BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 12/14/2007

BMW of Columbia

(803) 404-54005919 Two Notch Rd., ColumbiaSC 29223 Send email to BMW of Columbia

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 12/14/2007

BBB has determined that BMW of Columbia meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised BMW of Columbia's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues1
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service5
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on BMW of Columbia

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
12/15/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Went in for repair work and my paint job was damaged.
I got my car towed to bmw on June 28, 2014. The reason was because I had a belt that kept popping. I talked to the bmw tech and he told me my year body style had an issue with the pulley touching the subframe under extreme driving conditions or going fast. The only fix was to change the subframe and put the newer replacement subframe on and it. It would cost me $2526.99 which the warranty would not cover it. I then called the corporate bmw office to ask why I would have to come out the pocket for a known issue. I was told yes it's a known issue but not enough people had the issue to make it a recall yet. They did agree to pay the dealership for parts and I would have to still cover labor which still was $1432.95. I ended up getting the work done and got the car back July 15,2014. When I got the car back I noticed a lot of tiny blue spots on the entire car and even on the glass. These spots actually burned through the paint. I asked the advisor what was it and he said he didn't know and how would they know if it was already there or not. I then told him they weren't there when I dropped the car off and you guys look at the car for any damage. He said I would have to come back to talk to the service manager. So when I came back the service manager looked at it and he brought one of the guys from the back to look too. The manager wasn't sure but the detailer from the back said he has seen those spots before but on newer cars and said it could be rail dust. They then told me to bring the car back in a few weeks when he could get free to try and buff the spots out of the car. I dropped the car off Aug 4, 2014. They finished buffing it Aug 7, 2014 and when I went up there to get the car the spots were still there. I talked to the service manager and he said they tried to get them out but didn't promise me that he would. That was the best they could do and said that it was rail dust again. When I looked up rail dust that is burn spots on new cars being transported by train. My car definitely wasn't transported by no train. I then talked to the general manager of the the dealership. He came out to look at the car and said he never saw those spots before and he was for sure that it didn't happen at his dealership because no other car on the lot had those spots. I was also told my the service manager that they are not responsible for damage caused by the elements when a car is on their lot. He told me that's like if he goes to a grocery store and his car gets damaged in the parking lot he wouldn't hold the grocery store responsible. I then told him I disagree and if $2500 worth of work is being done to my car at a shop they are responsible if my car gets damaged in the process. They then said they couldn't do anything else for me. I took the car to McDaniels paint and body shop to get their opinion and they said some kind of chemical got on the car that burned through the paint. The only way to fix it would be to repaint the car which will run about $6500. So basically I took my car to get work done and in the process my car got damaged.

Desired Settlement
I'm seeking for them to paint my car or help towards a paint job.

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: **** ******
Contact Phone: XXX XXX XXXX
Contact Email: *******@group1auto.com
Upon inspection of the vehicle with the customer we explained we do not feel this "fall out" happened at our Dealership. We also explained if it did we could not take responsibility for atmospheric fall out. However, we did offer and performed a detail and buff of the vehicle as "goodwill" gesture. Explained to the customer we would do this because he is a good customer of BMW of Columbia. Explained to customer the detail and buff is the most we are willing to offer. Unfortunately the buff and detail did not remove "fall out" from vehicle. Customer was not happy. We have found a new product and are willing to buff and detail vehicle one last time with the new product.


Consumer Response
This case was closed 10/10/14. The date is now 11/11/14 and I have yet to hear from bmw about this issue


Business Response
Called and left message to schedule to detail one last time. We will call again.

04/07/2014Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
BMW advertised $240.39 front brake service for my 2007 BMW 328i online. Had to talk to manager several times for them to reduce my $404 bill to $275.
On 3/8/14 BMW serviced my 2007 BMW 328i for a "front brake service." I made an appointment online for this service and the price on the website for a front brake service (for this model) was listed as $240.39. BMW tried to bill me at $404. After talking with the sales associate the manager offered a discount of $40. This does not match the price of the sale so I had to talk to the manager and after several rounds of "negotiations" the best they could do was $275.00. The biggest issue here is not the money, but the businesses lack of honoring its sale price online. I pulled up the website myself and showed them the sale. They did not dispute the sale but said that there is a "disconnect" between the online website and what they can truly offer. This is unacceptable. In the end the difference was around $30, but by far the worst part was the "haggling" to get this resolved.

Desired Settlement
I would like the refund of the difference between the sale price and the actual price paid, as well as an apology for the way I treated by the manager (the sales associated was not the issue).

