BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Wholesale Escapes, LLC

Phone: (843) 789-3854

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

57 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 12 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues20
Billing / Collection Issues3
Delivery Issues2
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service31
Total Closed Complaints57

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (57)
03/15/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure on the part of Wholesale Escapes to terminate my contract after giving them sufficient notice.
On vacation in Charlotte on April5, 2015 we signed a contract for vacation services from Wholesale Escapes LLC, Due to circumstances beyond our control we were unable to take advantage of these services and subsequently notified this company by E-mail in Dec 2015 and twice in January 2016 that would be terminating our contract in April and followed up by sending a registered letter by US Mail to Market St address.

Desired Settlement
In all E-mails we asked for confirmation and addressed all correspondence to their system administrator, We are seeking confirmation of the termination of this agreement, their notification to the acceptance company they hired that no money is due and there is no further harassment.

Business Response
Please accept this response on behalf of Wholesale Escapes. Renewal of the Agreement is at the sole discretion of the member and the member has not obligation to renew. If the member elects to no renew the Agreement it is effectively terminated. I will notify the renewal company to put the member on a Do Not Call list and no further action should be required. If any more calls are received, please contact me directly.

*****@rcbmanagement.com

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Although pleased with the response, I hope they notify the acceptance company so that I am not bothered by them. When I phoned them they said they must be notified by Wholesale Escapes that I am not renewing my membership. Also, would you please ask them to stop sending me E-mails as I have terminated my membership. This is causing me undue stress as I have had a heart attack in the past. THANK YOU FOR YOUR QUICK ACTION ON MY BEHALF

Final Consumer Response

02/17/2016Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Trying to cancel annual renewal and future membership with this company
We would like to cancel further membership with this company. We have tried several times to cancel over the phone and are told we must do it in person. We live out of states and cannot go in person. I have not used this product in several years and found it did not live up to what was represented. I am just asking for the annual renewal fee be cancelled and end future membership.

Desired Settlement
We would like to cancel further membership with this company. We have tried several times to cancel over the phone and are told we must do it in person. We live out of states and cannot go in person. I have not used this product in several years and found it did not live up to what was represented. I am just asking for the annual renewal fee be cancelled and end future membership.

Business Response
Please accept this response on behalf of Wholesale Escapes. I will contact the Network Administrator and instruct them to put the member on the do not call list. The annual renewal fee payment is at the sole discretion of the member who has no obligation to pay. Non-payment effectively terminates the agreement. If they are contacted again, please feel free to reach out to me directly.

*****@rcbmanagement.com

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)


01/20/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company will not let us cancel our membership
We have tried several times to cancel over the phone and are told we must do it in person . the address 85 s. market st Charleston, SC is supposed to be the company address The people there claim that wholesale escapes sold them the building s months ago and I cannot find the company wholesale escapes. Please update your address for this company.

Desired Settlement
a complete cancellation of our contract.

Business Response
Please accept this response on behalf of Wholesale Escapes. The complaint does not reference any specific basis for the termination. Pursuant to the terms of the agreement, it is not cancellable. Short of documentation of a breach of the Agreement by Wholesale Escapes, I'm afraid I don't have anything to work with.

*****

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Totally unacceptable response. Why cant a company comply with a simple request to cancel. We don't owe any money to them. We simply want to terminate our agreement with this company. I am unaware of any requirement to be tied for life to this company. It was pointed out to me that if I stopped paying my annual dues my account would become inactive and that was all I could do. I will not accept that I truly want my contract terminated as we never used any services provided for several years and no longer desire to be connected to this company.

Final Business Response
Perhaps I was unclear. If the renewal fee is not paid, the contract is effectively terminated.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
It appears that this explanation is as good as I am going to get. I would have liked to have received some sort of confirmation of a cancelled contract.

03/18/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Contacted company regarding a refund. Company representatives refuse to respond to any requests.
On January 20, 2015, I entered into agreement with Wholesale Escapes (contract #XXXXX and id#XXXXXXX) for the purchase price of $1,399.00. I paid with a South State bank credit card for the full amount. The purpose of the reservation program was receive discounts on hotel stays, cruises, vacations, and other travel accommodations. On January 28, 2015, I attempted to utilize the reservation service program, yet the rates where not competitive; therefore, I have no use for the service. I contacted January 30, 2015, ***** ******* Project Director to discuss the matter. He advised me that he would look into the situation and follow-up. After numerous calls to both ***** ****** and ****** ********** Verification Officer, I have received no response or resolution. I desire the full amount of $1,399.00 to be refunded back to me since I am not receiving what I purchased.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking the entire amount of $1,399.00 to be refunded to me.

06/24/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company committed via email they would honor my request for a full refund.
2/19/14 my husband and I signed a contract with Wholesale Escapes (WE). WE indicated during their presentation they had a BBB rating of A+. That evening I researched online & found it was actually D-. I immediately put a dispute with my credit card company and emailed WE indicating I wished to cancel the contract & receive a full refund. 2/25/14 ****** ********* of WE responded to my email indicating they would refund the full purchase price of $4344.00. As of 5/20/14 I had not received the refund so I contacted ****** at WE - ****** apologized and stated it would be refunded. 6/4/14 I contacted ****** at WE again because there was no refund, she said her assistant would refund in her absence. 6/9/14 I received a letter from my credit card company indicating WE rejected the chargeback because the contract did not disclose any cancellation policy. I understand that, but on 2/25/14, Wholesale Escapes did commit to providing a full refund. I believe receiving 3 emails committing to a full refund is just as binding as any formalized contract.

