BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Central South Carolina and Charleston

BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/30/2001

Tri City Fuel & Heating Co Inc

Phone: (803) 796-9172Fax: (803) 739-5636

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues2
Problems with Product / Service5
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
10/23/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My AC repair was not done properly and went out again a week later & they still want me to pay for the same fuse replacement again.

My AC went out on a Friday afternoon and I called Tri City. A repairman came right out and replaced 2 fuses in about 15 minutes and charged $242.00. I had the same problem a little over a week later on a Saturday.
The repairman came out and said he had to replace one of the same fuses as the Friday guy. He said it was because the Friday guy failed to do something with a ground wire which caused fuse to short out again. I have called to complain and apparently they still want me to pay an additional $125.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund of $125.

Business Response
After an investigation of the customer's complaint, Tri City has determined that the customer's complaint is valid. A full refund in the amount of $125 will be issued to the customer. The customer has been contacted by a customer service representative to inform her of our intention to issue a refund as per her request. We regret the oversight and the delayed response. Tri City had not received a complaint from the customer concerning the issue prior to receiving the BBB complaint. Had we been made aware of the issue earlier, we would have responded in a more timely manner.

08/22/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Unreturned calls to the owner regarding defective part installed as part of our new Lenox a/c system.
5/3/2014 - Initial call for service due to a/c not cooing house. A/C was purchased new November 2011.
Service repair man determined the amp connector had melted and the unit and needed to be replaced.

5/14/2014 - amp connector replaced and service repairman indicated there was a defective part that caused the coolant to leak causing the damaged to the amp connector. He stated a "leak search" would be performed the following week. Added coolant and charged me $1,040.00.

~ 5/20/2014 - no word from Tri City. Called and spoke with ***** who scheduled the leak search. She stated it would be $49 which was the amount of our warranty deductible.

6/3/2014 - leak search completed and was billed $181.00.

6/20/14 - installation of defective part. Received bill for $771.00

Called to speak with ***** and was told she was at the bank. Requested to speak with the owner and was transferred...***** answered the phone. She stated the owner was Bill. Left message for him to call me.

No word the next day. Called and asked to speak with Bill the owner and was told he had not been the owner for 10 years. **** was now the owner. Left message for ****.

No word the next day, called and left another message. Received a call from ***** that evening indicating ****'s father was ill and had been hospitalized.

Waited 3 days and called back since he had not called me. Was told that ****'s father died and that they did not know when he would call me back.

It is now July 22nd. I have received no call back from ****, I have paid $1,040 due to a defective part on the new unit, and have received $952.00 in more bills.

I would like **** or whoever the owner is to call me back to arrange for a refund of the $1,040 that I have paid as well as removing the $952 in charges from my account.

Desired Settlement
$1040.00 plus removal of all outstanding charges $952.00.

Business Response
TriCity clearly communicated to the customer following the initial service call to their home, that the 100 amp disconnect was defective and must be replaced due to the shorted and burned wires in the electrical box. The disconnect, was not covered under any manufacturer's warranty or extended warranty because it is not self-contained within the heating and cooling equipment. It is field mounted on an exterior wall to allow high voltage power to feed the operation of the equipment itself. This was clearly explained to the customer. A price to replace the defective part, as well as the price to recharge the system with R22 refrigerant was quoted and the customer gave approval for the necessary repairs via a telephone conversation with our service representative. The customer was advised that a leak scan was also necessary in order to identify the source of the refrigerant leak. It was also explained that once the source of the leak was determined, all parts and labor pertaining to the refrigerant leak would be 100% covered under the extended warranty as well as the leak scan that was performed. Tri City added the freon to the system and performed the leak scan as agreed to by the customer. As a result of the leak scan it was determined that the indoor blower coil was the source of the leak. The defective part was ordered from the manufacturer and subsequently replaced under warranty as promised by Tri City. The customer was not billed for any amount related to the covered procedures or repairs. The customer did receive an invoice that documented the warranty repair of $771.00 as well as the $181.00 charge for the leak scan procedure, both of which were included in the pending warranty claim. Both of these invoices were clearly marked "complete care warranty" and were only intended for the customer's personal records. No payment for invoices #XXXXX-XXX or #XXXXX-XXX was required or demanded. Tri City acted in complete good faith and clearly communicated with the customer throughout the repair process. We filed the proper warranty claims related to the covered repairs and procedures and billed the customer appropriately in all matters. No refund related to any of the above described transactions or charges is applicable.

