BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/14/2012

Honest 1 Auto Care

Find a Location

Phone: (843) 718-2413Fax: (843) 724-9766566 College Park Rd, LadsonSC 29456 Send email to Honest 1 Auto Care

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/14/2012

BBB has determined that Honest 1 Auto Care meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Honest 1 Auto Care's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Honest 1 Auto Care

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (3)BBB Closure Definitions
07/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Vehicle transmission pan leak, still leaks. Should have been replaced, but is too costly at this location and no work would have been performed.
I did some transmission work to my 97Jeep grand cherokee on Thursday, June 19, 2014(sensors and solenoids inside). The transmission pan gasket leaked after several tries and at the cost of $50 for fluid each time. I called Honest1 and asked their service writer ********* if they do pan gaskets and that I am about to buy a new pan at this point unless they can put a gasket on and have it not leak. He said use their towing service and have it towed and they will replace the gasket and make it stop leaking. He estimated $35 for tow and $75-100 for gasket replacement. After the vehicle was brought into shop, they told me that it needs a pan gasket and they will go get one. They gave me a price of $95 to have it all done. They sent their other service writer to advance auto parts to get another gasket(which was the same part that I purchased earlier that same day)and they installed the gasket. It held for about 2 days before I saw another spot on my driveway. I looked under and verified that it was again coming from the transmission pan. My wife called and ******* told her that it will need a pan and I could possibly buy one and have them put it on.I called later and ******* told me it would be approximately $230 to replace it and it should be replaced after it leaks the first time or after several installations anyway. I told him that since they replaced a gasket that failed, they should cover all but the pan itself as is why you pay to have things fixed, so if it ends up not working again, they fix it again and make it work properly. ******* told me that they do not install customer supplied parts" because they have to make sure it is proper parts, not just a part that will fit". He also stated that they had to repair the pan from the bolts warping it, put a thicker gasket on and asked me if I had a torque wrench as they are supposed to be torqued to proper specifications or it will warp the pan. I actually used the only gasket that Advance had available, so it couldn't be a thicker one like he stated. It should be mentioned that I had torqued the pan to the proper torque specification when I installed it. I also sourced a pan for $45 from NAPA, plus a $10 or so gasket and about another $50 in fluid. I called again and told of the price I came up with and requested to have my money reimbursed as they didn't fix it and essentially, I was sold incorrect and unnecessary work. He put me on the phone with the manager who said they did nothing wrong. He said I requested to put a pan gasket on and they did and it doesn't matter if it still works. I requested to have it done and not leak- no one requests work done and pays money to have the problem not be fixed. He said it didn't matter if it worked later, I paid for a job to be done and that's it. I stated that had ******* stated that under the conditions listed, the pan should have been replaced and not just re-gasketed, I would have asked how much installing a new pan would cost. The manager at first said they can't give estimates over the phone. They could have quoted a price for parts and labor as with any business they you can always get the prices or how they charge you up front. He looked it up and said a new pan would be $160 and installed $215(free labor).I asked if that is the price from the dealer, which is basically the most expensive place to order stock parts from.He said it doesn't matter how much or where they get the parts from, they are sold to me from Honest1. I stated as someone who worked in a shop, the shop call parts stores and get a discounted price and re-sell the part at a price higher than retail. I later called Rick Hendrick Jeep and they quoted the part at around $60. That equals more than a 110% markup. I should not be charged $95 for a leaky gasket that shouldn't have been installed and then charged again for more work

Desired Settlement
Refund for money spent($95) as the job should and would not have been done.

Business Response
This customer was working to repair a leaking transmission pan in his own vehicle without success. He contacted Honest-1 Auto Care to see if we could correct the problem. We had the vehicle towed to our shop ($60 to the towing company). While working to replace the gasket and fluid we noticed the transmission pan was bent. We recommended the pan be replaced at a cost of $163. The customer declined the replacement. We tried to straighten the pan, then replaced the gasket and transmission fluid. The manager at our shop warned the customer that there was a possibility that the pan would still leak since it was still bent. The customer was charged a total of $97.04.
When the customer called to let us know the vehicle was still leaking fluid, we again recommended the replacement pan, but this was declined. We have offered to refund the money for the work (not the towing of the vehicle) if he would come in and pick up a check or have the money credited back to the original charge card. To date, the customer has not responded.

04/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Just wanted a simple transmission oil change. Carried it to them 5 times because it kept leaking. Never leaked before until I carried it to them.
Ever time I carried it to them it always some thing different. As a result it has tore up my transmission, and now needs to be rebuilt. They refuse to pay for the damages they have caused. I no longer has a vehicle to drive to get me to my every day places.