Desired Settlement
Refund of $4,344.00

Business Response
Wholesale Escapes has refunded the Complainant the full amount of their purchased price and this matter has been successfully resolved. Please identify this matter as having been successfully resolved.

Page 1 of 2
07/14/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Wholesale Escapes solicited us in Charleston, South Carolina, to listen and learn about a vacation club plan they offered, which is obviously a scam.
The date was July 30, 2013, while we were on vacation. After being solicited on the street and viewing the presentation, Wholesale Escapes (WE) assigned a "project director" to go over the plan and their services in detail. They led us to believe that they offered vacation packages like none other......quality rooms at top resorts for an extremely discounted rate. Amazing prices on condominiums throughout the world were offered and we were shown comparisons with vacation web sites. We were apprehensive about joining but were told, "we're not knocking down the walls and disappearing tomorrow." Our project director told us to just try the program and if at any time we weren't happy, we could request a refund. I was concerned as there was a 3-day cancellation policy in the contract and we were leaving Atlanta, which he said was not a concern. We have tried numerous times to book trips, but to no availability for one reason or the other. One time they actually went to the same web sites that I had searched and came up with the same cost of the trip.....nothing better as stated in the contract. Timing of trip was not to be an issue either and that was a plus to their plan from a time share which limits you to time and place. This company should never have been allowed to solicit people in your city. They are a scam and I've tried to contact them for years with no one ever returning my calls. There was one time when ****** ********* took my call and said that she understood my frustration and that a ***** ***** would call me and make it right... Led me to believe that he would refund my money! That was in July, 2015, and I haven't been able to reach anyone since! No one returns phone calls and the travel agency that handles their calls, doesn't have a contact number either which I find to be questioning. There is still a web site for Wholesale Escapes which lists them at the same address.....85 S. Market St., Charleston, SC with the same phone number. However, it seems as though they are no longer there or not answering their phone.....XXX-XXX-XXXX. We signed the contract on July 30, 2013, and our member number is #XXXXX. The agent, ***** ****** took our picture for his phone file, and ****** ********* signed the contract. Please make this right and help us get our money back from this scam company. The Agent of Process is ******* ******** at the same address as above, and from what I understand, he is the owner of the company. Thank you! This was charged to our Visa account ending in ***** If you need anything else, please contact me at *******@comcast.net.

Desired Settlement
We paid (charged on our Visa) $7,000 for services of which we never received....plus renewed our yearly amount to continue the service, so we are looking for $7,000 refund plus the $199 we paid to renew in 2014.

Business Response
Included are notes detailing members requests and agents response.
The Lepores have logged into their Wholesale Escapes website on 6 dates in 2 years. They purchased 7/30/13. The first time they called in was 4/16/14 with a request for airfare and hotel. The request for the airfare was for specific flight times. The agent shared the flight itinerary of $493 per person, but member did not call back or book. Member on 6/11/14 requested flight and hotel around Grand Canyon. The agent followed up offering flight for $520 per person and Holiday Inn Express Flagstaff offering 7 nights for $1077.65, a savings of $182 rewards cash. The member stated they may want to break trip up and stay in another area of the canyon. Member did call back and did not book trip. 5/27/15 Member called in for her son requesting a package for any island in Hawaii 8/8/15-8/15/15. Agents provided package at Royal Kahana Maui by Outrigger, airfare, and rental car for $1372.50 per person. Also if they could be flexible with dates 8/9/15-8/16/15 price dropped to $1106 per person. Members son stated he would talk to his girlfriend about property and call back. Member did not call back or book trip. On this particular vacation, today a stay at this property for similar dates in August, Wholesale Escapes has weeks available for $399 versus the same room on Expedia for $1303.45.

Mrs ****** called in 11/10/15 and requested to talk to a manager. ***** returned her call, but the notes don't give me the content.
4/28/16 Mrs called in to find out the last time she had renewed her membership. That date was 4/15/14.

This member's plan offers minimal discounting in hotels, but greatly discounted condo weeks. There is not discounting available for airfare
It is confusing that this member was unhappy with their membership, yet renewed for another year and then waited 2 more years to file a complaint.
During the process of purchasing the membership, the Lepores initialed, signed, and were voice recorded stating they understood they were signing a non-cancelable contract. Because they purchased in our office, we were not obligated to offer rescission.
Wholesale Escapes was sold in 2015, but the fulfillment company RSI is still servicing our members accounts and will continue to do so.
In good faith, we would like to offer to pay the ******* annual dues for this year if they would like to continue use of their membership.

