BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 02/06/2009

SCE&G

Phone: (800) 251-7234Fax: (803) 933-7255

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

30 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 16 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues23
Problems with Product / Service7
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints30

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (30)BBB Closure Definitions
05/19/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
My account number is XXXXXXXXXXXXX, I went to the local office on the morning of April 15th to complain about my bill. my bill was 335$...No way
month of March. That is the highest bill that I have had in over My bill was highr than any bill ive had in over 2 years, but the strangest thing is that 90% of the time I do not even live there. I am engaged and spend the majority of my time at my fiance's house so therefore the house is empty and for at least 2 weeks during that billing period my HVAC unit was completely off. I checked the lights as well and there is no way that my bill should have been that high. I feel that this is price gouging and my meter was either not read correctly or was not read at all. As a consumer this outrages me because essentially, im helpless. There are no other options for electricity. After going in and complaining and being told to schedule an appointment to have seeing come out to check out of my equipment and circuits in the house I believe it's called the good sense program, I walked away feeling helpless. I was told that it's possibly my water heater in which I had my plumber check it out and he said that it was perfectly fine there was nothing wrong with it. then I get my bill for April and it is $116 that's nearly 200 and $20 less than the previous month, & I did absolutely nothing different. I am very very upset about this and feel like I am getting taken advantage of. I feel that something needs to be done about these practices, after going back and carefully looking at my bills they had been steadily going up since January, and which as I said before I don't even live there however I was not paying attention to the bill because I am on the budget plan and therefore my bill never changes so I would actually just go on and pay it and not look at what I was being built. I would like some real answers to this situation because it to me it is very disturbing. Thank you

Desired Settlement
I feel that I should be credited back some that money because there is obviously something not right here. I have proof that I do not live there the majority of the time so this bill especially, but all of the bills in 2015 so far are just inflated numbers. And for my April bill to drop by over 200 dollars with me not doing anything differently proves that. Thanks

Business Response
Mr. *****, you are an excellent customer with SCE&G, and we "thank you" for using our convenient online and budget billing plans.

You are correct, the usage for your billing period (02/02/15 - 03/04/15) is higher than usual. It was a cold February. Based on temperatures, there were 24 days below 40 (1 day in the 10's, 6 days in the 20's, 16 days in the 30's).

Heating and thermostat settings are a major contributor to the overall energy usage. Your usage during this time was based on actual meter readings. It could be that your unit's heat strips were on along with the heat when the unit was running to warm the home after being totally turned off for a period of time.

I am coordinating with our Energy Information Services area to have a representative contact you in the next few days to arrange a free in-home energy visit. This may help with understanding the higher usage/bill. The Energy Representative can also arrange a meter test at the same day/time if you are interested.

We appreciate the opportunity to work through this situation with you.

05/19/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
SCE&G Requesting $410 dollars for a deposit to "turn on" electricity. Preposterous deposit practices. Ripping customers off for no good reason.
In 2012 My husband was given orders by the US Navy to San Diego. We moved from our home at **** ********* **** under ***** ********** (account# X-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX) at the end of June. My tenants began occupying the property at that time. My husband deployed in September and because he was new and just started and we lived in a city with a very high cost of living our funds were minimal but we were able to pay our bills. I received a call from SCE&G. December 10th stating that I still owed on a bill. Which I actually knew about and was currently paying on in installments, so I was very confused when they called and stated I was going to collections if I did not pay it off right then. I know this exact date because my husband was deployed and I researched my emails as I sent him 3 regarding this issue. So according to my email to my husband in December of 2012, the last bill we received at 4871 Habersham Lane just happened to be extremely high, the highest ever actually! I decided to pay in installments and was told that was okay. The reason I got the phone call was because apparently SCE&G only allows 6 months to pay it off before going to collections! Which is kind of ridiculous I mean how greedy can a company be?? You are receiving money but it's still NOT good enough! And to top it off according to one email to my husband I explained that I had actually just made an installment payment less than 30 days before I got the call, but it didn't matter. They were stating we are sending you to collections if it is not paid off. This was 2 weeks before Christmas. So I was freaking out because I didn't want it to go to collections and it was the holidays. I certainly did not want this going to collections so I just paid it and thought everything was good.
Well fast forward almost 3 years and my tenants are moving on and I will need to rent my house out again. I called to transfer the service to my name as I make this transition and was told that I would owe a $410.00 dollar deposit! I was shocked because I thought I took care of everything. And I was never late or sent to "collections" I was always paying the bill! And when they called I took care of it right away! The rep I spoke with today stated the SCE&G will charge whatever you owed PLUS interest! What is that? I pay it off and they take more money? I realize I am not moving in but if I were I would not have electricity because I don't have 400 dollars sitting around, my husband is an E-3 in the Navy and I am currently a stay at home mother. The rep stated we could cut it on for 2 weeks without a deposit and while technically that works for me as we live in a different city and the bill will be transferred to someone else soon I am very upset about SCE&G's practice regarding this deposit process and I want this removed from my account. I work very hard to pay all my bills on time and have excellent credit and feel that something like this is absolutely preposterous! I realize I am not moving in but if for some reason I need to switch it to my name for a longer period of time I cannot afford that deposit and feel as though I don't even deserve to pay it. I was in the process of moving across the country and didn't ignore the bill at all, I just thought I would pay on it until it was down to zero. Why am I being punished for that?

