are. That's why the manager told me not to worry about it. Please get with her.

***** *****
*****, I am the manager that signed the notice to vacate form.  *****

ME

Perfect, thank you. Again, please forward proof of notice and a bill that was supposedly sent to me. To say you did is not good enough. Your word wasn't good before. If you don't have it, please advise. This has hurt me tremendously. Thank you.

Ma'am;You have disregarded my questions, failed to send me confirmation of you sending a bill and/or collection notice, whereby not acting in a professional manner. This is a serious matter, not able to be ignored.  It is obvious you don't care what you have done to my credit and life, but I do.  Please advise your Supervisor's name, email and phone number. Thank you.

To be ignored by your manager, *****, is unprofessional and gives evidence that what you have done to my credit, and my life, was done incorrectly and with malice.  It's easier to pretend this situation doesn't exist, but it does Sir.  I need that collections taken back.  I was not notified of it, nor was I expecting it.  Thank you.***** ********

**** ***
After reviewing your resident file, your lease agreement and the Alabama Landlord Tenant laws, it seems that all charges and notification was done within the confines of the law and the lease agreement. A copy of the FAS (Final Account Statement) was mailed by US Mail to your last known address. Since the letter was not returned by the US Mail it was assumed you received the information. The responsibility to fulfill the lease agreement and settle all payment plans is required before the resident moves from the community. Failure to make arrangements causes the community to turn over the account to a collection agency. Based on these facts, payment will need to be submitted to the Collection Agency so your account can be reported as paid in full.   

ME
Thank you for your response.  You "assume" I received your notice?  It's great to see that an executive runs a business assuming his employee's do their jobs correctly, with absolutely no proof.  Knowing that a person has a difficult time fighting a corporation, it is obvious you feel secure behind your weak answer.  You should be ashamed of yourself for not doing the right thing.  You are aware, that you dropped the ball on this, but your on-board attorneys can fight your biased conclusion.  Congratulations Sir, you have taken more money out of the pocket of simple America, while you sneer at the "little man."  Ethical dilemma's are easy when you are being watched...........it really shows who you are as a person if you do the right thing when no one is watching.  You failed Sir.  Maybe, just maybe, you will experience the same and you can look back and say.........I was just like him.  Good day Sir.  Be disgusted in yourself, I am and so is the man above.

Also Sir, I am Service-Connected Disabled Veteran.  I will be filing a complaint with the VA and the military to place your apartments on their list of apartments to not rent.  I will also file a BBB complaint.  I tell you, as I have ethics and morals and don't blindside anyone.  You Sir, fail to have either.  Have a blessed weekend.

**** ***
Just to make sure the records are correct and the charges are legitimate, let me list the facts according to our files:

1. Lease agreement signed on or before 8/10/2010.
2. Lease expiration date --- 10/31/2011. 
3. Rental amount of $810 per month based on 13.5 month lease.
4. Notice to move tendered to office on 4/15/2011. Notice states 5/15/2011 as move out date. 
5. Lease agreement requires 60 day notice and payment through the 60 day notice.
6. Early lease termination clause in lease requires payment of termination fee of $810, plus a full 60 day notice and payment through the 60 day notice. 
7. Upon move-out the total costs owing were:
         $810 --- early termination fees
         $405 --- 15 days rent to fulfill the written 60 day notice requirement.
8. The staff only charged you the $810 termination fee. Since you moved in on a "No Deposit" special, there were no funds available to reduce this balance. 
9. The Community Manager and the Leasing Consultant that you dealt with in 2011, are still employed at the community and remember their discussions with you prior to your leaving that these funds were due and payable. 
10. Since you did not attempt to pay these funds or make arrangements to pay the only option was to turn the account over to our collection agency. 

If any of these facts are not accurate, please let me know and provide me with the proper documentation showing their inaccuracies. Otherwise, please make arrangements with *** Collections for payment.

ME
If you believe that after 3 years your staff remembers 1 client and the conversation that ensued, you are gullible (and I don't believe that due to your position).  So, these are just words that make you feel better and try to make me out to be a fool.
You determined that because you didn't get a letter you "say" you sent to me , back in the mail, it MUST have been delivered to me.   That's quite an assumption.  Again, if YOU believe it and it works for your story, it must be true.  If only you did the responsible thing, send a certified letter so you know I got it, before you ruined me...... but, no, you are big business and you have attorney's and your interpretations of the law that say you don't have to.  Little things like this don't matter to you, I am but a number and a check for 810 dollars, not a person.  
Yes, you are tough, feel good about yourself.  You state: "If any of these facts are not accurate, please let me know and provide me with the proper documentation showing their inaccuracies. Otherwise, please make arrangements with *** Collections for payment." 
Maybe you can show me proof and documentation of my receiving your bill and collection notice.  Oh, that's right, your attorney's say you don't have to.  Pretty pathetic isn't it.  But again, if you feel good about it and can live it, then so be it.  You have shown me who is boss and that there is nothing I can do.  Put your shoulders back and pat yourself on the back.  You have won sir.  I must pay you.  Head to Church tomorrow and let him know you are the winner.  I am not here to judge you, but you will be judged later by the most important one.  
I appreciate you taking the time to write me back.  I obviously don't like it, but at least you didn't ignore me like your manager did.  You are just not an ethical company.  I can live with that, not all are.  The bottom line is what is important.  Have a great rest of the weekend.