07/15/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Tri-City does not honor yearly service agreement (2 visits per year). It's been 8 mos since unit serviced. Can't get them to come out or call me back.
Purchased a new Rheem Heat/Air unit 10/2009 from Tri-City to include extended warranty. Condition/agreement stated that we had to maintain yearly service (spring/fall) for warranty to stay in effect. We've done that. The unit failed this past Oct 2010 and a part was replaced at no charge per service agreement. The unit has not been serviced since! Agreement was renewed March 2013. I called in March to schedule spring service and was told by *****, Service Manager, "Its too cold & we're running behind, we'll call you when the ticket comes in". Did not hear from them in April. I called early May and was told ***** would call me back. She did not. I called a week later and ***** said she didn't get my message. ***** scheduled "Spring" svc for Thur, June 13th. On June 13th, morning of svc, they called and said it needed to be rescheduled .. "will call you next week". I called, asked for the owner, was told he was on another line & would call me back. I called again at noon, spoke w/ ***** and told her, "Pull my file, hand it to Mr. *****, tell him I'm not happy with service, not honoring contract, and call me". Also told them that I would call BBB if I needed to. Have yet to hear from Mr. ***** or any of his employees! ** Told them that this is my 80 year old mother's house. I am her daughter, caregiver, power of attorney. I own the house and pay the upkeep. When I schedule these type service calls, I have to coordinate with the my employer, Medical Office, to make sure our office is covered. So for Tri-City to call & cancel at the last minute, then not commit to a new appt, only complicates my responsibilities to my employer and as a care-giver to my mother!!!!

Desired Settlement
Settlement?? Just honor your contract!! I paid you in good faith to provide a service. I chose your company over *** ******** & ******* because I feared the larger companies might not be able to keep up with the demand of a large client base. My thinking, "smaller company - probably needs the business - better customer service - maybe I'll be a name with a face, not just a name & a zip code"! Appears now that you can't handle your small client base. ***** is rude. And I'm stuck with an extended warranty that won't be honored if I move my business. It's Friday, June 14th, 3:00pm and you've still not called. Let's just leave it at that. Oh yeah, one more thing .. one have one thing in common .. we both use ******* & *****!!

Business' Initial Response
Tri City certainly apologizes for the delay this year in completing the planned service maintenance for Ms.********* in accordance with her service agreement. We did in fact complete Ms.*********'s service as per the agreement on June 14, 2013 just prior to our receiving this complaint on June 20, 2013. We apologize for the inconvenience and the lack of acceptable responsiveness to the customer.

Tri City was delayed in beginning our pre-season service due to the unseasonably cold temperatures that we experienced in February and March which is our normal schedule to begin routine service. This coupled with our attempt to give priority service to customers that were without cooling during the recent hot weather has caused us to become delayed even further in our normal scheduling of planned maintenance. The terms and conditions of the service agreement states that "It is understood that Tri City will service equipment at their convenience, once during the heating season and once during the cooling season.", in order to allow for possible delays.

We sincerely regret the customer's recent experience and will do everything reasonably possible to avoid future delays in service. We would be happy to extend a $15 discount to Ms. ********* on her XXXX-XXXX contract renewal as a token of our desire to show good faith and appreciation in our business relationship.

09/13/2013Problems with Product / Service
07/30/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
08/07/2012Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Heating & Air Conditioning, Duct Cleaning, Air Conditioning Contractors & Systems

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.