BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/28/1988

McDaniels Automotive Group

Find a Location

(803) 786-64006409 Two Notch Rd, ColumbiaSC 29223 Send email to McDaniels Automotive Group

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/28/1988

BBB has determined that McDaniels Automotive Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised McDaniels Automotive Group's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 11 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

11 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 6 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service9
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 11

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on McDaniels Automotive Group

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (11)
04/08/2014Problems with Product / Service
05/10/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
GAS FILTER NOT CHECKED DURING MAJOR SERVICE WHICH ALMOST RESULTED IN DEATH/INJURY,CAR WAS UNDRIVEABLE WITHIN DAYS AFTER SERVICE DUE TO CRACKED FILTER
TOOK CAR TO MCDANIELS AUDI ON 4/5/16 FOR SERVICE COSTING 500 PLUS DOLLARS,WITHIN DAYS AFTER SERVICE STARTED SMELLING GAS,THOUGHT IT WAS MINOR FROM OIL CHANGE, STARTED HAVING HEADACHES,FALLING ASLEEP DRIVING BECAUSE SMELL KEPT GETTING STRONGER,CALLED AND TOOK CAR BACK ON 4-18-16 WAS CALLED TO SERVICE AREAS AND WAS SHOWN CRACK IN FILTER AND GAS LEAKING,ASKED WHY WASN'T THIS CHECK DURING SERVICE?WAS TOLD THIS WASN'T PART OF SERVICE!! I ASKED WAS THE CAR DRIVEABLE WAS TOLD NO! I HAD TO PAY AN ADDITIONAL 657.OO. HOW IS THIS NOT A MAJOR CHECK? HOW IS FILLING WINDSHIELD FLUID IS? I DID NOT HAVE THIS PROBLEM BEFORE GETTING SERVICE NO SIGNS/SMELL OF GAS!! UPON PICKING UP CAR, LIGHT INDICATOR WAS ON FOR BULB REPLACEMENT, REFUSED TO GIVE ANYMORE MONEY TO AUDI WENT PURCHASED BULB TO GET INSTALLED ELSEWHERE ONLY TO BE TOLD I DIDN'T NEED A BULB BECAUSE IT WAS UNSCREWED! DURING SERVICE I WAS TOLD A BULB WAS OUT PAYING 100 PLUS DOLLARS THEN! I PAID 12OO.OO PLUS DOLLARS WITHIN A MONTH FOR REPAIRS THAT I FEEL ARE QUESTIONABLE, AND ALSO TO NOTE I PAID 50 PLUS DOLLARS FOR A GAS LATCH ON THE OUSIDE OF VEHICLE AND 85 BUCKS TO REPLACE LESS THAN 15 MINS TO PUT ON! MY COMPLAINT RESOLVES AROUND PROBLEMS WITH VEHICLE AFTER LEAVING DEALERSHIP WHERE PROBLEMS DIDN'T EXIST AND WITH THE NEAR DEATH EXPERIENCE OF GAS LEAKING DUE TO CRACKED FILTER!

Desired Settlement
RESOLUTION TO KNOW WHY THE GAS FILTER WASN'T CHECKED, WHY MY LIGHT BULB WAS UNSCREWED, I WAS CHARGED FOR BULB BEING OUT DURING SERVICE AND PAID, IT WASN'T NO LIGHT WARNING ON LIKE IT WAS WHEN I PICKED UP MY CAR ONLY TO FIND OUT IT WAS UNSCREWED!I WOULD LIKE TO HAVE A FULL REFUND BECAUSE I HAD NO PROBLEMS UNTIL I LEFT MCDANIELS AUDI,ALL MY PROBLEMS STARTED EACH TIME I LEFT! I REALLY DON'T FEEL SAFE EVER TAKING MY CAR OR ANY FAMILY MEMBER CAR TO THAT DEALERSHIP DUE TO THE NEAR DEATH EXPERIENCE!