Desired Settlement
Companies like SCE&G should not be allowed to charge this type of money to people. These deposits should a flat deposit fee for each type of customer,e.g. good credit customer, fair credit, poor credit. This information should be conveyed when applying, and leaving a business/residence. While I understand deposits are necessary because some customers may leave accounts unresolved all together and there needs to be balance and profit. I do not agree that accounts should be charged an "interest" on top of their last bill amount. Customers should be made fully aware they only have 6 months to pay it off, and that the company may charge interest on top of what someone paid to them if they get service again. My bill never should have been close to going to collections if I was making installment payments. I feel as though SCE&G is taking advantage of people in a cruel way. This is a monopoly, everyone needs electricity, so I believe they are charging outlandish fees and deposits because they can get away with it. Where else can someone go that needs electricity? I personally want this deposit is taken off my account, but I also want SCE&G to change their deposit practices.

Business Response
The customer agreed to pay SCE&G one-half of the outstanding balance on 10/15/12 and the remainder of the balance by 11/15/12 via web payments. At that time, the customer was reminded of the credit bureau process if the arrangement was not kept. Unfortunately, the arrangement was not met and no one contacted SCE&G prior to the credit bureau reporting process.

Since that time, SCE&G has received full payment of the outstanding charges on the account and that is much appreciated.

Deposits are charged based on payment history. SCE&G will work with this customer to reduce the deposit amount to $150 if this customer needs to have service beyond the 2-week period.


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
What "arrangement" was made? I don't recall speaking to anyone before December, however I had just moved across the country and my husband had just left on an 8 month deployment so I could be wrong but I don't remember. I know at that time We were struggling to pay our own bills, but I never once let this go. I was making payments and doing what I could so it did not go to collections. If I moved out in June of 2012, then December would be the 6 month mark and that's the only time I remember getting a phone call. I don't understand why there would be any deposit since I don't recall ever having an outstanding balance before I moved. Plus I was never even late on this bill. I was simply making payments and my husband who was active duty E-3 at the time and I was a stay at home mother, we did not have the full amount and we made payments. Those payments did not meet SCE&G's policy that should be changed! I honestly cannot believe that bill that is paid in full and a company can still request more money on top of that, especially in this situation which I find ridiculous. I don't even believe I will need the electricity turned on for more than 2 weeks. But I find it absolutely ludicrous that I would be charged to turn the electricity on after I paid the bill in full. Plus I just went through my emails and I certainly made my payments every month. The bottom line here is we are being punished for paying our bill in full. I just don't get it. I don't feel as though I should owe a deposit.

Final Business Response
The customer has no paid deposits for this account, and no deposit is planned for the two-week period in question.

Based on company guidelines, deposits may be equal to the two highest consecutive bills at an address as security for an account.

Deposits, with interest, are refunded based on payment experience.

Some examples of items that may impact deposits include late payments, multiple arrears and insufficient funds.

04/27/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
SCE&G Has been overcharging me for lights that are not on my property for five years.Now they want give me a refund.They Don't have payment Records.

