BBB Business Review

This Business is not BBB Accredited

Manor House Builders of South Carolina, LLC

(843) 377-1312215 E Bay St Ste 504, CharlestonSC 29401-2638http://www.manorhousesc.com

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

Manor House Builders of South Carolina, LLC is not BBB Accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Manor House Builders of South Carolina, LLC's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Manor House Builders of South Carolina, LLC

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
03/06/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
MANORHOUSE HAS FAILED TO REPLACE TRIM/QUARTERROUND AROUND THE FRENCH DOORS AFTER A MONTH OF CALLING. GARAGE DOOR INTALLED INCORRECTLY.
AFTER NUMEROUS EMAILS AND PHONE CALLS, WHICH UNLESS I AM ABLE TO SPEAK TO SOMEBODY I NEVER RECEIVE A RETURN PHONE CALL. 12/23/14, AN EMAIL WAS SENT TO THE CHARLESTON OFFICE INFORMING THEM THE GARAGE DOOR WAS NOT WORKING PROPERLY DUE TO NOT BEING INSTALLED PROPERLY, ALSO AN EMAIL STATING THE TRIM AROUND MY FRENCH DOOR AND HARDWOOD FLOORS NEEDED TO BE REPLACED DUE TO WATER DAMAGE FROM THE FRENCH DOOR LEAKING. THE HARWOOD FLOOR WAS REPLACED ROUGHLY A MONTH AGO AND THE TRIM AROUND THE DOOR HAS YET TO BE REPALCED. ALSO, DURING INSTALLATION OF THE HARDWOOD FLOORS, THE QUARTER ROUND WAS SPLIT AND NEEDS TO BE REPLACED. ALSO,2/13/15 I CALLED TO INQUIRE ABOUT THE STATUS OF THE GARGE DOOR AS GENIE (THE MAKER OF THE GARAGE DOOR) STATES THE GARAGE DOOR MOTOR DOES NOT WORK DUE TO THE GARAGE DOOR NOT BEING PROPERLY BALANCED DURING INSTALLATION. WHEN I CALLED I WAS ASKED WHAT I WANTED MANORHOUSE TO DO ABOUT IT. AS IT WAS INSTALLED INCORRECTLY I WOULD LIKE IT FIXED BY THE BUILDER. I WAS TOLD I WOULD RECEIVE A PHONE CALL ON MONDAY 2/16 REGARDING THE GARAGE DOOR, AND HAVE NOT HAD A RETURN CALL.

Desired Settlement
I WOULD LIKE THE TRIM & QUARTERROUND AROUND THE FRENCH DOOR REPALCED,AND THE GARAGE DOOR TO BE REPLACED OR REPAIRED.

Business Response
We appreciate your feedback. The home you purchased on 9/4/12 is passed the 1 year comprehensive warranty which would have covered all of your requested repairs. We did come in and repair the flooring due to the French Doors that had water intrusion after we installed the gutter to divert the water. We have been trying to schedule some time with you all to get in and evaluate what material needs to be installed/replaced and are missing each other. We called you on 2/17, I'm sorry we missed our date. Your concern about the garage door being unbalanced at installation and that is why it isn't working now seems to be the opinion of the garage door manufacturer based on a phone call. If there was an issue with the garage door prior to your warranty being up, we would have addressed it, but this is now a homeowner maintenance issue. We hope that you are available to us to come in and address the quarterround and trim issues around your door. Good luck in selling your home as we see you have it listed, I know it is stressful and we will try to get this work done as soon as your schedule allows. Thank you!

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Builders

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/07/2009Business started: 10/26/2004
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Hilton Smith, Jr (Owner)Mr. Christopher Smith (Owner)Mr. Hilton Smith III (Owner)
Number of Employees

5

Business Category

Home Builders

Industry Tips
How to Select a Contractor

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Manor House Builders of South Carolina, LLC

215 E Bay St Ste 504

Charleston, SC 29401-2638

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 215 E Bay St Ste 504 

    Charleston, SC 29401-2638(843) 377-1312

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central South Carolina and Charleston. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Manor House Builders of South Carolina, LLC is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Home Builders

How to Select a Contractor
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.