BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/15/1988

AllSouth Federal Credit Union

Find a Location

Phone: (803) 736-3110Fax: (803) 790-4296730 Elmwood Ave, ColumbiaSC 29201-2002 Send email to AllSouth Federal Credit Union

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/15/1988

BBB has determined that AllSouth Federal Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised AllSouth Federal Credit Union's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues5
Delivery Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on AllSouth Federal Credit Union

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)BBB Closure Definitions
07/29/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
WILLFULLY REFUSE TO REPORT ACCURATE VERIFABLE INFORMATION TO EQUIFAX. Susan Smith stated she can NOT do anymore.
MY name is **** ********* *** ****** ***** COLUMBIA SC 29203 MY SSN XXXXXXXXX DON 7/30/1976 TEL NUMBER XXXXXXXXXX, i AM UNABLE TO GET ALLSOUTH FEDERAL CREDIT UNION TO REPORT ACCURATE VERIFIABLE INFORMATION TO EQUIFAX CREDIT BUREAU. I AM TRYING TO BE REASONABLE BUT I AM UNABLE TO GET MY PROBLEM CORRECTED. AT THE ADVICE OF SEVERAL BANK EMPLOYEES I WAS TOLD THAT I SHOULD OPEN SEVERAL SHARED SECURED LOANS BECAUSE THEY WOULD REPORT TO ALL 4 CREDIT BUREAU EQUIFAX TRANS UNION EXPERIAN AND INNVOIS. I WAS LIED TO AND MISLEAD. MY SHARD SECURED LOANS ARE REPORTING TO 3 CREDITS AND NOT BEING REPORTED TO EQUIFAX. ALLSOUTH FEDERAL CREDIT UNION THE ORIGINAL CREDITOR STATES ITS EQUIFAX;S ISSUE EQUIFAX STATE ALLSOUTH IS NOT REPORTING THE INFORMATION TO THEM. BOTH OF THESE COMPANIES ARE WILLFULLY REFUSING TO CORRECT THE PROBLEM. ALLSOUTH HAS BREACHED OUR CONTRACT.

Desired Settlement
A LETTER STATING THAT IT HAS BEEN CORRECTED,A ND A CONTACT NAME THAT ***** ***** SPOKE WITH STATING THAT IT HAS BEEN CORRECTED. IF BB IS UNABLE TO HELP MY NEXT STEP IS THE SC CONSUMER AFFAIRS OFFICE.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** ******** VP IA
Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX ext1838
Contact Email: ****************@allsouth.org
We have evaluated the information provided in the above complaint of July 15, 2014. The evaluation indicates that the consumer had a prior relationship as a member of AllSouth Federal Credit Union. The relationship ceased in March of 2009. The last loan activity subject to credit reporting was August 29, 2008. The consumer desires that a credit reporting agency, specifically Equifax, include information related to that loan activity in the consumer's credit report. The credit union's policy is to report all required information to the credit reporting agencies in accordance with the credit reporting industry guidelines. The guidelines prohibit the reporting of information related to a paid-off loan after the month following the payoff transaction. The credit reporting agencies have internal policies and procedures for maintaining the loan information after the payoff is reported. The period of retention and reporting of the information may depend on the consumer activity, notifications and communications received by the credit reporting agency from a consumer, and other factors identified in their policies and procedures. For example, a fraud alert may result in the suppression of certain information from being reported. Suppression of information over a long period of time may result in the information no longer being available for reporting. The credit union cannot include or exclude information at the request of a consumer that would result in a violation of the rules and guidelines to which it is required to comply. We continue to work with Equifax to seek assistance and explanation for the consumer. However, due to the age of the account and credit information, the inclusion of this information would have little effect on a credit decision made based on the consumer's credit report.

06/30/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
on at least 3 recent occasions i went through the allsouth iphone app to cancel payment on some but they paid anyway leaving me negative and NSF fees
I have been an Allsouth member for years and I have been using the automatic bill pay feature through the credit union since I have had a checking account. I was very delighted when they created an iphone application to make mobile banking easier. They have excellent customer service and I love my banking relationship with them but i'm sure if i'm having this problem others have had to also.

On 6/2/14 I spoke with my mother about my bills and told her that i was going to cancel automatic payment on some of my smaller bills because I needed to make a student loan payment and a loan payment that was due and i didn't want to overdraw. When I got off the phone I selected 4 bills individually to cancel my regime fee through property management, a break contract payment through ATT, SCANA, and at first I changed the amount of payment to BillMeLater and then I cancelled the payment and the original payment and they all paid leaving me negative $447.88 with $180.00 in Non Sufficient Fee.

This has happened before in at least the past 3 months and I thought that it must be something I did, user error, but this time after I canceled the payment through the app I checked online to ensure they weren't showing to pay and they weren't on the PC. I also canceled my car payment while checking my account through the PC and they only bill that didn't pay that was my car payment, the one that was cancelled through the PC.

This morning 6/10/14 I called Allsouth to ensure my account wouldn't be closed and i'd have a chance to make the balance right. I also explained to the representative what happened and asked if they saw any of my payments pending because I cancelled them all and the rep did see some (why would she have to remove automatic bill pay if they were all cancelled)so she took automatic bill pay off my account. I told her that I knew she probably wouldn't see where I tried to cancel the payments because I did them through the application and if she's looking at them from the PC she's probably going to see the same thing I saw when I looked on my PC because the problem is in the application. Then she suggested I not use the app for bill pay, why would she suggested that is there was no problem. I told her I understood and I would be following up on this issue because if i'm having problems others are too.

I asked that the fees be removed (i understand they cant refund me for paying my bills and although this will cause problems next time i get paid i still have to pay everything) she said if they were bank error they would but she didn't see one. I advised her that was fine because I was going to follow up and it has been my experience that other people are probably having this problem also (collective complaints are what will get this resolved) and I wanted to make sue this was reported because i'm sure my fees will be returned to me one day.