In 2010 I complained to the company that my bill was to high because I was seldom home. When refused to continue to pay the overcharges they cut my lights off I left town because no one would help me with the complaint I had with the company.MY Family made me come back because the house was vacant to long . I came back in August of 2013 I came back only to fined that the overcharges continue and my fight continues today they have given the run around to this day. On yesterday April,7 2015 after all these years a Mr. **** ******** calls me with a very short conversation "we found that we were over charging you for lights not on your property we will stop on today" end of conversation. I then went too the local SCE&G office did not get any answers or help. Next I called Customer Service Made a complaint then only given a telephone number which like the other numbers I've been given over the past five years When I call Again no one answers.

Desired Settlement
I Would like a month by Month past billing statement of my Account for the last five years. I request that the president Of The company Sends me a letter to address why His company has been steeling form me for the past five years. I would like For the transformer to be remove from out side my bed room window. I would like that the trees are cut back form the wires and lights. I would like to see how the refund is calculated. And lastly A refund with the HIGHEST INTREST RATE ALLOWED BY THE UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT!!!

Business Response
SCE&G has addressed the items at *** ****** Street with regard to a refund, and Mr. ****** has received communication that no refund is due. As requested, copies of the bills will be mailed to Mr. ****** this week for the timeframe that service was in his name.

Two additional items are included in Mr. ******' complaint. They are: 1) move the transformer, 2) cut back trees from wires and lights. Our SCE&G Local Manager will visit the premises this week to investigate the transformer and tree items referenced by Mr. ******. Tree trimming on this particular circuit was conducted in 2014.

02/23/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
They let someone put lights in my name without a lease or I.d. now I can't get lights in my own home and they required me to have theses things
I'm in the dark and I'm having to bring in these items but they let someone else put lights in my name over the phone without any identification. Now me and my kids shave to stays in the dark to wait on a fraud form.

Desired Settlement
Turn on my lights or I'm pressing charges on the person and the light company.

Business Response
The landlord requested service to be turned off at the referenced address (Apt B) effective 02/16/15. As the SCE&G Business Office communicated in person, both parties will need to have valid lease/ID's and any outstanding charges will need to be paid to get service established. Landlord also verified name(s) on original lease.

01/19/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Refund held for more than 24 months as claimed
Currently reside in my own since 2010, during 5 months in 2013 had moved to FL and the bill had mistakenly not been paid. Upon arriving back in July 2013 had to pay a deposit of $600 in order to reactivate my account. Told at that time 1 year hold. Noticed this month that I had not received my deposit back, made inquiry and told that due to not paying bill on time would be refunded on Feb 2016 as long as I continue to make payments on time. How can they legally hold onto a deposit this long? Seems to me that 12 months of paying your bill on time should suffice and on a strict budget due to retired USMC and going to school but still have my 3 children to raise and feed. Would like some assistance to this matter, do not have a choice to use another electric and gas company. They are the only ones for this area and feel that this is why they are so antiquated in managing this type of situation.

Desired Settlement
Please assist in getting my $600 deposit refund that has been held since July/August of 2013 and being told that if I maintain my account with paying on time currently is scheduled for refund on Feb 2016. Must be another way that SCE&G can maintain their accounts without having to hamper citizens that are on tight budgets for this amount of time.

Business Response
Deposits are refunded based on payment history. The projected deposit refund date for this account is currently February 2016, assuming timely payments. Deposits, with applicable interest, are automatically credited to the customer's account.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
How can a business in which you have no other choice but to use them since electricity is only by where you live, have the ability to hold a deposit for this amount of time? This seems illegal and quite unfair due to my payments on my account have been paid on time, and this all occurred due to a forgotten payment while living in a different state, which was corrected. Do not see how holding onto someone's deposit of a great amount of $600 is going to be a deciding factor and would like this looked into. Seems illegal and should be addressed as to how long a business can hold a deposit.

Final Business Response
Security deposits are based on SCE&G's credit requirement. Some examples of items that can impact deposit refunds include, but are not limited to late payments, multiple arrears and insufficient funds.

Page 1 of 5
05/26/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Signed up for paperless billing, did not receive notification that power would be disconnected until it came in paper form (see paperless billing above), in the mail, while I was not home and after the power was disconnected. I paid the outstanding balance and current amount due immediately on arriving home and finding I was without power. Almost 12 hours later I am still without power and am being given the run around by customer service. This MONOPOLY eats 1/3 of my monthly income and refuses to flip a switch (literally, that's all they have to do) to restore my service. I am extremely displeased and obviously unable to take my business elsewhere because there are no alternative providers of electricity.
Product_Or_Service: electricity

Desired Settlement
I would like my power turned back on yesterday so I didn't miss dinner and the 200$ + of food in my fridge wouldn't go bad over the night, like most of it did. I would also like the customer service reps (****, a supervisor no less) to not have lied to me about restoring power in a timely manner so the above financial and health damage could have been avoided. Good thing I'm not a brittle diabetic or I'd be in a coma right now. Reimbursement for destroyed food would also be nice.

