BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 07/15/2013

Honda of Columbia

Phone: (803) 256-0156Fax: (803) 254-8769

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues2
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints6

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (6)
08/28/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
False information on purchase of vehicle
Went in at 10 am to purchase a vehicle was trading in a nissan versa. Went over payment terms with salesmen ***** ***** Made him aware what we could do. He went and made sales office aware. After talking back and forth ***** **** came out to make us aware that all was good and we were waiting to go sign the paperwork for the car. While waiting he stated he was going to wash the car and gas it up for us. I asked him at least 3 times if he was sure that we were getting the car. He said yes everything is good. You got the car. Just waitimg for finance office to open up. He said that we would mot be waiting had they not reached the deal we were looking for. Made us aware usually have 3 finance officers but one on vacation so we had to wait until one was free. He walked up to my daughter and said wverything is a go and said here sre the keys to the car. So we were there for almost 5 hours when sales manager vame out to make us aware that we were not getting the car. Told him salesman stated we had the car and he even gsv us the keys. He said he should not have. However he did and something needs to be done about this. We were handed keys an had car parked out front for her to drive away.

Desired Settlement
I am looking for them to give me the car at the rate and price salesman told me we had as he handed us the keys saying car is yours just gotta go sign the paperwork. With false information there needs to be some compensation. This is not something that is fixed with a sorry. We deserve what we were told was going to be ours and thst we had nothing to worry about.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ***** ***** GSM
Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX
Contact Email: ******@hondaofcolumbia.com
We do apologize for the miscommunication. We value your business and will do everything we can to make the best of this situation. We do not make the final decision on the rate/term that is handled by the banks. We do however control the price that we sell the vehicle for and we will be happy to honor the price that was quoted. We will do everything we can to get you the best terms available.

Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

09/17/2014Problems with Product / Service
02/25/2014Advertising / Sales Issues
03/22/2016Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
co refuses to make repairs that need to be done. sales crew rude to people especially to older people that they talk to as though they are talkinking
Grandchild totaled my car had to get another one. Salesman brought out two cars that were not ready to be sold as though they were my only choice and then de iced I was going to buy the Accord with lotsbhigher mileage. when I told the finance mgr that I figured he would put me down as buying the Accord instead of the Civic he was surprised but took care of the issue. the guy put down the date that I came in to say I liked the Civic better as the date of sale even though I said I would have to wait for my money from my insurance to arrive (this put the sale date maybe 4 or 5 days prior to what it actually was. problems keep popping up an thetpy keep telling me "its a used car. You can't expect it to be perfect". The owner actually told me I Had " stupid" complaint when I complained about rust on the wheels of this 2010 Civic when the wrecked Ford had wheels that showed and there was no rust on them. there are more things that happened like going to the dealership everyday for a week with complaints and waiting for long periods of time for help but I am assuming I am running out of time with this application

Desired Settlement
I am asking only at this time for the needed repairs like the large chunk of paint tat was taken out to be repaired properly in order that it will not ?owe the paint in that area and rust out as well as other problems already spoken to them about as well as the ones that keep coming up such as the trunk not closing properly when the opener inside the car is used, etc.

Business Response
Ms. ******* purchased a certified used 2010 Honda Civic on 5/13/14. The repairs taken care of as follows. John Harris Body Shop the fender, front bumper, hood, headlights, and pillars.
Ding out repaired deck lid, left rear door, left rear quarter. Vehicle went thru clean up and then given to our outside vendor Colors on Parade to touch up some other places an the left rear quarter.

I regret Ms. ******* felt our sales staff and management had been rude to her. Our employees are to treat everyone with respect. No one will be treated different because of Age, Gender or Race.

G Moore the sales person listened to Ms. ******* needs. ****** showed the Civic and explained to Ms. ******* that the car had not went thru our reconditioning (Certified) process. After seeing the vehicle Ms. ******* agreed to purchase. Knowing that Ms. ******* was waiting on the insurance check we had proper time to get the vehicle ready.

A few days later Ms. ******* came in with concern about the rust on the wheels. At that time Will ******* VP, and ***** ***** GSM, sat down with Ms. ******* and explained the difference in the Civic steel wheels and the Ford alloy wheels.

Mr. ******* told Ms. ******* that we did everything that had been promised on the vehicle and delivered the vehicle in satisfactory condition.



Consumer Response
Front& rear bumpers keep coming out, book does not seem to belong to this car. Cannot find some items in the book other items are in book,etc
Front & rear bumper keep coming out. Can be pushed back by hand, car and booklet do not seem to match (example) I not other person with me could find how to reset clock among other items, backseat is a joke. No one cold get into the back seat let alone ride to a destination in it. I would be happy to bring the car so it could be seen by someone at Your organization. I do not believe even a child could get in the back seat. I asked several times about at having been in an accident and getting a Car Fax but I was distracted from this request and never got one. Trunk lead was in need of replacement and they refused to replace it. Even the owner refused to replace it and it wouldn't close properly. I asked about having Dent replace forgives and they pretty much accused me of having had an accident and trying to get them to take responsibility for it. I hope I have covered all the items. If not I hope I can add onto this complaint.

Car replaced with another car that does not have the same problems this car has or replaced with another vehicle.

Final Consumer Response
*** I called the Honda Dealership today and they told me O would have to pay them $126.00 go them to look at my cat. This is out of the question. I am 69 years old and on Social Securoty supporting 2 other people besides me self. O cannot pay that to Honda. H E L P ! ! ! !

Final Business Response
Hello Mrs. *******,

My Name is ***** ******* and I am the Service Manager with Honda Of Columbia. I have tried to contact you several times at home and your cellular phone. Please be advised there was no way to leave you a message on either source so I am trying to contact you via e mail. I understand you called and did not talk to me the other day. The answer you received when you spoke to one of our advisers is normally correct. We do charge for diagnostics when customers have issues needing attention. In your case I will be looking at your vehicle and there will be no charge for the inspection. Please call ME at your convenience and we will set up a time and date.



***** *******

Service Manager

Honda of Columbia

XXX-XXX-XXXX ext ****

XXX-XXX-XXXX Cell

12/30/2014Problems with Product / Service
09/24/2013Problems with Product / Service

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Parts & Supplies-Used & Rebuilt, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Services, Auto Dealers-Used Cars

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.