Consumer Response
Thank you for thier response, however, this is an unacceptable offer.
First off, Wholesale Escapes has not fulfilled their contract with providing high end accommodations
for less expense. They have record of us calling and yes, never booked because they did not
provide anything as expected from our contract. Could not provide anything on those occasions
that was equal to their presentations when signing up for their company's services!! I doubted the
quality of their services, however, felt forced to renew my membership as no one would provide
any services without doing so and kept advising that more fees would be applied if I didn't sign up
in a timely manner. When we tried to book the Hawaii vacation, the travel agent went to the exact
web sites that we could go to on our own, and gave us nothing out of the ordinary. Plus, the dates
you want are never good enough or available! I understand about flights....that is not the issue....it's
not fulfilling Wholesale Escapes end of the contract with outstanding travel packages. Stating "for
similar dates in August..." is not acceptable and again, not what we were led to believe would be the case....
why not the dates we want to travel? It's never the right time when calling and trying to book....Nothing has
ever been available.
I have called and called and called many times.......*** ***** was to call me last year!!!! No response and
no one...and I mean no one!!! returns phone calls!!! Yes, it has taken me two years but that is because no
one returned my phone calls and I have been waiting patiently for a response!
The contract was signed quickly and I was told that I could cancel if not happy after trying the services.
The contract is not "non-cancelable".....can be cancelled in a timeframe, but again, we were led to believe
that we could cancel if not satisfied!!!!!
We do not want any more affiliation with this company as Wholesale Escapes claimed to provide us with a
license to use their exclusive travel offers which no one will ever beat their pricing on hotels, condos, and cruises.
Wholesale Escapes and RSI have breached its agreement by failing to provide such "exclusive" travel offers to us.
Therefore, we are asking for full restitution of the money paid to them of $7, 294.

Thank you.
**** and *** ******

Final Business Response
As it was stated in our prior response, we did provide quotes at a savings of $152 for the dates Mrs ****** requested, but the biggest savings in staying in our condo weeks. At any given week, RSI has in excess of 200k condo weeks available. We did provide quotes for specific dates for the vacation to Hawaii, but offered alternate dates that would be a bigger savings because of lower airfare costs. The similar dates that were stated were for this year as we can only quote properties that are available today. To provide quotes for our members we use websites that only travel agents have access to in addition to the members actual website. Again as it was initially stated, we can only offer minimal discounts on hotel properties because the savings is based on the commissions we receive. For every call in to RSI, this member did have their calls returned.
RSI does offer an extensive collection of properties at a significant savings, but can only offer availability of properties that available for the dates requested and in the travel industry pricing can fluctuate even on the same day based on that availability.
Wholesale Escapes was sold July 2015 and we are unable to offer a refund. We are happy to offer this years dues so that the Lepores may use their membership with a better understanding of how their membership works.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
And, again as stated, no phone calls to Wholesale Escapes (the company who gave us the contract) were ever returned....not even
to state that the company was sold. I spoke to ****** in 2015 and she said that a Mr. ***** would return my phone call....this was over a year ago! I have continued to call Wholesale Escapes every day after that and left messages....RSI doesn't know anything about Wholesale Escapes and can't provide a number either....never was told WE went out of business. The service at both Wholesale Escapes and RSI is unacceptable.....Many excuses for why you couldn't provide the service and deals expected. The company has been sold as now you don't have to meet your end of the contract and that is wrong and unacceptable! There was no savings of $152....it was only $15 savings and again, no condo available as promised by your presentation. Many excuses as to dates not available, etc., etc.....and only a savings for lower airfare costs? What happened to the lower savings on condos/hotels as promised! Airfare was understood not to be a savings by you.....so, again, this was a savings from the airlines....not Wholesale Escapes! This offer is unacceptable as the agreement in the contract has been breached. Again, money we paid to Wholesale Escapes in good faith should be returned to us.

12/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We want to cancel membership. There is no cancelation time. Called 3 times and no one will speak to me.
Signed up for membership on 10/22/2014 #XXXXX
Was not given an option to cancel. Tried to call several times on 10/29/2014 I was told someone would get back to me. No one has. Contacted visa to dispute charge for membership.
Was under the impression this was a respected co. Until I went on BBB website. Then on all the complaints about this co. Felt like they tried to convince us to sign, giving better deals when we declined. Should have seen the red flags.

Desired Settlement
we want a refund of the total fee, $2894.00

Business Response
Wholesale Escapes is not able to discern any specific complaints from this entry other than allegations of general misrepresentations. Wholesale Escapes would categorically deny that it or any of its employees or agents ever misrepresented anything to the Complainant. The terms of the purchase agreement voluntarily signed by the Complainant are clear and unambiguous. Wholesale Escapes is more than willing to provide a designated person with the company to contact the Complainant to assist Complainant with the use of the website and the best ways to obtain the maximum benefits and discounts from Complainant's vacation travel club membership. Wholesale Escapes would submit that the travel club membership agreement is clear and unambiguous that Complainant is not entitled to a refund or rescission in this matter. The Complainant acknowledged by signature on the contract that he does not have any right of rescission. Again, Wholesale Escapes is willing to provide whatever assistance is necessary to help Complainant get the most out his travel club membership.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We were NEVER verbally told there would be no refunds...EVER
When someone is giving you a seemingly great deal the warning signs should kick in. They kept going down on the sign up price...never was anything said about no refunds...
We feel that we were not given all information up front...
Obviously if we were told there could be no refunds, we would not have signed until we had time to look more into everything..

