BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central South Carolina and Charleston

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/20/2012

Candelabra Lighting & Home Decor

(843) 849-7775View Additional Phone Numbers1944 Long Grove Dr, Mount PleasantSC 29464-7583 Send email to Candelabra Lighting & Home Decor

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/20/2012

BBB has determined that Candelabra Lighting & Home Decor meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Candelabra Lighting & Home Decor's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 9 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

9 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Delivery Issues2
Problems with Product / Service7
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 9

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (9)BBB Closure Definitions
08/05/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor refund, exchange or credit policies

Complaint: I returned the Oly Luca table. Per the company's refund policy, I should receive credit on by credit card. The store is only offering me store credit.
******* ***** and ******* ***** are refusing to credit my credit card for an Oly Luca table that I returned.

They are only offering me store credit. I am refusing the store credit, I simply want my money back.

Per the store's Refund Policy, I should receive credit with the exact form of payment that I used originally. That original firm of payment was my credit card.

******* ***** has been rude, unprofessional, and lacking all sense of customer service.
******* ***** has completely ignored my complaints.

I do not want store credit. And Candelabra's own refund policy allows to have a credit refund on my credit card.

Initial Business Response
This customer was refunded in full on 7/10/2014.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

08/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Inappropriate behavior by customer service personnel

Complaint: Customer representative, *******, very unprofessional. Does not communicate appropriately. Raises voice. Inappropriate tone of voice. Incompetent
Purchase table on 4-5-13. To be delivered in 4 to 8 weeks. I had to initiate all communication to ask about shipping dates etc. now ******* is unable to contact shipping co as they won't answer the phone. She states this is not her fault. When I asked for supervisor she says she has none. When I ask for owner she says she is on vacation. She will say she will call back but never returns call. This item has been paid for over 2 months ago. I called last week and she said the shipping co would contact me, I told her I wld be on vacation to hold delivery until 24 th of June. She said it wld be here then. Now she can't reach the shippers and says they should have contacted me, very frustrating and I feel very put off. No excuse for this attitude or poor customer service.

Business' Initial Response
At the time of purchase it was communicated to this customer that her order could take anywhere from 4-8 weeks to arrive to the manufacture. The customer did call in to check on the order and was told the order was going to take the full 8 weeks to arrive to the manufacture. Which was not outside the realm of what she was quoted. The customer called in on the 8th week to alert us that she was going on vacation the following week and would not be able to accept delivery. It was made very clear to the customer that the freight carrier communicated directly with the end customer to schedule their delivery. We did alert the freight carrier that the customer was just alerting us of her vacation but asked if they could potentially schedule her appointment for close to her arrival date back from vacation. This was not promised to the customer. The customer claims that she did not hear from the shipping company-but according to the freight carriers documentation she was called and left a message but when the call was not returned the delivery could not be scheduled and the product remained in the delivery hub. The customer came back from vacation and was called again on the 27th to schedule her delivery for the following week. The delivery company gave this customer two days they were in her area and those dates did not work for the customer so her delivery had to again be rescheduled. The delivery company has very clear documentation of their attempts to contact the customer. I was also very clear with this customer to let her know that the delivery company is in charge of their schedule, that unfortunately we cannot dictate when the deliveries happen that the customer would have to work with the carrier service directly. While we do everything we can to ensure a smooth delivery-the customers last minute notification of her vacation delayed her delivery.As of July 8th-this customer had coordinated with the freight carrier to have her delivery by the end of this week.

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

03/24/2013Delivery Issues
03/05/2013Problems with Product / Service
08/06/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Failure to honor promised refunds, exchanges, or credit

Complaint: Candelabra's three managers refused to honor a store credit stating a 12 month expiration policy that had thier "hands tied".
I bought 3 lights for a kitchen remodel that were found to be the wrong scale. I found use for 2 and returned one for store credit (~$200). Unaware of the 12 month expiration on merchandise credit I filed away the card for an upcoming bed/bath reomodel. Now I want a $185 task lamp and 3 "managers" each told me the card exp and there was nothing they could do. I was not made aware of the 12 month expiration. Now I have no credit/no merchanise and was told the sales person (who no longer works there) "never had a problem stating policy" and "unfortunatly it's your word against his". It is unfortunate, and frustrating, especially considering the caliber of the store. And when I asked ******* what she might expect from a store had the same thing happened to her, she said "I guess I would've asked when the credit expired". Nice. I realize my fault in this when I assumed, wrongly, that an "award winnig" store wouldn't carry such an expiration policy. And I also assumed (wrongly) that a store can make acceptions/allowences.

Business' Initial Response
Mrs. ******** originally purchased these pendants more than two years ago on 4/15/11. As a courtesy to the customer we agreed to take one of these pendants back on 6/11/11, past the eligible return deadline of 10 business days, which is clearly listed on her receipt which was signed at checkout. At the time of the return Mrs. ******** was notified that the store credit she was being issued would only be valid for 1 calendar year. Not only are we past the one year deadline but also past two years since the original return. I sincerely apologize but the store credit is no longer valid and is unusable. Once the card has expired after one year it is void in the system. We have no way of re-issuing a credit or tracking what has been used on the credit.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
A 10 day return policy and a 1 year expiration on merchandise credit is unreasonable- especially for someone living out of town. A greedy store policy built on keeping client's money over repeat client business will not sustain- regardless of the number of awards you boast.

Business' Final Response
The customer purchased these items at our store location on 4-15-2011. The policies were clearly listed on the receipt, that the customer signed, at time of purchase. In an effort to work with the customer we waived the 10 day return policy on her original transaction and issued a store credit on 6-13-2011. It was communicated to the customer that the store credit would only be valid for 1 year or until 6-13-2012. It has been more than two years since the store credit was issued and it is not longer valid.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that despite the company's reasonable effort to address complaint issues, the consumer remained dissatisfied.

06/16/2014Delivery Issues
01/02/2013Problems with Product / Service
10/01/2012Problems with Product / Service
02/27/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Lighting Fixtures-Retail, Interior Decorators & Designers Supplies, Mirrors, Furniture-Retail, Bedding

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 02/28/2007Business started: 02/01/2001
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 2002, SC

Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Sara Moody (Sales Manager)Customer Contact: Ms. Whitney Moore
Number of Employees

9

Business Category

Lighting Fixtures-Retail, Interior Decorators & Designers Supplies, Mirrors, Furniture-Retail, Bedding

Products & Services

This company offers full service lighting and home decor for architects, designers, builders and every-day home owners. Candelabra Inc. was established in 2001 in Charleston, SC with a simple idea to bring a different variety of lighting product to our local market. Our goal remains today to allow our customer to experience the very best of what lighting and home decor has to offer. We strive to bring the most distinguished lighting and home décor designs and fashions to our customers. We have continued to source our products from all over the world for architects, designers, builders and every-day homeowners.

Industry Tips
Refunds, Exchanges, and Returns

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Candelabra Lighting & Home Decor

1944 Long Grove Dr

Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-7583

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1944 Long Grove Dr 

    Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-7583(843) 849-7775
    (800) 440-5121

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central South Carolina and Charleston. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Candelabra Lighting & Home Decor is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (800) 440-5121
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Lighting Fixtures-Retail

Refunds, Exchanges, and Returns
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.