Business Response
I have responded to the customer and updated her that we will make good on the overcharge. I think this should close out this case.

03/06/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
BMW made at least $2000.oo repairs was made but additional problems has occured since having the car back that was not present before.
I had an extended warranty on my car. The was originally brought in for a defect driver's side window regulator, outside mirrors moving by themselves, washer fluid pump, smelled oil burning and engine function. BMW fix those problems but could not find aything with the engine power. During the service BMW noticed additional problems for concerns and contacted the warranty for approval of other repairs that was not noticeable to me such as replacing thermostat & housing. I did not have any problem with the car overheating or any indication of water leak. I have replace the expansion tank and other water hoses one to two months since being fix. BMW repaired all the problems mentioned and replace sealing cylinder, valve cover gasket, engine oil housing gasket, thermostat and housing. The care has these additional overheating problems since being repaired at BMW. Provided that my car had a jammed thermostat it was never noticeable or provide any indication of overheating being purchase. I never mentioned suggested overheating or water leaks in my original service order that was prepared by BMW( I can send you a copy for verification). I spoke with ***** (service adviser) a month later by phone stating something had fallen from my car while driving but did not know what it was. I have spoken with *** ***** and ***** ***** about my problem. I have been offered an opportunity to bring the car in for an inspection but the car is get overheated too fast to drive as explained to ***** ***** on 2/1/2014. I need my car repair. I did not at no time had any thermostat problems, water leaks and overheating that is being experienced now. The car was first diagnos on 10/12/2013 and repair work was begun 10/21/13 through 10/25/2013 (I have the service orders from both visits that can be verified) as again there was not a problem with the thermostat being jammed or the car overhearting because I drove at leat 90 miles per day to and from work four times a week. The car would not have allowed me to do such with a jammed thermostat or a defect housing unit. The BMW of Columbia failed to provide proper mechanic service.

Desired Settlement
To have my car fully repair as it was without these problems that has occured since being service by BMW of Columbia. I would like to be reimburse for parts that have been purchased due to problems being associated with improper mechanical service.

Business Response
Customer had car in for service once back in October 2013. We made repairs that were covered under his after market warranty. He is complaining about different issues that are common to a car with high mileage. These other issues were not caused by anything we have done in the past. It has been 4 months since we've seen the car. He is responsible for his car and the current issues.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
All of it is a lie. I first brought my car in on 10/12/2013 for an evaluation therefore ask them for thewir records because I do have mine. I brought parts from BMW of Columbia since 11/2013 up until now. I need a address in order to send my documentation verifying my claim.

Final Business Response
We have done all the required repairs back in October 2013. Any present issues are the responsibilty of the owner of the car.

01/27/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
We purchased BMW 525 2002. We requested dealership to cancel the warranty and and refund warranty money with interest. But Interest is not refunded
We purchased BMW-525 2002 from this dealership. Along with car purchase we also purchased vehicle extended warranty of $1500.00. The purchase was financed by BMW finance. As per the contract we could cancel the warranty within 45 days of purchase and warranty cost will be refunded/ credited to our loan account. Following are the details of purchase:
BMW 525 - Year 2002
Purchaser - ********************************
Deal NO: 18772
date of contract: 11/10/2012
On November 29th 2012 (within 45 days),I had requested to cancel the warranty purchase of the vehicle. I had submitted Cancellation form which was sent to dealership by email. I also had communicated with dealership on phone to cancel the warranty purchase and refund/deposit the money to my Loan account.
We anticipated that our request to cancel this warranty purchase would have been processed and money would have been credited to loan account. On September 8,2013 we verified the loan statement and communicating with BMW loan department, we understood that the money had not been sent to loan department. We started communicating with BMW dealership and we were told that due to some issue in process the refund was not sent to our loan account. Finally the warranty cost of $1500 was refunded and deposited to our loan account. All these process took 10 months delay due to issue with dealership,we had to pay 10 months interest on $1500 @ 7.79% amounting aprox. $101. I requested from dealership for the compensation and followed many times but we did not get any response.

The dealership should pay me or deposit to my loan account $101 for interest I paid for 10 Months.

Desired Settlement
10 months delay caused by BMW of Columbia in refunding Warranty cancellation money,we had to pay 10 months interest on $1500 @ 7.79% amounting aprox. $101.

The dealership should compensate me or deposit to my loan account $101 for interest I paid for 10 Months.

Business Response
I apologize for the delay in this customer receiving their refund. We are processing a refund today that will be mailed to the customer. If you have any questions please let me know.

