BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/28/2003

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/28/2003

BBB has determined that Carolina Gutter Helmet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Carolina Gutter Helmet's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Carolina Gutter Helmet

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
09/04/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to respond appropriately and in a timely manner to a needed repair
Motorized 12 ft. retractable Sunsetter Awning Installed May 2010 by Carolina Gutter Helmet, Greer, SC.cost $2,500. June 2015 remote control would not rewind awning. FIRST repair call early June..no response..SECOND call June, 15 due to impending severe thunderstorm. They responded and rewound awning by hand but made NO REPAIRS. When I asked what was wrong I got conflicting responses from the workmen. One told me I couldn't replace the remote battery because that needed to be done by the vendor, but another said that was not the case. One seemed to think a new motor was needed, another didn't. I felt as though no one was well prepared. THIRD call June 24 to check on likely repair date. Vendor did call back June 31 (fourth call) to say too busy right then but would get back to me. FIFTH Call: I WAITED UNTIL JULY 28, ONE FULL MONTH, before calling again and whenever I call all messages have to left on voice mail. SIXTH call July 29 Vendor called and promised to put me high on the list. At this point I had been waiting 2 months for repairs.
On AUGUST 8 repairmen came...did not replace the motor, did replace the broken catch for the hand crank rod. Awning operated once and they said it was okay..I was very skeptical but I could retract the awning that night. The next time I tried to use the awning on August 8 it rolled out but could not be retracted, which is what happened initially. The hand-crank rod could not be used to retract the awning because it appears to have been installed incorrectly. I got a neighbor to crawl up on the roof and roll up the awning. SEVENTH call Sunday August 9 to inform vendor repairs were not done and I would not pay the $125 invoice until they were.
EIGHTH call, Monday, August 9 vendor said he would call manufacturer, Sunsetter, and get back to me. As of today, August 26, I have hear nothing. It has now been nearly 3 months of frustration trying to get this problem solved. In the 50+ years I have had homes in four different states, I have NEVER reported any vendor or service supplier to a BBB, or a media consumers guide such as Angie's List. This time I am tired of being stonewalled.
The Sales Rep was ***** ******* with Gutter Helmet. Payment was by check: two for $1250 each, one at the time of the installation contract and the other on completion.

Desired Settlement
I would like to have this problem solved. If the vendor is incapable of doing that, I would like to know that so I can contact the national offices of Sunsetter to see if they can help.

Business Response
Our work crew has this reported problem on their schedule for tomorrow... We will go there(9-1-15) and evaluate this problem and correct as needed.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
The company responded on September 1, 2015. This time a sales representative from Sunsetter Awnings accompanied the work crew. It was determined the awning had been put in the wrong location when it was initially installed in 2010, although it appears the instructions of the original sales person (not the one who came this time) were followed. The awning was initially anchored to the roof which prevents using the crank wand to move the awning in or out if the motor should fail or the power go out. They moved the awning from the roof to the soffit (where it should have been in the first place). This cost ME $325.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Gutters & Downspouts, Windows, Awnings & Canopies

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/28/2003Business started: 01/01/2002
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. John R. Hutcherson (Managing Member)
Number of Employees

10

Business Category

Gutters & Downspouts, Windows, Awnings & Canopies

Alternate Business Names
Sunsetter Awnings, Gutter Helmet, Snap Lock Gutters

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Carolina Gutter Helmet

2053 Island Tr

Chapin, SC 29036

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central South Carolina and Charleston. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Carolina Gutter Helmet is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (877) 687-4888
X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Gutters & Downspouts

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.