BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 02/13/2013

Southeastern Medical Supply

Phone: (803) 233-3691Fax: (803) 233-61402711 Alpine Rd STE 210, ColumbiaSC 29223-1114 Send email to Southeastern Medical Supply

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

We sell health and fitness items. Our products are designed to meet the needs of both professionals and home users. We also support business' wellness programs. We sell nationally via our web site (www.semedicalsupply.com) but in Columbia, stop by.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 02/13/2013

BBB has determined that Southeastern Medical Supply meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Southeastern Medical Supply's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Southeastern Medical Supply

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)
03/20/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have Pulmonary Hypertension and it is a fatal disease. I am in stage 4 and the right side of my heart has failed. My O2 has gone down to 58 and paralyzed me several times. I ordered a pulse oxiometer from Southeast Meadical Supply. After I sent in my first order, the doctor told me I needed a good one because my life would depend on it, as my O2 would fall so low. Before I even got the first one in, I called them and told them I wanted this one that was close to $200.00. I told them I would return the first one unopened, and they sent me the $200.00 one. This was in October. Well, after a couple of months, it quit working. I called them, and told them, and they were very rude and did not want to fix it. I told them I was trying to get on a list for a double lung and heart transplant, but they could have cared less. I sent it back and they did find a short in the chord and put another one on it. Sent it back. Well, last month, I was going to Emory University to a team of Drs. My oxiometer was giving me crazy readings, and was not working right. I called them again. They refused to fix it. It had a year warranty, but they still would not fix it. They were horrible and very very rude. I told them for $200.00, and still under warranty, and because I had a fatal disease, they should be nice and at least try to help. The manager told his secretary that he had spent enough time on me and the manager refused to talk to me and then they sent me 3 awful rude emails. Which I still have. They wanted to put a piece of another broken one on mine and make it work, and I refused, because it was still under warranty, and I am very sick. Did not have time for all of this hatefulness. I got my lawyer and financial advisor to call also. He never responded to them either. We never talked with the manager, and they sent me the old one that was broken back. For someone who has a fatal disease, and is facing a triple transplant, this is totally un acceptable! We are prepared to sue, and he can pay my ER bills too.
Product_Or_Service: CMS 60-F/ 1 year factory warranty
Order_Number: ***** (1st) XXXXX

Desired Settlement
I would like to swap it out for another one, kind around the same amount, but brand new, and not like the one I had. I have been in the ER 3 times due to wrong readings, and O2 fell too low. If they will not do that, then I would like a full refund, and will never buy from them again. My doctors said the one I had was a piece of junk, and it was. Especially $200.00 and been broken twice. They owe it to me for being so rude and to someone fighting for their life. That is just awful!

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******* President
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *****@semedicalsupply.com
So that we can ensure proper followup with our customers, we note all of our customer interactions within their order. The following information reflects our interaction with the customer.

Our relationship with the customer began 9/20/14 when she purchased a pulse oximeter (independently) online for $89. This device reads saturated blood oxygen % and heart rate and depending on function and quality can cost $20 to well over $1,800.

On 10/14/14 the customer called and said that she needed to return the item because she felt that she needed to buy something different. As part of our Terms and Conditions which must be acknowledged prior to purchase, we informed her that we only accept unopened or defective items as a return. She said that she had not opened the item and this is also when she made us aware of her medical condition. Given the amount of time that she had the product (about 3 weeks), we internally questioned whether it had not been opened but it light of her medical condition we provided a return number (RMA) for her to return the original item.

At that time the customer indicated that she wanted to purchase the unit which she ultimately ended up with. We advised against buying this unit because with the severity of her illness she needed something hospital grade. We reviewed with her the hospital grade options which were around $800 and up in cost. She indicated that she didn't have the resources to purchase these and she wanted the best unit she could purchase for around $200. So we aligned on the unit that she has for which she paid $169 (we provided a discount). It was sold with a 1 year limited warranty against manufacturer's defects.

Shortly after this second purchase, the returned first pulse oximeter was received by us. It was clear that the product had been opened - the seal had been lifted and there were visible fingerprints underneath this clear tape. We could not determine whether the product had been used. Nevertheless we provided the customer with a 90% credit which is higher than the 80% agreed to credit in our Terms for items that are returned in new, unopened condition. She had paid $88.95 for the item and was given a $80 credit.

