BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 03/22/2012

Lifetime Cabinets & Countertops

(803) 772-22204020 Fernandina Rd, ColumbiaSC 29212 Send email to Lifetime Cabinets & Countertops

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 03/22/2012

BBB has determined that Lifetime Cabinets & Countertops meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered Lifetime Cabinets & Countertops' rating include:

  • 3 complaints filed against business

Factors that raised Lifetime Cabinets & Countertops' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Lifetime Cabinets & Countertops

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
01/05/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
****** from Lifetime Cabinets agreed to install cabinetry and countertops but failed to follow up over a four month period.
****** of Lifetime Cabinets (LCC) agreed to install cabinetry and countertops at my house in early August. The installation data was scheduled for Sept 3 which came and went with no word or action from LCC. After attempting to contact LCC several times via phone with no response (company's VM box was full and no one ever answered the phone) I sent an email to the company on Oct 24, 2014. ****** essentially called me a liar regarding how many times I attempted to reach the company and stated he would have a final estimate for the work and schedule the work within a week. On October 31, a Friday, having not received any communication back from ******, I reached out again via text message asking for an update. ****** responded that he would call the following Monday to provide the detailed estimate and would perform the installation on Tuesday. After not hearing back on the following Monday, November 3rd, I again texted ****** on November 5th asking for an update. Receiving no reply from the company, I sent an email the next day, Nov 6th, asking for a refund of the $976.87 deposit I paid on Aug 4th. ****** agreed to refund the money but it has been over three weeks with no check or any communication from the company. The manner in which this company conducts business is completely unacceptable.

Desired Settlement
I want my $976.87 deposit refunded, and acknowledgement from the company that their service was unacceptable, and an apology for the hassle I have had to go through.

Business Response
I've already issued a refund. This client wants us to fix his mess which has nothing to do with our granite contract. Good luck.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Hi,

I have not received any refund check. The business owner said that he had mailed it on Dec 5 but I have not received it in the mail.

Final Business Response
Well im glad you sent another email the check was still in my briefcase. I will take it to the mail box now.

Merry Christmas sorry for the delay.

****** *********

12/03/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Failure to complete the project that was agreed to/
Purchased a Kitchen Island from Lifetime Cabinets and Countertops. The island was supposed to have been delivered in 3 weeks this actually turned out to be 5 weeks before being delivered. When the island arrived the top was not installed and that took an additional day. There was no hardware on the cabinet as agreed to . The hardware was promised to be supplied. After a week a call was made and the question was asked when the hardware would be delivered and installed. The response was that it would be ordered. A second phone call was made after the second week and a message was left to please call and tell us when the hardware would be delivered and installed. Lifetime Cabinets has yet to return the call. It has now been 7 weeks (as of 10/12/2013)and the Island is still not complete and Lifetime will not return calls. Lifetime requested and was paid in Full when the top was delivered and installed.

Desired Settlement
Simple provide and install the hardware that was part of the original order within 1 week.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *********
Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX
Contact Email: ************@hotmail.com
The hardware was never in the original contract however I have agreed to try and locate his existing hardware just for the pure fact it did take longer than expected to deliver the cabinet and top. I never provide hardware, that is always the responsibility of the client. I did verbally agree in this case to provide and I will. Sorry Mr V for not calling you back yet as I still have not located the hardware (it is 15 year old hardware)
I will call you when it is found. If you find something that's suits you in the mean time let me know I will send my guys out to install them.

Final Consumer Response
Just wanted to let you know that we have not been paid for the hardware nor the installation as you indicated the company agreed to. This is how this company works they tell you one thing and never come thru.I have sent then my address and they have my phone number. I will provide it to you so you can give it to them again.

Address: **** **** ***** ****
******* ** XXXXX
Phone : XXX XXX-XXXX

This is why I reported them to the BBB . They agreed to do correct the problem then after 5 weeks it was never corrected.

01/15/2015Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Counter Tops, Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 06/18/2010Business started: 05/06/2005
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietor

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Marcus Greenwell (Owner)
Number of Employees

1

Business Category

Counter Tops, Marble & Granite Installation, Stonework Fabrication

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Lifetime Cabinets & Countertops

4020 Fernandina Rd

Columbia, SC 29212

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 4020 Fernandina Rd 

    Columbia, SC 29212(803) 772-2220

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central South Carolina and Charleston. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Lifetime Cabinets & Countertops is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Counter Tops

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.