BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/20/1995

Palmetto Ford/Mamas Used Cars

Phone: (843) 571-3673Fax: (843) 571-7731

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints4

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (4)
06/25/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details

Car salesman guaranteed vehicle a 1969 Ford Bronco was in good mechanical order and could be used as a daily driver. Vehicle has mechanical issues.
I spoke to car salesman *** ***** at Palmetto Ford in Charleston South Carolina on May XX XXXX about the 1969 Ford Bronco that they were selling. He were advertising that the vehicle had under 25,000 miles and was in good mechanical order. I asked him numerous times if the vehicle could be used as a daily driver and he said yes. I stressed this because I would be trading in my daily driver 2001 Chevy Silverado for it plus remainder amount for the Bronco. He told me it was and I would be good to go. I took a 1 day pass from Fort Bragg NC and drove down to Charleston SC to first inspect vehicle and drive vehicle on 20 May 2014. After test driving with ****** ****** and him also telling me it was mechanically sound and their mechanics checked it over I agreed to purchase the vehicle. I traded my 2001 Chevy Silverado 3,444 and paid 15,500 for the Bronco. After the purchase both salesman didn't know how the fuel selector worked and told me to purchase a gas can just in case if the vehicle ran out of gas. I thought this was strange to tell me after the purchase. So I drove back to NC and immediately the next day the vehicle would not start. I spoke with the sales manager **** ******** and explained to him my situation. I would miss work and possibly be in trouble with the Army if I couldn't make it to work on time. **** ******** told me that it was not a daily driver and his mechanics never looked it over at all. The dealership was selling it for the dealership's owner's friend on consignment. He told me he would get back to me after he asked the previous owner questions about how to get the gas to flow to the carburetor and such. *** ***** also said the same thing and he sent me an email that was a blog post from other Bronco owners from some random internet site. This was no help what so ever. I need to get the vehicle to start so I could get to work. Turns out the fuel selector is not on the dash it is behind the driver seat and is broken. All the wiring in the vehicle is in a horrible state and a safety hazard because cut wires are not properly covered. The battery was not bracketed down and slid into the fan. It was cracked open and sulfuric acid sprayed all over the engine. Windshield wipers did not work as well. So this vehicle that was told to me that was mechanically sound and a daily driver is now coasting me hundreds to a couple thousand dollars to fix. Dealership sales manger **** ******** promised me 250 dollar check to pay for fuel selector valve. I as of 06 June 2014 have not receive check.

Desired Settlement
I would like to be refunded the money and get my traded vehicle back for this Bronco. I would like to be refunded for a new battery and a fuel selector valve plus time spent laboring on the vehicle. I would also like a formal apology from the dealership for lying to an Active Duty Soldier and their word that this will never happen again to any one else.

Business Response
On the day that Mr. ********** arrived, the first thing we encouraged him to do was take "an extensive test drive" and look over the vehicle very carefully because it was, after all, a 45 year old vehicle and we wanted him to take the opportunity to find anything marginal or inoperative on the vehicle.

Upon return he claimed that he was "familiar with these" and realized it was a 45 year old vehicle.

There is no such thing as a 45 year old vehicle, that hasn't been fully restored, that can be used as a daily driver, we certainly wouldn't represent it as such. For one, there isn't even a top on the vehicle and it has very obviously been rained in for a period of time evidenced by corrosion all around the vehicle. The electrical system mentioned by Mr. ********** was also in plain sight hanging down from behind the dashboard, we made no attempt to conceal this.

*** ***** quoted to the customer that due to the age of the vehicle, the mileage shown has probably rolled over "multiple times".

During various points in the transaction when we couldn't agree to terms, the customer stated that he had taken 4 hours to drive to us and didn't want us to "waste his time" by him leaving without the vehicle.

We did offer a concession of $250 toward a repair, which will be sent out forthwith.

We would never knowingly disappoint an "Active Duty Soldier", or anyone else for that matter, as it would not be a way to carry on the positive business like we have for the last 45 years in business.

04/02/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Palmetto Ford has refused on multiple occasions to return messages and phone calls requesting a refund for a cancelled vehicle service contract.
I purchased a pre-owned vehicle on January 2, 2012 from Palmetto Ford and included a 2-year vehicle service contract in the amount of $1664.00USD. The cost of said contract was then added to the vehicle loan provided by a local credit union at a rate of 5.99%. Then, on January 28, 2012 I returned to Palmetto Ford to complete, sign, and have submitted by Palmetto Ford a vehicle service cancellation form. The cancellation form states that a refund would be issued to the lender for the remaining balance. On February 13, 2014 the vehicle loan balance was satisfied, however the lender had no record of the cancelled service contract refund. Also, the service contract agency had no record of receiving the cancellation form that should have been submitted by Palmetto Ford. Since February 13, I have made no less than 6 attempts to contact the Accounting Department of Palmetto Ford, including an in-person visit and several unreturned voice messages. In addition, I sent a detailed e-mail message to two individual finance managers requesting immediate attention to my requests, which have also gone unanswered. My final avenue of resolution will inevitably be through filing a claim with the local magistrates court if I do not receive written contact from Palmetto Ford acknowledging the failed contract refund and demonstrating an attempt at resolution.

Desired Settlement
I am seeking from Palmetto Ford a refund in the amount of no less than $1691.93USD. This amount is calculated by the 23 month contract balance compounded by a 5.99% APR that was accrued over the loan payment period.

Business Response
On 3/21/2014 Mr ******** was issued a refund in the amount of $1614.00. On 04/01/2014 we issued him an additional check for $77.93 for a total of $1691.93 which was the amount that he had calculated as a refund amount with interest. Per our conversation he is satisfied. Case Closed.

