BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central South Carolina and Charleston

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/10/2009

Ryland Homes

(843) 375-5555225 Seven Farms Dr Ste 200, Daniel IslandSC 29492-8353 Send email to Ryland Homes

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/10/2009

BBB has determined that Ryland Homes meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Ryland Homes' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Problems with Product / Service0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)BBB Closure Definitions
02/14/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Ryland has basically transferred the maintenance and/or replacement of this sub-standard drainage system onto the homeowners involved.


We brought our house from Ryland homes on 12/15/11. For six months we were having drainage problems in our backyard. On 6/4/2012 we notified ***** ********* We were not satified with the way Damon was putting us off, on September 23,2012 we sent a letter for mediation for our property. Nov. 9, 2012 we received a letter from Damon stating the work for our drainage easement would begin on Nov26, 2012. No work was started. On May 20, 2013 ***** showed up at our house to tell us he was going to do the work on our drainage easement. Finally in April of 2013 the work was done. Some delays were due to the rain but not all. Damon was having problems getting Dorchester County to approve the plans due to the wrong size pipes that he was using for the French drain. I had confirmed this information myself in speaking with the county. Damon told us the county ok the job, but didn't tell us they would maintain the drainage if they used the 15 inch pipes instead of the 6 inch that Damon used. My husband and I spoke with ******* ****** the town engineer and Shannon Hicks from DHEC and both confirmed this information.On Sept. 30,2013 I sent letters to ******* ******* developer, ****** ****** County engineer, Columbia National Retention Group, Inc. ***** ******** Ryland Homebuilding Manager. This is what we mentioned in the letter:We feel Ryland withheld important information from us, and mis-led when they told us the county "Okayed" the project. We want Ryland to redo the job to meet county standard, and until they do we are asking, and encouraging the county to withhold the$50,000.00 warranty bond from Ryland and the developer until this drainage system is completed to county standards. As of this date we have not heard from anyone. There is a drainage problem in this development as Ryland and ******* ****** has met with some of our neighbors and they are experiencing the same frustration that we are. We live in Myers Mill which is located in Summerville, SC. There are about 7 to 8 houses that are affected by this drainage.

Initial Business Response
Ryland Homes addressed a minor drainage issue in the rear yard swale at ***** and ***** *****'s residence in the Myers Mill Subdivision. Ryland sought and obtained the required permit from the Dorchester County Public Works Department prior to the commencing the work. The work was approved by the department of public works and the drainage concern was remedied. Ryland has been in touch with the public works department in response to the recent complaint over maintenance of the drainage swale. The public works division feels that the work was done in a workmanlike manner and no further action is necessary. Maintenance of the drainage swale is not Ryland's responsibility.



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Ryland Homes did not put in the right size pipes in for the County to maintain the drainage. We spoke with ******* ****** county engineer and he told us Ryland did not put in the 15 inch pipes required by the county. Ryland put in 6 inch pipes and put the responsibility of maintenance on the homeowner. The county originally was responsible for maintenance. Ryland was not honest in telling us that. Nine homes were done but it did not fix the problem completely. We would like the proper size pipes put in so the county will be responsible for the maintenance.

09/26/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Disputed warranty coverage and/or terms

