BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/14/2012

Wegener Media

Find a Location

Phone: (803) 926-1555Fax: (212) 857-4931View Additional Phone Numbers1928 Taylor St, ColumbiaSC 29201-3544 Send email to Wegener MediaView Additional Web Addresses

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

Wegener Media provides Mac hardware and software support for all Apple related products, including small business and individual service.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/14/2012

BBB has determined that Wegener Media meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Wegener Media's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Wegener Media

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)
01/11/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Our school district agreed to sell about $50,000 worth of computers to ******* Media and they have not paid our district yet.
Our district sold computers to ******* Media and they received them before July 27, 2015. Here is an email from Dsve ******* from July 27, 2015.
***

hey there.

We're about 2/3 thru the MacBooks with the audit. Will probably be wrapped up this week.

Here is the contents of a document that I've put together to explain the transaction. The Superintendent and myself (Technology Director) have repeatedly tried to get the problem resolved and they say one thing and then quit responding to our phone calls.



October 1, 2015

Attn: **** ******
Wegener Media
**** ****** St
Columbia, SC XXXXX


As per our agreement as shown by the email correspondence on page 2, the following is an Invoice for the Mac Mini & Macbook computers from Holton USD 336 that was shipped and sold to your company. Please pay this invoice by October 30, 2015. Please send a check to

Holton USD 336
*** ************ ******
******* KS XXXXX


45 Mac Mini's @ $250.00 = $11,250
111 Macbooks, 8 GB ram @ $175.00 = $19,425
158 Macbooks, 2 GB ram @125.00 = $19,750

Total = $50,425

If you have any questions, please address them to ****** ******* Holton USD 336 Superintendent. (XXX) XXX-XXXX.

On Jun 11, 2015, at 12:54 PM, ***** ******* <*****@wegenermedia.com> wrote:

***


thx.

Per our conversation, we are interested in doing the deals on these laptops.

Based on our discussions, the laptops are probably going to run $1XX-XXX, in that configuration (approx 1/2 with 8gb, 1/2 with 2gb)....

The Minis - I think these would be $2XX-XXX in value..

My suggestion is to do a single shipment, let us audit it and produce a final spreadsheet for you.

If that's good, let me know - we'll get it set up asap!


Thanks,
*****

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

******* Media
**** ****** St
Columbia, SC XXXXX

XXXXXXXXXX - tech support
XXXXXXXXXX - office
XXXXXXXXXX - fax
************ - cell
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

www.wegenermedia.com


I'll ring you asap when we're done!


Thanks,
*****

Desired Settlement
We want the $50,000 that Wegener Media owes Holton USD 336.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ******* owner
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: *****@wegenermedia.com
We are in process of getting the money out of this for the school, and have every intention of doing so.

We experienced internal theft by a former employee just days after receiving these systems, then in the process of uncovering this, had to terminate 1/3 of our staff.

several weeks later we were hit with the flood, lost more than half of the computers, and are currently trying to finalize a sale to get these sold and get the money back out of it.

We hate this as much as anyone - we were hit with a stack of issues which were entirely unforeseen, and which have devastated our business.

That said, we will pay the debt.


Thanks,
*****

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

Wegener Media
**** ****** St
Columbia, SC XXXXX

XXXXXXXXXX - tech support
XXXXXXXXXX - office
XXXXXXXXXX - fax
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

www.wegenermedia.com

Consumer Response
We believe they have every intention of paying us but I need specifics. We have been flexible and patient but we need a payment plan before Jan 1, 2016. We have heard this sort of response from Wegener numerous times in the past months.

I appreciate your help getting this matter resolved.

Final Business Response
As we have mentioned previously, we were nearly knocked out of business during the flood.

Additionally, our wonderful city inadvertantly flooded out our warehouse and our build shop, soaking nearly this entire load of computers (as well as 2 other schools' systems) with several inches of water each.

We are still working out the financial details, but this year was absolutely the worst possible situation we have ever experienced as a business.

We have begun to get some governmental financing on it, and will have approx $10,000 of the payment coming in the next few days.

We anticipate being able to generate $10-15,000 per month after this, until we've either gotten a full settlement from the city, or have paid it off.

additionally, there might be some confusion as to the total costs. 1. the originally agreed-to pricing noted conditions, and as many of the systems were less-than complete (broken cases, etc), the total will be slightly less than the total original estimate of $50,000.

This is all in process - we have not forgotten about the district. We simply got flooded out, lost most of our inventory, and were terribly adversely affected thru the flood in 2015. OUr business has never once in 24 years failed to pay a debt, and we will resolve this one as well. It is simply going to take longer than expected.


Thanks,
*****

- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

******* Media
**** ****** **
Columbia, SC XXXXX

XXXXXXXXXX - tech support
XXXXXXXXXX - office
XXXXXXXXXX - fax
- - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - -

www.wegenermedia.com

Industry Comparison| Chart

Computers-Service & Repair, Computers-Dealers

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 10/10/2006Business started: 04/03/2003
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr Dave Wegener (GM)
Number of Employees

13

Business Category

Computers-Service & Repair, Computers-Dealers

Products & Services

iPhone, iPad, Mac hardware repair
Small business software solutions: database, POS, and integration services.
Network and ecommerce integration solutions.

Hours of Operation
Mon: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMTue: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMWed: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMThu: 09:00 AM to 06:00 PMFri: ClosedSat: 06:00 PM to 09:00 PM
Refund and Exchange Policy

see our website policy page for full details. Minimum 60 day hardware warranty on all service and parts, up to 3 years on certain components.

Service Area

Nationwide service

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Wegener Media

1928 Taylor St

Columbia, SC 29201-3544

To | From

LocationsX

3 Locations

  • 1928 Taylor St 

    Columbia, SC 29201-3544

  • 228 Elberta Dr. 

    Lexington, SC 29073

  • 624 B Leaphart St. W. 

    West Columbia, SC 29169

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central South Carolina and Charleston. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Wegener Media is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (803) 808-4362
X

Additional Web Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Computers-Service & Repair

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.