Two weeks later (10/28/14) the customer called and indicated that the new unit was not working. Upon receiving the returned unit, we found that the cable that connects the device to the finger probe was broken. We informed the customer that this was a wear issue and not covered by the warranty but given the short time the customer had the unit, we replaced the probe free of charge and asked the customer to ensure that there is no tension put on the cable (it must have been wrapped around something). This was the first incidence of seeing this issue in 4.5 years with about hundreds of these units sold.

Around the end of February 2015, the customer called again and indicated that the unit was not working properly. We asked that she send the unit in. Upon receiving the unit, it was immediately clear that the cable was broken in about the same location as in the issue which had occurred previously. We told the customer that the issue was wear and tear and we would not be able to replace the probe this second time.

All or our communications were in a very respectful manner and what disappoints me the most in this situation is the customer indicating that we were rude. We were initially firm in our message that this was not a warranty issue but we were never, ever rude.

The customer became very upset and began making threats around lawsuits, etc. Upon thinking about the situation, we changed our position and informed the customer via email (didn't want to expose ourselves to any more threats and confrontational behavior) that we would freely provide her with a replacement probe which costs about $81. This was what the customer originally requested. We sent the tested unit via priority mail, in perfect working condition back to the customer and she received it on 3/4/15.

I appears that the customer would like a refund at this point given that she filed this complaint on 3/10/15.

In order to resolve the issue, we will provide a complete refund immediately to the customer of $168.95, the total amount paid, upon return of the pulse oximeter and of all related items back to us. It needs to be in the same condition and have all of the items as she received it on 3/4/15.

Due to the length of time that has passed from the original order, our refund will be in the form of a check - we can no longer credit back the credit card that was used to make the purchase. The customer will need to inform us through the BBB of who to make the check out to and the proper mailing address. we were told that the item was purchased by her mother and we need to ensure that the refund is sent to the correct person.

We wish the customer well with her medical situation and we sincerely regret that we could not have a mutually satisfying business/customer relationship. That is always our goal.

If additional information is needed please let me know.

Regards.

Final Business Response
Ms. Diaz\par,

Please note that we are waiting to receive two things from the customer :

1) The product returned in the same condition as what was sent to her a couple of weeks ago.

2) The information regarding who the refund check should be made out to.

We will quickly fulfill our obligation as soon as we receive these two things from the customer.

Thank you for your assistance in this matter.

Regards.
****** *******
Southeastern Medical Supply

03/03/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Order XXXXX
Sent wrong product. I returned it no refund issued.
I bought a wall mounted Blood Pressure unit which was expensive. I asked about needing a blood pressure cuff in a size large. I gave them the model unit I purchased from them earlier and they gave me a item number and I ordered it. I got a single line cuff when I needed a two line cuff. I paid $42.00 for it and called to return it and they gave me a RMA number.
I took it to the US Post Office and mailed it first class with tracking. The post office confirmed it arrived so after a month went by I sent an email asking where my refund was. Here is their response copied and pasted from their email.

I'm sorry Mr. *********. Your refund request was not processed because we
have no record of having received the returned cuff. We have a pretty
robust system with few returns but potentially, we could have missed it. Do
you have a tracking number for your shipment?

Thank you.

******

Because I misplaced the tracking number after the post office said it arrived I cannot get a refund. Why do I have to prove the got it instead of them proving they didn't get it. Why does the burden of proof always fall on the customer why not them. They even admit they could of lost it and instead of doing the right thing a multi million dollar company stiffs me after I have spent $500.00 over 16 months buying from them. They cannot afford to refund my $42.00 when I believe their shipping return department misplaced the order.

Desired Settlement
My $42.00 back.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *******, President
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@semedicalsupply.com
On December 1, 2013, Mr. ********* placed an order online for several items including a blood pressure cuff. We received a call from him on 12/10/13 indicating that he ordered the wrong cuff and would like to return it. We placed notes in his order file that he planned to return the cuff.

We have no record of receiving the returned cuff from Mr. ********* or having received a followup contact from him. Consequently no action has been taken.

In order to preserve good customer relations, today we have refunded Mr. ********* $42.91 on the assumption that he did indeed send the cuff and that it was perhaps lost during the Christmas mail. Mr. ********* was refunded through his email account - ***********@live.com via Paypal because the normal 60 day refund period had expired. The payment was from healthy ideas Inc. which is our corporate parent.

12/29/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Terrible customer service, very long wait times to get products needed for your own safety and health! Gives you the run Around over and over again
I had been waiting more than 30 days after my surgery to receive a wheelchair cushion to sit on. After weeks of waiting and countless phone calls, I still had no cushion. There were many doctor and surgeons written orders for one as I need it to sit in my wheelchair. I developed an ulcer because of this waiting without a cushion. After weeks of waiting I received the cushion, INCOMPLETE! It was missing the pump to air it up. Customer service is telling me the manager sent it with a pump. I am looking at the box and cushion, no pump! Very terrible experience dealing with this company.