10/15/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
COMPANY SAID THEY COULD ACT AS OUR AGENT TO GET US PREFERRED RATES. THEY DID/COULD NOT.
JOINED PROGRAM ON 3/21/14 FOR $4,394. DURING SALES PRESENTATION, THEY SAID THEY COULD/WOULD ACT AS OUR AGENT TO GET US PREFERRED RATES. THEY QUOTED US RATES AT COVE INN IN NAPLES, FL AND GRAND CIRCLE RHINE/MOSEL RIVER CRUISE SUBSTANTIALLY LOWER THAN WE HAD RECENTLY PAID.
IN JUNE, WE ASKED THEM TO BOOK US FOR 2 WEEKS AT COVE INN IN MARCH OF 2015 AND WERE QUOTED THE SAME RATE AS OFFERED US DITECTLY BY THE COVE INN. FURTHERMONE, COVE INN OFFERED US A 10% DISCOUNT AS OUR STAY EXCEEDED 10 DAYS. OBVIOUSLY, WE BOOKED DIRECT.
NUMEROUS CALLS (ALL DOCUMENTED) DURING JULY AND AUGUST TO THE PROJECT DIRECTOR AND PROBLEM RESOLUTION SPECIALIST WENT UNRETURNED.
WE HAVE UNSUBSCRIBED TO THE PROGRAM AND REQUESTED A RETURN OF $3,894 LEAVING THEM $500 FOR THEIR PROCESSING COCTS. THIS REQUEST HAS ALSO BEEN IGNORED.


Desired Settlement
WE REQUEST A FULL REFUND OF $4,394.

Business Response
Wholesale Escapes is not able to discern any specific complaints from this entry other than allegations of general misrepresentations. Wholesale Escapes would categorically deny that it or any of its employees or agents ever misrepresented anything to the Complainant. The terms of the purchase agreement voluntarily signed by the Complainant are clear and unambiguous. Wholesale Escapes is more than willing to provide a designated person with the company to contact the Complainant to assist Complainant with the use of the website and the best ways to obtain the maximum benefits and discounts from Complainant's vacation travel club membership. Wholesale Escapes would submit that the travel club membership agreement is clear and unambiguous that Complainant is not entitled to a refund or rescission in this matter. The Complainant acknowledged by signature on the contract that he does not have any right of rescission. Again, Wholesale Escapes is willing to provide whatever assistance is necessary to help Complainant get the most out his travel club membership

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The sales presentation occurred exactly as we reported. It was conducted at a separate table with two representatives of Wholesale Escapes present. The four of us discussed the program and we agreed to enroll after being given the information outlined in the complaint.
We were then asked to complete the agreement in writing and sign and initial many items therein. Relying on their assurances, we did so. We were naïve. Still. misrepresentation is never legal!
Realizing we had a problem when they failed to perform, we checked Wholesale Escapes on the internet only to find that many others have had similar unsatisfactory experiences with them.
Unless our funds are returned in full, we will seek legal remedy including all fees and expenses. Beyond that are possibilities of claims for mental anguish, punitive damages and even class-action.

Final Business Response
Wholesale Escapes is not able to discern any specific complaints from this entry other than allegations of general misrepresentations. Wholesale Escapes would categorically deny that it or any of its employees or agents ever misrepresented anything to the Complainant. The terms of the purchase agreement voluntarily signed by the Complainant are clear and unambiguous. Wholesale Escapes is more than willing to provide a designated person with the company to contact the Complainant to assist Complainant with the use of the website and the best ways to obtain the maximum benefits and discounts from Complainant's vacation travel club membership. Wholesale Escapes would submit that the travel club membership agreement is clear and unambiguous that Complainant is not entitled to a refund or rescission in this matter. The Complainant acknowledged by signature on the contract that he does not have any right of rescission. Again, Wholesale Escapes is willing to provide whatever assistance is necessary to help Complainant get the most out his travel club membership.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
We maintain our complaint of misrepresentation. Only after the verbal assertions of Wholesale Escapes which we previously stated and on which we relied did we decide to join the program. Only then did they prepare the paperwork. We then signed and initialed numerous items in the agreement which, in hindsight, were actually disclaimers designed to protect them in exactly the present situation.
They now deny blame based on the agreement we completed based on their own false claims. Their offer to work with us after their performance to date is absurd. This entire experience has been extremely time-consuming, disruptive and frustrating. Further effort to reach a solution with them seems pointless.
Thus, we must take whatever legal action is necessary to resolve our dispute.

09/23/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Product not as represented. Fraudulent?
Purchased travel club membership in September 2012. Very poor experience with very unprofessional company. The entire WE-RSI presentation revolved around being guaranteed the lowest available price on hotels at the time of booking. Not true! We can do at least as well as, and often better, than RSI's prices with either our AAA card, AARP card, or just local deals. We called within less than 24 hours to express our disappointment and request a refund, which was refused. They do not return calls/emails. At what point does "misrepresentation" become fraud?

Desired Settlement
We requested a refund within less than 24 hours, well before we had cost the company any money, and have not used the services, so we still wish to receive the entire purchase price refunded.

Business Response
Please allow this to serve as a full and good faith response of Wholesale Escapes. Wholesale Escapes would categorically deny that it or any of its employees or agents ever misrepresented anything to the Complainants. Wholesale Escapes would further deny that Complainants were ever subjected fraud or deceptive or high pressure sales tactics. The terms of the purchase agreement voluntarily signed by the Complainants are clear and unambiguous. Wholesale Escapes is more than willing to provide a designated person with the company to contact the Complainants to assist them with the use of the website and the best ways to obtain the maximum benefits and discounts from their vacation travel club membership.
Wholesale Escapes would submit that the travel club membership agreement is clear and unambiguous and that Complainants are not entitled to a refund or rescission in this matter. The Complainants acknowledged by signature on the contract that they do not have any rights of rescission. Again, Wholesale Escapes is willing to provide whatever assistance is necessary to help Complainants get the most out their travel club membership.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Wholesale Escapes basically just submitted the same response as before, still failing to address why they refuse a refund to an unhappy customer. We appreciate the attempts of the Better Business Bureau to assist in a resolution, however, since a refund is the only solution that we will find satisfactory, clearly we are at a stalemate with no resolution near.



