BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/1988

Gene Love Plumbing, Air and Electrical Services, Inc.

Phone: (803) 719-5683Fax: (803) 739-21471336 Methodist Park Rd, West ColumbiaSC 29170-2842 Send email to Gene Love Plumbing, Air and Electrical Services, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/01/1988

BBB has determined that Gene Love Plumbing, Air and Electrical Services, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Gene Love Plumbing, Air and Electrical Services, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 14 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

14 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 9 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Billing / Collection Issues4
Problems with Product / Service9
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 14

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Gene Love Plumbing, Air and Electrical Services, Inc.

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (14)BBB Closure Definitions
12/10/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Gene Love's Technician ***** overcharged me for a thermostat that I didn't need (mine was still good) and a relay switch that was never replaced.
On Friday November 21st, ***** answered a tech call to my house about my Gas heater. The air handler(Fan) will not quit blowing and also the outside unit for the A/C kept blowing while the air handler blew. ***** determined that the my Honeywell Pro 3000 Non-programmable was not good so he placed it with a Honeywell FocusPRO 5000 thermostat for $230.00. The next item was a 24V Multipurpose relay which he charged $195.00. Upon further observation I found the old relay switch was still on the unit has not been changed. The total cost of the repair came to $425.00 for which I paid with a credit card. I had my old thermostat checked at the electronic shop and was told that it is in a perfectly working condition. I called Gene Love and spoke **** who promised to look in the matter. He said he will call the ***** to find out what exactly happened. That was yesterday. I waited all day today but there no call. I gave them a chance to resolve the issue before I take it up with someone else but typical to their tactics,I was ignored completely

Desired Settlement
I will grateful if I get refunded for the relay switch that was never replaced and half of the money charged for the thermostat that I never needed in the first place.All I needed was for my old thermostat to be programmed correctly.

Business Response
Called cust to resolve concern, no contact but left message on both numbers.

12/03/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I was overcharged for a service call to program a thermostat.
I contacted Gene Love, placed a service call and explained the issue to the dispatcher. The service tech came out and basically programmed my thermostat. They charged me $95 for less than 30 min of work to program the thermostat. The initial call was to be $49. I attempted to contact them on the issue and they have not responded to me emails.

Desired Settlement
I would like the company to refund me at least the additional $45. I understand they have a right to charge for the service call but $95 is a bit much to program a thermostat.

Business Response
Spoke with customer regarding concerns 11/28/14 and reached a solution that customer is happy with.

10/14/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Last year (October 2013), we (my husband and I) had a pump put under the ground of our house by Gene Loves Service total paid approximately $3,000). At the time were not able to pay for an old, pipe that needed changing. So Love's did not put it in (a finance plan was never mentioned), but after reading your blogs, I have since learned that a finance plan is available. Today, September 2014, we had to call the Service back because we were having problems with water pressure and we thought that since the warranty was still in place, we could get it serviced. They came out on September 3rd. Low and behold when they came out, they said that the old pipe (that they had left in from last year) had a crack in it and it was rusted and it had to be removed (approx. $900)-REALLLY! (As told to me by my husband, ***** ******.) Once the service people left, my husband went into the kitchen and tried to turn on the water. It did not work. So he had to call your company again. A technician was sent out and started the water up again. He asked my husband, "Didn't the other technicians check the water before they left, my husband said no, and the service technician just shook his head. Not a thorough job I would say. UNBELIEVABLE!! Later, we did do some checking and was told that the old pipe that was left in last year should have definitely been taken out at that time. We were also told that their prices are simply OUTRAGEOUS! My husband also heard from one of their technicians that their Service IS TOO EXPENSIVE and that they (service technicians) are not given a break when they need their homes serviced-now that was eye-opening! If you treat your service people like this, we as customers do not stand a chance!! On Thursday, September 4th, I called their Company and spoke to their telephone person, Adam, regarding our receiving an itemized list of the services that were performed. I never received a return call. I called again on Monday, September 8th and left a message for Adam telling him about the itemized list that I would like to have sent to my home and for him to give me a return call. As of yet, no one has called. We still have a warranty on the services performed, but I truly hope that we will not have to call this company back to repair anything! I feel that we were overcharged! I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND GENE LOVES COMPANY TO ANYONE!
Product_Or_Service: Replace 1" well pipe 60' and labor

Desired Settlement
We are requesting a refund for $200, AND we believe that the work should be itemized.

Business Response
We are currently working on resolving this concern and contacting the customer.

