BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/18/2008

Crawford Electric

(803) 767-1311PO Box 12121, ColumbiaSC 29211-2121 Send email to Crawford Electric

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/18/2008

BBB has determined that Crawford Electric meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Crawford Electric include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review Customer Reviews on Crawford Electric

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 1 Customer Review

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
05/09/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Sprinkler lines cut when new electric lne was trenched.
I had a new electric service line run by Crawford electric and after that my sprinkler system no longer worked. I asked if they could have cut the line and the company owner denied it. I recently had a sprinkler company come out to fix the system. They found where the sprinkler line was cut right along where the new electric lines were laid. I want Crawford to pay for fixing the sprinkler lines they cut.

Desired Settlement
Pay for the damage to the sprinker lines and having them repaired.

Business Response
This work was completed 2 years ago 2-20-14.
If we damaged the sprinkler line in our repair
of the electrical line I would be glad to take
care of the bill.
I would like to see the invoice for the repairs.

Consumer Response
I have copy and pasted the response from the sprinkler company here. If it would help I can also forward a picture of the damage as the sprinkler company dug it up last week to find the damage and estimated the repairs or Mr ******** can come to my hours and inspect the damage himself..

From Busy Bee Sprinkler Co:

Hi Mr. *****, per our conversation the other day I wanted to give you the estimate for repairs that you requested.

Repairs will be as followed where the damages are: We will excavate the area to access all damages to the irrigation supply lines. Removal of all damaged lines will be needed and followed by reconnecting with all new material. If irrigation wire at damaged lines cannot be completely located or repaired, new lines will have to be ran from the control box to the valves. That will include having to locate the valves that the damaged lines supply.
After all damages are correctly repaired we will have to test and tune up all irrigation zones that the lines supply. This being because damages have been subject to having mud and debris sent through the lines from not being properly repaired beforehand.

I am estimating all cost of labor and material to be approximately $1000.00 total. Any further damages or repairs will be discussed as needed.

If you have any questions or concerns please feel free to contact me back any time via email at *********@yahoo.com or by phone at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Thank you,
****** ****

Final Consumer Response
This issue has been resolved. I am happy with the arrangement with Crawford Electric and can close this issue with no further action needed.

Thank you for your help and assistance.

Sincerely,

***** ** *****

Industry Comparison| Chart

Electric Contractors

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/18/2008Business started: 01/01/2003
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Daniel Crawford (Owner)
Number of Employees

3

Business Category

Electric Contractors

Products & Services

This company offers residential and commercial electrical contracting.

Industry Tips
How to Select a Contractor

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Crawford Electric has received 5.0 out of 5 stars based on 1 Customer Review and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview
LocationsX

1 Locations

  • PO Box 12121 

    Columbia, SC 29211-2121(803) 767-1311

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central South Carolina and Charleston. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Crawford Electric is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Electric Contractors

How to Select a Contractor
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.