BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Central South Carolina and Charleston

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 06/15/1984

Herndon Chevrolet Inc

Phone: (803) 359-2504Fax: (803) 359-94405617 Sunset Boulevard, LexingtonSC 29072 Send email to Herndon Chevrolet Inc

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 06/15/1984

BBB has determined that Herndon Chevrolet Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Herndon Chevrolet Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Delivery Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service4
Billing / Collection Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
02/18/2013Problems with Product / Service
01/31/2013Delivery Issues
03/21/2012Problems with Product / Service
02/28/2012Problems with Product / Service
09/26/2011Guarantee / Warranty Issues
Page 1 of 2
08/13/2013Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Sales presentation misrepresented the product

Complaint: I was informed that the vehicle was not in any accidents and that a complete inspection was done on the vehicle-found not to be true.
I purchased a used vehicle from Herndon on June 1, 2013. I was told this vehicle was not involved in any previous accidents, that a complete check was done on the vehicle and that it was a local trade in. However, after purchasing the vehicle something told me this was untrue. I contacted my sales representative from the dealership and he informed me to take it to a body shop. After taking it to several body shops they informed me this vehicle was involved in an accident and if a complete check was done this would have been detected by the dealership. This is not about trying to get anything free--this is truly about accountability and honesty. I sent this company a letter and tried to contact them several times prior and after--no response (let me note that they did try to contact me via phone July 5, 2013--I have since left four messages without any communication). Now, the issues are I have a $14,000+ truck that has several issues that I must pay for. Yes, we understand that with used vehicles you take the rut of not knowing all previous issues however, after taking this car to numerous bodyshops and mechanics and they state I was sold a car that the dealership misrepresented is my issue. This car was repainted at the dealership (by what others state). However, by doing this it created back-splatter on several parts of the vehicle, the back bumper and front bumper have to be replaced due to the accident. The side door has to be taken off and placed back on to secure it and due to the poor paint job and not properly placing the top coat the entire truck must be repainted (please be reminded this is a $14,000 + vehicle and I have only had it a month). I hardly drive it because I am scared due to the issues discussed by other mechanics/body shops. I understand that used is used--but the issue here is misrepresentation and ethics. If you know something about a vehicle -rationally it should be disclosed so one could make a true assessment if they want to purchase the vehicle or not. At, the fact that this company appears not to car is what has bothered me. If they are doing this to me--they are doing it to others and morally that is disheartening especially in such an economy as this. People work hard to make a living and to cheat and lie just to make a sale is ridiculous. I feel that due to the misrepresentation something must be done. Rather it is this complaint or me going online and complaining on every social site or etc--that is what I will do. I cannot even enjoy the car knowing that I was LIED to......I would have never brought the car if I KNEW IT WAS INVOLVED IN AN ACCIDENT.

Business' Initial Response
Herndon Chevrolet takes pride in providing quality transportation to its customers. We provided Ms. ***** with a Carfax as well as allowing her to take the vehicle to be inspected by her bank and mechanic prior to her purchase. The carfax shows the vehicle had 2 previous owners with no accident damage being reported to them.

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
This information was not discussed with me- I have proof that this company (witness) of what this dealership/salesman stated to me. Was never told until this moment of reading the response that the vehicle had two owners- very comical now. They lied--they have unethical practices. They sold me a car that was in accident and do not care or trying to resolve the issue. I will contact others to see my next action. I have professionals telling me of theses issues. This company is trying to cover their lies and mistakes.

Business' Final Response
As our previous response indicated, Herndon Chevrolet has been a proud member of our community for over 40 years and we pride ourselves on ensuring our customer's best interests are considered in every decision we make.

The concern over the previous damage to the vehicle involved in this dispute was concerning to us as well as Ms. *****. Even though the Carfax report that had been provided showed no signs of accident damage we asked the customer to bring the car to us for a physical inspection by our management staff. Once we were able to check under the interior panels we did find the damage that up to that point was not visible. Once this damage was discovered, we offered to find a replacement vehicle for the customer. We Looked at several vehicles with her but were unable to find one that matched her lifestyle and budget. At that point we bought the vehicle back from Ms. ***** to ensure her safety and happiness.

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Parts & Supplies-New, Auto Dealers-Used Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/24/1984Business started: 08/01/1968
Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: August 1968, SC

Contact Information
Principal: Mr. David L. Herndon (President)Customer Contact: Ms. Carol H. Perrin (Secty/Treasurer)
Number of Employees

58

Business Category

Auto Dealers-New Cars, Auto Repair & Service, Auto Parts & Supplies-New, Auto Dealers-Used Cars

Products & Services

This company offers sales and service of Chevrolet products.

Industry Tips
Tips on Buying a Used Car
Buying a New Car
Buying a Used Car
Dont Get Soaked Buying a Flood-damaged Vehicle
Dont Fall Victim to Enticing Auctions Ads for Cars!
Purchasing a Car Online
Spot Delivery Complaints are on the Rise
The Hail Season is Here
Know the Facts About Used Car Fraud Before You Buy
VIN Cloning Swindles Luxury Car Buyers

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Herndon Chevrolet Inc

5617 Sunset Boulevard

Lexington, SC 29072

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5617 Sunset Boulevard 

    Lexington, SC 29072

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central South Carolina and Charleston. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Herndon Chevrolet Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.