Final Business Response
In response to Complainants additional submitted comments, Wholesale Escapes reiterates its previous response. Again, Wholesale Escapes would categorically deny that it or any of its employees or agents ever misrepresented anything to the Complainant. The terms of the purchase agreement voluntarily signed by the Complainant are clear and unambiguous. Wholesale Escapes is more than willing to provide a designated person with the company to contact the Complainant to assist her with the use of the website and the best ways to obtain the maximum benefits and discounts from her vacation travel club membership.
Wholesale Escapes would submit that the travel club membership agreement is clear and unambiguous that Complainant is not entitled to a refund or rescission in this matter. The Complainant acknowledged by signature on the contract that she does not have any right of rescission. Again, Wholesale Escapes is willing to provide whatever assistance is necessary to help Complainant get the most out her travel club membership.

07/19/2016Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
05/30/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unable to cancel the plan
Wholesale Escapes talked us into buying into a discount club for $7,995 on 4/1/14 while we were on vacation in Charleston. We paid the money and returned home from vacation to find this was not as advertised. The discounts were not available or unique. We chalked it up to a $8,000 lesson. Now we are we receiving annual bills from them for a "lifetime" contract. We would like to cancel this program and be put on a do not call list.

Desired Settlement
Cancel the plan. Add us to do not call list.

Business Response
We are sorry to hear that the membership did not work out for you. Per your request we have removed your name from the call list as well as the mailing list. You will not be billed for annual dues any longer.

04/18/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Poor delivery of service on two occasions along with lies and raised prices. NEVER returning phone calls.
When first purchased, we stayed in a home "next to Disney World, two stories, heated pool) the place was an hour from Disney, broken heater on pool, one story, wrong house. Several calls later resolved with $850 credit. Two years ago used credit at Beaches. Given a terrible room next to water slide in kids area. We found out we were paying way more than listed price. Hotel accommodated us with larger suite. Could never reach Wholesale Escapes after that. After a year, tried again to book a vacation listed. Never called back. Recently thought I would give another chance. I had paid $10,000 for this deal, so one more try. Never returned my three calls.

Desired Settlement
At least half of my purchase fee. $5000 minimum

Business Response
Please accept this response on behalf of Wholesale Escapes. I apologize for the delay in responding but the records for this account were extensive and if took a while to gather and review them all. This account was activated in June of 2012, nearly 4 years ago. There are more than 75 contact records recorded in the member management archive. There was an issue with the reservation in 2012 due to false information being submitted by the accommodation provider. When Reservation Services was unable to secure restitution from the provider, the company issued a credit $846.23 as compensation for the inconvenience. The credit was subsequently used for another trip to Beaches resort as requested by the member. Reservation Services has not control over room assignments issued by the Provider. There is no contact record regarding any issue with the member being charged a higher price. I would have expected the member to immediately call the Reservation Center had that occurred. There is no evidence that calls were "never returned". There are two occasions where the member submitted a travel request and the research took more than 2 days and the member did call in to check on the request. In one case a email was sent to the member with the requested information and the member said he would have to check to see if it was received. All travel request were responded to. The member has voluntarily renewed the membership 3 times without noting any concern regarding the service. Therefore, based on a review of the account, I cannot find evidence that Reservation Services has failed to provide the benefits and services in accordance to the terms of the Agreement. However, going forward I will be happy to assist the member in monitoring the performance of Reservation Services and in the event issues arise, they can contact my office directly and I will assist in resolution.

Thank you,

*****@rcbmanagement.com

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I cannot imagine 75 requests and so much to go through! I have been ignored several times after calling. I do not trust to ever book anything. I had long booked a trip with another company after at least three calls to Wholesale Escapes last month.I was told twice I would be called back shortly. Days later, I was called at 9:00 pm. I was insulted. No customer should be treated so poorly. I pay the yearly fee since I share my ownership with a friend and I do not want to lose the investment for him too. I also called about our visit to Beaches Resort, but I was ignored. Again, no one returned my call. I keep hoping for better results, but nothing changes.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Yes to the phone records please. I am always promised a quick response but it has not happened. I feel like I am on their "she's really trouble" list. Would be happy with my $800+ compensation returned to my account. Still extremely unhappy customer.

Final Business Response
Please accept this response on behalf of Wholesale Escapes. I attached the contact records from the members portal. I was not able to download records from the CRM system but the records appear to be consistent. There simply is no evidence of any request or phone call was nor responded to in a timely manner. The member voluntarily renewed the membership on each anniversary without complaint. Therefore, the company denies the request of any refund as it has fulfilled its obligations in accordance to the terms of the Membership Agreement.