Desired Settlement
I am only asking that they pay to replace the transmission, however they refuse. If I have to take them to court, I will be asking for the transmission, 2 days thats I spent sitting at their shop, court fees and rental car. I just want them to do the right thing.

Business Response
The Customer requested that we pay to replace the transmission in her vehicle. We did not damage the transmission nor do we feel responsible for replacing the transmission. We first serviced this vehicle at 117,000 miles. We do not know if the appropriate preventative maintenance was performed on the vehicle as recommended by the manufacturer.
As a show of good faith, we did refund the original $194.22 the customer paid us. When the customer stated that they were going to take the vehicle to a transmission shop, we recommended the shop we normally use and offered to send over the list of the services we had performed on the vehicle.

Below is a list of the work we performed on the Isuzu Rodeo:
4/26/13 - Oil change, Rotate & Balance Tires, Automatic Transmission Fluid & Filter Service
Additional work recommended but not performed: Oil Pan Gasket leaking, Check Engine light was on, Valve Cover leaking and Oil is leaking onto spark plugs
7/1/13 - Oil Change, Replace Battery Terminal, Inspect AC System (Vehicle blows fuse when car put into gear) Check engine light is still on with multiple codes present. No mention of a transmission leak.
8/21/13 - Transmission shifts hard and difficult to shift into 2nd & 3rd gear. Fluid appeared to be leaking from the transmission pan. (4 months after transmission flush) We replaced the pan gasket & transmission fluid (Our cost $158.80 charged customer $13.08 for gaskets) Valve cover gasket still leaking / O2 sensors recommended.
10/28/13 - Transmission fluid leak - inspected vehicle replaced both gaskets and fluid again with no charge to customer (Our Cost $158.80 customer charged $0)
12/05/13 - Transmission fluid leak - again replaced both gaskets and fluid with no charge to customer. (Our Cost $158.80 customer charged $0)
03/18/14 - Transmission shifting hard, transmission fluid leak - Inspected pan found 2 bolts had been stripped, repaired the problem cleaned the excess fluid and found the actual leak to be in the front right section of the engine above the small transmission pan (Servo). We offered to show the customer where the leak was coming from. The Customer was not interested in seeing the leak and requested her money back for the original transmission flush. We had already replaced the gasket 3 additional times at little or no cost to the customer, but refunded the original cost as well. When the Customer said she was going to take the vehicle to a transmission shop, we recommended the shop we normally use. She elected to take the vehicle elsewhere.
We strive to exceed our customer's expectations, but are not responsible for this failure.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
There was no leak from transmission until after fluid change, did not drive my vehicle most of the time stated due to 2 foot surgeries. Had they done there job and checked all gaskets and hoses and lines they would have noticed the gasket that was leaking. I do feel they are responsible, even if it just half the money to repair the transmission because they did not do their job properly. I have to trust what a auto shop tells me, they tell me it a pan gasket, and they replace it and it still leaks. Take it back and it is still leaking, and they tell me that it is the gasket, that it is not sealing properly, I have to trust them. She also fail to mention that I was there twice on the 23rd and they told 2 bolts were stripped so they replaced that in hopes of stopping the leak. That didnt work either. I drove to the kids school picked them up and headed straight back to them cause the car would not down shift. Then they tell me they put it on a machine and it threw a hidden code for the transmission pump, there is no code of the transmission pump cause it is manual, not a computer. I learned that from my brother. I was told that I would have to wait and was talked to like was an idiot. I feel they need to take responsibility for their part in the transmission. But ****** wants to deny any wrong doing. She said it herself it was not leaking until after the fluid change. It is my car and I had the right to take it to the shop that I see fit, not the one she offered. I also learned from the transmission shop that they use silicon on the gaskets which is a no no, and everytime they add new transmission fluid with out bleeding it properly it causes more problems.

06/04/2012Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Auto Services, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repair - Shocks, Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension, Auto Repairing-Foreign, Auto Electric Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Air Conditioning

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 04/09/2012Business started: 03/17/2003Business started locally: 06/09/2010
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: June 2010, SC

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Sheryl Rector (Owner) Christopher Lloyd Co-owner (President)
Number of Employees

6

Business Category

Auto Repair & Service, Auto Services - Oil & Lube, Auto Services, Auto Repair - Tune-Up, Auto Repair - Shocks, Auto Repair - Steering & Suspension, Auto Repairing-Foreign, Auto Electric Service, Auto Diagnostic Service, Auto Air Conditioning

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Honest 1 Auto Care

566 College Park Rd

Ladson, SC 29456

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central South Carolina and Charleston. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Honest 1 Auto Care is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Repair & Service

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.