01/02/2013Problems with Product / Service
08/04/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The dealership refuses to provide me a written service diagnosis of the paint inspection of my 325i 2006 BMW.
Below is the information that was describe in my letter that I sent to the dealership on the below date.


May 29, 2013




**** ********
BMW of Columbia
5919 Two Notch Rd
Columbia, SC 29223


Re: 2006 325i BMW Vehicle Paint Issue


Dear Mr. ********:

I purchased the 2006 325i BMW on February 12, 2011. The car fax report stated that the vehicle had no prior reports of incidents beside regular service. **** ********* was the salesperson.

On April 15, 2013, I contacted **** ******** regarding the paint issue that I discovered on the hood of my car. Mr. ******** suggested that I bring the car at my convenience to BMW of Columbia so that Mr. ******** who is responsible for Fixed Operations can look at the car.

On April 19, 2013, I took the car to BMW of Columbia. Mr. ******** came out to look at the car. Mr. ******** stated, "I can tell that the car had been painted." He identified several areas where the car had been painted. Mr. ******** jokingly stated, "Maybe you should let a tree fall on it." Since the car was detailed the prior week in an attempt to correct the paint issue, Mr. ******** asked that I wait four weeks to schedule an appointment with BMW of Columbia.

On May 20, 2013, I contacted BMW of Columbia to schedule the appointment. Ms. ***** ****** in the Service Department scheduled the appointment for May 21, 2013. I took the car to BMW of Columbia that morning. I arrived at BMW of Columbia approximately at 4:00pm to pick up the car. After looking at the receipt from the service, I asked the receptionist, did anyone say what the problem was? She stated, it should be on the receipt". The only information on the receipt was what I stated to Ms. ****** when the car was left that morning.

On May 21, 2013, I contacted Mr. ******** to let him know that the paint issue on the hood of the car was still there. Mr. ******** stated, "It is, but it is not as bad as it was." I replied, "Are you saying that I am responsible for any work that must be done to the car?" He replied, "Yes".
On May 22, 2013, I contacted Mr. ******** requesting a copy of the service diagnosis for the paint issue with the car. Mr. ******** stated," I will have Ms. ****** mail a copy to you." As of today (May 29, 2013), I have yet to receive the service diagnosis for the paint issue with my car.

I am formerly requesting a service diagnosis statement. Thanks for your attention to this matter.

On May 29 at 6:31pm, Mr. ******** stated in his e-mail," I reviewed our invoice and agree it was not itemized well as it could have been, we use a vendor on site and transfer what they do to our invoice. In short the invoice you have reflecting no charges is the final and only invoice that I am able to provide".

Desired Settlement
My request is that the dealership fixed the issues with the paint job on my 2006 325i BMW.

Business' Initial Response
Ms. James,



I received your letter and have researched your vehicle's history as much as the available data would allow. The vehicle was sold new 9-26-2006 in New York and remained in that state until 11-9-2009 at 44,957 miles when it was purchased at auction by BMW of Columbia. The vehicle was Certified and sold 12-23-2009, the vehicle stayed in the area, traded in on a new car in January of 2011. The vehicle was processed for sale and sold to you 2-12-2011. I have ordered a Car Fax history report today and you are correct there were no accidents reported prior to your purchase. There was reported damage left front of the vehicle X-XX-XXXX from an accident, which I am sure you are aware. Unfortunately we hold no customer responsible for disclosing any previous painting they might have done and not reported to their insurance company as that information is of a private nature. I apologize for making the tree comment, it was in bad taste. As far as my other observations I believe them to have been accurate, correct and to the point. I was asked to inspect the paint and give my professional opinion as to what I saw. I did discuss with you as I looked at your vehicle what I observed and you agreed to allow us to have our detail service try and correct the problem at our expense. I did see the vehicle after that process was completed and we agreed that it wasn't much better, my recommendation was to have the hood repainted. I did discuss the factory warranty on the paint was 4years and 50,000 miles which had expired and also would not have been in effect due to the prior refinishing. If the hood was repainted prior to your purchase and not reported to any insurance company there would have been no way for us to have known. We make it our policy to disclose any previous repairs and we utilize a Car Fax report on every used car we resell to a consumer. I didn't intend on misleading you, I did not commit to repainting the area when we spoke at the inspection I was only trying to help you. We have a local Collision Center we do quite a bit of business with and I will be happy to get an estimate to repaint your hood. I did speak to you about the report, I checked with Ms. ****** and she told me you had gotten an invoice when you picked up the vehicle. I reviewed our invoice and agree it was not itemized well as it could have been, we use a vendor on site and transfer what they do to our invoice. In short the invoice you have reflecting no charges is the final and only invoice that I am able to provide. Please let me know if I can help going forward in any way, we are always available.