Business Response
On April 30th, a bill was sent via email to the address on the account, and it included an 'Important Notice' with the past due amount and date/time due prior to credit action.

On May 13th, our outbound phone system successfully left a credit message at the phone number listed on the account. The additional notification was a bill mailed USPS to the address.

As a one-time courtesy, our customer representative did create the process to get your service restored late the evening of May 15th. Unfortunately, due to a heavy workload, it was early on May 16th before your service was restored.

SCE&G apologizes for this delay. Our Claims Department will contact you to discuss your food loss.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The "successful" automated message stated that SCE&G has mailed me an important notice. It did not mention a termination of service or a deadline for payment. Also, the letter was not in the mail when I received the message. Again, it was not received until the date the service was stopped, and when I took it out of the mailbox, before I even walked in the door from work that day, the power had already been turned off.

I got home and checked the mail at approximately 6:30pm, 30 minutes after their, apparently arbitrarily, set deadline of 6pm (which is not in any written policy I have seen, or was made aware of prior to this extremely unpleasant incident occurring) to dispatch someone to flip the on switch. I called immediately to remedy the situation and that was when I was informed of the 6pm deadline. (It would be nice to know where this policy is buried in the fine print, if it is even available to the public.)

I was then transferred to the phone payment system, made my payment for the full amount of my bill, and called customer service back immediately and spoke with a rep with a bubbly attitude, he provided excellent customer service, could tell I was frustrated, and immediately transferred me to a supervisor when I was having difficulty accepting his responses. That was when I spoke with the customer service "manager" who, kind of snidely (I was almost in tears at this point), told me she would extend me a one time courtesy of putting an order in for that evening to have service restored. This benevolent courtesy never materialized. The man with the magic power switch flipping fingers did not even actually show up until about 2 hours after I posted the original complaint on this website. What an interesting coincidence that is huh. This happened at about 7:30 am. The original window (prior to the amazing one time courtesy) for them to arrive was 8am-5pm that day.

I also expect that I will be financially penalized for this incident. Already, the same evening the courtesy restoration of service never occurred, I had been charged a 25$ fee when I was sitting here in the dark waiting for their help.

They already price gouged me when I started service at this location. I had a past due amount from the last time I had service with them, about 3 years ago. I was happy to pay this because I used the service. Deposit based on poor payment history, understandable. I ended up having to pay a deposit so ridiculously high that I can't even find it in my online billing records/payment history with them because it is probably a questionable practice.

I expect that after they had to go through all that trouble of; having their computer system generate me a letter, flip my power switch off, deal with me on the phone, generate an imaginary "courtesy" action, and then flip the switch back on, that they are going to charge me another hefty deposit. Actually, when I was setting up service, they told me as much, if my power was disconnected I would be charged additional deposits/fees.

How does their "deposit" work anyhow? Isn't a deposit money you are supposed to get back? What is the deposit for, administering the one-time courtesy policy maybe???

So, I basically have no recourse, I cannot select another provider of electricity and have no choice but to pay fees that I have no choice but to agree to. Their claims dept has left me a message (an actual person this time), I'm assuming about the statements I made about my groceries going bad. I'd be happier if they would quit charging people "deposits" this imposes additional financial hardship on people who are most likely already struggling enough financially to not be able to keep up with fees of daily living. (why yes, yes I would like a 300$ fee with my 300 dollar bill for my 1,000sqft apt...)

You may have noticed sarcasm appearing more frequently. I don't have much hope that it is possible to be resolve this issue to my satisfaction. I may have unrealistic and idealistic expectations regarding the residential power supply game and the actual state of business practices in the economy of the country I love so much.

Happy Memorial Day Weekend !! (yes, even you power company)

05/08/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Credit Reporting in violation of the Federal Credit Reporting Act.
I've had no response to the following letter and have spent an excessive amount of time on hold being told that nothing can be done. It is to no ones benefit to continue to report this issue to the credit bureaus.