02/02/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Signed up for Wholesale Escapes $7,394.00 and soon realized will never use it. Requested refund from company. No reply. Contract states 'no refunds'-
My 81 year old mother and I visited Charleston, SC while I attended a library conference in November 2014. We had three days and wanted to see as much of the city as possible. We stopped by a travel office on the street where our hotel was located and were told that we could receive free carriage ride tickets (and some other things I can't remember) if we attend a presentation about a company similar to Orbitz (travel agent's words). The travel agent asked for $50.00 down which would be (and was) returned when we completed the presentation. There were a few (maybe five or six) elderly couples who attended the presentation the next day (Nov. 6, 2014) in addition to us. The presentation consisted of being shown a slide show of vacation destinations and the man giving the talk said how much money we could save by joining their travel club. He said they had access to savings that we wouldn't be able to find anywhere else and showed a trip to Ireland costing less than $1,000.00. My father had just passed away and the trip to Charleston had lifted my mother's spirits. She was excited about the prospect of future travel, so we foolishly signed up for the product which cost $7,394.00 (contract #XXXXX). I paid using my debit card, though the money actually came from my mother's savings account which we transferred to my checking account after the presentation using a laptop belonging to one of the Wholesale Escapes associates. I soon came to my senses and realized that we would never take advantage of the travel club product and could easily and cheaply access similar deals through free online sites, so I wrote Wholesale Escapes a letter on January 6,2015 to explain my mistake and request a refund (minus a $399.00 processing fee). I never received a reply from them. Though on the surface, the sales tactics did not seem heavy handed - in retrospect I realized that some of the things the presenter said were a bit intimidating such as stressing that we turn off our cell phones and if he was interrupted by a cell phone the presentation would start all over again making me feel a bit like a prisoner. I was itching to get out of there and start sightseeing. Had I had free access to my phone, I might have looked up the company on the internet or phoned a friend or relative for advice. The presenter never did give the company's name until the contract was produced. The contract states that no refunds are offered and I foolishly signed off on it. Embarrassment over my stupidity is one of the reasons why it has taken me this long to write to the BBB. Another reason is that I recently received a phone call from a Wholesale Escapes representative stating that my annual renewal fee of around $300.00 was overdue and that I need to 'abide by the contract' and pay that fee. Needless to say, I want nothing to do with Wholesale Escapes and regret ever having attended the presentation (because of this incident, I wish I had never gone to Charleston, even though the rest of our visit was very pleasant). Not only would I like a refund on a product that I have not and will never use, I certainly do not want to be hounded into paying an annual membership fee. I'm writing this as well to warn future tourists to not be taken in by these people. All we wanted was a carriage ride and a tour of a mansion. I know I was stupid for paying for this product, let alone such an exorbitant fee. It would be nice if the company stood behind its product enough to refund the purchase price when the product has never been used. It really should be illegal for a company to include a no refunds statement in a contract. If possible, I would like a refund of $6,995.00 and would definitely like to officially cancel my 'membership' -freeing me from being hounded to pay an annual membership fee.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of $6,995.00 and would like to officially cancel my 'membership' -freeing me from being hounded to pay an annual membership fee.
I would like the company to be required to remove the 'no refunds' clause in their contract. I would like the travel agencies to not peddle the presentations to tourists because it gives the company legitimacy. I would like a warning issued to tourists at all hotels to not be taken in by this company or any others like it.

Business Response
Please accept this response on behalf of Wholesale Escapes. Unfortunately, based on the terms of the Agreement and the fact that the member understood the terms of the Agreement there is little basis on which I can argue for a refund of the purchase price. However, payment of the annual renewal fee is not required and is at the members sole discretion to pay or not pay. My understanding is that the Network Administrator uses a third party to bill and collect renewal fees and sometimes gives the impression that the fee is required and failure to pay may cause problems. This is NOT the case. I will contact the Network Administrator and instruct them to put the member on a Do Not Call list. If the member receives any further communication regarding this payment, please contact me or refer the collection company to my office.

Thank you,

** *****
*****@rcbmanagement.com

11/13/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They were not truthful in what they said the company was they would deliver. This cost a great deal of money which they would not refund.
This was purchased January 2013. The day after
I purchased this product I called for a refund because afte reviewing the information I felt that the company ripped me off for 7000.00. I informed them that what they offered I found on the website for less money. I kept complaining to their office in Florida asking for a refund. I spoke with a manger who convinced me to let him plan a vacation which I agreed to. I could have gotten the same deal on the Internet. If anything can be done to assist in getting a refund back from this horrible company, it would be appreciated.



Desired Settlement
Refund

Business Response
Please accept this response on behalf of Wholesale Escapes. Wholesale Escapes denies the request for a refund and termination. The Agreement is 2 years old and was voluntarily renewed by the member in November of 2014. The member has successfully utilized the benefits and services multiple times and upon review of the extensive record, there has not been a single concern filed. The complaint readily states a request for refund was issued even before the member attempted to use the benefits and services. Wholesale Escapes does not even have an office in the State of Florida. There is no basis for a cancellation of the Agreement.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I tried to get a refund the day after we purchased in January. I was told that no refund could be given. As far as using the service multiple times, I used it twice once in 2013 and one for a cruise in 2014 which we booked thru them because 7 other people were going. The price was the same as the Internet. Also we paid the renewal because if you don't you lose your entire package. In other words you forfeit the 7000.00 we paid. For what I paid, I don't see the value.

Final Business Response
I will be happy to work with the member going forward. Whenever they are ready to book travel, please contact me so I can monitor to quote and booking process. It is important to note that the primary benefit within the membership as represented in the agreement is the weekly stays in condominiums and proprietary vacations that are available to members. All other travel provides savings through commission paid to Reservation Services that are reimbursed to the member. The membership guarantees the lowest price available on all travel.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
How the presentation was presented I thought it was all travel. For $7000.00 I do not see the value of what I purchased. Also the response states I will be happy to work with the member going forward, who am I suppose to contact, since it looks like a refund will not be issued although that would be the correct thing to do.

