BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/01/1983

Terminix Service, Inc

Phone: (800) 837-6464Fax: (803) 461-0827

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service2
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
12/21/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
When we purchased our home at *** ***** ****** Columbia, SC approximately 4 years ago, we also purchased the termite bond that was already in effect on this property.

We recently had significant flood damage to our home and in the process of having to tear out walls, found termite damage to a number of the studs in the house. When we attempted to file a claim with Terminex, we were told that this was damage that existed prior to our purchase of the home and that the previous owners had opted not to repair that damage. Therefore, we would not be eligible for any assistance with repairs at this time.

Spouse is *** ******** (XXX) XXX-XXXX and you may talk to him about this matter as well.

Desired Settlement
Since we were not advised that there was existing damage to our home at the time the home and the bond were purchased, we would like for Terminex to pay for replacement costs for the damaged studs in our home.

Business Response
Our local branch manager spoke with customer (Mrs.) a few minutes ago, she is actually the one who filed the complaint with the BBB. He inquired if she was aware that her Husband and he had already discussed this. She was familiar with bits and pieces of the conversation both had. He went back through everything with her and she just kept reiterating the fact that they were never made aware of any previous infestation or possible damages. She went as far as to say that she completely understands that no one could know about the damage or the extent of the damage in the wall because it was covered up, but that shouldn't excuse us from liability.

She was driving at the time of this conversation, but he asked anyhow if she had recently looked over their termite agreement with us. She said, "I haven't seen it in years and since the flood we may not even have it anymore". He then went on to inform her that at the time they ( ***** ********* Signature) signed the agreement it was disclosed on the graph that they signed. Showing areas of both previous infestation as well as Probable Hidden Damage. She immediately said, " If we signed it and were informed about it it has simply slipped our mind and I apologize". He agreed with her saying it happens, out of sight out of mind.

As the conversation ended she asked that we send her a copy of the termite agreement, this has now been done. He expressed to the customer that he thought the filing with the BBB must've been a misunderstanding and that she could be sure we will be able to work through this. She completely agreed and stated once she is able to look at the agreement she will be satisfied. we then looked at her file and it does disclose these areas and this was signed into contract on 5-30-2011.
Let us know if anything further comes of this complaint. Thank you.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
Thank you for helping us reach an understanding in this matter.

06/18/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The "Service Commitment" in the signed contract for Terminix Termite Baiting System was not honored.
May 22, 2013 I signed a contract with Terminix for a Termite Baiting System for my personal resident (home). ***** ********* was the sales representative who sold me the contract. I used a VISA credit card as payment for these services.
Mr. ********* came to my home and installed the termite baits in June 2013. He was very professional in his behavior and performance of installing the termite bait system around my home. Last year he was transferred to another Terminix office. After he left the terms of the contract were not honored. The Service Commitment says that the bait system was to be monitored periodically. The system has not be checked within a full year; June 2013-June 2014.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting a credit of $240 for the annual renewal fee of this contract for 2014/2015 with the understanding that I will pay the annual renewal fee in 2015/2016 upon the honoring of their contact.

Business Response
Local Branch Manager called the customer to discuss this with her. She now understands that we will monitor for the period of once per year minimally. The "periodic" language of the contract allows for any improvements to the current treatment system whereby more or less monitoring may be considered now or in the future. Since the customer feels that she was not fully informed of this upon the signing of the contract, our Branch Manager agreed to credit her termite contract renewal for 2014 in the amount of $240. Customer agreed that she would resume annual termite renewal payments in 2015.

10/11/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We had a one year contract with Terminix where every time the technician came to our property to work, we scheduled an appointment so I could be home the entire time and put away our dogs. After the initial visit which was $80.00, we paid the year-long contract price of of $272.00. One year and one week later, I come home to see a bill of $80.00 for "services rendered" from Terminix. I had not requested an appointment nor wanted to continue the contract. I called the company and told them about it and was told that the contract rolls over automatically if there is no cancellation, and was told to read the contract. I read the contract which states "After the initial period of one year, this agreement may be cancelled by either part on 30 days' written notice." Since this was indeed after the initial one year period, I understood that I had 30 days to cancel. I sent Terminix a letter that day to complete the cancellation and complain of trespassing on our property. The contract also states "The customer acknowledges that any account balance over 30 days old will be charged at an interest rate of one and one-half percent each month. This is an annual rate of eighteen percent."This is a scam on the part of Terminix for a poorly worded contract that is misleading. In addition, there is no way to verify if any work actually occurred at our location since nobody was present at the time. The bill of $80.00 is for a full inside and outside treatment, just like the first time. The technician wrote on the bill to contact him to complete the inside services. Since there was no appointment made, (like every other time) we did not expect any services to be performed. The technician should have informed us prior to his visit for safety and legal reasons. We also have two dogs and a fenced-in back yard so if the technician truly did perform any services, he put himself and our dogs at risk. The technician representing Terminix trespassed on our property by illegally entering without our knowledge or consent.
Product_Or_Service: Terminix one year residential pest control
Account_Number: XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like Terminix to stop sending us bills and to delete this false $80.00 charge. We paid up front for services that were scheduled by me and since this was a surprise visit, we have no way of knowing if any service was performed and we know for a fact the technician did not enter our residence, only our yard to slip the bill in our door. I would like a letter of apology for causing us trouble and for illegally trespassing on our property without our consent.

Business Response
Mrs. ****** contacted our office on 9/23/13 to ask about charges for the 9/11/13 service performed. It was explained to her that the service agreement is for one year and continues quarterly thereafter until cancelled by the customer(either party). The agreement states that it must be cancelled on 30 days' written notice. Mrs ****** did not contact us until 12 days after the service was performed. All of this was explained to her during her call to the office on 9/23/13. According to the administrative assistant that took the call Mrs. ****** requested that the service be cancelled. We agreed and when the admin. asked the reason for the cancellation(she has to add that to the notes on the account)Mrs. ****** indicated financial reasons. The admin. agreed to cancel at that time but explained to Mrs. ****** that she would be responsible for the $80 charge for the 9/11/13 service. She agreed to pay it and that is the last we have heard from Mrs. ****** until receiving this complaint. Terminix has adjusted of the $80 charge and will be mailing a letter of apology.

10/13/2014Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Pest Control Services

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.