Mr. ***** *****
SCANA Corporation
**** **** ** Mail *********
Columbia, SC XXXXX

******* ******
****** ***** ***
**** ********** *** XXXXX
XXX-XXX-XXXX

Dear Mr. ******
I respect the fact that you are a very busy individual but I am writing you in hopes that you or the folks in your organization are willing take a few minutes and help me out.

My name is ******* ******. I have an incorrectly reported negative trade line on my credit report from SCE&G that has a substantial affect my ability to get an affordable interest rate on a mortgage for a home for my family.

Acct# XXXXXXXXXXXXX
Service Address:
**** ** ******* ** ****
***** ********, SC XXXXX

Immediately after realizing a collection account had been added to my report (April 2011) I paid it in full (from memory it was within 30 days of it having been reported too). The situation surrounding this delinquent payment was simply a mistake on my part. See, I was at the time new "Re-Hire" at the Boeing Company in North Charleston after having transferred from supporting them and NASA on the Space Shuttle program in Florida for many years. I rented an apartment and proceeded to settle in with my newly immigrated wife into what was expected to be a long term endeavor. Then things got ugly with my position with Boeing. I love Boeing and it's a wonderful company but the situations surrounding my employment were unbearable and within the first 9 months I decided to seek employment elsewhere. I had to uproot my then pregnant wife and I and reluctantly move to the Seattle area. In the rush of doing so, canceling all the utilities, paying thousands for breaking my lease and re-packing our stuff for a cross country move, I neglected to provide a forwarding address to SCE&G. I honestly thought I closed all the loose ends one experiences financially in such a situation and quite frankly didn't have a forwarding address to provide at the time anyway. In the end I found SCG&E had been unable to locate me and I unknowingly had an outstanding bill.

Currently my credit report states that it is a "Charge-Off", it's "Paid" that it is an "Open" account, my high balance was $345???, that it is "closed at consumers request" and that I have Qty (XX) XX+ day late payments (18 months). I didn't even live in my apartment for 6 months and my bills were paid on time during those months. The late pays state they are from 2012 too! The "Date of Last Activity" is April of 2011. This information has changed several times for the worse since making attempts to correct the reporting through your Customer Service Center. I believe that such a thing is in violation of the Federal Credit Reporting Act.
15 90+ days of late payments is likely 100 points on my report and brings me down to the 640 range.
For the next 30 years I'll have this mortgage. Please imagine the costs I'll be required to endure over those years for a paid in full debt that is being reported improperly and that was a mistake in the first place.

I thought I would contact the person with whom the buck stops and respectfully ask that you direct your SCE&G Accounting department to delete the reporting of this account on my credit file.
Thank you so much for your efforts in resolving this issue.

******* ******

Desired Settlement
Remove account in question from my credit report at all bureaus.

05/04/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
REPORTED TO SCEG CORRESPONDENCE FOR ISSUES THAT AN ACCOUNT AT A RESIDENCE IN CAYCE, SC WAS NOT IN MY NAME AND INCORRECT KILO USAGE AT *** ******** ST
WHEN I MOVED FROM ****** ***** APTS. I MOVED INTO A HOME WITH OTHER TENANTS ****** **** AND ******** ********* THEY WERE GIVEN THE PAPERWORK FOR TURNING ON POWER IN THEIR NAME AND INSTEAD ILLEGALLY PUT MY NAME ON THE ACCOUNT.
ACCOUNT NUMBER XXXXXXXXXX, **** ***** **** *** CAYCE, SC XXXXX.
I FOUND OUT THEY INSTEAD PUT THE ACCOUNT IN MY NAME. USING MY INFORMATION AND CLAIMING I WAS THE ONLY ONE RESPONSIBLE.

ON JANUARY 22, I CONTACTED SCE@G TO TAKE OFF MY NAME ON THE ACCOUNT AND TURN OFF POWER AT THE RESIDING ADDRESS.

SCEG I PRESUMED TURNED OFF THE POWER AT THE ADDRESS ON THE DATE OF CONTACTING THEM ON JANUARY 22, 2015 AT/AFTER 8AM.