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** Svc. Dir.
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ************@mcdanielsgroup.com
My name is ****** ****** and I am the Service Director for McDaniels Auto Group in Charleston. I do apologize for any inconvenience this has caused you and I have thoroughly reviewed your case involving the fuel smell and the services performed. Unfortunately the 75,000 mile service you requested us to perform does not include a fuel filter check. This item on your vehicle is a non-serviceable part. The technicians do not have any access to this item during the 75,000 mile service as it requires removal of the rear seat, cutting open the carpet, and removing a metal plate to gain access to the top of the filter which is located inside the fuel tank. I have attached the 2009 maintenance guide that we use to service every vehicle for that model year.

https://www.audiusa.com/content/dam/audiusa/Documents/maintenance-schedules/Audi-Maintenance-Schedule-Model-Year-2009.pdf

Unfortunately there are many parts on the vehicle that can or may go bad due to time and wear on the vehicle that cannot be foreseen by our technicians. We do strive to provide the best service work in the industry and our service work comes with a parts and labor warranty of 12 months or 12,000 miles. If the light bulb we replaced has become unscrewed it would be under warranty and we would repair it at no cost to you.

I am aware that back in January you had a part replaced for the fuel door actuator however I am not sure how that part has failed based on the description provided. I would be more than happy to help resolve any failed parts or labor work that was performed on this repair.

If there is anything I can do to assist with improper repairs done to your vehicle I am available to you at any time by phone or email. My phone number is XXX-XXX-XXXX ******* and Email ************@mcdanielsgroup.com




Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
No because I'm still having issues with my light indicators coming on stating I need bulbs, 4/29 left brake light came on 4/40 left rear light came on both stating I need bulbs. I paid 499.00 plus 100 for a bulb at the time of pick up. This is the 3rd time since my 4/5 service. There was no light indicator on at that time so why Now all my indicators are coming on after service??????

Final Business Response
Yes I do see the vehicle had a Right Front headlamp that was addressed during the 75,000 mile service. We replaced the right front headlamp and re-aligned your headlights. This was detected because we do a visual check of the lights on your vehicle as a part of that service. Bulbs on a vehicle are a maintenance item and will go bad with time and use. Unfortunately we are unable to tell when or where the next bulb might go bad. The bulb indicator tries to help consumers know when a bulb has failed. If the bulb only comes on at night the indicator will only be able to tell you if a bulb is not working when that bulb is supposed to be lit. There are many other factors that go into play when trying to detect a blown bulb some of which could go undetected by the vehicle's electronics. This is the reason of the visual check durning the vehicle's yearly maintenance. It seems that you have a few bulbs that have reached their life span and are requiring replacement. The Audi Q7 has many bulbs for adequate lighting and safety of the consumer and will naturally require many of these bulbs to be replaced at some point.

"REFUSED TO GIVE ANYMORE MONEY TO AUDI WENT PURCHASED BULB TO GET INSTALLED ELSEWHERE ONLY TO BE TOLD I DIDN'T NEED A BULB BECAUSE IT WAS UNSCREWED!"

The comments made before suggesting we unscrewed a bulb are not accurate as we the dealership would never intentionally break a client's vehicle and return it worse than when received. The comment below also suggest that you did not want to do business with us any longer

I REALLY DON'T FEEL SAFE EVER TAKING MY CAR OR ANY FAMILY MEMBER CAR TO THAT DEALERSHIP DUE TO THE NEAR DEATH EXPERIENCE!

Unfortunately we do not feel that we can meet the expectations you have set forth for our team. We feel that it is best for both parties to refrain from further business.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Because when I took my car elsewhere to have bulb replaced I was told and shown that the bulb in question didn't need replacing because it was unscreed and to make a clear I'm referring to the right running board light located at the bottom right not headlamps as to what the responder is talking about! Every time I read the responders comment it's never on topic because it clearly states bulb not headlamp and yes it was UNSCREWED! After the person I took my car to rescrewed the buld light indicator went off so I guess he (responder) have an explanation for that! I agree with ONE thing I WILL NOT TAKE MY CAR TO MCDANIELS AUDI OR PURCHASE ANY FORTCOMING CAR PURCHASE FROM THEM!!! This issue has been resolved with Audi USA!It was interesting to see the responses however I'm glad Audi USA was more CUSTOMER friendly!