Could you please advise the name and contact information for your Company CEO?  I need to provide this to the VA and The Wounded Warriors Organizations.  I also will forward him/her everything I send/report on your organization.  I believe that is the fair thing to do.  Thank you.

I advised you'll get your money, so please provide me with my requested information.  There shouldn't be an issue, as you acted in accordance with your policies and your interpretation of the law.  Tomorrow morning I will call and try to obtain the information you refuse to give me.  Thank you.

**** ***
What information are you looking for? In the spirit of "being fair" please send us a copy of the contact information for those you refer to that you are sending your complaints against our community. We would like to send them a copy of our statements and and your correspondence so they can determine the facts for themselves. 

ME
I can complain to any organization that I wish.  You have done me wrong and I want others to know of it.  The matter with you is resolved.  I do not have the resources to fight you.  I will pay the 810 dollars, with much regret.  You placed a collections notice on my record without my knowledge to take care of it.  

Now you are being condescending and just nasty.  I am not complaining on your community.  I am complaining specifically on you.  I am through communicating with you.  I thank you for your time.  Your actions say much about your company.  Have a great day.



 

 

Business Response: Mr. ******** does not dispute the fact that he owed the balance on his account due to breaking his lease agreement. His dispute is that the Community Manager and/or Leasing Agent informed him that they would waived the fee when he moved out. The Community Manager and leasing Agent that dealt with Mr. ******** state that they informed him at the time of his giving his Notice to Vacate and shortly before he physically moved from the community that the fees were due. Mr. ********'s resident file has no written or implied indication that such an agreement with Mr. ******** existed. All records plus the testimony of the two employees and their actions of reporting the delinquent account to the Collection Agency indicate that no agreement was made as stated by Mr. ********. Mr. ******** provided a forwarding address to which two letters of past due balance were sent. No communication from Mr. ******** resulted in his account being turned over to a professional collection agency. Mr. ******** indicated that he would pay the amount due and at that time the Collection Agency will report to the credit bureau that his account is paid in full. 

BBB's Final Determination: After reviewing the position of all parties, BBB determined that the business made a reasonable effort to address the complaint. However the consumer remains dissatisfied.

7/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am constantly being overcharged on my water bill. In the past four years I have actually had my water meter read once. For over three years the bill has fluctuated between $30-$45. Lately, my bill has increased in the range of 30-40 additional dollars. The readings are being taken per building and the sum is being divided among the tenants. Even the Meter Reading dates on the billing stud are inconsistent. My water use habits have not changed, therefore I see no reason for such a drastic increase in my water bill. I contacted City of Atlanta Dept. of Water Shed and was informed by them the cost of water has not increased in years. I have made several complaints to the staff in the management office and was told that they couldn't help me and I should direct my problem to Meter Resources. It seems that all I am able to get is the run around and the buck passed. I would deeply appreciate any assistance that you may be able offer me in this matter. Thank you.

Desired Settlement: I am disabled and home everyday. I have no problem with somebody coming to my apartment and taking accurate readings instead of them using a system that is undoubtedly unfair to me as well as their other tenants.

Business Response: Please see the attached response regarding case #********

BBB's Final Determination: Business offered a resolution. Consumer did not pursue further with BBB and the matter was assumed to be resolved

7/24/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The company has charged me with damages I never did to an apartment at ******** at *********** in the amount of 1,186. I never damaged any carpet, title or anything else in the apartment I have pictures and witness who visited the complex. I was very rudely accused of doing damage and addressed in a very unprofessional manner. I this debt removed or pictures that confirm charges of the damage which has never been presented to me even when I asked. I have disputed this with the credit bureau also. **** *********** ** *** *** *** ******* *** *****

Desired Settlement: remove collection and credit filing for false claims

Business Response:

Please see attached a copy of ****** *******'s Final Account Statement. This statement shows a detail listing of all the charges for the damages to the unit. These findings were found during the move-out inspection of the unit. 

Sincerely,

Flournoy Properties, LLC

***** ********

 

Business Response:

We will accept your offer to pay $443.00 to settle your account. I will notify the collection agenc* *** ******** ********* of the settlement. You can contact them to make your payment their number is ###-###-####.

 

Thank you,

Flournoy Properties, LLC

***** ********

 

Consumer Response:

I will contact them for payment

[A default letter is provided here which indicates your acceptance of the business's response.  If you wish, you may update it before sending it.]

Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID *******, and find that this resolution would be satisfactory to me.  I will wait for the business to perform this action and, if it does, will consider this complaint resolved.

Regards,

****** *******


 

 

BBB's Final Determination: Consumer accepted resolution offered by the business.

2/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service
2/20/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
11/20/2012 Problems with Product/Service
9/13/2012 Problems with Product/Service
8/23/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
5/15/2012 Problems with Product/Service
4/13/2012 Billing/Collection Issues