POWER WAS PUT IN MY NAME ONLY AT AN ADDRESS LOCATED *** ******** ***

I RECEIVED A BILL FROM SCEG IN THE MONTH OF FEBRUARY FOR 659 DOLLARS FOR THE ADDRESS LOCATED **** ***** **** ***

I WAS BILLED FOR 18 DAYS AT THE COST OF 659 DOLLARS. I WAS COMPLAINED TO SCEG THAT THIS IS NOT ACCURATE. THAT THE TWO PARTIES WHO PUT ME IN THE SCEG SYSTEM ILLEGALLY. SCEG WAS SENT PAPER COMPLAINTS TO THEM IN THE MONTH OF MARCH. AFTER I CONTACTED SCEG IN FEBRUARY AND HAD NOT HEARD NOTHING FROM THEM.

IN THE MONTH OF MARCH I RECEIVED A BILL FROM SCEG FOR THE PROPERTY RENTED AT *** ******** *** THE BILL WAS FOR 368 DOLLARS. I RECORDED AND DOCUMENTED MY KILOWATT USAGES DURING THE MONTH OF FEBRUARY TO MARCH AND MARCH TO APRIL FOR ALL MY ELECTRIC BILLS. IT DOES NOT ACCOUNT FOR 368 DOLLARS WHEN I USED ONLY 1000 KILOWATTS.

ANOTHER PHONE CALL AND LETTERS WERE SENT TO SCE&G. NO RESPONSE FROM THEM.

Desired Settlement
I HAVE ASKED FOR SCE&G TO CORRECT THE ERRORS AND PROBLEMS.

TO GO AGAINST THE PERSONS ****** **** AND ****** ******* ( ******** ******** )

I HAVE ASKED FOR SCE&G TO CORRECT THE BILLINGS FROM THE ADDRESS OF **** ********* ** CAYCE
AND THE ADDRESS THAT I AM RIGHTFULLY ON AT *** ******** ***

THE BILL THAT IS BEING DISPUTED AT THIS TIME IS NOW 1289.89

BEING BILLED FOR A HOME I ONLY RESIDED AT FOR THE NINTH OF JANUARY TO THE 22ND OF JANUARY. AND FOR INCORRECT KILOWATT USAGE FROM FEBRARY TO MARCH AND MARCH TO APRIL AT THE COLLETON ADDRESS

Business Response
SCE&G has had regular conversations with Mr. **** about multiples accounts/addresses, and we will continue to work with him. SCE&G has on file an application for service at the Sunny Side address in Mr. ****'s name with his signature and a copy of his SC license.

No one else has been listed on any of '3' accounts and SCE&G verifies identification prior to providing information related to any inquiries.

The reason the bill is so high is that outstanding amounts have been transferred from the other accounts(in his name)and the last payment SCE&G received was on January 9, 2015.

During a phone conversation with Mr. **** on April 12, 2015. SCE&G provided him with a short term arrangement to assist him with more time to make payment.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The information sce&g claims is false.

Their was and supposedly done by roommates. The people of ***** ****** ******* **** and ****** ********* ********* ******** Who were the ones with me in a home rental in Cayce, SC. They were to have the home powered in their name and having me underwritten n given money to pay SCE&G an amount for the resident I lived at, forest brook apt.

It was found out that they did not only misuse my name, information, take a id card of mine and forge a signature. The power was put on my name, abused, n when they ran off with also doing grand larceny.

I moved out of the residency in Cayce on January 17, 2015. I contacted sceg on January 16 to take my name off the SCE&G account. They told me on the phone that I was not put on the account as an underwritten, but as a owner. They were told to shut the power off immediately that day. Instead it did not happen those two people who used my Information: social security number, id, name, phone number. Changed it.


I moved to an address in north east Columbia.

The kilowatt meter had a reading of 5678 when I moved it in. From their to February 1 the meter reading was at 5780.
February 1 to 28 the meter was 5783 to 6100. I saw a bill for 356 dollar and 67 cents. I did not even use over 1000 kilowatts of power for the month and two weeks.

I wrote a letter to sceg about the outrageous amount billed to me. For one not using over 1000 kilowatt. Second for turning off my Hvac and heater during the month of janurary 23 to February 1 and February 1 to the 28th. I did not make use of power during those months and still did not during March to april.

It is a known fact when I started with sceg that 50 to 60 percent of a power bill is largely from use of the hvac.

I wrote another letter asking them to respond to my request for investigation of how my bill.is high and why my bill was saying that this amount was going with what is shown last year's power bill.

I wrote anger and curse words in the letter because I did not live in that house last year and sceg was going by information based on a previous years amount and the area I lived in.