03/21/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Had car rekeyed...but they never changed the door lock and when the battery goes dead, i cant get into my car.
I had my car rekeyed one summer and ever since I have had trouble using the physical key. I took it back when the battery went dead the first time and AAA had to pop the lock. The service guy said something was broke in the door and I replied yes it may be broke now because AAA had to pop the lock but the key did not work. They also did not change the lock for the back seat compartment to the trunk. I was like how could you rekey a car but not change all the corresponding locks. They wanted to charge me $159 to open the door up to see what was broken. I have had to have my car opened from AAA several times since then because of battery issues. I took the car to McDaniels twice since then to get a resolve with no bite until I threatened to sue. A guy named Abbott called back but he never was there when I went buy to see what could be done. These people are crooks and are very negligent. Because I am a female I think they try to get over like we do not know anything.

Desired Settlement
I just want my lock fixed to my door. to fit my key and my compartment in the back lock replaced so I dont have to keep calling AAA to get in my car when my car is sitting at the airport for four days.

Business Response
o Whom it may concern,

In response to case# XXXXXXXX,

****** ******** did bring her vehicle(207 Acura TL) in to have her lock set replaced due to someone had stolen her keys. that was on 07/28/2012. Customer does not have any other repair orders after that repair. Service manager left message for customer to contact him on this new issue.
Fixed-Ops Manager,
***** ******

03/07/2016Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Only given 1 key, told the other was with previous owner. After check delivery was told a 2nd key would be at my expense because they lost $ on sale
Decided to buy the car 12-13-16 for 30k from ******* ****** and McDaniels Acura on Killian Road. Car was on lot at McDaniels Subaru on Two Notch Road. Realized I only had one key on the way home from the dealership and texted *******. She checked and said they didn't have another key there and that she would check with the previous owner and get it. No response on Sunday or Monday. Called and texted Tuesday but no response. Dropped off a cashiers check for the car Tuesday about 5:30pm and asked ****** ****** for help. He said that his only job was financing and I needed to talk to *******. Called ******* again on the drive home but did not leave a message.
Received a text Wednesday morning which said that they did not find another key and that since they had lost money on the deal I would have to pay for another one. ******* said that was her boss, the sales manager's decision and he wasn't open to having a conversation with me about it. I asked for his boss' number and ******* gave me the name ****** Cheek at the McDaniels Subaru location. He was sent an email Wednesday and Thursday but did not respond.

Desired Settlement
A second key to the car I purchased

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** *****
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: ***********@mcdanielsag.com
I responded to the customer on your website, and informed her that the previous customer found the second key and would bring it to the dealership. She responded and said great.

09/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Vehicle repair has been going on for almost a month and I have no knowledge on what they are doing to my vehicle or how long they plan to keep it.
On July 6, 2015 my vehicle was towed to dealership for repair. The Service Representative (*****) said that they would be able to perform a diagnostic the next morning. On July 7 the diagnostic was done and I was told the problem was being caused by a part called a Crank Shaft Position Sensor. The part was ordered and expected the be delivered on July 9. On July 9 I did not receive a phone call the entire day. I got a ride from a friend later that afternoon and I was told that my car was not fixed. The decided to try more repairs on my vehicle without my authorization. I spoke with *****'s manager ******* and he said they tried to put on a Cam Shaft Position Sensor and it did not work. July 10 he called me and said it was an ECM and that was the problem. July 13 - 14 I did not get any updates. Around 3pm July 15 I called the dealership without any update and found out the car still was not fixed. I then had to rent a vehicle due to having many obligations I needed to take care that I missed before because of this repair. July 16 I expressed my concern about having to pay for a rental which led ******* to get me a loaner vehicle. July 16 at 6pm I received loaner vehicle. July 20 -22 I did not receive any updates on my vehicle. July 23 I went to the dealership again and was told my vehicle was fixed. The dealership then tried to charge me multiple diagnostic fees for every repair that I had no knowledge of along with the first one I did have knowledge of. The customer service was horrible and I did not receive my car yet. I was told that they would call a representative from their corporate office to verify that the dealership did every repair that they could and if they did they would give me a new vehicle.