Complaint: In short my complaint is that Ryland Homes has breached their expressed warranty and the implied warranty based on SC law.
I purchased my new construction home on May 17, 2011. I had my HVAC (Air conditioning/cooling) twice in 2012 as recommended. I had the system inspected both times by the same contractor hired by Ryland to install the system (Anderson Heating and Cooling). Both times the system was said to be working properly. In April of 2013 I began to notice the system was not quite cooling the same and that it seemed to run longer on automatic. I contacted again Anderson Heating and Cooling on April of 2013 (my phone records show) to have them look at the system. I advised them that my routine maintenance was coming up and they advised they would look at the system at that time to save me from a separate service call. They set the maintenance date at the end of May a week after the expressed warranty period for HVAC issues ended. Ryland Charleston has specific dates I already provided to them. The certified HVAC tech advised me on the visit he added 1lb of refrigerant but that the unit was working just fine. The end of June 2013 and early July 2013 the system begin to have the same issues I advised Ryland's HVAC contractor of back in April. On July 2nd 2013 the system had a complete failure. I again contacted the HVAC contractor Ryland hired to install the system on July 3rd 2013 to repair the system. They advised the system had a leak of refrigerant and needed immediate repair. They advised me the warranty period expired and I must pay for the repair to the sum of $875 or deal with the extreme heat with my family. I had the repair done and immediately filed a warranty claim. Ryland Charleston changed its location and failed to advise homeowners of the change. As a result, my original warranty claim was not received. I called Ryland Charleston to follow up and they advised me to resubmit online as I did. After much back and forth my claim was denied. I believe I did everything I could as a good homeowner should. I had Ryland's contractor look at the system and they failed to recognize the problem in a timely manner. As a consumer, I relied on the expertise of Ryland contractor and Ryland refuses to honor their warranty. My home has rooms were the ventilation and duct work was done improperly and very little air comes out of the vents. My unit was leaking refrigerant in the attic for months. My unit is unable to achieve proper temperatures even running for hours. It is inefficient causing me to have higher than normal electric bills. Due to the temperatures in my area, my home would simply not be habitable without a proper running HVAC system. I contacted the manufacture of the HVAC unit who advised a HVAC failure of that nature was probably due to a poor install. My foundation is starting to crack on the home, which I would like to simply have it inspected as it may not be a major issue.

Initial Business Response
I did respond to this complaint when I first received it and am not sure what happened that it wasn't delivered.

Ryland has investigated this matter and has refused to reimburse the customer. The leak in the owners coil was discovered after the labor portion of the warranty had expired. The parts warranty was still if effect and was covered. The maintenance agreement for the hvac equipment was between the owner and another entity not affiliated with Ryland.

Since the original time this complaint has been filed Ryland has visited the home and inspected the concrete cracks.It was conveyed to the customer this are typical concrete shrinkage cracks and not a structural problem.



Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Ryland Homes did in fact check the foundation, which I am satisfied with. However, the other entity Ryland Homes is referring to was in fact their contractor (Anderson Heating and Cooling) hired by them to install the unit in my home. This is also the same contractor who they advised me at closing and post construction meetings to use to maintain the warranty and maintenance on my unit. It is a fact that they no longer use the contractor currently, a fact they are using to distance themselves from this issue. I have recorded telephone conversations with a Ryland employee working on this issue stating that they believe the unit was most likely leaking before the warranty period expired, but it was not relevant because I was unable to detect it myself as if I were an HVAC technician. I have recorded conversations of Ryland's upper management advising they are friends with the owner and technicians of Anderson Heating and Cooling. I can provide these recordings and names. I in fact called Anderson before the warranty period expired when the unit was having issues and they scheduled the service call a week after the warranty expired and added refrigerant. Ryland's contractor Anderson has refunded the maintenance agreement after admitting they made a mistake and should have noticed the leak earlier and should not have scheduled the appointment after the warranty period, which I also have recorded conversations of. I also have a recorded conversation with Ryland's senior management advising he was willing to help but they did not want to set a precedent. I assume the precedent is doing what's right and helping a homeowner. I just want this company to do whats right and refund me $875 labor charges.


Final Business Response
Ryland does not consider this circumstance reimbursable.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined that while the company addressed the complaint issues, the complainant was dissatisfied and the matter was outside BBB Rules of Arbitration.

06/27/2013Guarantee / Warranty Issues
10/10/2012Guarantee / Warranty Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Builders

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/06/2006Business started: 01/01/1967
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: November 1985, MD

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Michael Boyle (Manager)Mr. Larry Nicholson (Chairman, President, COO & CEO)
Number of Employees

50

Business Category

Home Builders

Alternate Business Names
The Ryland Group, Inc.
Industry Tips
Buying An Unbuilt Home
Storm Clean-up Schemes Cause Additional Heartache

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Ryland Homes

225 Seven Farms Dr Ste 200

Daniel Island, SC 29492-8353

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 225 Seven Farms Dr Ste 200 

    Daniel Island, SC 29492-8353(843) 375-5555

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central South Carolina and Charleston. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Ryland Homes is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.