09/21/2015Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Wholesale Escapes could not deliver the assistance with rates that we were led to believe by the salesman
There are 12 members of our family that enjoy vacationing together. My wife and I purchased a membership in Sept. of 2014. The salesman said they could save us up to half the regular cost to visit Disney World in Florida. They couldn't find us a motel inside the park with any discounts. My daughter found better deals online than Wholesale Escapes could offer. It appears we wasted a lot of money on false promises! We were led to believe that they could save us enough on one trip to Disney World to practically pay for our membership. That never happened. If there are any class action lawsuits pending, we would like to become a part of it, We paid a fee of $399.00 to have an expert licencee go over our contract. That person was out of the office at the time, so the salesman did it. That makes me wonder if our contract is legal or valid. We should at the very least get that fee returned. I would urge anyone to check reviews on Wholesale Escapes before purchasing a membership. We apparently wasted $4,394.00 by not doing so. Also we were told our yearly membership fee would be $75.00, but it is now $199.00.

Desired Settlement
I would prefer a total refund of fees.

Business Response
Please accept this response on behalf of Wholesale Escapes. A review of the members account and contact record reveals he has only contacted the Reservation Center once in the past year. On 9/27/14 the member called to say his car was broken down in Columbia, SC and he needed a hotel for the night and the request was fulfilled to the satisfaction of the member. There has not been a single request submitted for booking Disney or any other accommodations. Therefore it would be impossible to compare any pricing. It is evident that the member has not made a good faith attempt to utilize the benefits and services in accordance to the terms of the Agreement and therefore is not entitled to any refund. If the member would like to exercise his right to extend the membership and has any documentation that he received special consideration reducing the annual renewal fee identified in his contract for $199 to $75 and will submit that to me I will be happy to assist him with that.

Thank you,

***** *****

Page 1 of 7
07/31/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Wholesale Escapes does not provide product/service described at presentation. Unable to get in touch with any management personnel to seek refund.

On March 17, 2015, my wife and I signed a contract with Wholesale Escapes (WE), Member #XXXXX, for the purchase price of $4,394. We paid with a BBVA Visa card for the full amount. The purpose of the reservation program was to receive discounts on hotel stays, cruises, vacations, and other travel accommodations. Mid April 2015, we attempted to utilize the reservation service program in our hometown area, yet the rates were not competitive; nor any "name" hotels were on
the list. All availability was double beds (requested king); therefore, we have no use for the service. At the beginning of our meeting with agent ****** and manager ****** we informed them of the fact we were "full-time" RV'ers and our chances of using the service would be very slim. They informed us of the fact that certificates for assignment could be issued for our children.
(To get the certificates, we had to call back the second time and leave a message). We thought this might be good to present to our children; but, now we are soooooo glad we never gave it to them. Also, after reviewing all the paperwork, we had overlooked the address as being wrong. We left a message, of which we never received a response, with the correct address. After several attempts in April and May 2015, to contact either ******, Verification Officer, or ****** Manager, I was told they would return the call within 48 hours. On June 11, 2015, I left a message with ***** at WE, who advised that the call would be returned as usual, within 48 hours. On June 11, 2015, after speaking with ***** at WE, a female rep from the reservation dept. called to see if she could assist us with travel plans. The trip had been in mid May, so what could she do now 3 weeks later? She said she would send an e-mail to management at WE with the problems we encounted and have them call us. We never received a call nor e-mail. I called again on June 19, 2015, speaking with ***** and getting the same "48 hour response" message which I never received. I called again on July 1, 2015, and was informed ***** was no longer employed, spoke with Zolie (?), and got the message the she would have Blake return my call when he finished his meeting. He again has not returned my call. Apparently, no one knows what 48 hours means! In seeing the complaints from other buyers, it is very evident that WE is fraudulent in the business. We were referred to them from the "Welcome Center", who was very insistent on us hearing the presentation. Appears it may start there.

Desired Settlement
Full refund of $4,394.00 - Company failed to provide product/service as presented.

06/23/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The company's sales presentation misrepresented
the product and service they provided. They were dishonest and lied about a number of points.
My first thing is the welcome centre on hwy 17 entering Charleston is not a registered tourist info. centre but it is a tourist trap for Wholesale Escapes time share. There is nothing outside on the building that indicates that.
-Next is that we were tired and just looking for a room and the guy there tells us they have nothing available except at the Hawthorne and he can get us a suite at $50.00 off if we take this presentation at this address and he assured us it was not high pressure, a lie.
-The salesmen at the presentation stated they have a excellent rating with the BBB-which is a lie.
-They did not tell us we had 3 days to change our minds.
-They talked about being able to get concert or sports tickets right up till the day of the event and imployed at a discounted rate, but when I tried to get concert tickets for my son all the tickets were third party and much more expensive.
-They did not tell us that all the trips booked through them would be in US dollars, they told us they had travel partners all around the world
which lead us to believe we could book from Canada and in Canadian dollars which is not true.
-During the presentation they said that the first person to book a gold package would get $1000.00 off the price and they could not do this for everyone however after talking to a number of people after the show everyone got $1000.00 off.
-They made a very large point about this not being a time share presentation however you could not just purchase the travel part with out at least 1 week of a time share place a year, there are no time share fees just a membership of $199.00 a year.
-My contract number is XXXXX and my membership number is XXXXXXX.
-We paid $2394.00 in US dollars by Visa and they have the number, but if you need it for our refund just email us and I will give it to you.
-We purchased this on April 29 2015,
-When we arrived home we decided that this really was not what we thought what we purchased and I proceeded to call Wholesale Escapes on May 5 to ask about a refund and I talked to a lady named ****** and she assured me she would look into this and get back to me the next day. As of this date I have called every busy day and have not received a call back from her, I have also sent her an email but again no response. I also sent 2 emails to there fulfillment centre and both times they said they would pass my complaint to there client services centre but nothing has happened.
-Please help us in anyway you can.
-Charleston is a wonderful city and this type of
experience leaves us and I'm sure the other tourist's with a negative image.

