BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/28/1988

McDaniels Automotive Group

Find a Location

(803) 786-64006409 Two Notch Rd, ColumbiaSC 29223 Send email to McDaniels Automotive Group

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/28/1988

BBB has determined that McDaniels Automotive Group meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised McDaniels Automotive Group's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 10 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

10 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Problems with Product / Service9
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 10

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on McDaniels Automotive Group

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (10)
04/08/2014Problems with Product / Service
02/04/2013Problems with Product / Service
12/06/2012Problems with Product / Service
09/16/2015Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details

Vehicle repair has been going on for almost a month and I have no knowledge on what they are doing to my vehicle or how long they plan to keep it.
On July 6, 2015 my vehicle was towed to dealership for repair. The Service Representative (*****) said that they would be able to perform a diagnostic the next morning. On July 7 the diagnostic was done and I was told the problem was being caused by a part called a Crank Shaft Position Sensor. The part was ordered and expected the be delivered on July 9. On July 9 I did not receive a phone call the entire day. I got a ride from a friend later that afternoon and I was told that my car was not fixed. The decided to try more repairs on my vehicle without my authorization. I spoke with *****'s manager ******* and he said they tried to put on a Cam Shaft Position Sensor and it did not work. July 10 he called me and said it was an ECM and that was the problem. July 13 - 14 I did not get any updates. Around 3pm July 15 I called the dealership without any update and found out the car still was not fixed. I then had to rent a vehicle due to having many obligations I needed to take care that I missed before because of this repair. July 16 I expressed my concern about having to pay for a rental which led ******* to get me a loaner vehicle. July 16 at 6pm I received loaner vehicle. July 20 -22 I did not receive any updates on my vehicle. July 23 I went to the dealership again and was told my vehicle was fixed. The dealership then tried to charge me multiple diagnostic fees for every repair that I had no knowledge of along with the first one I did have knowledge of. The customer service was horrible and I did not receive my car yet. I was told that they would call a representative from their corporate office to verify that the dealership did every repair that they could and if they did they would give me a new vehicle.

Desired Settlement
I would like the dealership to reimbursement me for the unemployment benefits I did not receive due to no transportation as well as a new vehicle.

Business Response

In response to ******* *********** complaint,

Mr. ******* did have his vehicle towed into Mcdaniels Mazda dealership stating that the vehicle would not start. We performed diagnostics on his vehicle and found several problems with the vehicle. After extensive testing for electrical issues. The computer for the vehicle(PCM) was faulty. Replaced PCM at no charge to Mr. Watkins. Retested and vehicle started up and ran for a while. After performing several road test-vehicle shut down and would not start again. Checked vehicle and found PCM was damaged again. Explained to customer that the vehicle has some major wiring issues and that it had damaged the new PCM that we installed into his vehicle. Explained to customer that we could try to pinpoint wiring issue. Customer then started yelling and threatening employees. Fixed -op Manager(***** ******* was notified of what Mr. *********** did. Mr. ****** contacted customer and asked customer to come in so they could talk about what went on. Mr. Watkins arrived and apologized to all the employees. Mr. Abbott explained to customer that the vehicle need a wiring harness to repair his vehicle. Customer left and his mother contacted Mr. Abbott and they discussed what was going on with the vehicle. Customers mother asked if we could possibly trade him out of the vehicle. At that time we were unable to perform that deal. Mr. Watkins mother stated that she did not want to spend that kind of money to replace the wiring harness. The vehicle remained at the dealership until the customer finally had vehicle towed away. Customer agreed to all diagnostic charges.(see attached repair order)

Fixed-Op Manager,

***** ******

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The information provided by Mr. ****** is incorrect. I did not yell or threaten any employees nor did I apologize to anyone. Mr. ****** is very rude and unprofessional. However I am done with this matter because I took my car to another Mazda dealership and it only took them a week to fix the vehicle. The other dealership also stated that the supposed fixes done by the other dealership were not done correctly. I will no longer do business with any McDaniels dealership.

Best Regards,

******* ***********

10/02/2015Problems with Product / Service
06/01/2015Problems with Product / Service
04/22/2014Problems with Product / Service
04/07/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies-New, Auto Repair & Service

Additional Information

BBB file opened: 07/01/1988Business started: 10/01/1991
Contact Information
Principal: Mr Rob McDaniels (GM)Customer Contact: Ms. Pat Shepherd (Controller)Mr. Bill McDaniels (President)
Number of Employees


Business Category

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies-New, Auto Repair & Service

Products & Services

This company offers auto sales and service.

Alternate Business Names
McDaniel's Acura, McDaniel's Audi of Charleston, McDaniel's Porsche, McDaniels Acura of Charleston, McDaniel's Subaru, McDaniel's Mazda
Industry Tips
Tips on Buying a Used Car

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for McDaniels Automotive Group

6409 Two Notch Rd

Columbia, SC 29223

To | From


4 Locations

  • 2283 Savannah Hwy. 

    Charleston, SC 29414(843) 766-1299
    (843) 766-6165

  • 440 Killian Rd 

    Columbia, SC 29203-9751

  • 501 W Killian Rd 

    Columbia, SC 29203-9138

  • 6409 Two Notch Rd 

    Columbia, SC 29223Fax: (803) 786-7935

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central South Carolina and Charleston. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*McDaniels Automotive Group is in this range.


Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.


BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.


BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.


Industry Tips for Auto Dealers-New Cars

Tips on Buying a Used Car

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.


What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.


About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.


Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.


What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.


BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.