BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 10/11/2013

Crews Chevrolet

Find a Location

(843) 820-78008199 Rivers Av, North CharlestonSC 29406 Send email to Crews Chevrolet

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 10/11/2013

BBB has determined that Crews Chevrolet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Crews Chevrolet's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service2
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Crews Chevrolet

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 1
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 3 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
12/07/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Had # months to fix a issue and as yet to do it.
A few months ago I sent my car to Crews to get a job done with my car that should of taken a week tops, this issue being no spark to the spark plugs, over the next few months I've had to call multiple times to even get the representative for my car to respond back and every time the response has been we will work on it in x amount of days or it should be completed in x amount of days. Now this is my daily driver and the rep knows this, I also informed him I needed my vehicle for when I was moving commands but no rush was put on the car. I have also inquired about whats been done to my car and a long list of parts and services have been list, now with this concerns me for some parts have replaced just recently so that does not seem to add up. Now I originally chose Crews for the sole reason I believed the company that produced my Impala should be able to at least get spark back into it, if they cant even do that then what is this company actually doing as they work on it? Every step up till now has been nothing short of hair pulling to get anywhere, I was even brought to the point where I asked the rep to get the car ready for me to tow it away since Crews does not have the skills to fix it, the rep replied ok it will be ready to tow in a few days. After the time passed I called asking how much would it be and he replied with he doesn't know he will have to look and call back, its been 2 weeks since then but I'm still waiting to even hear from Crews. Therefore I am filling this out in a hope in either the car will be fixed or something about the large amount of inconvenience this is causing me to even get work done can be situated

Desired Settlement
I honestly do not see the value of the "service" this company has provided for that none of it has actually fixed anything

Business Response
Vehicle was brought here after customer had replaced he engine himself. After inspection, we discovered multiple wires in main engine wiring harness were damaged. General Motors does not make a wiring harness for this vehicle anymore. Customer has supplied us with a used wiring harness which also has damage on it. After having the customer authorize diagnostics, we are still no further along due to the overall poor condition of vehicle and prior repairs made. At this point, we are respectfully declining to do any further diagnostics. Any charges up to this point will be waived. Customer can have vehicle towed at his convenience.

11/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Vehicle misrepresentation
On 10-28-15 we purchased a vehicle which had been promised to be put through service and checked out since they had just gotten it in as a trade. We were told that it had been done, that it had been checked out and oil changed, etc. and we were good to go. We drove this vehicle home and realized that they had it on overdrive. It is not supposed to be driven in overdrive except occassions like interstate and high speeds. So, we took it out of the overdrive and the transmission was slipping horribly and acting up. At that time they were closed so we brought it back to the dealer the next morning and let them know what had happened. We were assured everything would be taken care of and fixed or we would get our money back. They kept our vehicle the whole day and today we are told that there is nothing they can do because we had a deal, but the deal was that they would also put it through service to have everything checked out. We are being left with an unusable vehicle and promises that they misrepresented.

Desired Settlement
I would like them to stick by their word and repair or refund.

Business Response
We voided Mr. ***'s contract on Friday the 30th and the vehicle was returned the same day. We are sorry that he experienced problems with the vehicle.

07/10/2015Advertising / Sales Issues
06/30/2014Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-Used Cars, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Dealers-New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/16/2010Business started: 11/08/2001
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Business Management
Customer Contact: Mr. Ken French (Marketing Director)
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Robert Crews (President) Billing Dept.
Number of Employees

170

Business Category

Auto Dealers-Used Cars, Auto Body Repair & Painting, Auto Dealers-New Cars

Hours of Operation
Mon: 07:30 AM to 08:00 PMTue: 07:30 AM to 08:00 PMWed: 07:30 AM to 08:00 PMThu: 07:30 AM to 08:00 PMFri: 07:30 AM to 08:00 PMSat: 08:00 AM to 06:00 PM
Alternate Business Names
Crews Subaru of Charleston

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Crews Chevrolet has received 4.1 out of 5 stars based on 3 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Crews Chevrolet

8199 Rivers Av

North Charleston, SC 29406

To | From

LocationsX

2 Locations

  • 8199 Rivers Av 

    North Charleston, SC 29406(843) 820-7800

  • 8261 Rivers Ave 

    North Charleston, SC 29406(843) 820-4200

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central South Carolina and Charleston. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Crews Chevrolet is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers-Used Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.