BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/11/2009

Prestige Landscapes, LLC

(843) 572-9370115 Hickory Trace Dr, Goose CreekSC 29445-5452 Send email to Prestige Landscapes, LLC

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Prestige Landscaping has served the Charleston Tri-County area for 29 years. We provide quality installation of landscape materials and affordable irrigation systems that are well know suited to the climate and existing soil conditions in our area.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/11/2009

BBB has determined that Prestige Landscapes, LLC meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Prestige Landscapes, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Prestige Landscapes, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
10/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Prestige damaged driveway apron, refuses to fix it CORRECTLY and now has a collection agency threatening me with a lien and credit rating drop
We have withheld $1,000 from Prestige for damages done to our driveway. He has turned this over to a collection agency who is now threatening to put a lien on our house as well as notify the Credit Rating Agencies.

On a positive note, the end product was very good. However, ***'s crew damaged our driveway apron and cut our cable so we held back $1,000. Once we found out the cable company fixed the cable we sent a check for $200 which for someone reason he refused to cash ???? *** will tell you that he offered to fix this (a cosmetic patch job which he himself said wouldn't last . I have several estimates approx $800 so I am fully justified in keeping the $800. *** has now turned this over to a collections agency ... my email back to them should provide additional details . Bottom line , the man has no integrity and is unwilling to accept his mistakes. It's unfortunate since like I said above we love the finished product.
Email to collection agency:
1) we will not file a home owners insurance claim since we did not cause the damage nor do we want our rates to go up.
2) *** will tell you that he offered to fix the driveway apron ... but this was a patch job which he himself said it wouldn't last. I have written estimates for the replacement of the concrete apron (side triangles included so it is homogenous in color) OR to have pavers
installed that match the existing pavers in the driveway. These estimates range in price from $850 - $1,000.
3) We had sent a check for $200 (this is part of the $949.50 claim) to Prestige once we confirmed that Comcast would replace the cable that
they cut while doing the landscaping. Prestige refused to cash this for whatever reason.
4) We had a different contractor (unrelated to this claim) do some other work for us. Oil was spilt on the pavers in the backyard and he also
destroyed part of our lawn by driving his truck on it. He took RESPONSIBILITY for the damage he did (no questions or hassle ) by
replacing the damaged pavers and putting down new sod after the job was completed.
5) Prestige (***) admitted they did the damage and we were also told that he fired the foreman since there was multiple scrapes / gouges to the
concrete ... in other words, it didn't just happen once. Obviously an admission of guilt thought I doubt his Foreman was really fired.
6) We have lost one of the (4) bushes (Podocarpus) that was planted in the backyard. These were $60 each on the invoice and not sure of the labor cost, but this would be part of the $$$ being disputed.

Desired Settlement
Replace the damaged apron or use pavers to fix.

Remove house lien

Fix Credit Rating

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** *****, President
Contact Phone: (XXX)XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@plscape.com
This driveway was scratched. This customer lives in a neighborhood where all the driveways are installed at a harsh angle and it is impossible to get a trailer into the driveway without scratching it. This customer was difficult to deal with under the best of circumstances. When told that his idea for his hardscape was not going to work with drainage, he insisted we do it his way. Needless to say it had to be ripped out and reinstalled correctly. We did not charge him nearly what it cost us. We did his hardscape in January of 2015 and did landscaping in June without having been paid in full. If this customer was anything like reasonable, we could have worked it out, but he is not. We offered to patch the scratched area letting him know that it would not match. We told him in just a short time the scratches would blend into the color naturally, and they did. It's a good thing we didn't replace the apron as when driving by later we saw additional scratches on his driveway from another contractor. We have pictures from up and down his street of driveways with the same issues. We offered a $350 discount in addition to a $105 discount he was already getting. He refused our offer. He owes $949.50 and that includes all the discounts, even though we no longer feel obligated to give them. This is the one and only customer in 30 years of business that we sent to collections. We never take action when something can be worked out, and we have always been able to work something out, until this customer came along. Contractors beware.

Thank you for your consideration,
******** *****
Prestige Landscaping

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The key here are the statements from above response ... We offered to 'patch' the scratched area letting him know that it would not match. We told him in just a short time the scratches would blend into the color naturally, and they did. A patch will not work, as stated by *** himself ... the right fix requires the apron to be replaced. Several our neighbors had gotten estimates from Prestige to do paver work and once they saw the driveway they went to another contractor. Last point ... I had another contractor who spilt oil on the pavers and damaged the sod by the driveway. Without any questions, blaming others, poor design of the streets (really ???) he replaced the pavers, replaced the sod without any hassle or argument. In other words he took responsibility for the damage he did ... unlike Prestige.

Final Business Response
What the customer was told was honest. We could have patched it and called it done, but we knew that wasn't the best resolution for the customer in the long run. Replacing the apron was also not a realistic resolution either, as another contractor damaged the driveway after we were there. A discount was applied AS a resolution. The driveway is no worse than his neighbors because there IS a design flaw in the driveway construction. We will not be held further responsible for unavoidable damage.
I'm curious, did this other contractor offer a discount on the work they did as well as replace/repair the work? I doubt it. It was likely one or the other - not both. It makes absolutely no sense to replace an apron that will just be damaged again over time.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Since there is a design flaw in the driveway aprons in Carolina Bay (they are all pretty much the same) then I guess Prestige has no way of doing any additional paving work here ??? So is this development out of your scope for any new customers ???
Btw, discount doesn't cover the cost of a new apron.

@BBB .. obviously this will go back and forth but I have no intention of closing this since the contractor continues to make (poor) excuses why he doesn't want to fix what he damaged.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Landscape Contractors, Drainage Contractors, Landscape Designers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 03/02/2000Business started: 04/01/1986
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Business Management
Principal: Ms. Cinnamon Leigh (Owner)
Number of Employees

2

Business Category

Landscape Contractors, Drainage Contractors, Landscape Designers

Products & Services

Irrigation Systems, Landscape, Hardscape, Patios and Pavers, Sod Installation, Tree and Shrub Installation, Drainage Solutions, Landscape Lighting


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Prestige Landscapes, LLC has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Prestige Landscapes, LLC

115 Hickory Trace Dr

Goose Creek, SC 29445-5452

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 115 Hickory Trace Dr 

    Goose Creek, SC 29445-5452

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central South Carolina and Charleston. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Prestige Landscapes, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Landscape Contractors

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.