BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/08/2011

McElveen Buick GMC

Phone: (843) 871-6800

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Guarantee / Warranty Issues2
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints10

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)
02/05/2016Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
During completion of the Certified Pre-owned checklist, the tires were found not to comply to the remaining tread requirements.
between 1/9/16-1/11/16, I purchased a Certified pre-owned 2013 Buick Enclave from McElveen Buick in Summerville, SC. During the process, I questioned the tread life several times and was assured by sales it would be addressed during signoff of the Certified pre-owned checklist which is a standard 172-point inspection for any GM certified vehicle. The form states it is to be signed off by the certified technician, the service manager, the used vehicle manager and the customer and the customer is supposed the get the white copy of the completed form. By the time we finished the financial paperwork on 1/11, the service group had left for the day so I was told to bring the car back on the 12th to finish the checklist. On the 12th, I met with a service manager and showed him there were areas where the tread depth measured less then the required 5/32". He tried to tell me it is close enough and the average is 5/32" or more, but the document clearly states "MINIMUM TIRE TREAD DEPTH REQUIRED ON ALL TIRES IS 5/32NDS ACROSS THE TREAD PLANE. ALL FOUR TIRES MUST BE MATCHING BRANDS AND SIZE." He said they would go back and discuss but just left me sitting in the waiting room for almost 45 minutes and would not come back out to speak with me. I have since made several calls and left messages with Service manager **** *****, but they will not return my calls. There has been no futher effort on their part to sign off on the Certified Pre-owned checklist which is only partially completed, but is supposed to be reviewed and signed off by me that we have reviewed. They were also supposed to follow up on a missing Key FOB and attempt remove a ding in the passenger rear quarter panel.

Desired Settlement
My cost for (4) tires is $820 for matching Michelin tires. I request they install new tires to bring the vehicle into the Certified Pre-Owned requirements or issue me a $820 refund that we can document on the checklist and signoff. I would also like them to review the remaining items that were never checked off.

Business Response
Good afternoon,


We have contacted the client and addressed the issues with the tires. The client will be sending a picture of the tire and coming back to the dealer so we can look at the tire. The tires were at the spec to pass *** certification at the time of the inspection. The client was also asking if there was another key or fob for the vehicle. He was not stating that the dealership owed him a key or fob.

Thank you,

***** ** ******

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Their response is that 4-1/2 rounds up to 5 but that is not the way the document is written. It says 5/32 minimum across tread plane. I am attempting again to reach the GM certified training group to determine if anything over 4 is supposed to round up to 5 as dealer is stating. Without a 3rd party involved I am not sure we will come to a resolution.

Final Business Response
Our General Sales Manager, ***** ******** spoke with customer yesterday. Asked him to bring vehicle to dealership to inspect tires. Customer was advised if tires are within inspection guidelines, they will not be replaced. Customer was also advised that the dent mentioned at time of sale would be repaired at dealership cost. Upon bring vehicle into service, the checklist will be reviewed by Service Manager ***** ******** for accuracy. Customer has yet to bring vehicle to dealership and is advised to call prior for an appointment to avoid waiting. XXX-XXX-XXXX.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)
We met one more time in person and were able to work to an acceptable solution. The work has now been completed and they have satisfied the remaining items from the checklist. I appreciate their willingness to put this to rest.

11/02/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Refund of deposit. Car was never purchased signed for or picked up. We have been waiting on refund for a week.
My name is ***** **************** and I have been waiting refund from your TruAuto Summerville location since 9/24. On 9/21 I worked with the salesman ***** ***** and placed a deposit payment of $500 to obtain financing on a vehicle. The next day we had to choose another vehicle due to credit issue. Me and my husband discussed it and decide to look around first. On 9/23 I requested a refund of our monies from Mr Black. He told me to pick it up in 24 hours. We came by the next day nothing was requested we worked with the Finance manager who told us it would be Monday before we could have anything. Well we have been to the dealership since Monday and we still have nothing. Finally I spoke with Brandon on 9/30 and he stated I will have to come in with my credit card and receipt to obtain the refund. I am extremely dissatisfied and frustrated. The original problem started when we decided to look somewhere else that Mr ***** the salesmen abruptly told me that we will be back, go ahead and look. I am just letting you know that with your credit situation you will be back because no one is going to finance you. Well I went to Carmax and was approved that day. Today 10/1 I am still waiting on my $400 credit to my card and $100 cash or check payment. I just can't understand why we were never told and any credit card was requested in the beginning. Well I hope today that I receive the full refund the way I paid it. I would hope that this message reached the correct team to handle my refund. Please refund me back to my Credit Card ASAP. I can come and pick up a check for the $100 I gave you in cash. Thank you.

Desired Settlement
Have someone from corporate give me call or credit my monies back to my debit card.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ******* ****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ********@********.com
Customer has received a full refund of all monies. Thank you.

02/08/2016Problems with Product / Service
07/21/2015Guarantee / Warranty Issues
04/20/2015Advertising / Sales Issues
06/16/2014Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Parts & Supplies-New, Auto Dealers-Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.