BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/14/1991

Centex Homes-Charleston Division

Phone: (843) 740-7270Fax: (843) 740-7280View Additional Phone Numbers4000 Faber Place Dr Ste 110, North CharlestonSC 29405-8585 Send email to Centex Homes-Charleston Division

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/14/1991

BBB has determined that Centex Homes-Charleston Division meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Centex Homes-Charleston Division's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Centex Homes-Charleston Division

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
04/20/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details

The leaking master shower at *** ****** *** *** Summerville, SC still not fixed after several failed attempts to fix it.
On Aug. 12, 2010 a leak in the master shower was reported to the Pulte Group and asked to be repaired under the warranty agreement. This leak caused damage to the drywall outside the shower. This has been an ongoing issue that has not been properly resolved. E-mails were sent on Jan. 17, 2013, Jun 30, 2014, Aug. 11, 2014, Nov. 11, 2014, Dec. 29, 2014 and Apr. 5&7, 2015 regarding having the repairs completed. Each time we were sent a responding e-mail and a Pulte representative would take a look at the leaks and apply a quick fix which failed to fix the problem. Recent attempts to contact the Pulte Group to fix the leaks in the shower have been futile. The e-mails sent on Apr. 5&7, 2015 have been given no response as was a voicemail sent to the Warranty Agent on Apr. 8, 2015. Currently, there is a hole in the drywall outside the shower where a quick fix was applied. This and the leaking shower need a permanent repair.

Desired Settlement
I would like to have the wall and the leaks in the master shower repaired under the warranty agreement in a timely manner. Even it requires removing and replacing the existing shower enclosure.

Business Response
PulteGroup Customer Service Representative has contacted this customer and the shower door contractor performed the shower door repair on 4/14/2015. The customer will begin using the shower on 4/17/2015 and will contact the Customer Service Manager within 2 weeks to confirm the leak is corrected. Once confirmed, PulteGroup's CSM will schedule the drywall and paint touch up repair at the customers convenience and follow through to completion and satisfaction of the customer.PulteGroup apologizes for the breakdown and inconvenience caused to this customer.

06/24/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Centex Homes has my earnest deposit, $3,000, but cannot supply me with a product to meet the needs of my family.
My complaint is with Centex Homes. Centex Homes has my earnest deposit, but cannot supply me with a product to meet the needs of my family. I asked to change to a cheaper lot and begin construction on a home for my 2 children and me. I explained that my husband would probably not be in the picture. I told them my family and I were displaced and pressed for time. Although I had a conditional approval for the loan solely under my name (as my husband and I agreed) I did not want to put myself in a position of pass occurrences in the market (IE. foreclosure) with 2 children. I was informed by ******* ****, sales consultant, that I could construct a new home to be built by September and to bring $1350- the balance of the $3,000. After doing so I was called and told that I had to wait on a verified approval from underwriting. I informed them that pushing back the time would not permit me to build. My kids needed to be in a home before my lease was to expire. I informed them I needed my money returned, so I could find a home that was already constructed. ******* **** and ******* with ***** Mortgage informed me that return of earnest deposit was contingent upon financing. Thereafter ******* **** stated I would have to wait for underwriting to send a rejection letter in 2 weeks for the decision to be made by her manager, along with me signing a cancellation letter. The rejection letter was based upon not having funds to close in 30-days, but based upon the house I was still under contract for I can be approved. They portray helping families get in affordable homes, but they were not trying to understand the situation for my children. I need the earnest funds to find a new home for my children.
If ***** Mortgage and Centex Homes are not legally supposed to discuss your financial situation why was I not permitted to change lots? I know I possibly could not afford to handle that mortgage without my husband. I informed ***** and Centex Homes SC I was making the best situation for my family, although I was always qualified solely based upon my income. ******* **** would not permit me to speak to the district supervisor when I requested to do so.

Why would ***** return a rejection and not what you could qualify for? The rejection was not a complete rejection. It was based upon inability to verify a portion of documentation that could be verified in 30-days when we were to closed. That could have been stated to be presented at closing. This is closely related to when they verify your credit score or bank statements at closing (IE verify funds).

Desired Settlement
Refund earnest deposit, $3,000; or supply a product that meet the consumer's needs within their means.

Children are your future advertisement why would you want them to be displaced. I need the earnest money to find them a new home. We sold our home and ******* **** assured me waiting and as a company of service they would do what was in the consumers best interest.

The discriminatory (financially/ racially) decision to not permit me to change lots should have not permitted them to accept the remainder ($1350) of the earnest deposit. I had just dropped the check that day, I was not permitted to return to pick it up. And, if ***** and Centex Homes (as I was informed) are not to discuss financial information of the consumer; why was I not permitted to change lots? If I had an outside lender they would have, because they would have an approval. The new property should have started me over in the process.

The time-frame to verify permits and get an approval would have been simultaneous. If the approval returned rejected new permits could be written for new consumer no loss for Centex Homes.

Business' Initial Response
Contact Name and Title: Jamie Waite - Process Mng
Contact Phone: 843-746-3564
Contact Email:
Customer was refunded money. Customer also informed that they would withdraw complaint on our company. Has this been done?
***** *****

02/03/2014Problems with Product / Service
05/17/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Home Builders

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 04/05/1991Business started: 04/01/1981
Business Management
Customer Contact: Jamie Waite (Manager Process Improvement)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. William Cutler (Division President)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Home Builders

Products & Services

This company offers construction and sales of new homes.

Alternate Business Names
John Crosland Company, Crosland, John Company, Centex Homes
Industry Tips
How to Select a Contractor

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Centex Homes-Charleston Division

4000 Faber Place Dr Ste 110

North Charleston, SC 29405-8585

To | From


1 Locations

  • 4000 Faber Place Dr Ste 110 

    North Charleston, SC 29405-8585

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central South Carolina and Charleston. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Centex Homes-Charleston Division is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


Additional Phone Numbers

  • (803) 750-0101

Additional Email Addresses


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Home Builders

How to Select a Contractor

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.