A phone conversation was not made on April 12 for a payment arrangement.
The phone call to sceg was made on the 16 of april, not the 12. About my letters and argument to sceg about the proclaimed bills they sent me, the incorrect billing me for a home in cayce was was put in my name illegally, the audacity to be told that I am responsible for someone else using my information to get power at a home and still be billed for it, and be told that they don't want to fix the issue, I hi have to pay them money that was not made by me.

Final Business Response
SCE&G received a letter on April 22, 2015, similar to the information provided to the Better Business Bureau. Our office has called and left multiple messages on the phone number listed for the account with no call back.

If the customer suspects that someone is falsely using his personal identification, he should file a police report.


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
0history and looked back into my call messages.

Their have been no calls or messages left by SCEG.

Their have been calls by a company called Jasper Electric Company. And the only messages left. Are from a man named ******* *** for me to call him back. No company name. No reference to SCEG.

I have filed a police report.

Against ****** ***** **** ***** **** and ****** ******** They have told me they have used SCEG before. At a Apartment complex called Woodbine Apartments **** ****** ******* ** *** ***
Then at a place off Appletree ln in Orchord hills Subdivison.

And then in the Cayce place. Stealing from me. And I told Sceg that. They claim they did not want to do a **** thing. That's what made me more angry. And more angry.

SCEG HAS NOT.

Communicated.
CORRECTED ERRORS THAT WERE PROVEN ERRORS.

And continue to propose and make due with stealing with a low income, low credit rating, black minority.


I will make it aware. My credit rating was suffice to not have a necessary deposit given to SCEG at the time I started with them in January 2014. At the time. It was to be refunded back to me at January 2014. After a fill year. And their has been no return of deposit. 150 dollars stolen from me by SCE&G.

No help from them when having been robbed and being told to pay something that was put in my name wrongfully.

Sce&g you have not contacted me with any phone call. Message or mail letter response.

And your trying to pretend to be the good guys now. After I went through to the Better Business Bureau.
This is a pathetic attempt to make the customer who was wronged by your company to look foolish.

No. This customer is in the right going to the Bureau and telling them the wrongs Sce&g has done. AND THE WRONG FOR NOT GIVING PROPER HELP. THE WRONG FOR CHARGING POWER INCORRECTLY. AND THE WRONG FOR NOT CONDUCTING BUSINESSES WITH A PERSON WITH THE PRESUMED BY LAW, ZERO BIAS OF COLOR, ETHNIC, RACE, GENDER AND INCOME

03/26/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Deposit towards account can't be refunded or used towards bill. If you move from one place to another still have to give another deposit.
This company knows that there a necessity to every home.I ran into 3 issues with this company 1st when I moved from one apartment to another I had to give another 150 dollars deposit when all I asked was to transfer to another, I paid it in order to transfer which I had a zero balance. Two years later I'm asking to use the deposit towards my bill which they refuse to use towards the bill or refund back to me. They claim I must pay bill on time in full for 6 months then they will use it towards the bill. My 1st year in this house for the month of Dec,Jan,& Feb.the bills was XXX-XXX a month I live with a child that was in school all day during the week days & on weekends we'd go to my parents house. I'd say 85% of the time the house was empty & everything off I went to the office had all kinds of specialist look at the problem but of cost came up with no answers,no help or any kind of assistance. I paid day it all. Still unable to use the deposit towards the high bill. Now today once again I paid 200 dollars for a 333.91 bill today 3/19/2015 they turned the light off stating if I paid 233.00 they wouldn't of turned the lights off. So I told them use the deposit once again they refuse & I had to beg a friend to pay 133.91 in order to turn the lights on for me. They have no kind of assistance to help pay the bill they give no kind of courtesy when they see you trying to pay I'm very discussed with this company because they know you need them. I want my deposit back being that it serves no purpose at all. & I wish there was another company that can be used. We should be able to use whatever company we want instead of forced to use a rip off company such a as sce&g. Berkley electrical is a much better company that take care of the customers. Very disappointed in this company.

Desired Settlement
Return my refund so I can use it to either us towards the bill or whatever I feel like doing with my money.

Business Response
SCE&G deposits are requested to secure the account and are refunded based on payment history. Deposits earn interest and a small refund was credited to this account on March 20, 2015. A full credit (applied to the account) for paid deposits is projected for February 2017 assuming continuation of timely payments.

As for the January and February bills, the usage was higher in 2013 compared to 2014 and it appears that the customer is managing usage. On the other hand, the December 2014 bill was higher than the previous bill primarily due to the colder winter temperatures.