Desired Settlement
I want this incident to be researched to show I'm not making this up and that other members need to be contacted because this is not fair. I want the insufficient fees incurred because of the bill pay application to be returned for the past 3 months and the fees that are still coming in from this so far totaling 630.00 so far.

Business Response
We have spoken with this member to address her concerns directly. We explained how to set up and cancel payments using online banking and the mobile app, and have refunded three overdraft fees as a courtesy.

She is satisfied with the explanation and the refunded fees.

06/16/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I received two overdraft fees retroactively. The rep was rude and hung up on. Manager ******* refused my call.
I contacted the Allsouth call center regarding retroactive overdraft fees applied to my account. I deposited money and received a receipt stating that money would be available immediately. I went to deposit more money less than an hour later and had overdraft fees. I spoke with an extremely rude representative that refused to provide her name. She kept repeating herself and did not respond appropriately to any of my questions. I requested a manager and I was initially refused. After the third request she stated her manager's name was Debra and that she could transfer me to her voice mail. I requested another number to file a complaint and she hung on me. The call center was closed when I called back immediately after being hung up on.

Desired Settlement
I want both of my overdraft fees refunded and information regarding overdrafts for items that are not showing pending on the Allsouth app as the mobile app states it should.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******** ******** VP IA
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ****************@allsouth.org
We have received the complaint above. Our internal investigation of the allegations indicates that the overdraft fees identified as "retroactively" were assessed at the time the transactions were presented for payment through the ACH. The fees were assessed because the transactions exceeded the available balance in the account. Because of the member's enrollment in the Overdraft Privilege Program, AllSouth Federal Credit Union honored the payment request and assessed the contractually agreed upon fee.

We apologize that the member perceived the tone or words of the Member Service Representative as rude. The Member Service Representative attempted to respond to the concerns of the member. The member indicated repetition on the part of the representative. Repetition of information can be used to clarify if background noises or other distractions are identified in the conversation. The Member Service Representative did not hang up on the member but notified the member that there was nothing more she could do to assist her and requested to be released from the call at which time the call was terminated to allow assistance of other members.

In regards to the pending transactions in the mobile app, the transactions which gave rise to the fees were not pending. They were presented for payment that morning prior to the physical deposit made by the member.

07/22/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I called the member service center to receive a courtesy credit of an insufficient funds charge on my account.
On June 13th there was a charge of $66.20 on my account that posted and my deposit of $1329.21 was posted as well and after my deposit posted I was charged a $25.00 insufficient charge fee. I contacted member services to ask if they could waive the fee since my deposited and the gas transaction were posted the same day and was told they could not unless it is there error or the merchants error, I then asked if there were someone else I could not to and ****** was placed on the phone. I explained her the same situation all over again and she then told me the same this as ****** but she spoke with me in a condescending manner saying "you took a withdrawl you should of looked at your receipt". I told her that I did and it said there was a balance of $16.50, then she told me with gas purchases we can not tell how much is coming out. I explained I made the purchase prior and got a bit in a situation where I had to pay a large sum to get my car fixed but I requested the waive because the gas purchase and my deposit were posted the same day. I told I have been a customer with Allsouth for years and when I make calculating error on my account I accept whatever fees they charge and pay it. This is a one time only and right now it is really hard for me. She then told me "It does not matter is you been with us for 90days or 7 years", very condescending and insulting. As a customer of Allsouth, I have always been loyal and always paid my obligation, I am only asking for a $25.00 fee waive and I do not feel that is much to ask for and as a customer I do not feel like I should be talked to in a condescending manner or insulted. If you review my history I do not call in requesting courtesy waives from them.

Desired Settlement
I would like to received a courtesy refund of the $25.00 insufficient funds fee on 06/13/2013.

Business' Initial Response
Ms. ****** does have a checking account with AllSouth Federal Credit Union. The transaction in the amount of $66.20 was authorized by Shell on 6/12/13 at 1:12pm. However when the transaction was presented to her checking account for payment on June 13th, Ms. ****** only had $28.14 available in her checking account due to an additional $20 debit card authorization that was pending and a $60 ATM withdrawal. As a result of Ms. ****** not having the available funds for the $66.20 debit card transaction, she did receive an insufficient funds fee in the amount of $25.

Ms. ****** was under the impression that because her direct deposit posted the same day has the transaction, she felt that she should not receive a fee. However, Ms. ****** failed to recognize that her direct deposit was not actually due until 6/14/13 and as a courtesy the credit union did allow her access to her direct deposit on the evening of 6/13/13, after the debit card transaction in question posted against her checking account.

We have as a one-time courtesy refunded the $25 insufficient funds fee to Ms. ******'s checking account. Ms. ****** should note that in order to prevent future fees on her account, it is recommended that prior to making purchases with her debit card that she ensures she has available funds in her checking account. She may also want to verify that all items that were previously authorized have actually cleared her account, prior to withdrawing additional funds.

03/05/2013Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
02/24/2015Billing / Collection Issues
10/20/2014Billing / Collection Issues
02/11/2013Delivery Issues
09/20/2012Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Credit Unions

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/01/1985Business started: 07/01/1960
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Audrey Brown (VP Marketing)Customer Contact: Mr. William A. Koehler (President)Ms. Tiffany Williams (Executive Secretary)
Number of Employees

275

Business Category

Credit Unions

Products & Services

This company offers services of a full financial institution.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for AllSouth Federal Credit Union

730 Elmwood Ave

Columbia, SC 29201-2002

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central South Carolina and Charleston. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*AllSouth Federal Credit Union is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Credit Unions

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.