05/09/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

I was over charged and taken advantage of because I'm female.
I called Palmetto Ford for 3 reasons. 1-I needed an oil change 2-My windshield wiper fluid tank wasn't working and 3-the rubber seal on my rear door was loose and needed repair/replacement.
Upon dropping the car off at the scheduled appointment I was also told I was due for a service involving adding anti-freeze to the cooling system. I was never told how much this would cost however I agreed assuming it wouldn't be much. I was told due to the nature of my repairs I would need to leave my vehicle for a day or 2 in which case I had to arrange for a rental car (additional cost). When I was called with a quote before the service was handled, I opted not to get the door seal replaced because it would be $290. I was also told that my windshield wiper fluid tank would not need to be replaced but only reconnected because some wires had come loose preventing it from working properly. I was relieved thinking it would reduce my cost. Also an air filter was replaced and I was asked if I wanted them to install it. Of course I did. I was notified the next day that my car was ready for pick up. So after returning my rental car, I was devastated to learn that my service bill was $406.00 not including the rental car charge of $85.00. All I feel I received was an oil change, tire rotation, an air filter and labor. I did not receive good customer service and was talked to like I should have expected to pay this astronomical amount. I felt raped. I am a single Mom and can barely provide for my 2 children. I will never return to this establishment and all of my friends, family and coworkers will be told of my experience.

Desired Settlement
Because I didn't ask for nor was I ever informed of the significant cost ($198.00) the cooling system service would be, I would like a refund/credit applied to my credit card for this service.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: *** ********
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ************
corresponding to all complaint status in order,
We reviewed our bill and prices our charged the same for these services no matter gender of customer.
When dropping off she discussed service needed for mileage, advisor went over her service history and explained only service missed at this point was the coolant flush for the vehicles cooling system she was quoted $200 for this service, as with all of our estimates they are quoted out the door prices.
services were authorized at time of write up, no work is performed on vehicles with prior customers approval
we did not explain to customer that washer tank needed to be replaced only that washer hose had come loose which we traced down and reattached for the fee listed on the repair order.
Service that were performed were as follows complete cooling system flush and fill, works oil change and tire rotation along with multi point inspection, we traced down problem and repaired line to washer tank that was leaking, customer declined her rear door weather stripping concern, she was not charged anything for looking at that concern, prices were correct and standard for repairs approved and performed on vehicle.

04/25/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

My complaint are:1: how the body shop ignored the complaints about the car until is was real bad and had to spent more money fixing it.
Why is it that the Palmetto Ford, charges labor for every thing they fix separately, Instead of doing the little repairs and charge 1 price for the labor.After they get thru with job. Just like when they replace the serpentine for the second time in 4 months. Serpentine Belt , Part # FMC BE8Z 8620A JK6 414A, 123.25, Labor- 123.98(03/17/15). They replaced Engine Air Filter, Part #-1904 BE8Z 9601 A. Parts was 24.98,labor was 22.95. Replaced Front W/Wiper Blades part #'s were 17V28 AA and 17V528 HA. Price was24.96, and Labor was 16.95.Paid Cash-378.46. Then 07/07/2015 had another serpentine put on. Why I don't know. The serpentine doesn't have to be cut. I know for a fact. I did one myself. As long as you Have the tool to help pull it off. I been body shop Like Palmetto Ford, should have one. What was the tube for?Any how the part was Battery 129.98 , Serpentine belt 108.11. Paid Cash-298.02.
On 06/17/2015 customer stated the tire light is on and was told it needed a valve stem. tire is in the trunk. They sold her a new tire , mount and balance it.Part#I 61899 price 78.00. why? If the mechanic said that she needed a valve stem. Paid by Debit Card. Price 113.16. On April 06,2015 both headlamp were replaced by Prothro Chevy. Her car had to be worked on because a deer ran out in front of her and messed it up.
On 10/14/2014 mechanic said brakes inspected and ok on this visit. Then10/29/2014, the brakes pads and rotors were replaced. Parts# BRRF 209 and AE8Z 2001B, Price 99.94 and 72.00, Labor 171.94. Paid cash 390.04. My extended warranty had it still covered. Plus I had Premier
Plus Wrap. I paid 2,241.00 for it. I feel like I betaken advantage of. When I purchased the Premier Plus Wrap for the car , I was told by Boston Fender , It would cover from the front bumper to the back bumper and everything inside.

Desired Settlement
For a Refund of the money we took out of my pocket and get the car fixed right. I will never refer anyone to Palmetto Ford. If anyone ask me I will tell them , You will be treated terrible and they only will put a bandage on the problems until it get real bad. A know other people who has had problem with This car lot. I had planned on buying another vehicle from there, but have definitely changed my mind.

Business Response
Bruce Bilsback our VP of Sales Operations here at Palmetto Ford passed ***** Mr. *****'s complaint.

I'm not sure I understand all of it but am able to make out some of it. I am also not clear on when the vehicle was damaged. He mentions Palmetto Ford's body shop and then mentions Prothro Chevrolet. He also mentions "her". "They sold her a new tire". Not sure who he is referring to.

Yes, Mr. ***** purchased a vehicle from us and yes he purchased an Extended Service Plan. Unfortunately the items that Mr. ***** is referring to are all maintenance items that are NOT covered by the Extended Service Plan (belts, wiper blades, air filter, tire). I am not aware of any Extended Service Plan that covers the maintenance items he is referring to in his complaint.

While we don't believe we have done anything wrong, in light of this complaint, we are willing to offer Mr. ***** $200 as a goodwill gesture. Please let me know it this is acceptable and we will get a check out to him today.


****** M ******, ***

Palmetto Ford, Inc.

Office: (XXX) XXX-XXXX


Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies-New, Auto Repair-Mobile, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Body Repair & Painting

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.