Desired Settlement
I would like the dealership to reimbursement me for the unemployment benefits I did not receive due to no transportation as well as a new vehicle.

Business Response
Complaint#XXXXXXXX


In response to ******* *********** complaint,


Mr. ******* did have his vehicle towed into Mcdaniels Mazda dealership stating that the vehicle would not start. We performed diagnostics on his vehicle and found several problems with the vehicle. After extensive testing for electrical issues. The computer for the vehicle(PCM) was faulty. Replaced PCM at no charge to Mr. Watkins. Retested and vehicle started up and ran for a while. After performing several road test-vehicle shut down and would not start again. Checked vehicle and found PCM was damaged again. Explained to customer that the vehicle has some major wiring issues and that it had damaged the new PCM that we installed into his vehicle. Explained to customer that we could try to pinpoint wiring issue. Customer then started yelling and threatening employees. Fixed -op Manager(***** ******* was notified of what Mr. *********** did. Mr. ****** contacted customer and asked customer to come in so they could talk about what went on. Mr. Watkins arrived and apologized to all the employees. Mr. Abbott explained to customer that the vehicle need a wiring harness to repair his vehicle. Customer left and his mother contacted Mr. Abbott and they discussed what was going on with the vehicle. Customers mother asked if we could possibly trade him out of the vehicle. At that time we were unable to perform that deal. Mr. Watkins mother stated that she did not want to spend that kind of money to replace the wiring harness. The vehicle remained at the dealership until the customer finally had vehicle towed away. Customer agreed to all diagnostic charges.(see attached repair order)




Fixed-Op Manager,

***** ******


Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The information provided by Mr. ****** is incorrect. I did not yell or threaten any employees nor did I apologize to anyone. Mr. ****** is very rude and unprofessional. However I am done with this matter because I took my car to another Mazda dealership and it only took them a week to fix the vehicle. The other dealership also stated that the supposed fixes done by the other dealership were not done correctly. I will no longer do business with any McDaniels dealership.

Best Regards,

******* ***********

01/04/2016Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Parts & Supplies-New

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/01/1988Business started: 10/01/1991
Contact Information
Principal: Mr Rob McDaniels (GM)Customer Contact: Ms. Pat Shepherd (Controller)Mr. Bill McDaniels (President)
Number of Employees

32

Business Category

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Parts & Supplies-New

Products & Services

This company offers auto sales and service.

Alternate Business Names
McDaniel's Acura, McDaniel's Audi of Charleston, McDaniel's Porsche, McDaniels Acura of Charleston, McDaniel's Subaru, McDaniel's Mazda
Industry Tips
Tips on Buying a Used Car

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for McDaniels Automotive Group

6409 Two Notch Rd

Columbia, SC 29223

To | From

LocationsX

4 Locations

  • 2283 Savannah Hwy. 

    Charleston, SC 29414(843) 766-1299
    (843) 766-6165

  • 440 Killian Rd 

    Columbia, SC 29203-9751

  • 501 W Killian Rd 

    Columbia, SC 29203-9138

  • 6409 Two Notch Rd 

    Columbia, SC 29223Fax: (803) 786-7935

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central South Carolina and Charleston. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*McDaniels Automotive Group is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers-New Cars

Tips on Buying a Used Car
X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.