10/13/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have called a three times to get an itemized list of charges. The bill just states minor diagnostics and no one has called me back to discuss this.
Electrician came out on 9/5/14 to look at the problem which we had no power in our living room and half of the garage. Within 20mins, when he plugged & unplugged a device the power restored on its own. He kept stating that he didn't know what the problem was. So he checked all the outlets and breaker. Still kept saying that "couldn't find the problem but I could try this..." He never said that if I do this it would cost etc. We were nervous with what he did say so we said okay. He was at our house for about an hour and a half. With a total work time for about an hour or less. The rest of the time he kept standing there and saying "I really don't know what the problem is, but there is one and I can't diagnose the problem because the power is back on." So after the tried all he could think of he said that he would write it up for "minor diagnostic fee." The bill came back listed as "minor diagnostics $187.00" He discounted and we signed up for the service partner plan. The total bill was for $254.00 we had a coupon for a free service call. So we paid the bill of $154.00 in cash. After he left we felt that the charges did not merit the little work that was done ($154.00 for an hour with no diagnosis of problem.) Also the advertisement states "flat rate pricing... no surprises" We were surprised since he didn't state any cost to us. I called on 9/9/14 and spoke with **** explained the situation about wanted the charges listed. I also wanted to possibly cancel our service plan if this matter was not resolved for I do not want surprise charges on those calls & he stated he would look into it and call me back. No one called back. On 9/15/14 I called again and spoke with ***** He stated that there were no notes on my complaint and he would get with the service manager. No one called back. So on 9/19/14 I called again and spoke with ***** He stated again that there were no notes and he will get with the service manager and call me back. **** did call back within the hour to let me know the manager was not in yet and that as soon as he was in he would walk over and talk with him directly and have the manager call me back with the information concerning my issue. No one has yet to call me back. I believe, now, that I was taken advantage of. I was not told the pricing prior to the work being done to make a decision and when ask for an itemized bill of the service that was done, I do not get a response from the company. I am very disappointed with the service.

Desired Settlement
I want an itemized list with pricing for the work that was performed. I want a fair price for the work performed and a refund for the difference. As I stated $154 for an hour of work is not reasonable. I also want to cancel the service plan that I signed up for.

Business Response
After receiving this complaint, we address this with the customer and were able to come to an agreeable resolution to the concerns.

08/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My tenant is complaining about the lower air conditioning unit not functioning. They "fixed" the unit for approx $5300 on two visits. Not working.
On 4/23/14 the HVAC repair was done. This was the quick fix. I received a text message from my tenant saying the work was unsatisfactory. The unit cut off completely 30 minutes after the technician left and that he left some exposed wires on the AC unit which could be a fire hazard. His text read "please do not pay him until the work is completed and approved", but I had already paid him by debit card over the phone. He returned on 4/26/14 to repair it for the amount of $5200 and it helped for nearly a month. I paid about $200 on debit and financed $5000 with Green Sky. On 5/20/14 I received another text from Dr. ****** that the same unit was not working and the forecast was for the weather to be very hot. There was a couple of day wait to have them come to look at it and my tenant insisted that I find someone who could come sooner. Not knowing who to call I called my real estate attorney on 5/21/14 who I had been using for other issues. He gave me the name of another company. I called them on 4/21/14 and they sent someone out to fix it on 4/22/14. The man asked me what they did. All I remembered was mold and I think the word capacitor and that it cost over $5200 to fix. He said he could have and should have replaced it for $4800 because of the age of the unit. I called right away and spoke to ***** at Gene Love and asked her for an itemized bill for what they did in April. I still have not received it.

Desired Settlement
When the technician talked with me about cleaning and "mold" and said it would take 8 hours to do all the work the next day, he called at about 1100 the next morning and said the work was complete and was asking for payment of the extra $200 that was not financed. I would like a total refund, because I paid about $250 to another company to work on it and he told me that the unit was too old to be spending money on it to fix it.

Business Response
We have contacted this customer in regards to her concerns and have to the best of our ability addressed any issues she has had. To our knowledge this concern has been resolved to the satisfaction of both parties. If there are any remaining issues, we urge our customer to please contact our office at (XXX)XXX-XXXX and request to speak with a manager or our customer concerns supervisor.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have not heard from them. I have sent a registered letter to them requesting an itemized bill and have not received the return card yet. I am not at all happy with their response. The air conditioning unit is working only because another company changed a fuse. Sincerely, ******* *****

Final Business Response
We have been in contact with the customer to figure out exactly what else she has required and as of today we have forwarded the final requested information to her via e-mail and to her requested mailing address. We believe this has been resolved at this time.

Page 1 of 3

Industry Comparison| Chart

Plumbing Contractors, Heating & Air Conditioning, Electric Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 11/06/1984Business started: 01/01/1981
Business Management
Principal: Ms. Tammy Cagle-Ferris (President)
Number of Employees

33

Business Category

Plumbing Contractors, Heating & Air Conditioning, Electric Contractors, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

Products & Services

This company offers plumbing repairs, backflow testing, and drain cleaning.

Alternate Business Names
Love, Gene Plumbing and Electrical Services Inc. Service Inc
Industry Tips
How to Select a Contractor

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Gene Love Plumbing, Air and Electrical Services, Inc.

1336 Methodist Park Rd

West Columbia, SC 29170-2842

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1336 Methodist Park Rd 

    West Columbia, SC 29170-2842(803) 719-5683

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central South Carolina and Charleston. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Gene Love Plumbing, Air and Electrical Services, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Plumbing Contractors

How to Select a Contractor
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.