As a courtesy, our customer service agents have worked with ********** ****** on payment arrangements in the past and will continue to do so.

In addition, on March 5, 2015, our agent communicated the amount needed to keep the service active.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Good day,I did nothing different in 2014 from 2013 which proves if I don't stay on top of this company they will continue to overcharge. As a matter of fact 2013 I kept the thermostat at 72 and 2014 at 74,and was home more in 2014. I did not get any credit On March 20,2015. I received a letter on the 23 stating I was charged a 26.00 reconnection fee and a 100 dollars deposit need which was charged on my next bill. Upset about all this I called and this company said they would waiver the 100 dollars deposit one time only and that if my lights get turned off again that they will request the 100 dollars deposit on top of the deposit they already have. How can they get a deposit in 2013 and don't want to deposit it back until 2017 that's two years from now. Never spoke to anyone about how much was needed to keep the lights on I paid 200 dollars on March 16th they cut my lights off on March 20th I called the company the lady on the phone stated if I paid 233 dollars that would of kept the lights on, now I have to pay 133 dollars to get the lights turned back on. So if I paid 33 dollars more my lights would not have been turned off,so they cut my lights off for 33 dollars. I called a friend for help who made the payment for me because I have a 16 year old and a three year old living with me. So no that company did nothing for me they continued to demand a full payment before they could do anything for me. So no I am not happy with there response to you. I still want my 150 dollars refund that they had since 2013 which they told you that I can get refunded 2017.

Final Business Response
Some options for the customer: 1) Consider getting on the Budget Billing Plan where you will pay the same amount each month (the larger down payment you make will result in lower monthly payments). No short term arrangements are available while on this plan, but it may help with getting the deposit back. 2) Possibly contact an Assistance Agency such as Charleston County Human Services (843) 724-6760 to determine if customer qualifies for assistance - based on income. 3) Manage the thermostat - this is a good way to save energy since the heating/air can be the largest energy expense. Set the thermostat at 68 degrees or lower in the winter and 78 degrees or higher in the summer.

Some ways SCE&G has assisted: 1) worked out a plan for the January 2013 deposit to be paid in installments and the final payment was made in June of that year. 2) SCE&G credited the most recent $100 deposit as a courtesy to provide assistance. 3) Explained minimum amount to pay to keep the service on. 4) SCE&G has provided Short Term Assistance (STA) regularly to assist and will continue to do so.

03/18/2015Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company cares about nobody but themselves!
I was living at a residence at 285 Chestnut Street in Winnsboro SC. I got very sick due to black mold in this residence. I called on a Friday to cut power off and they didn't come out until a Monday. Over that weekend the landlord of that residence had a construction company come in to start tearing floors up and treating mold. Lights where left on and heavy equipment where being used. I do not feel that I should be responsible for the entire bill due to there negligence. I called on 3/9/2015 to try to get a settlement offer. They refused even on the fact of there negligence. Not hard to push a button. Just saying!

Desired Settlement
I am seeking a reasonable settlement offer. I'm responsible for some of the bill but not anywhere near all. ALOT of power was used when they stated this remodel. I am willing to pay $125.00 if it is marked payed as agreed on my credit and a letter is supplied to me.

Business Response
The customer called SCE&G on Friday, November 8, 2013 around 2:00 p.m. to have service stopped. As communicated, the work was performed on Monday, November 11, 2013 which is part of the normal work schedule for a request made the previous Friday. The customer would need to coordinate with the landlord for questions related to meter usage during the weekend when service was still in his name. (These charges would be very minimal.)
The last payment was made on October 21, 2013, for September charges. An October bill and a Final Bill were sent via email and forwarded based on a USPS address change on 11/17/13. In addition, other communication was sent without response until March 6, 2015. SCE&G will continue to work with the customer to pay the outstanding charges.



Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Minimal charges for heavy equipment? As I stated I'm willing to pay a settlement offer if one was offered.

Final Business Response
The final bill was from 10/25/13 - 11/11/13.
For these 17 days, total kWh usage was less than $50. All other usage was prior to this final bill.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
My lawyer will be in touch with your office. I was sick and unable to call and cancel service as I have stated to your office. I have offered to try to make a settlement offer with you! You have chosen not to accept so this is on you! I don't have to pay!

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Electric Companies, Gas Co

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.