Desired Settlement
All my wife and I want is our money refunded.
We would also like the city of Charleston and the state of South Carolina to do something about these companies who take advantage of tourist's
who are there to just visit your wonderful city and state and not have to worry about being duped by these types of companies.

06/08/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Company does not offer better discounts than any other online travel firm, therefore, no value to the 'product' they offer. They claimed an A rating.
We were offered a lifetime membership to Wholesale escapes for $8,000+. We said we already had a timeshare. They said we will give you $5000 credit towards the purchase and then charged us $2340 for the 'balance' plus the admin fees. After talking to the travel agency they were not able to offer better deals than I can find online myself. Based on BBB report people paid $1400 to $8000 for the same 'product' We do not want to 'sell' our timeshare for 50 cents/per credit Plus pay the nearly $1000 in closing costs, so our 'transaction' is not complete and we would like to cancel our 'membership' and receive a full refund. They claimed to have an A rating and to have been in business for 13 years. Not true - they have an F rating and been around about 5 years. I do not feel they are a legitimate company offering a legitimate product.
Red Flags: 1. before the presentation they wanted to make sure you had never been in one before.
2. the guy who set up the appointment was totally inebriated at 10 a.m.
3. They would not accept American Express
4. You had to make your decision that day.
This deal is not complete because we had to turn in our Timeshare and we do not wish to do that as we have heard they get our title and then they never sell it and we have to keep paying the monthly fees during this whole processes.

Desired Settlement
A full refund of our $2340 which was charged to our bank on 4/23/15 and a cancellation of our membership.

05/26/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
A friend and I were high pressured into a contract with Wholesale Escapes after a laborious presentation. Upon return from our vacation my friend checked the website and reviews on RSI (parent company)referred to constantly in the podium presentation by ********* "RSI" does not have good customer reviews. After the presentation we met with Charlene in the sales office who did some arm twisting and we did sign a contract not realizing that South Carolina does not have a rescission option as Pennsylvania does (3 days). We, **** ******** and I made at least 12 phone calls to the only telephone number we could find on our credit card receipts and we have not received even a courtesy call - even though the usual jargon . . . "your call will be returned promptly . . .". Ms. ******** and I are very disenchanted with the non response from the Customer Service office and we truly and respectfully ask that we be allowed to cancel our contracts and have our credit card accounts cleared of these charges and have this matter closed.If we do not receive a satisfactory resolution to our request we will have to proceed through legal channels. Our attorney, ******* ** Sunday, has already written a letter to Wholesale Escapes dated April 27, 2015, mailed certified mail and a copy of this letter was sent to you as well.If you want our complaint in one sentence it would be that the customer service telephone line is criminally ineffective and for a company that has an A rating from you, we should have heard back from someone from Wholesale Escapes and your office promptly upon receipt of our concerns through our attorney's correspondence.ADDITIONALLY, JUST OUT OF CURIOSITY, MS. ******** WENT ON THE WHOLESALE WEBSITE AND FOUND THAT RATES ARE NOT ANY BETTER THAN SHE FOUND ON TRAVELOCITY AND/OR TRIVAGA AND NO MEMBERSHIP IS REQUIRED TO USE THESE SITES.
Product_Or_Service: Travel benefits
Account_Number: XXXXX

Desired Settlement
Simply a dissolution of the contract and refund of the charges on our credit cards.HOW DIFFICULT WOULD THIS BE TO REFUND OUR MONEY AND SAVE WHOLESALE ESCAPES AND US ANY FURTHER AGGRAVATION.RESPECTFULLY,******** ****** and **** ** **************** # XXXXX

04/29/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Peacetree Acceptance, the billing company for Wholesale Escapes, keeps calling us for dues payment of a contract we did not buy from Wholesale in 2014.
In 2104 we were able to cancel our contract under the 3 day remorse law, which Wholesale Escapes did
cancel. However, their third party billing agency(Preachtree associates) keeps calling us for Annual dues payment saying that we must get Wholesale Escapes to concel it.
They will neither answer our emails or their phone(XXX)-XXX-XXXX.(this number is NEVER answered because they use mobile numbers only)
Peacetree says this is a binding legal contract we are liable for.

Desired Settlement
Wholesale Escapes needs to cancel our contract with Peacetree Acceptance(their 3rd party billing agency)
This company is such SCAM ARTISTS-they do Charleston, SC a great discredit to remain in operation, after all the scam complaints.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Travel Clubs

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.