Have a great day!



**** V.********

Fixed Operations

BMW of Columbia

GROUP 1 AUTOMOTIVE INC

Integrity, Transparency, Professionalism, Teamwork

XXX-XXX-XXXX main

XXX-XXX-XXXX direct

XXX-XXX-XXXX cell

XXX-XXX-XXXX fax

Consumer's Final Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
The dealership refused to provide a written diagnosis of the paint issues and assistance in correcting the areas that will have to be refinished. I have been driving a BMW for over ten years and have never experience this kind of service from the dealership.

Business' Final Response
I have given my professional diagnosis based on my level of training I am not able to comment any further than that the effected area is not the factory paint and that the only correction is to have the area refinished. I have supplied the owner with all the information I have available. I suggest she take the vehicle to a collision center for further diagnosis. We have no way of examining the chemical composition at this facility. Thank you, ****

06/05/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Promised product availability numerous times and trip reimbursement if product was not available.
On Saturday, the 13th of April, 2013, after numerous phone conversations, My wife, my children and I travelled from Charleston, Sc to their dealership in Columbia, Sc to view a BMW X5 that we intended to purchase. We had shown interest and had established a file number with them on this vehicle before it was even available for viewing. This particular day was the day was the first time it was supposed to be available so I made arrangements to leave my work early and go there with my family, about an hour and a half trip. I work for the US Postal Service and so I lost maybe 2 hours of work at about $24 an hour to make this trip not to mention, approximately 3/4s of a tank of gas. because the time for their closing was close I also had to be extremely expedient in my travel there. When we arrived there about 10 minutes to closing they were still very busy we spoke with theirGeneral Manager who searched for our contact there who it turned out was busy with a customer who selling the very vehicle we had come to see! So, when we were informed of this the only thing we got was a sorry for our trip and trouble...no offer on anything comparable, no attempt to help us ratify this problem after we were promised this vehicle would be waiting for us, and definitely no mention of any kind of reimbursement for the trip which had been promised by their internet sales department prior to us traveling to their location. They have a customer file of us that shows we had had numerous conversations with them prior to this date and we had even promised to put a deposit to hold the vehicle which they had advised us wouldn't be necessary in this case.


Desired Settlement
Reimbursement for the gas..3/4s of a tank in an Acura TL, one meal approximately $24.00. and promise to provide us with a comparable deal in good faith, in the future, on a comparable vehicle including maximum trade-in for our vehicle.

Business' Initial Response
Unfortunately this customer didn't arrive to the dealership until 7:45 p.m. The dealership closes at 7:00 p.m. and the customer had made an appointment for 6:30 p.m. We record all phone conversations with customers and after reviewing these recordings there were never any promises of any kind made in respect to reimbursements for travel nor promises that the car would be "held"We obviously would have been more than happy for this customer to have chosen one of the other 3 cars we offered for sale. The customer also apologized for being late stating that he in fact was held up at work, not that he left work early in an attempt to make the appointment time.

We decline the customers desired resolution in this case.

Consumer's Final Response
We would like to refute their response. They did promise us the car would be waiting for us. We arrived at 6:45 and not 7:45 as stated and the offers they made were not on comparable vehicles , these were much more expensive vehicles than the one we had went to see. We also had called them numerous times on the the trip there to which they did not answer. The bottom line is that we had numerous previous conversations with them on this vehicle that they do have record of including a file number that they had opened on my name, ******* ****** and we had been assured that the car would be available for us to view once it left detailing. We even offered to drive there long before this date to negotiate with them on the vehicle sight unseen! We did everything but buy the vehicle before driving there. I will not do business with them again and I will warn other people about their lack of honesty and customer service regarding this matter!!!!!

Industry Comparison| Chart

Auto Dealers-New Cars

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 12/14/2007Business started: 12/03/2007
Contact Information
Principal: Mr David Miles (GM)Mr. Bob Speed (Operations Director)
Number of Employees

40

Business Category

Auto Dealers-New Cars

Products & Services

This company offers new and used auto sales.

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for BMW of Columbia

5919 Two Notch Rd.

Columbia, SC 29223

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 5919 Two Notch Rd. 

    Columbia, SC 29223(803) 404-5400

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Central South Carolina and Charleston. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*BMW of Columbia is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on 07/01/2013.

BBB reports the complaint response text for all reportable complaints against a business that are received electronically.

X

Industry Tips for Auto Dealers-New Cars

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known government actions that are relevant to the business's marketplace dealings with the public.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.