Desired Settlement
All I have been waiting for is a complete cushion that I am able to use. Up to this point, more than 30 days later I haven't been able to get that.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******* President
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ********@semedicalsupply.com
We received a complaint from Mr. ****** on December 1, 2015 and responded the same day. The complaint centered around the receipt of an incomplete product and a resulting health issue.

This was our first contact with anyone around this issue (either in ordering a product or having a concern). As noted in our response, we are confident that this is a case of mistaken identity - the customer purchased the item from a medical supply store shipping out of Florida and he has been dealing with them and has unfortunately thought that our company is involved...

We only have one location and that is in Columbia, SC. We have received no calls from this individual, either before or after this complaint email, and have no record of shipping anything to this individual. There is a company of the same name located in Winter Haven, Fl and he may have dealt with them; I don't know.

We would be very happy and compelled to work with and satisfy this individual if he bought from us. If he can provide any order number, receipt, document or anything linking us to this purchase we will promptly address this.

What follows is his email to us and my response. He did not contact us after the response.

Response emailed 12/1/15

Hello,

I am sorry that your customer experience did not go well; however, it appears that we have a case of mistaken identity.
Our company is located in Columbia, SC (only location), has no ship point in Florida and has no record of selling any product to the below named patient.
We have not sold any bed cushions in several months.
If we can assist with any future needs, I am confident that we would more than meet your expectations. We have a A+ rating by the BBB and thousands of satisfied customers.
Should you decide that you would like to order online, please use coupon code 2015SAV10 for 10% off of your order.
Again, sorry for your bad experience.. but it was not us.

Regards.


****** *******
President
Southeastern Medical Supply
www.semedicalsupply.com
539 Clemson Road
Columbia, S.C. 29229
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Initial Complaint sent 12/1/15

Sent: Tuesday, December 01, 2015 11:56 AM
To: sales@semedicalsupply.com
Subject: Seat Cushion Complaint

Your company has terrible customer service! You sent me a seat cushion after more than 30 days of waiting and it's incomplete, missing the pump to air it up. I have been waiting so long I developed an ulcer due to not having my cushion. And after countless weeks of waiting and calling, I get a cushion missing a pump to air it up. I hope this email gets forwarded or read by your corporate office so they can hold the party responsible! People need supplies for their own health and safety, this has been the worst experience dealing with something I need to be healthy. Package was shipped from Florida location.
Order by patient name XXXXXXX of Port Saint Lucie, Florida

Industry Comparison| Chart

Hospital & Medical Equipment & Supplies, Vitamins & Food Supplements, Diabetes Services & Supplies, Medical Equipment & Supplies, Health & Medical (General), Oxygen Therapy Equipment

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/25/2007Business started: 06/30/2006
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 2006, SC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Cedric Waddell (General Manager)
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Hospital & Medical Equipment & Supplies, Vitamins & Food Supplements, Diabetes Services & Supplies, Medical Equipment & Supplies, Health & Medical (General), Oxygen Therapy Equipment

Products & Services

Our products include pulse oximeters, oxygen concentrators, blood pressure monitors, nebulizers, sphygmomanometers, handheld ECGS, fetal dopplers, stethocopes, pedometers, thermometers, TENs, We carry name brands such as Omron, ADD and Medquip

Hours of Operation
Mon: 08:30 AM to 05:00 PMTue: 08:30 AM to 05:00 PMWed: 08:30 AM to 05:00 PMThu: 08:30 AM to 05:00 PMFri: 08:30 AM to 05:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

If a product fails within the first month, return it to us and we will replace the unit, provided there has not been physical damage. We will support the manufacturer's warranty on products we sell for the first year. For products with warranty greater than a year, after the first year, we refer customers to the manufacturer.

Service Area

we sell nationally via our website and locally via website or walk-in

Alternate Business Names
Healthy Ideas, Inc.

Photos & Videos

Photographs

Select a thumbnail below to view the full-size image.

9 Photos

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Southeastern Medical Supply

2711 Alpine Rd STE 210

Columbia, SC 29223-1114

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 2711 Alpine Rd STE 210 

    Columbia, SC 29223-1114

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central South Carolina and Charleston. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Southeastern Medical Supply is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Hospital & Medical Equipment & Supplies

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.